Panasonic PT-AE4000 MSRP $1999 - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 8513 Old 05-13-2010, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hughmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDoherty View Post

The other units are labeled CEC compatible, although the only effect I see is when I shut off the projector the other units turn off also. Which is kinda neat. But the other units don't turn themselves on when the projector is turned on, and the projector doesn't turn off when something else turns off, so it really doesn't help with the remote control problem. There doesn't appear to be any serious menu control other than enable/disable.

Some where in the menu of your BD player, receiver or the A4000 you have the option of having them just turn on, or on/off or other remote commands, depending. There are a lot of variables here, but the more CEC devices in the chain the more they can conflict with on/off of each other.
Hughmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 8513 Old 05-14-2010, 01:23 AM
Member
 
dominickwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aphasia View Post

Although I have a question for you that use lens-memory. I wonder if you can use the 2.35 lens memory to just shift 2:35/1 material downwards on screen so that all of the black bars is on top. Mostly to get the 2.35 to a lower position in the vertical field of view?

Yes, you can. Adjust the "V-AREA POSITION" to the desired position, and then save the lens settings to the 2.35 lens memory.
dominickwok is offline  
post #5043 of 8513 Old 05-14-2010, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
SARHENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominickwok View Post

Yes, you can. Adjust the "V-AREA POSITION" to the desired position, and then save the lens settings to the 2.35 lens memory.

Does the 4K automatically switch between 2.35 and 1.78 depending on the source or do you have to manually do it?
SARHENTO is offline  
post #5044 of 8513 Old 05-14-2010, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, just wondering if anyone in here made the jump from the ax200 to the 4000? Trying to figure out if the upgrade price is worth it. I enjoy the ax200 and can live with it, but I would also like to go 1080p soon.

I am projecting at 21 feet from a rear salamander audio stand on to a DIY 120" Wilsonart screen.

Is the 4000 just as flexible as far as placement?
I am looking to upgrade my screen situation anyway so can anyone recommend a nice screen to use with the 4000. 21' throw to a 120" screen. Light controlled room, with night time viewing 90% of time, other 10% being Sunday football. Also, 80% blu Ray,10% HDTV through fios and 10% PS3 gaming.

Thanks!
jwheels is offline  
post #5045 of 8513 Old 05-14-2010, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
jjmbxkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SARHENTO View Post

Does the 4K automatically switch between 2.35 and 1.78 depending on the source or do you have to manually do it?

You can do it both ways. The automatic detection and switching between any two AR's of your choice is a new feature in AE4K. I don't use it, but I've seen mixed feedback on it.
jjmbxkb is offline  
post #5046 of 8513 Old 05-14-2010, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
jjmbxkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwheels View Post


I am projecting at 21 feet from a rear salamander audio stand on to a DIY 120" Wilsonart screen.

Is the 4000 just as flexible as far as placement?

Thanks!

Assuming your screen is 16:9, yes, that throw distance works. According to the Panny manual, which is linked on the first post of this thread, for a 120" 16:9 screen, the range is 11'9" to 23'7".
jjmbxkb is offline  
post #5047 of 8513 Old 05-16-2010, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
neverfaithful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwheels View Post

I am looking to upgrade my screen situation anyway so can anyone recommend a nice screen to use with the 4000. 21' throw to a 120" screen. Light controlled room, with night time viewing 90% of time, other 10% being Sunday football. Also, 80% blu Ray,10% HDTV through fios and 10% PS3 gaming.

Thanks!

I got a Carada BW 110" screen from 13' out.


Rich
neverfaithful is offline  
post #5048 of 8513 Old 05-16-2010, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwheels View Post

Hi, just wondering if anyone in here made the jump from the ax200 to the 4000? Trying to figure out if the upgrade price is worth it. I enjoy the ax200 and can live with it, but I would also like to go 1080p soon.

I am projecting at 21 feet from a rear salamander audio stand on to a DIY 120" Wilsonart screen.

Is the 4000 just as flexible as far as placement?
I am looking to upgrade my screen situation anyway so can anyone recommend a nice screen to use with the 4000. 21' throw to a 120" screen. Light controlled room, with night time viewing 90% of time, other 10% being Sunday football. Also, 80% blu Ray,10% HDTV through fios and 10% PS3 gaming.

Thanks!

You may not realize it but the closer you get to the screen, the brighter the picture will be! As you move the projector back (which requires more zoom from the lens), the picture becomes dimmer.
frank1940 is offline  
post #5049 of 8513 Old 05-16-2010, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Bujee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwheels View Post

Hi, just wondering if anyone in here made the jump from the ax200 to the 4000? Trying to figure out if the upgrade price is worth it. I enjoy the ax200 and can live with it, but I would also like to go 1080p soon.

I am projecting at 21 feet from a rear salamander audio stand on to a DIY 120" Wilsonart screen.

Is the 4000 just as flexible as far as placement?
I am looking to upgrade my screen situation anyway so can anyone recommend a nice screen to use with the 4000. 21' throw to a 120" screen. Light controlled room, with night time viewing 90% of time, other 10% being Sunday football. Also, 80% blu Ray,10% HDTV through fios and 10% PS3 gaming.

Thanks!

I made the switch. I use my AX200 for a computer monitor and watch movies on my AE4k. I'm glad I upgraded but my throw is only 11 ft. At your distance I wouldn't recommend it. You need lumens, not contrast.

120" Electric Motorized Remote Projection Screen Movie Projector Black Matt 16:9, Elite Screens R115WH1-WIDE ezFrame Fixed Projection Screen (115" 2.35:1 AR)(CineWhite), Onkyo TX-NR616 7.2-Channel THX Select2 Plus Certified Network A/V Receiver(Black), Klipsch Reference Series R-1650-C In-Wall/In...
Bujee1 is offline  
post #5050 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
jwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bujee1 View Post

I made the switch. I use my AX200 for a computer monitor and watch movies on my AE4k. I'm glad I upgraded but my throw is only 11 ft. At your distance I wouldn't recommend it. You need lumens, not contrast.

Thanks for the reply.
jwheels is offline  
post #5051 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 07:18 AM
Member
 
hunsingeruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bujee1 View Post

I made the switch. I use my AX200 for a computer monitor and watch movies on my AE4k. I'm glad I upgraded but my throw is only 11 ft. At your distance I wouldn't recommend it. You need lumens, not contrast.

Would I be able to get a top not quality image on a 120" screen if I have my throw distance much less? currently, my plan is to have it around a 14-16' throw, but I have the room to put it closer, and the panny throw calculator says 11-23' for a 120" screen.

Anyone have any advice, especially if you use a 120" screen, though any advice is appreciated.
hunsingeruk is offline  
post #5052 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank1940 View Post

You may not realize it but the closer you get to the screen, the brighter the picture will be! As you move the projector back (which requires more zoom from the lens), the picture becomes dimmer.

I do realize that, I get a nice picture on my ax-200 in normal mode, cinema 1 I find a little dim for my tastes. Gotta find out the real lumens difference between the 2 projectors in normal and "cinema" mode.
jwheels is offline  
post #5053 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwheels View Post

I do realize that, I get a nice picture on my ax-200 in normal mode, cinema 1 I find a little dim for my tastes. Gotta find out the real lumens difference between the 2 projectors in normal and "cinema" mode.

Check out the reviews of those two PJs on www.projectorreviews.com: http://www.projectorreviews.com/pana...200u/index.php & http://www.projectorreviews.com/pana...4000/index.php.

The calibrated lumen output is given in Art's Calibration sections, however, you should read the entire reviews. The Calibration sections are here (on a 106" Carada BW screen, at "mid-zoom" distance):

AX200 -- http://www.projectorreviews.com/pana...hp#calibration

AE4000 -- http://www.projectorreviews.com/pana...alibration.php

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #5054 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 09:30 PM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any advice, especially if you use a 120" screen, though any advice is appreciated.
********
As a science major, I believe in the experimental method. I initially set mine up on a structure that could be moved and tried it out at varying distances from the screen.

The other approach is to debate "How many angels can dance on the head of a pin??"
Poly-sci majors are fond of this approach to problem solving. :>)

Steve
501transpo is offline  
post #5055 of 8513 Old 05-17-2010, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Finally got round to watching a movie on my 4000 tonight. Very impressed with the brightness in my light-controlled room. I even have a nice dust blob already! Thanks Panasonic!

Anyway, I'm not used to projectors so I did notice the black levels in the bars in 2:35:1 material did vary in brightness depending on the rest of the image's brightness. e.g. During bright scenes the bars were pretty washed out, and during darker scenes the contrast was a lot better in the bars and in the image in general. I'm guessing this is normal for the projector?

In any case, very impressed with the way this pj handles motion. Excellent stuff.
WilliamG is offline  
post #5056 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 04:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Finally got round to watching a movie on my 4000 tonight. Very impressed with the brightness in my light-controlled room. I even have a nice dust blob already! Thanks Panasonic!

Anyway, I'm not used to projectors so I did notice the black levels in the bars in 2:35:1 material did vary in brightness depending on the rest of the image's brightness. e.g. During bright scenes the bars were pretty washed out, and during darker scenes the contrast was a lot better in the bars and in the image in general. I'm guessing this is normal for the projector?

In any case, very impressed with the way this pj handles motion. Excellent stuff.

If you want to get rid of the 'pumping' of the black levels because of changes in brightness levels, turn off the auto-iris.
frank1940 is offline  
post #5057 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 05:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It there a calibration thread for the 4000u?
john barlow is offline  
post #5058 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
jjmbxkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barlow View Post

It there a calibration thread for the 4000u?

Yes: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1195573.
jjmbxkb is offline  
post #5059 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 09:17 PM
DHF
Senior Member
 
DHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just installed my Panny 4000 in the living room of all places. Non light controlled. Screen drops down in front of the old 50" plasma. Being a projector newbie - I scanned through many of the thousands of posts on the forums. Some of my observations:
1. The projector is bigger than I imagined it to be. I have an infocus 4805 in the basement - you could fit 4 of them inside the Panny. I know - I should have read the dimensions - but I just looked at the pictures not realizing the lens was like 6" in diameter. Got it up and installed before the wife saw it so its all good now.
Used a moderately high gain screen - 2.0 Draper - got it at an auction for a TV retailer that went belly up. 106" diag 16x9 - put it 16 feet from the screen - no hotspotting - screen looks great from all angles.
I was surprised by how little can lights in the ceiling affect the picture - the vertical lighting has little effect compared to low angle sunlight which absolutely wipes out the picture. Am getting a blind for the big southern exposure window over the entry door that kills the left hand side of the screen durng the day. But all in all I am amazed at how bright and vivid the colors are even in non light controlled room.
Used a Chief mount for the PJ - 1 1/2" pipe - thought the mount was total overkill until I pulled the PJ out of the box. Glad I got it now.
One question out of all this rambling - anybody else have challenges with HDMI #1 input on the PJ? I have not read the CD manual in its entirety - but I have 2 HDMI cables running to the PJ - they work fine on HDMI 2 & 3 - but 1 appears dead. Am I missing something?
DHF is offline  
post #5060 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 09:20 PM
DHF
Senior Member
 
DHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 501transpo View Post

Anyone have any advice, especially if you use a 120" screen, though any advice is appreciated.
********
As a science major, I believe in the experimental method. I initially set mine up on a structure that could be moved and tried it out at varying distances from the screen.

The other approach is to debate "How many angels can dance on the head of a pin??"
Poly-sci majors are fond of this approach to problem solving. :>)

Steve

I was told that the minimum distance for a projector is the width of the screen times the gain of the screen. Lens limitations notwithstanding. Worked for me - no hotspotting.
DHF is offline  
post #5061 of 8513 Old 05-18-2010, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
neverfaithful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHF View Post

anybody else have challenges with HDMI #1 input on the PJ? I have not read the CD manual in its entirety - but I have 2 HDMI cables running to the PJ - they work fine on HDMI 2 & 3 - but 1 appears dead. Am I missing something?

Hey congrats on the purchase. It is a great projector. However, with regards to your HDMI problem I can't say I had a problem there. I think that you might have a faulty input unless there is a way to disable it on the projector itself. Maybe someone else can chime in here. Good luck.

Rich
neverfaithful is offline  
post #5062 of 8513 Old 05-19-2010, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
elius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that my projector is suffering from the phenomen called shading, in fact when i look a completely white picture or image test like a gray scale ,it's possible to see very localized spots. on the lower left green stripe and other areas magenta streaks. This problem has also presented some of you?
The defect is more noticeable when watching movies in parts of solid,uniform type like sky, walls or wallpaper.
can it be a misalignment matrices or law lens quality ?
it's evident for example in the opening scene of the day after tomorrow ,on big white iceberg !
elius is offline  
post #5063 of 8513 Old 05-19-2010, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHF View Post

Just installed my Panny 4000 in the living room of all places.

One question out of all this rambling - anybody else have challenges with HDMI #1 input on the PJ? I have not read the CD manual in its entirety - but I have 2 HDMI cables running to the PJ - they work fine on HDMI 2 & 3 - but 1 appears dead. Am I missing something?

I suspect that you have a bad HDMI input #1. Be sure and double check that it was not cockpit error. Make sure that the cable is pushed straight onto the plug and fully seated as the HDMI connector design is not the most rugged thing in the world. If both of the other cables fail to work in the HDMI 1 port then you have a problem with that port. (Be sure cycle the power on either the projector or the source to assure that the HDMI handshake is occurring when doing the check!)
frank1940 is offline  
post #5064 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 12:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank1940 View Post

If you want to get rid of the 'pumping' of the black levels because of changes in brightness levels, turn off the auto-iris.

I will have to try this! What is the point of auto-iris?
WilliamG is offline  
post #5065 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings everyone.

Can anyone advise how to turn on the x.y.colour option?

I recorded some clips using the panasonic TM700 with the x.y.colouyt feature enabled, and yet the option is not available during playback.

Thanks.
mariner888 is offline  
post #5066 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 05:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

I will have to try this! What is the point of auto-iris?

It improves dynamic contrast. I believe most people are leaving it on as it is almost unnoticeable on the AE4000 except for the increase in black level. It can added dynamic punch to scenes with that are bright lit. It also allows the AE4000 to have better shadow detail in dark scenes.

You pick your medicine and live with the side effects!

You should try it both ways while attempting to be immersed in the material (without looking for single picture attribute) and see which setting you prefer for just watching. You want to be a projector critic and watch only for any (and all) projector shortcomings, you need to be prepared to spend a lot more money to get a truly superior projector.
frank1940 is offline  
post #5067 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank1940 View Post

It improves dynamic contrast. I believe most people are leaving it on as it is almost unnoticeable on the AE4000 except for the increase in black level. It can added dynamic punch to scenes with that are bright lit. It also allows the AE4000 to have better shadow detail in dark scenes.

You pick your medicine and live with the side effects!

You should try it both ways while attempting to be immersed in the material (without looking for single picture attribute) and see which setting you prefer for just watching. You want to be a projector critic and watch only for any (and all) projector shortcomings, you need to be prepared to spend a lot more money to get a truly superior projector.

Thank you. I've definitely noticed the changing of the black level. This is a projector that is far from perfect, but still fantastic. The color uniformity was absolutely my first complaint, and then a dust blob at 7 hours. Probably there from the beginning but I began to notice it so I cleaned the projector today by following the simple instructions..

Here's a question for you all:

It was a total pain to take my ceiling mounted projector down to clean it today, since you have to then mess with the mount and positioning it when you put it up etc etc.

Is it OK to do the dust-blob cleaning with the projector still on the ceiling? It's upside-down mounted, so I can still remove everything I need with it upside down as long as I won't hurt anything? Hopefully some dust-blob experts can chime in!
WilliamG is offline  
post #5068 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WilliamG -- If you can get at the filter cover, with your PJ still mounted on the ceiling, then there is no reason to take it down. All you have to do is to remove the cover, pop the filter out, vacuum it (with a low suction vacuum) and reinstall the cleaned element and put the filter cover back on.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #5069 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT_Wiebe View Post

WilliamG -- If you can get at the filter cover, with your PJ still mounted on the ceiling, then there is no reason to take it down. All you have to do is to remove the cover, pop the filter out, vacuum it (with a low suction vacuum) and reinstall the cleaned element and put the filter cover back on.

Thank you. However, at this point I'm talking about the dust-blob cleaning, which requires removal of the top case, 8 screws etc to clean the 3LCD mechanism...
WilliamG is offline  
post #5070 of 8513 Old 05-20-2010, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

Thank you. However, at this point I'm talking about the dust-blob cleaning, which requires removal of the top case, 8 screws etc to clean the 3LCD mechanism...

Sorry. You are right. For removing dust blobs that are inside your PJ, the only way to get them out is to demount your unit, unfortunately.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off