Panasonic PT-AE4000 MSRP $1999 - Page 54 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
jeepster360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsm88 View Post

That doesn't make any sense, clearly if you are at the max of either lens shift or zoom then you might have a problem, but the 2.35 picture is just a zoom of the 16:9 picture - if you can place that below the lens without keystone, which you can, then you can place the zoomed 2.35 image there - assuming you have the zoom to work with.

Let me try to explain this................When you are shifting the lens with the manual wheels you are moving the whole lens to make the shift. you can shift the image a long ways above or below the lens.

the reason the lens has to be with in the screen with the 2.35 feature is because the lens itself is not moved at all(except to focus). the image is electronicly shifted up to the top of the screen & zoomed out to make it wider, filling the screen. the lens can't be higher than the screen because
there isn't enough electronic vertical movement to keep on the panel to compensate for the angle of the internal light path with out cutting it off at the screen.

If thee whole lens was shifted to make the feature work then you could get away with the lens being higher than the screen.

thats may take anyways.

john
jeepster360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Snape View Post

What you reported earlier is what I had expected. Everything off this 4k is soft. Tech support at Projector People said it was because of Pany's anti screen door technology. Not sure I buy that. Furthermore, he refused to point me to any kind of resolution test BD.

Resolution and sharpness are two completely different things. As an example you can compare a focussed image to a non-focussed image (up to a certain degree) and they will contain the exact same amount of detail (resolution).

The sharpness or softness of the image will be determined by contrast level, visible pixel outline and how good the lens and panels' alignment are along with a number of other items including Panasonic's Smooth Screen. My guess is any variations between the same model would mostly be the result of panel alignment differences.

A long time ago I compared the PT-AE2000U to the at the time current Epson model and on the surface the Epson looked dramatically sharper. However both had the same amount of detail it was just the screen door affect giving the Epson a perceived sharpness (that some prefer and other's don't).
Charles R is offline  
post #1593 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 10:54 AM
Member
 
allroadCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by naturr View Post

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

This is the mount I am using. Looks great in fact looks expensive. Lots of adjustability and you can hide your wires down the centre shaft.

Price is great even with shipping. Their cables are terrific also I use them all the time with clients for networking and grabbed a 45 foot HDMI cable for the projector that works great.

That mount looks nice, can you adjust the length of the shaft? If so, what are the min and max drops from the ceiling to the center of the lens (roughly)?

TIA!
allroadCole is offline  
post #1594 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by allroadCole View Post

That mount looks nice, can you adjust the length of the shaft? If so, what are the min and max drops from the ceiling to the center of the lens (roughly)?

TIA!

I have that mount without the extra shaft extention.
I bought it a couple years ago for my Epson pj, but I ended up having to buy 2 to get enough parts to stretch the spider brackets out far enough to the holes.
The mount is solid, but you get what you pay for.
More expensive mounts are a lot easier to work with, while this mount comes in pieces, needs assembled, and takes lots of tweaking to get it right. All the adjustments and screws take allen wrenches to adjust (which they provide), but not as easy as the better mounts that have nice turn dials and built in leveling and all that.
If you want easy, buy one for $100.
If you don't mind taking the extra time it takes to tweak this one till it's right, then it's a money saver.
Again though, for my Epson I had to buy 2 to get more parts to reach the mounting holes on the pj.
Don't know if it would be the same for the 3000/4000.

BTW, that's what SHE said...

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #1595 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 11:57 AM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More Mounting systems:

I recycled my Chief RPA system and added the PT-AE4000U plate (SLB181). The mount has the optional lateral shift rails (LSB100) and the Panamorph bracket. With the relative light weight of the 4K. I used PVC plumbing parts, much easier to work with than 1 1/2 inch threaded steel pipe, for the ceiling mount.

Steve
LL
LL
501transpo is offline  
post #1596 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bronco70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 501transpo View Post

More Mounting systems:

I recycled my Chief RPA system and added the PT-AE4000U plate (SLB181). The mount has the optional lateral shift rails (LSB100) and the Panamorph bracket. With the relative light weight of the 4K. I used PVC plumbing parts, much easier to work with than 1 1/2 inch threaded steel pipe, for the ceiling mount.

Steve

Nice pics.

Where did you purchase the SLB-181? I also have the RPA mount.

As an alternative it looks like it might be fairly easy to buy a piece of plexiglass and make an interface bracket.

Joe
Bronco70 is offline  
post #1597 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:14 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh MY! Just hooked up this bad boy to my bedroom system! Holy CRAP! Had UP in the blu ray player, did a few quick and dirty tweeks and next thing I know I have lost an hour watching it! This is on a 72" Carada grey screen and it is spectacular! I plan on taking it down to the basement theater tomorrow to compare/contrast with my Pioneer RS2 clone.
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #1598 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

...I plan on taking it down to the basement theater tomorrow to compare/contrast with my Pioneer RS2 clone.

CCONKLIN1
I'm interested! Please post your observations.
ferbal is offline  
post #1599 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:40 PM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco70 View Post

Nice pics.

Where did you purchase the SLB-181? I also have the RPA mount.

As an alternative it looks like it might be fairly easy to buy a piece of plexiglass and make an interface bracket.

Joe

I ordered it with the AE4k from PP but Google Chief mounts and there are other retailers listed. If you already have the RPA, I would add the lateral rails they are "cheap" ~$38.00 and the SLB181 (not cheap ~$136.00). The Chief mounting system is very secure and easy to mount the PJ. Why risk a $2k PJ with a DYI..if you looks at the Pics, you can see the multiple fixation points. With the PRA and "rails" you have control over R & L, Pitch and Yaw.

Using PVC for the ceiling drop, it is relatively easy to adjust the vertical...I lowered mine an additional 7" after the initial install.
501transpo is offline  
post #1600 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnstewart View Post

Sure you can; you just need to manually turn the dial for the vertical shifting required when you go between 16:9 and 2.4:1. The electronically-controlled (thus, "automatic" capable) shifting doesn't move far enough.

If it ain't automatic it ain't worth doing. It should be clear that it can't be automatic unless the lens is within the screen frame? Or is it at the screen frame?
caesar1 is offline  
post #1601 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 01:55 PM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using PVC for the ceiling drop, it is relatively easy to adjust the vertical..
*******
Another thought, if you want to run the cables above the ceiling, use the 3" PVC pipe for the majority of the "pole" and then cut a 1-1 1/2" hole a run cables up the 3" pipe.

Steve
501transpo is offline  
post #1602 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post


Some of my favorite things....

5. The thing that's got me really excited which probably most wouldn't even use are the 4 masking features, this is maybe too involved to go into here but I'm using this feature and for my setup it really makes a very professional presentation. There are other posts I have already made here in other threads about the digital masking feature.

Started reading this thread yesterday, and just came across your post..

Maybe you could post some picture of this, and how it looks.
I'd recommend with enough light to see what is being masked.
JayMan007 is offline  
post #1603 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bronco70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 501transpo View Post

I ordered it with the AE4k from PP but Google Chief mounts and there are other retailers listed. If you already have the RPA, I would add the lateral rails they are "cheap" ~$38.00 and the SLB181 (not cheap ~$136.00). The Chief mounting system is very secure and easy to mount the PJ. Why risk a $2k PJ with a DYI..if you looks at the Pics, you can see the multiple fixation points. With the PRA and "rails" you have control over R & L, Pitch and Yaw.

Using PVC for the ceiling drop, it is relatively easy to adjust the vertical...I lowered mine an additional 7" after the initial install.

Thanks for the reply.

The RPA is an excellent mount. I've been using one for 4 years with a BenQ 7700. The ease of taking the pj down has been a plus with sending the 7700 in for repair x4.

Not sure the rails are really necessary with the lens shift on the 4000.

Looks like the SLB-181 is available for just under $100. Noticed it uses all six mounting points. No doubt very secure.

Joe
Bronco70 is offline  
post #1604 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 03:30 PM
Member
 
MassGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I pulled the trigger on my early xmas present. I have the AE4K coming next week. My question is I use to have a yamaha LP510 720i that I paid good bucks for 4 years ago. How much of a difference will I see in the new Panny? The yamaha crapped out about a year ago so I'm all excited to get my room back running.
MassGT is offline  
post #1605 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 03:56 PM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure the rails are really necessary with the lens shift on the 4000.
********
Probably not but they were useful with my old HT-1000. But you are right about the 6 point mount and the ease install and remove.

Steve
501transpo is offline  
post #1606 of 8513 Old 11-13-2009, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
dynamowhum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Charles, Louisana
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered mine. This will be my first projector. Can't wait for it to come in.

The only difference between outlaws and inlaws is one of them is wanted.
dynamowhum is offline  
post #1607 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 12:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beta Tester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Snape View Post

While I am pleased with the brightness, contrast, and color rendering of our new 4k, there does not seem to be the sharpness of the retired PT a900, as unlikely as this seems.

I am surprised to hear this. I consider the picture of an AE900 to be soft.
Beta Tester is offline  
post #1608 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 04:50 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a direct comparison to the ae 700 and this one. I was happy with the picture of the 700 but in a side by side comparison, it is a different story! 700 was fine as long as I did not watch the 4000! The 4000 on my 72" grey carada screen is razor sharp. I CAN see pixels if I get close enough to the screen. The 700 was "mushy" compared to the 4000. Now, I know I am going to get crap for this, but I love "frame creation setting 1"!!! 2 and 3 seem funky to me, but I love what #1 does! Next up this afternoon is bringing this bad boy to my basement to compare with my pioneer rs2 clone. I plan on watching a lot of action and fast moving stuff. I have a feeling I am about to experience the dreaded "motion blur" on my pio, even though I previously have been real happy with it.
Sigh...somedays I really hate and love this hobby equally..
Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #1609 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 05:20 AM
 
scottyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: mound,mn,usa
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Next up this afternoon is bringing this bad boy to my basement to compare with my pioneer rs2 clone. I plan on watching a lot of action and fast moving stuff. I have a feeling I am about to experience the dreaded "motion blur" on my pio, even though I previously have been real happy with it.
Sigh...somedays I really hate and love this hobby equally..
Best,
Chris

hey chris,
Will you be posting results here?
This unit is high on my list.

Scott
scottyb is offline  
post #1610 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 06:05 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, i will post my observations here. I sure as hell wish there was only one thread on this thing! I am getting confused between the two! Probably because I am old and my mind does not work as well as it used to...
Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #1611 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 06:27 AM
Member
 
afcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone point me to the other AE4000 thread? I have looked for it with no success.

Thanks
afcooper is offline  
post #1612 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afcooper View Post

Could someone point me to the other AE4000 thread? I have looked for it with no success.

Thanks

Look in the Projectors OVER $3000 forum
frank1940 is offline  
post #1613 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 09:20 AM
Member
 
DPWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MassGT View Post

I pulled the trigger on my early xmas present. I have the AE4K coming next week. My question is I use to have a yamaha LP510 720i that I paid good bucks for 4 years ago. How much of a difference will I see in the new Panny? The yamaha crapped out about a year ago so I'm all excited to get my room back running.

I replaced a Yamaha LPX-510 720p projector with the PT-AE4000U. While I am pleased with the Panasonic I found the picture was not as bright (using a Da-lite HP 120" 16:9 screen), the blacks were very much improved, sharpness and detail were not dramatically improved and the color accuracy needed a lot of tweaking in modes other than Cinema 1. The 24 frame interpolation modes have really helped to get rid of the judder that was sometimes very annoying on fast panned scenes on the Yamaha. The Panasonic is definitely a little quieter running than the Yamaha (both in Eco-mode).

I will be keeping the Yamaha as a spare in case the Panasonic should suffer from one of the problems seen by other members.
DPWN is offline  
post #1614 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 09:36 AM
Member
 
AugDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me what the expanded HDMI setting does? Seems to kill the black level for one, but sure what the difference or purpose is.
AugDog is offline  
post #1615 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
VirTERM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugDog View Post

Can someone tell me what the expanded HDMI setting does? Seems to kill the black level for one, but sure what the difference or purpose is.

standard: 16-235 => normal movie mode
extended: 0-255 => PC etc...
Wojtek
VirTERM is offline  
post #1616 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 09:42 AM
Member
 
AugDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirTERM View Post

standard: 16-235 => normal movie mode
extended: 0-255 => PC etc...
Wojtek

Thanks. What do the numbers represent? Would extended be used for game systems as well?
AugDog is offline  
post #1617 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Pardon my ignorance, but I seem to be getting conflicting information. I just want to mount my PJ as close to the ceiling as I can my screen will be about 12" from the ceiling, and from what I read about the lens shift, this shouldn't be a problem.

If I get the Chief RPA-U mount (say from Amazon) do I need anything else? What about plates and rails? Does the mount itself not come with everything I need?
rprice54 is offline  
post #1618 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Bigbluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Corner of I84 and TSP
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am ready to hook up my screen etc. to the Panny trigger out/in plug and not sure what jack is used for the trigger. Looks like mini banana? Is that correct? Thanks
Bigbluedude is offline  
post #1619 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 12:03 PM
Member
 
501transpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprice54 View Post

Pardon my ignorance, but I seem to be getting conflicting information. I just want to mount my PJ as close to the ceiling as I can my screen will be about 12" from the ceiling, and from what I read about the lens shift, this shouldn't be a problem.

If I get the Chief RPA-U mount (say from Amazon) do I need anything else? What about plates and rails? Does the mount itself not come with everything I need?

I am not an expert, but the RPA-U doesn't need an adapter plate and with the horz. lens shift, lateral rails aren't needed either. What you will need is the hardware to mount to the ceiling studs, trusses etc. Google Chief mounts and go to a site that has pdf downloads for mounting procedures or call a Chief retailer and discuss what you will need.

Steve
501transpo is offline  
post #1620 of 8513 Old 11-14-2009, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Sunil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprice54 View Post

Pardon my ignorance, but I seem to be getting conflicting information. I just want to mount my PJ as close to the ceiling as I can my screen will be about 12" from the ceiling, and from what I read about the lens shift, this shouldn't be a problem.

You will have no problem just projecting to a screen below the Projector. But if you want to use a 2.35:1 screen and zoom 2.35 material to fill the screen and zoom out to view 16:9 material (you can use the lens memory feature to do it at the press of a button or even have the AE4000 do it automatically), you will need the lens to be within the screen area. You can still do it if that is not the case but you will have to either:

a. Get up and go to the projector and use the lens shift dials every time you switch aspect ratios.

or b. Slant the PJ down, but you will get keystone distortion and will have to use keystone adjustment to fix it.
Sunil is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off