*Official* Optoma HD20 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ditch-digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In the middle of the woods New Hampshire
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
big question



coming from 720p to 1080p. did you notice a great difference. distinguishable..??

thanks

thinking of selling my hc1500 to upgrade to this...
ditch-digger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 05:19 PM
Member
 
ctcushing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I understand it, the BC settings are baked into firmware. It's always on and you can't adjust it. So no mention of it in the menus.

Apparently this is a design "feature" because of it's positioning as entry level so as not to confuse users.
ctcushing is offline  
post #93 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditch-digger View Post

big question



coming from 720p to 1080p. did you notice a great difference. distinguishable..??

thanks

thinking of selling my hc1500 to upgrade to this...



YES!!! Way more detail.....way more.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #94 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't like Brilliant Color. On my DT-500 all it seems to do is crush white detail for the illusion of a little more ansi contrast and brightness, but I see right through this crappy feature.
MTyson is offline  
post #95 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

YES!!! Way more detail.....way more.

From what distance?
MTyson is offline  
post #96 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ditch-digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In the middle of the woods New Hampshire
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

YES!!! Way more detail.....way more.

thanks




ebay here i come....
ditch-digger is offline  
post #97 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Riftburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to clear things up Deez you have an HD20 right? Not the HD200x.

Just for future post would be great if we can keep this topic to the HD20 as some of us are looking for that one and not the HD200x. Just keeps unnecessary confusion out of the thread.
Riftburn is offline  
post #98 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTyson View Post

From what distance?


12 1/2 feet away at 106"....might give or take 12 inches.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #99 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riftburn View Post

Just to clear things up Deez you have an HD20 right? Not the HD200x.

Just for future post would be great if we can keep this topic to the HD20 as some of us are looking for that one and not the HD200x. Just keeps unnecessary confusion out of the thread.


HD20. And I agree that hd200x should have thier own thread.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #100 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditch-digger View Post

thanks




ebay here i come....


What are you going to ebay for?? To buy or sell? You can get this unit from Visual Apex and they are a reputable online dealer.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #101 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Probably selling old projector, it's amazing what used projectors go for on the bay compared to what these new 1080ps cost considering they come with new bulbs, makes it tempting to upgrade every 6 months.
ZenithPete is offline  
post #102 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol i craigslist it make more no fees. Sold my HD-65 with 2100 hours on it for $575 now ordering HD20
Stix2 is offline  
post #103 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Spasticteapot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recommended screens? How about Wilsonart fashion grey? Or perhaps some sort of paint?
Spasticteapot is offline  
post #104 of 3999 Old 08-06-2009, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just finished watching the BD "Crouching tiger ,hidden dragon". I can say that now having seen it in the dark it does leak light...not as much as mu old hd65 but some. Also, I do think black level can be improved without engaging AI. I will wait until some other people get thiers and do more advanced calibrations and see what happens. I feel very good about this projector though.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #105 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 12:36 AM
Member
 
monakh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lahore | Manama | Washington
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
deez, thanks for the screenies. Can you please verify if you have the BC option in your menus? TIA.
monakh is offline  
post #106 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ditch-digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In the middle of the woods New Hampshire
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

What are you going to ebay for?? To buy or sell? You can get this unit from Visual Apex and they are a reputable online dealer.

going to sell the hc1500
ditch-digger is offline  
post #107 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 06:38 AM
Member
 
ridecolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow I think this is exactly what I have bee waiting for. Now to find a grand. I don't know if there will be enough change in my ashtray and in the sofa cushions. Here's to hoping LOL.

Gamer Tag/PSN dubstylesmkIII
ridecolby is offline  
post #108 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 07:10 AM
Member
 
HarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Buckingham, VA
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, FWIW, I decided to pull the trigger. Those screen shots in the ProjectorPeople review tipped the scales. I have a dark theater, and I am confident I can do a decent calibration.

Also - just my experience, but I had an excellent customer service experience with Optoma. The lamp on my HD73 burned out - they sent the wrong lamp as a replacement, but then sent me an entire new unit (!) to make up for it. A lot more than I was expecting. Anybody wanna buy an HD73 that only has a few months use?
HarryP is offline  
post #109 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

I have roughly adjusted it and by no means am I a pro like some guys here are on doing a comprehensive adjustment to this unit. I will also say i think it has plent of sharpness...as I was ably to make test pattern bleed on DVE and with the 65 and 70 I couldnt.


Oh, BTW, it is quieter than the hd65 was and it is 8 inches closer to my head.


Here's a tip on how to adjust the grayscale with the RGB/gains and bias.

With your HD-DVE disc display the brightness pluge pattern. Use the RGB gain to take color bias out of the lighter gray boxes, use the RGB bias to take the color out of the darker boxes. The tones should all look steely gray - no pinks or greens or bluish tones. When the graystep boxes all look gray your colors should look more natural.

Before you start you might toggle through the color temp choices while looking at the brightness gray steps. Find the one that has the least color bias, then use the RGB advanced gain/bias.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
guitarman is offline  
post #110 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 07:49 AM
Member
 
balagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hungary, Europe
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by balagee View Post

The measuerments are 1400:1 on/off, and ~600 lumens at 6500k and low lamp mode.
(measured with light meter)

Palyed with HD20 more...... using other settings I was able to jump the On/off contrast to 1850:1 (in bright mode) with 6500k and low lamp mode. It makes about 650 lumens here. hte colors are not so goot but very close what i was able to get from the cinema mode.

So I say it's possibble to get 1850:1, and D65k with OK colors (far from perferct, but ok)

- balagee -
balagee is offline  
post #111 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by monakh View Post

deez, thanks for the screenies. Can you please verify if you have the BC option in your menus? TIA.

I already did...there is no BC or true vivid in the menus.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #112 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Here's a tip on how to adjust the grayscale with the RGB/gains and bias.

With your HD-DVE disc display the brightness pluge pattern. Use the RGB gain to take color bias out of the lighter gray boxes, use the RGB bias to take the color out of the darker boxes. The tones should all look steely gray - no pinks or greens or bluish tones. When the graystep boxes all look gray your colors should look more natural.

Before you start you might toggle through the color temp choices while looking at the brightness gray steps. Find the one that has the least color bias, then use the RGB advanced gain/bias.


Thanks Tom...I look forward to hearing your review as well.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #113 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 08:21 AM
Member
 
mjskywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just read this online... Hopefully this applies for the HD20 since it has that mini usb input.

http://www.electricpig.co.uk/2009/06...-plans-for-3d/

"Excitingly, Optoma revealed that 3D-Ready versions of all its projectors may be coming along in the near future. For existing models, all that's needed is a firmware update."

Ordered mine yesterday should be here early next week.
mjskywalker is offline  
post #114 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 09:24 AM
Member
 
ClerkDante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am really anxious to get a 1080p projector. I've been waiting on this one, but I don't think I can wait any longer. I need to buy from Best Buy and they just dropped the PLV-1080HD to 1399. Not discussed a ton around here, any ideas if it's worth an extra 3 bills?
ClerkDante is offline  
post #115 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
mat82284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

Here's a tip on how to adjust the grayscale with the RGB/gains and bias.

With your HD-DVE disc display the brightness pluge pattern. Use the RGB gain to take color bias out of the lighter gray boxes, use the RGB bias to take the color out of the darker boxes. The tones should all look steely gray - no pinks or greens or bluish tones. When the graystep boxes all look gray your colors should look more natural.

Before you start you might toggle through the color temp choices while looking at the brightness gray steps. Find the one that has the least color bias, then use the RGB advanced gain/bias.

Hi, i have a question. I just got my DVE disc and i was testing it out on my lcd screen and when going through the menu it only looks like i can start certain chapters and it forces me to fast forward to the test pattern. Is there a menu that lets you pick test patterns? Or maybe I'm just over looking it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mat82284 is offline  
post #116 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 10:13 AM
Member
 
monakh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lahore | Manama | Washington
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

I already did...there is no BC or true vivid in the menus.

Whoops! My bad! Missed that post among all the screen shots...sorry about that...
monakh is offline  
post #117 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 10:13 AM
Member
 
HarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Buckingham, VA
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mat82284 View Post

Hi, i have a question. I just got my DVE disc and i was testing it out on my lcd screen and when going through the menu it only looks like i can start certain chapters and it forces me to fast forward to the test pattern. Is there a menu that lets you pick test patterns? Or maybe I'm just over looking it.

According to the reviews on Amazon, this is the only difference between the DVD and Blu-Ray version of DVE. if you want better menus, get the Blu-Ray. Since I already have the DVD, it doesn't seem worth it just for that feature.
HarryP is offline  
post #118 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
mat82284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryP View Post

According to the reviews on Amazon, this is the only difference between the DVD and Blu-Ray version of DVE. if you want better menus, get the Blu-Ray. Since I already have the DVD, it doesn't seem worth it just for that feature.

Actually it is there, i just over looked it. I was able to access the menus i wanted

take a look here on how to do it.

http://www.ramelectronics.net/Video-calibration.ep


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mat82284 is offline  
post #119 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 11:06 AM
Member
 
cynan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsm88 View Post


Optoma HD200x is NOT the HD20.

I don't think anyone (that does not work for Optoma) can declare this a certainty until both units are tested side by side.

Afterall, would it really make sense for Optoma to produce 2 different so similarly specced machines, particularly at their price points?
cynan is offline  
post #120 of 3999 Old 08-07-2009, 11:19 AM
Member
 
xCHRISx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cynan View Post

I don't think anyone (that does not work for Optoma) can declare this a certainty until both units are tested side by side.

Afterall, would it really make sense for Optoma to produce 2 different so similarly specced machines, particularly at their price points?

I'm of the same mind as you on this one. It doesn't make sense that they would build two units so similar in every way. Looking at the HD20 unboxing photos Deez posted, everything was identical to what I received with my HD200x.

I'm heading stateside next week so if I can pick up an HD20 for $999 US while I'm there I will return my HD200x that I got for $1499 CAD; if so this will give me the chance to compare them side by side.

LNT4661F
PS3, X360, Wii
Pioneer HTP-2990 5.1 Surround
xCHRISx is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd20 Dlp 1080p Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off