Panasonic PT-AE4000 Projector Unveiled - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ashcurrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exciting news!!!

Here is a link to the article: http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-c...or-Unveiled/p1

Enjoy
ashcurrie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
interesting....cant wait for a pro review.

S
shftup is offline  
post #3 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If this red rich lamp helps with the loss of the red color over time, then it would be very nice, and help the bulb maintain it's overall brightness longer. One of my pet peaves with my Epson 1080UB. The red gets dimmer and dimmer with age, faster than green or blue. This means I have to redo greyscale every 200 hours or so, and each time I need to boost red, or once I run out of red adjustment, start to reduce green and blue to match red. Other than that, it looks like almost no change for the AE4000.

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #4 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
widerscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollywood fla
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what's so Exciting about it???? looks like the same pj not that its a bad thing the pj it a great pj I have one but was looking for a little more of change. like a little higher brightness. and 3-D ready and a masking system for scope

curtis smith


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

widerscreen is offline  
post #5 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Whitefield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcurrie View Post

Here is a link to the article: http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-c...or-Unveiled/p1

The photos are actually those of the AE3000, same filenames.

The AE4000 might look exactly the same, of course. At least they don't seem to have changed the color to white, that was my biggest fear.

33% better contrast and discrete lens memory codes would make it worth waiting until November for. Seems mature enough a product that I could risk buying an early production model?
Bob Whitefield is offline  
post #6 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
drewski11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widerscreen View Post

what's so Exciting about it????

like they said, the demo "looked pretty sweet". you need more?!?
drewski11 is offline  
post #7 of 874 Old 09-02-2009, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Whitefield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.whathifi.com/News/Panason...-home-cinemas/
  • a new optical system
  • 100Hz Intelligent Frame Creation
  • an enhanced Lens Memory 2 system, able to store up to six zoom/focus positions
  • automatic switching between 16:9 and 2.35:1 content using signal aspect detection
  • Advanced Gamma Adjustment
  • intelligent power management system, able to reduce lamp output in scenes where full brightness isn't required

Auto switching between aspect ratios! Now that's a feature my wife will love.
Bob Whitefield is offline  
post #8 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Whitefield View Post

http://www.whathifi.com/News/Panason...-home-cinemas/
  • a new optical system
  • 100Hz Intelligent Frame Creation
  • an enhanced Lens Memory 2 system, able to store up to six zoom/focus positions
  • automatic switching between 16:9 and 2.35:1 content using signal aspect detection
  • Advanced Gamma Adjustment
  • intelligent power management system, able to reduce lamp output in scenes where full brightness isn't required

Auto switching between aspect ratios! Now that's a feature my wife will love.

I hope the lens memory goes to black this time without the 'processing sign' showing this time

Murray Thompson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RapalloAV is offline  
post #9 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,467
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 128
"Exclusive Panasonic PTAE4000 Projector Launch" video now available here:

http://www.avforums.com/tv/
madshi is offline  
post #10 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 04:13 AM
Member
 
martinfarinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Essex, England.
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the video it showed masking options on the 2.35:1 set up, could this be to get rid of image overscanning on scope screens? I'm thinking specificaly about "Dark Knight" scenarios.

Martin Farinha
martinfarinha is offline  
post #11 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 04:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, now for TDK, the upcoming Transformers 2, and any films in the future with changing aspect ratios this projector will automatically switch during the film!!
mike2060 is offline  
post #12 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

Wow, now for TDK, the upcoming Transformers 2, and any films in the future with changing aspect ratios this projector will automatically switch during the film!!

It would be terribly distracting.
JeffY is offline  
post #13 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love the extra zoom memories, six sounds about right. Lots of flexibility.
JeffY is offline  
post #14 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cine4Home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Whitefield View Post

http://www.whathifi.com/News/Panason...-home-cinemas/
  • a new optical system
  • 100Hz Intelligent Frame Creation
  • an enhanced Lens Memory 2 system, able to store up to six zoom/focus positions
  • automatic switching between 16:9 and 2.35:1 content using signal aspect detection
  • Advanced Gamma Adjustment
  • intelligent power management system, able to reduce lamp output in scenes where full brightness isn't required

Auto switching between aspect ratios! Now that's a feature my wife will love.


The main features of the 4000 are not mentioned: A special new lamp and color filter. We are finishing right now our full detailed preview with first measurements...
Cine4Home is offline  
post #15 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 05:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eternal_Sunshine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cine4Home View Post

The main features of the 4000 are not mentioned: A special new lamp and color filter. We are finishing right now our full detailed preview with first measurements...

Can't wait!
Eternal_Sunshine is offline  
post #16 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Whitefield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cine4Home View Post

The main features of the 4000 are not mentioned: A special new lamp and color filter. We are finishing right now our full detailed preview with first measurements...

Actually it did mention them, I only listed features I hadn't seen reported earlier. Looking forward to your preview!

Would especially like details on
  • lens memory (discrete codes for all six?)
  • automatic aspect switching (is it usable/desirable for movies like The Dark Knight that change aspect?)
Bob Whitefield is offline  
post #17 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffY View Post

It would be terribly distracting.

Or you can have it bleed out onto the top and bottom of the screen if you like that better. It's going to be "distracting" either way.
mike2060 is offline  
post #18 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Any news on smooth screen. The info states it is available but can it be turned on and off this year.
rwestley is offline  
post #19 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Whitefield View Post

Actually it did mention them, I only listed features I hadn't seen reported earlier. Looking forward to your preview!

Would especially like details on
  • lens memory (discrete codes for all six?)
  • automatic aspect switching (is it usable/desirable for movies like The Dark Knight that change aspect?)

Some 3d movies are going to use those black bars for pop out effects, so it's not going to be desirable for those... not that this PJ is 3d ready or anything.
Kamus is offline  
post #20 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by widerscreen View Post

what's so Exciting about it???? looks like the same pj not that its a bad thing the pj it a great pj I have one but was looking for a little more of change. like a little higher brightness. and 3-D ready and a masking system for scope

This link is a repost from another thread about this pj:

http://www.avforums.com/tv/

Looks like they did up the brightness in best mode by balancing the color...and they did implement a feature to block the black bars for scope(added in/out triggers) and other more minor changes...you want whipped cream on that?
pottscb is offline  
post #21 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
wohlstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's the link to CINE4Home AE4000 preview.

Looks nothing special. Conclusions pending more delailed review, but so far looks nothing special. Still a step below Epson 6500/7500.

http://translate.google.com/translat...istory_state0=
wohlstad is offline  
post #22 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ilsiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cine4home has posted a nice preview with lots of info:

http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translate...rUrl=Translate

Of most interest to me is the new rev of lens memory. Looks like it essentially works as it did in the AE3000, but with more presets and an auto-detect/switch.

Ekkehart - is the memory switching any faster? If switching manually, do you still need to press a button to exit the lens memory menu after switch is completed?
ilsiu is offline  
post #23 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:53 AM
Member
 
SimonJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wohlstad View Post

Here's the link to CINE4Home AE4000 preview.

Looks nothing special. Conclusions pending more delailed review, but so far looks nothing special. Still a step below Epson 6500/7500.

http://translate.google.com/translat...istory_state0=

I think Google translated from German to Yoda..!
SimonJB is offline  
post #24 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:54 AM
 
LilGator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

Wow, now for TDK, the upcoming Transformers 2, and any films in the future with changing aspect ratios this projector will automatically switch during the film!!

What does that even mean? The film is encoded with switching aspect ratios. All the Panny can do is zoom memory for those ARs- on a 1.78 screen, what would that accomplish?

Even on a 2.35 screen, this wouldn't work based on the way things switch back and forth, the 1.78 IMAX shots are intended to be larger, not CIH with the scope content.
LilGator is offline  
post #25 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,467
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Thanks much to Ekki/cine4home for the preview. I really like many of the AE4000 features. Unfortunately for my needs (batcave) the native contrast is much too low. I mean it's less than half of Epson's *last* year's model - and let's not even compare it to JVC. Come on, Panasonic! You can do better than that!
madshi is offline  
post #26 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilGator View Post

What does that even mean? The film is encoded with switching aspect ratios. All the Panny can do is zoom memory for those ARs- on a 1.78 screen, what would that accomplish?

Even on a 2.35 screen, this wouldn't work based on the way things switch back and forth, the 1.78 IMAX shots are intended to be larger, not CIH with the scope content.

I'm talking about a 2.35 screen obviously. Lol the zoom memory is pretty much for 2.35 screens so why would you ever think I'm talking about 16:9? And tell me how many people can have those Imax shots larger on their 2.35 screens? What is wrong with having the 16:9 image on a 2.35 screen and not be bleeding over the top and bottom? Why are you saying it wouldn't work with a 2.35 screen because the 1.78 is supposed to be larger????? When TDK and TF2 came out in normal theaters the Imax scenes were 2.35:1 so saying that the 16:9 should be larger is not really true.

I have a feeling you are really confused about how the zoom memory function works, I'm actually not sure if you even know what it is??
mike2060 is offline  
post #27 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:09 PM
 
LilGator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

I'm talking about a 2.35 screen obviously. Lol the zoom memory is pretty much for 2.35 screens so why would you ever think I'm talking about 16:9? And tell me how many people can have those Imax shots larger on their 2.35 screens? What is wrong with having the 16:9 image on a 2.35 screen and not be bleeding over the top and bottom? Why are you saying it wouldn't work with a 2.35 screen because the 1.78 is supposed to be larger????? When TDK and TF2 came out in normal theaters the Imax scenes were 2.35:1 so saying that the 16:9 should be larger is not really true.

I have a feeling you are really confused about how the zoom memory function works, I'm actually not sure if you even know what it is??

I think you've confused yourself thoroughly.

Zoom memory on a 2.35 screen is only useful if you want to switch between 1.78/1.85 and 2.35 content and zoom both to screen height.

Switching from ESPN at screen height (masked sides) over to a 2.35 Blu-ray would be one-touch on the old Panasonic, and automatic on this new one. That would be useful.

Taking a movie like TDK or TF2 that auto-switches, and letting the Panasonic auto-switch AR's as well would be a terrible way to watch the movie. The majority of the movie is 2.35 and fills your screen. IMAX scenes are 1.78 and would then be smaller than the rest of the movie- which is the opposite of what is intended!

If you're wanting to watch those films on a 2.35 screen, just crop it to 2.35- no need to screw around with resizing AR's. (I can't guarantee this will work on the TF2 BD though, as the IMAX scenes filled the screen height- I imagine CG was reworked for standard theaters, or it was a vertical pan'n'scan job to keep things looking right. Keep in mind it was shot 1.44 and will be changed somewhat to fit in a 1.78 frame on the BD. TDK worked OK cropping it because it was shot with a lot of empty space above and below the 2.35 area, almost like it was shot 2.35 "safe".)

This is how IMAX scenes were presented in normal theaters- not height reduced 1.78 presented pillar boxed.
LilGator is offline  
post #28 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilGator View Post

I think you've confused yourself thoroughly.

Zoom memory on a 2.35 screen is only useful if you want to switch between 1.78/1.85 and 2.35 content and zoom both to screen height.

Switching from ESPN at screen height (masked sides) over to a 2.35 Blu-ray would be one-touch on the old Panasonic, and automatic on this new one. That would be useful.

Taking a movie like TDK or TF2 that auto-switches, and letting the Panasonic auto-switch AR's as well would be a terrible way to watch the movie. The majority of the movie is 2.35 and fills your screen. IMAX scenes are 1.78 and would then be smaller than the rest of the movie- which is the opposite of what is intended!

If you're wanting to watch those films on a 2.35 screen, just crop it to 2.35- no need to screw around with resizing AR's.

This is how IMAX scenes were presented in normal theaters- not height reduced 1.78 presented pillar boxed.

But you still have image being projected over the top and bottom. Some people will not want that so this is good for them.
mike2060 is offline  
post #29 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:20 PM
 
LilGator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

But you still have image being projected over the top and bottom. Some people will not want that so this is good for them.

You would need a VP to crop top/bottom. I think even most would rather see some spill than see a scene that's supposed to be HUGE, tiny on their screen.

There's always this as well:

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinfarinha View Post

On the video it showed masking options on the 2.35:1 set up, could this be to get rid of image overscanning on scope screens? I'm thinking specificaly about "Dark Knight" scenarios.

LilGator is offline  
post #30 of 874 Old 09-03-2009, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
wohlstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Thanks much to Ekki/cine4home for the preview. I really like many of the AE4000 features. Unfortunately for my needs (batcave) the native contrast is much too low. I mean it's less than half of Epson's *last* year's model - and let's not even compare it to JVC. Come on, Panasonic! You can do better than that!

Well, if these disappointing results are true, with this level of "Engineering" Panasonic might as well quit the market alltogether.
wohlstad is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off