Panasonic PT-AE4000 MSRP $1999 - Page 256 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7651 of 8531 Old 10-28-2011, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
jskibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by filetandrelease View Post

Its a universal, Panasonic deal.

http://www.projectorpeople.com/SLIS/...nty_103111.pdf

Doesn't appear that you can get both since they both require the same serial number label as an original submittal.......
jskibo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7652 of 8531 Old 10-28-2011, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Brent A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

That one looks even better. Let me know how well it mounts. I ordered this projector yesterday so it should be here Monday or Tuesday.

I have that mount and I have tightened the allen screws as tight as I dare but every once in a while, I will have to "re-align" the projector to the screen. I'm sure that my 10 year old running around the floor above role-playing Spiderman is the reason for this but it's not a big deal really.

When I bought it, I did so with the intention of getting a better quality mount down the road, but after 16 months, I decided that this one is doing the job and probably won't replace it afterall.

Overall, especially for the money spent, I am very satisfied.
Brent A is offline  
post #7653 of 8531 Old 10-28-2011, 04:48 PM
Member
 
filetandrelease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskibo View Post

Doesn't appear that you can get both since they both require the same serial number label as an original submittal.......

Everything I read it appears you get both-- didnt see any either/or language--
I ordered mine-- so we shall see-
for $1629 - you cant lose-
filetandrelease is offline  
post #7654 of 8531 Old 10-29-2011, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
WannaTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

So when I use my Harmony remote to turn off all my equipment, I guess it only sends one OFF signal to the AE4000... which makes me confirm that I want to shut it off. Can I somehow get rid of this confirmation???

Thanks!
WannaTheater is offline  
post #7655 of 8531 Old 10-29-2011, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 258
^Send the signal twice.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #7656 of 8531 Old 10-29-2011, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
WannaTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup... I didn't think I could with Harmony, but I found out how.
Thanks-
WannaTheater is offline  
post #7657 of 8531 Old 10-30-2011, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jskibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

That one looks even better. Let me know how well it mounts. I ordered this projector yesterday so it should be here Monday or Tuesday.

I had to cut it down quite a bit to get it to work for my space. Cuts easy, and with a 1/4" bolt it holds together fine. All mounted now,



jskibo is offline  
post #7658 of 8531 Old 11-02-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by filetandrelease View Post

Everything I read it appears you get both-- didnt see any either/or language--
I ordered mine-- so we shall see-
for $1629 - you cant lose-

Any word on this?

I received my unit and printed both current rebate forms (2 year extended warranty and $250 cash rebate)but dont know what to do and if I can send BOTH in for claim?

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #7659 of 8531 Old 11-02-2011, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
jskibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

Any word on this?

I received my unit and printed both current rebate forms (2 year extended warranty and $250 cash rebate)but dont know what to do and if I can send BOTH in for claim?

I'm with you, can't figure out how to send two original serial number labels in to get both. There is a number on the form, but I would bet its the rebate processing company.

I'll take the cash if I can't get both!

BTW, love the projector! At 138" scope its beautiful!!!

Now on 16:9 Direct TV content it sometimes tries to zoom out to scope size on some commercials. Not sure if they are filmed in a wider format or what. Not enough to drive me nuts yets.
jskibo is offline  
post #7660 of 8531 Old 11-02-2011, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just got mine and decided to mail in the cash rebate form but still have the extended warranty form as I would like that as well. I took the suggestion from the company I purchased through to send the cash rebate first as I didnt want Panny to make the decision for me on which rebate they would accept. I hope someone else chimes in with a suggestion....

I havent even opened mine let alone set it up as I pulled something in my back last Thursday and havent been able to move since. But I am sure I will be happy with it as I loved my 200U. I just couldnt justify the difference in the price I got this for compared to the price of the 7000U.

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #7661 of 8531 Old 11-04-2011, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Initial impressions--comparing to my five-year-old Panny ae900 (about 1150 hours on the bulb).

With rebate on top of price I got, 4000 is pretty much the same net as net for the 900 with its rebate.

The 4000 handles dark scenes significantly better than the 900.

The 4000 is only moderately sharper than the 900.

The 4000 is a little quieter.

I like the 4000's frame creation mode 1, even for films.

I don't have a problem using the 4000's motorized focus/zoom compared to the
900's manual controls.

The 4000's smooth-screen prevents moire on my AT screen (as opposed to a significant moire problem with the Epson 8700 that I had briefly last year).

I always thought that the 900 had a solid-build feel to it, and I feel the same way about the 4000 (as opposed to the Epson 8700 that I had briefly last year).
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #7662 of 8531 Old 11-07-2011, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Viche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Has anyone compared this projector to the JVC DLA-HD250...wait I mean the RS....I really don't get JVC's naming conventions. What is it called?
Viche is offline  
post #7663 of 8531 Old 11-08-2011, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Tango Jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all! Just curious what the largest scope screens you have seen or tried with the ae4000? I pulled the trigger on one as my first projector and am trying to go with the biggest screen I can. From what I've seen in other threads, 138" seems to be the current winner. My room is very deep, 14'X40', and I'm thinking of trying 152" diagonal on the scope with a 120" 16:9...my worry is that even with a light controlled room, the panny won't be able to sufficiently light up the screen (which I'm planning will be the SeymourAV 1.2 gain DIY screen). Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

~Tango
Tango Jenkins is offline  
post #7664 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango Jenkins View Post

Hey all! Just curious what the largest scope screens you have seen or tried with the ae4000? I pulled the trigger on one as my first projector and am trying to go with the biggest screen I can. From what I've seen in other threads, 138" seems to be the current winner. My room is very deep, 14'X40', and I'm thinking of trying 152" diagonal on the scope with a 120" 16:9...my worry is that even with a light controlled room, the panny won't be able to sufficiently light up the screen (which I'm planning will be the SeymourAV 1.2 gain DIY screen). Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

~Tango

I run a 147" @ 2.40 and 115" @ 16:9 on a Seymor screen

Totally light controlled room, bulb has around 700 hours on it now. I run eco mode all the time and color 1 for movies (that is best mode). I have zero comlaints about brightness and think the picture is great. I think alot of it is what you are use to, if you never had a projecctor you will be blown away, if you are use to a light cannon projector maybe it will seem dim to you. When I watch TV with some lights on I will put it in Normal mode to add some brightness.
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #7665 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango Jenkins View Post

Hey all! Just curious what the largest scope screens you have seen or tried with the ae4000? I pulled the trigger on one as my first projector and am trying to go with the biggest screen I can. From what I've seen in other threads, 138" seems to be the current winner. My room is very deep, 14'X40', and I'm thinking of trying 152" diagonal on the scope with a 120" 16:9...my worry is that even with a light controlled room, the panny won't be able to sufficiently light up the screen (which I'm planning will be the SeymourAV 1.2 gain DIY screen). Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

~Tango

I don't have a scope screen, but I am running the 4000 in Color 1 and high-lamp mode on a roughly 102" diagonal 16:9 SMX AT screen (which I think is also about 1.2) with a bit of lens shift and a throw distance of a little over 11 feet in a dedicated room with darkened walls but a light ceiling and rug. Seating distance is 9-10 feet. That's about as far as I would push it myself. Frankly, I think you're going to need more lumens than Color 1 provides for the size you mention. Some of the reviews say that Normal has more lumens and colors almost as good as Color 1. Then there's always blasting away in dynamic ...
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #7666 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
TCroly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot say how accurate this information is, but a vendor, who advertises here, is now listing the AE4000u as a discontinued product.

http://www.visualapex.com/Panasonic/...The=PT-AE4000U

I know that many other vendors still have AE4000's to sell, but I wonder how much longer they will be around.
TCroly is offline  
post #7667 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCroly View Post

I cannot say how accurate this information is, but a vendor, who advertises here, is now listing the AE4000u as a discontinued product.

http://www.visualapex.com/Panasonic/...The=PT-AE4000U

I know that many other vendors still have AE4000's to sell, but I wonder how much longer they will be around.

Wow! Does this means that they are going to release a "7000 without 3D"? Or are they out of the high-quality, reasonably-priced, dedicated-room 2D market?

Forcing 3D down our throats when the technology is nowhere near perfected and there is still such a lack of content is more than a little annoying.
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #7668 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
secondhander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Mudder View Post

I run a 147" @ 2.40 and 115" @ 16:9 on a Seymor screen

Totally light controlled room, bulb has around 700 hours on it now. I run eco mode all the time and color 1 for movies (that is best mode). I have zero comlaints about brightness and think the picture is great. I think alot of it is what you are use to, if you never had a projecctor you will be blown away, if you are use to a light cannon projector maybe it will seem dim to you. When I watch TV with some lights on I will put it in Normal mode to add some brightness.

That's great to hear as my 113" 2.35 XD material has been shipped and on route. Very small screen compared to your beast though.
secondhander is offline  
post #7669 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_templar_32 View Post

Wow! Does this means that they are going to release a "7000 without 3D"? Or are they out of the high-quality, reasonably-priced, dedicated-room 2D market?

I think it is already here.

This is actually the first year I am aware of them making not one , but two 1080p home theater projectors concurrently. The 7000 being the upscale one with power zoom memory and 3D, the other being the PT-AR100 released this month (or so) with a street price of $1500. I doubt they will release yet a third 1080p one soon.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #7670 of 8531 Old 11-09-2011, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post

I think it is already here.

This is actually the first year I am aware of them making not one , but two 1080p home theater projectors concurrently. The 7000 being the upscale one with power zoom memory and 3D, the other being the PT-AR100 released this month (or so) with a street price of $1500. I doubt they will release yet a third 1080p one soon.

I think you're right about another projector, but if the projectorcentral review is anything to go by, the ar100 is nowhere near the 4000 in a dedicated room, and my 4000 (1879 - 250 rebate) didn't cost much more than the ar100.
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #7671 of 8531 Old 11-10-2011, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Javatime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cedar Brook, NJ
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

I just got mine... But I am sure I will be happy with it as I loved my 200U. I just couldnt justify the difference in the price I got this for compared to the price of the 7000U.

Hey Iusteve,
You finally did it...I'm jealous! My 200U is still serving me well with the new lamp so maybe next year sometime. I've been looking at the 4000U forever. Man, that price drop and rebate is sure tempting. Let me know how it stacks up against the 200U.
Rich
Javatime is offline  
post #7672 of 8531 Old 11-10-2011, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
AE4000u is not yet a discontinued product.
PP, B&H, Amazon are selling it.
If you look at the Panasonic website
Projectors - Home Cinema you'll see that they are still showing the AE4000
http://panasonic.net/avc/projector/products/ae4000/
AE7000: "Full HD3D excitement"
AR1000: "More brightness, more excitement - living-room entertainment at its best"
AE4000: "Full HD Home Cinema Projector - for film lovers everywhere"
So maybe the AE4000 is for HT and the AR1000 for living-rooms
ferbal is offline  
post #7673 of 8531 Old 11-10-2011, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javatime View Post

Hey Iusteve,
You finally did it...I'm jealous! My 200U is still serving me well with the new lamp so maybe next year sometime. I've been looking at the 4000U forever. Man, that price drop and rebate is sure tempting. Let me know how it stacks up against the 200U.
Rich

Yea I finally made a decision. I was in line to get the 7000 but the $3k price and the fact that 3D is still in the early stages of being relevant pushed me back to the 4000. The main reason I made up my mind was the price that I got. The downside of it is that I have had it here for nearly 2 weeks and have yet to fire it up once due to a nasty back injury that I am suffering from. The worst part is that a new toy, in the box and yet to be tested is making my back hurt even more.....

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #7674 of 8531 Old 11-11-2011, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

Yea I finally made a decision. I was in line to get the 7000 but the $3k price and the fact that 3D is still in the early stages of being relevant pushed me back to the 4000. The main reason I made up my mind was the price that I got. ...

+1. I upgraded my AE3000 2 months ago and decided to go with the AE4000 because of the price.
Compared with the AE3000, the AE4000 its al little bit better in every aspect: a little more sharp & bright. Contrast & colors are better too.
ferbal is offline  
post #7675 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iusteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can someone link me to the throw measurements? I am mounting my 4000 @ 13' 6" roughly and I am trying to see what screen sizes I can pull off from that distance. Thanks.

Irish Copper Top Tavern & Theater

Theater Build Version 2.0 LOOK HERE

Cuzed Approved C.C.C. (Certified Column Counselor)

XBOX Live: Zz NiNj4 D4D zZ
Iusteve is offline  
post #7676 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
manthatsnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I always use the Projector Central calculator.

http://www.projectorcentral.com/proj...ulator-pro.com

Typed this on my phone so hope I got it right...

The BAMA Theatre Build - feedback welcomed encouraged needed badly
manthatsnice is offline  
post #7677 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

Can someone link me to the throw measurements? I am mounting my 4000 @ 13' 6" roughly and I am trying to see what screen sizes I can pull off from that distance. Thanks.

There is a link to the manuals in the first post of this thread. Download both manuals as they contain the information that you need to calculate the exact picture sizes for any throw distance for both the 16:9 and 2.35:1 aspect ratios.
frank1940 is offline  
post #7678 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
osupike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iusteve View Post

Can someone link me to the throw measurements? I am mounting my 4000 @ 13' 6" roughly and I am trying to see what screen sizes I can pull off from that distance. Thanks.

I got mine from about 15 feet to throw onto 120 inch 16x9

Alex
osupike99 is offline  
post #7679 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
taffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can the AE4000 be manually focussed and zoomed, or do you just have to use the power focus and zoom?
taffman is offline  
post #7680 of 8531 Old 11-14-2011, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 258
^Power zoom and focus only.

They work pretty well, once you get the technique down. To make small precise adjustments you quickly tap the buttons on the remote like a Morse code telegraph thingy.

I find it best to focus once the pj has thermally stabilized (say after 20-30 minutes or so) and I stand right up next to the screen so I can focus so precisely I can even see the sub-pixel elements, almost, however the smooth screen technology, true to its name, does a splendid job of obscuring them. With manual focus this procedure would of course be impossible unless you have very long arms () or view your screen surface from the pj position using a tripod mounted telescope or very strong binoculars.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off