*Official* Optoma HD20 Thread - Page 134 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3991 of 4001 Old 05-10-2014, 08:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggoodin View Post

What video game system are you playing on? I have played n64, Dreamcast, Wii, Xbox, Xbox360, XboxOne and now I have a PS4 all on the same old HD20, original bulb and color wheel still.

The PS4 causes odd horizontal lines that are correctable with the keystone, I also have HDMI sync issues with the PS4. None of the other systems game me a single hiccup. Never had a PS3. I just figure playstation and Optoma don't get along too well.

I haven't had any issues with my HD20 using my PS4, PS3, PS2, PSone, Xbox 360, Wii, and N64,

I no longer have my HD20, but I didn't have any issues with the PS4 using HDMI via my Onkyo receiver. No lines or anything. No keystone was being used. I wonder what would cause the lines with a PS4.
xenon2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3992 of 4001 Old 05-11-2014, 05:03 AM
Member
 
aggoodin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dickinson, ND
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon2000 View Post

I wonder what would cause the lines with a PS4.

I run it through a pioneer vsx720. I get a horizontal line occasionally at the top and I frequently get total snow when powering everything up. Keystone correction 1 step and then back corrects the line and off/on on the receiver corrects the snow.

I forgot I have a darbee in line now but I was running that on the 360 and One with zero problems.
aggoodin is offline  
post #3993 of 4001 Old 06-18-2014, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Gaming

Hello all!

I have had this projector for over a year now (got it for a great price on craigslist) and I am currently building my first gaming PC. I was wondering how well this would work for gaming, as I see in the specs that the refresh rate is 24 hz to 85 hz. 60 hz will be the least needed to game without seeing lag. I do not if it will scale for what is needed, but from what I see most things play automatically at 24 hz. Is there a setting to get it to be at 85 hz?

Thank you for all the knowledge you can offer,

Dylan
dylan43270 is offline  
post #3994 of 4001 Old 06-19-2014, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylan43270 View Post
Hello all!

I have had this projector for over a year now (got it for a great price on craigslist) and I am currently building my first gaming PC. I was wondering how well this would work for gaming, as I see in the specs that the refresh rate is 24 hz to 85 hz. 60 hz will be the least needed to game without seeing lag. I do not if it will scale for what is needed, but from what I see most things play automatically at 24 hz. Is there a setting to get it to be at 85 hz?

Thank you for all the knowledge you can offer,

Dylan
I used my HTPC with the HD20 for gaming as well as with consoles. Works great. I was running video and audio via HDMI on the Video card. Running at 1920 x 1080 60p. I prefer V-sync enabled to prevent tearing. Unless your video card has special settings or you have special software, Windows will run at 60 hz. I haven't found any included way to increase that. Also, I am pretty sure the HD20 won't actually run at 85 hz with regular 2D input, just like it doesn't actually run at 24hz. When at 24 hz, it is actually running at 48 hz using frame doubling. I would have to find the source again for that. But not sure about the 85 hz part. I thought that was for specific 3D formats. But again, I haven't found a way to get Windows to output over 85 hz over HDMI. At least not with included software or with the ATI or Nvidia control panels.

I have no complaints with the PC gaming at 60 hz on the HD20 or any of my LCD panels.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #3995 of 4001 Old 07-23-2014, 02:30 AM
Member
 
Cinderella17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, i have this projector but I haven't change the originals settings, can somebody please share a good setting to calibrate my Hd20 please?

Thank you
Cinderella17 is offline  
post #3996 of 4001 Old 07-24-2014, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,
I have had a projector for about 10 years, started with an Infocus X1, then had an Infocus 4805. The light tunnel recently collapsed for that projector, so I’m without one for now. My budget is limited to $300 - $400, so I will need to go used via either ebay or Craigslist. I did a little bit of research, and it seems like the Optoma HD20 might be a great choice for me. My main point of posting here is to check and see with the experts whether this projector is the best choice for my situation, or if another projector might be a better fit.
My projector is in the basement, so I can control the light. The main thing it’s used for is either watching movies via DVD/Blu Ray or watching sports. My current screen is a 80” diagonal painted tileboard screen with Velvet border. Projector is 11 feet from the screen, and the main seating position is right under the projector.
I definitely want to go bigger with my next screen, how big is the question. I am thinking 100” so I can use the same method I did before for building the screen, but I can use another method if bigger is better. A limiting factor is where the projetor is currently mounted. The total basement ceiling height is about 92”, but the projector is mounted under the center beam which brings it to about 80”. So, if I go bigger than 100”, the screen bottom will be getting too close to the floor.
Do you guys think this is too small of a screen for an HD20? I plugged in the information to the Projector central calculator, and it says it will be 29 fL. Does that calculator use eco mode or full power?
Any other suggestions anyone has would be appreciated!
jake14mw is offline  
post #3997 of 4001 Old 07-24-2014, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinderella17 View Post
Hello, i have this projector but I haven't change the originals settings, can somebody please share a good setting to calibrate my Hd20 please?

Thank you
Here are my latest settings that I was using (no longer have my HD20). Screen is a DIY 125" 16:9 1.0 gain white matte blackout clothe screen.

Here are the menu options from my HD20 with the settings that I used for all sources. BD, PS3, PS4, xbox 360 PC and more. I only used the HDMI and VGA inputs and rarely the VGA input.









Enjoy.

Obviously people have different preferences, so you may not like my settings. I like fairly neutral coloring with preference to sharpness with as little artifacts as possible. And with preference to shadow and highlight details. Which requires contrast that my be low for some people. Either way, this should be a good starting point.

Last edited by xenon2000; 07-24-2014 at 08:41 AM. Reason: More details.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #3998 of 4001 Old 09-24-2014, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Projector won't power up

Hi Guys,

I've had my Optoma HD20 going on 5 years now, and it worked superbly during that time. However, last night while watching a movie the projector just cut off, no popping, no crackle, nothing. There were no light indicators either. I unplugged it for a while and plugged it in and the power light came on as usual solid amber as if in standby. But when I try to power on it just starts flashing amber, and nothing else happens. No lamp or temp led, no fan, no bulb light, just the power light flashing amber. What could be wrong with it? Is it possible I can repair it myself?

N.B. It might be helpful to know that when the projector is connected to power the computer it is connected to via HDMI detects it is plugged in as it usually does. May or may not be helpful I don't know.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help
clk123 is offline  
post #3999 of 4001 Old 09-25-2014, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone with an assist? I scrapped it down to the point where I removed the mainboard and vacuumed the inside, which was quite unnecessary, for a projector I had for quite a while it had absolutely no dust build up. Looked brand new on the inside. Needless to say, I put it back together and it's still not powering up when trying to switch it on.
clk123 is offline  
post #4000 of 4001 Old 10-02-2014, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
kf4wvk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have almost the same exact problem, but when I press the power button, it begins to blink green, but no fan spin up, no noise, and it stays in that blinking condition forever. This is the "warming / powering on" state, according to the user guide. But nothing is happening.
kf4wvk is offline  
post #4001 of 4001 Old 10-02-2014, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4wvk View Post
I have almost the same exact problem, but when I press the power button, it begins to blink green, but no fan spin up, no noise, and it stays in that blinking condition forever. This is the "warming / powering on" state, according to the user guide. But nothing is happening.

Blink green? Mine blinks amber, not green. Probably two completely different issues. My amber power light blinking alone isn't even in the guide. So no clue what that means.
clk123 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd20 Dlp 1080p Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off