Optoma HD66 - First 3D home theatre/gaming projector - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1341 Old 06-28-2010, 03:51 PM
Member
 
donster28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your replies guys.

Right now I'm just contemplating on the x102 glasses. Since I just got the nVidia 3DVision, I think I'll just stick with for the moment. The blacks aren't really the worst I experienced but it's still would be nice if I can darken the blacks further.

Defiancecp, just want to clarify if you're saying it is possible to run at 96Hz with the Nvidia. If that's not what you're trying to say, please forgive me.

donster28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1341 Old 06-28-2010, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, I'm saying I would LOVE it if it was possible, but I haven't had any success with 3d @ 96hz. I use 96hz for 2d, makes for beautifully smooth mouse movement, no judder in 24hz movie playback, etc.etc... but for 3d nvidia pops up a big red error message at 96hz for me.
defiancecp is offline  
post #633 of 1341 Old 06-28-2010, 10:49 PM
Member
 
dajaga007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey defiance, have you ever tried stereoscopic player http://www.3dtv.at/Index_en.aspx it suppose to play all 3d types, there is a 14 day trial, it may work with 96hz
dajaga007 is offline  
post #634 of 1341 Old 06-29-2010, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes I have, and I think it will, but it won't play my games
defiancecp is offline  
post #635 of 1341 Old 06-29-2010, 12:29 PM
Member
 
jaydoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let you know, i contacted Optoma throuhg thier Facebook page and got this reply to my question :

My Question: Hi Optoma, I do keep an eye on the Optoma website regarding any additional hardware to be made available, to make my HD66 compatible with 3D Broadcasts or 3D Blu-ray, could you tell me, is there anything for sure in the pipe line for this, or will I have to replace my HD66 projector to watch this type of 3D content.

Thanks

Jay


OptomaUSA Hi Jason, if you are playing the 3D content through PC with nVidia VGA card, then you will need to update your VGA driver late next month in order to play the 3D content through Optoma HD66.

If you are playing through blu-ray player, then you will need to wait until the end of the year to purchase an Optoma device that is compatible with Optoma 3D projectors.

So for those who are using nVidia, I think a fix is coming for you soon , for us waiting for non HTPC use, it will be the end of the year for a converter box.
jaydoy is offline  
post #636 of 1341 Old 06-29-2010, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They've said things like the converter box before, I wouldn't consider it a set in stone thing. Good news if it happens, of course...


However, I'm very interested in the nvidia update; that sounds like great news! Did optoma give in and pay the piper? STill ticks me off that nvidia does that crap... but good news for consumers if optoma gave in and paid it.
defiancecp is offline  
post #637 of 1341 Old 06-30-2010, 12:54 AM
Member
 
dajaga007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey defiance, I am kinda confused on the whole 3d thing on htpc.
So if a proper driver does come out for hd66 and lets say I have dlp link glasses, I do not have to buy the 3d vision kit and just download the proper drivers and media player to play the movies.

Also what nvidia video card do you recommend, I probably wont be playing any games.
dajaga007 is offline  
post #638 of 1341 Old 06-30-2010, 04:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
3d will never work from nvidia without the kit - their driver is designed to not even turn on without detecting the emitter plugged in.

If you honestly plan to never do any gaming on it, I'd go for something fanless. If we were talking about ATI I'd say without hesitation 5550 or something, you can get it for under $50, fanless, hdaudio over hdmi built in - great card for video stuff, but Nvidia doesn't really have much of an equivelant. Looks like maybe GT 220 is the closest they have, though it doesn't do hdaudio over hdmi (spdif from another card only).

If you *might* play games, I'd consider compromising and getting something a bit higher end, but you give up the super-silent-ness (again, wish we were talking ATI - a pair of passive colled 5750s in crossfire will hold its own against a fermi 470!!). Personally I found a used gtx 285, but you could get away with less; just remember that rendering stereo is more demanding, so if you're going to game at all, don't skimp! I'd personally say a gts 250 or better if you want reasonable gaming (even that might be dragging a bit in stereo on some games)

but as you can probably tell from that, I'm a big ATI fan, so this is kinda hard for me :P
defiancecp is offline  
post #639 of 1341 Old 06-30-2010, 09:35 AM
Member
 
dajaga007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

3d will never work from nvidia without the kit - their driver is designed to not even turn on without detecting the emitter plugged in.

If you honestly plan to never do any gaming on it, I'd go for something fanless. If we were talking about ATI I'd say without hesitation 5550 or something, you can get it for under $50, fanless, hdaudio over hdmi built in - great card for video stuff, but Nvidia doesn't really have much of an equivelant. Looks like maybe GT 220 is the closest they have, though it doesn't do hdaudio over hdmi (spdif from another card only).

If you *might* play games, I'd consider compromising and getting something a bit higher end, but you give up the super-silent-ness (again, wish we were talking ATI - a pair of passive colled 5750s in crossfire will hold its own against a fermi 470!!). Personally I found a used gtx 285, but you could get away with less; just remember that rendering stereo is more demanding, so if you're going to game at all, don't skimp! I'd personally say a gts 250 or better if you want reasonable gaming (even that might be dragging a bit in stereo on some games)

but as you can probably tell from that, I'm a big ATI fan, so this is kinda hard for me :P

Actually I prefer ATI over Nvidia, but thats beside the point. Anyways I thought ATI didn't support 3D with their drivers yet, or is it a software thing i.e totalmedia theater or or powerdvd w/ 3d.
Right now I am using a onboard ATI HD3400 with a AMD X2 4600+ CPU
Thanks for the help
dajaga007 is offline  
post #640 of 1341 Old 06-30-2010, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Exactly, I'm just saying that since my preference is for ATI, my recommendations for nvidia should be taken as with minimal experience.
defiancecp is offline  
post #641 of 1341 Old 07-01-2010, 09:46 PM
Member
 
donster28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After days of fidlling with my set-up, I am glad I got my 3D black levels back!

Because I was so frustrated and tired the past few days, I didn't immediately realize that the nVidia emitter was not working properly. Heck, the 3D I was seeing was not proper all this time. All I had to do is to push the green button in the front of the emitter to get it going and wala, the shutter glasses kicked in and gave me the 'blacks' I was supposed to see. The 3D effect improved it is awesome! Stupid me hehehe...

What's weird though is that the emitter turned itself on automatically before (at least this how I remember), now I have to push the button everytime. Oh well, I'm not complaining much.
donster28 is offline  
post #642 of 1341 Old 07-02-2010, 07:09 AM
Member
 
fordcrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone got an idea what the cheapest pc you cram together that will play 3d movies on this projector?
fordcrews is offline  
post #643 of 1341 Old 07-02-2010, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No games?

Probably a dual core, 2gb ram, gts 220 or so. That'd be my guess...

Let's see, a quick delve into newegg... Don't need a hefty power supply, so you could get a case/supply combo for around $40, athlon x2 7850 processor for $50, ecs mobo for $55 shipped, 2gb ram for $40, 500gb hd for $50 shipped, bluray drive for $60 shipped, and actually, looking at 220 prices, 240's are only $10 more. You save a CHUNK when you drop down to a 210, but I'd have qualms about that doing well, so who knows. Assuming you get the 240 ($75) that puts you at around $375 (335 with a 210, but like I said...). No keyboard/mouse/os, assuming those are already owned. And you probably want to get a winMC remote as well.

In many cases you could squeeze by for less, but with nonsensical losses (ie, drop to a 160gb hd for $40 or switch to an open box mobo for $35).


That wouldn't be much use for games though. For that I'd say step up to quad core, double (or better yet quadruple) the ram, and get at least a gts 250 (or gtx 465 for better future proofing!). I also like to raid 0 my drives.
defiancecp is offline  
post #644 of 1341 Old 07-02-2010, 11:03 AM
Member
 
donster28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today, I was lucky enough to get a hold of two 3D blurays, exclusive to Panasonic: Coraline and Ice Age 3.

I will report back tonight on how these fare on my HD66-Nvidia combo.
donster28 is offline  
post #645 of 1341 Old 07-02-2010, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Howd you get hold of coraline?
defiancecp is offline  
post #646 of 1341 Old 07-02-2010, 11:14 AM
Member
 
donster28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

Howd you get hold of coraline?

Borrowed them from a friend today...a fellow 3D early adopter.
donster28 is offline  
post #647 of 1341 Old 07-04-2010, 07:16 AM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan to use the OPTOMA HD66 for 3d only ....I already have Epson 8100 for 1080p 2d viewing.



From reading donster28 post I think I would need (not 100% sure though) the OPTOMA HD66,and Nvidea glasses/kit,and a HTPC that has the Nvidea GEFORCE 470 video card with Total Media Center 3 with 3d plug in .......then i would need to spoof the video card........is this all i need in order to have 3d bluray with OPTOMA HD66?

Is there a HTPC AVAILIBLE ONLINE THAT HAS ALL THE HARDWARE & SOFTWARE REQUIRED FOR 3d BLURAY PLAYBACK on OPTOMA HD66 ?
quickfire is offline  
post #648 of 1341 Old 07-04-2010, 04:50 PM
Member
 
donster28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickfire View Post

I plan to use the OPTOMA HD66 for 3d only ....I already have Epson 8100 for 1080p 2d viewing.



From reading donster28 post I think I would need (not 100% sure though) the OPTOMA HD66,and Nvidea glasses/kit,and a HTPC that has the Nvidea GEFORCE 470 video card with Total Media Center 3 with 3d plug in .......then i would need to spoof the video card........is this all i need in order to have 3d bluray with OPTOMA HD66?

Is there a HTPC AVAILIBLE ONLINE THAT HAS ALL THE HARDWARE & SOFTWARE REQUIRED FOR 3d BLURAY PLAYBACK on OPTOMA HD66 ?

What you need:
1. PC - Go to the Nvidia website for a minimum configuration.
2. Video card - Again, go to the Nvidia site for the compatible cards.
3. Nvidia 3D Vision kit with glasses and emitter included.
4. Optoma HD66
5. Spoofed .inf found here i think. Otherwise, go to the Nvidia 3D Vision forums...go look for HD66.
donster28 is offline  
post #649 of 1341 Old 07-04-2010, 10:32 PM
Member
 
dajaga007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donster28 View Post

What you need:
1. PC - Go to the Nvidia website for a minimum configuration.
2. Video card - Again, go to the Nvidia site for the compatible cards.
3. Nvidia 3D Vision kit with glasses and emitter included.
4. Optoma HD66
5. Spoofed .inf found here i think. Otherwise, go to the Nvidia 3D Vision forums...go look for HD66.

or you can do this also

1.PC
2.Video Card - ATI I think hd5800 or better
3.DLPlink glasses ie xpand x102
4. IZ3D drivers (I think ATI users get the DLP drivers for free)
5. Also doesnt matter if its ATI or Nvidia you are gonna need a player that supports 3D ie totalmedia or powerdvd

Also with ATI you do not need a spoofed HD66
dajaga007 is offline  
post #650 of 1341 Old 07-04-2010, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Fosil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dajaga007 View Post

or you can do this also

1.PC
2.Video Card - ATI I think hd5800 or better
3.DLPlink glasses ie xpand x102
4. IZ3D drivers (I think ATI users get the DLP drivers for free)
5. Also doesnt matter if its ATI or Nvidia you are gonna need a player that supports 3D ie totalmedia or powerdvd

Also with ATI you do not need a spoofed HD66

You're wrong
IZ3D drivers still doesn't work in 120hz projector mode or even in shutter mode with ANY projector, they blame ATI saying it is an ATI problem not supporting quad buffer.

I Already tested with an ATi hd5850+x102+HD66+IZ3D driver and there is no way to get it working right.
It only works with stereoscopic player.
Fosil is offline  
post #651 of 1341 Old 07-04-2010, 11:25 PM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fosil,are there any htpc's that I can just buy that has all the hardware needed for bluray 3d to work on OPTOMA HD66 ??

I have looked at several sites....just not sure what to buy :-(
quickfire is offline  
post #652 of 1341 Old 07-05-2010, 12:23 AM
Member
 
dajaga007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fosil View Post

You're wrong
IZ3D drivers still doesn't work in 120hz projector mode or even in shutter mode with ANY projector, they blame ATI saying it is an ATI problem not supporting quad buffer.

I Already tested with an ATi hd5850+x102+HD66+IZ3D driver and there is no way to get it working right.
It only works with stereoscopic player.

******, i thought that would of worked, I really want 3D but I am gonna wait and hope the glasses come down in price (which i doubt they will for a while) and for more 3D movies to come out.
dajaga007 is offline  
post #653 of 1341 Old 07-05-2010, 12:27 AM
Member
 
Fosil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is not a problem of hardware, it is a problem of software, currently iirc, only total media theater can run bluray 3d and soon powerdvd with a 3d update.
So basically you can get a good htpc config to run bluray 3d, but if you also want to play games in s3d only nvidia can do it with a PJ.
So donster28 is right.
Fosil is offline  
post #654 of 1341 Old 07-05-2010, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Railroad5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got an Optoma HD66 on the way. I got it mostly thanks to this thread. This is my first projector. I've always wanted one and decided to go ahead and get this instead of saving for the HD20. I very much hope it ends up as looking as good as I want it to be.

As far as the 3D, am I to believe that it will be able to receive most 3d signals when the converter box is ready? As in through the PS3? I believe the previous update opened the door for 3D. Its not a big thing to me but would be great to have.
Railroad5 is offline  
post #655 of 1341 Old 07-05-2010, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Fosil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Railroad5 View Post

I've got an Optoma HD66 on the way. I got it mostly thanks to this thread. This is my first projector. I've always wanted one and decided to go ahead and get this instead of saving for the HD20. I very much hope it ends up as looking as good as I want it to be.

As far as the 3D, am I to believe that it will be able to receive most 3d signals when the converter box is ready? As in through the PS3? I believe the previous update opened the door for 3D. Its not a big thing to me but would be great to have.

Let me tell you that if you are not that interested in 3d, get a hd65 or an Infocus x9, or better, get the Optoma hd20, this pj is not at the IQ level of the ones I named, and I had all but the hd20.
Don't get me wrong, you will like it and even more if this is your first PJ , but IMHO the ones I named are better.
Fosil is offline  
post #656 of 1341 Old 07-06-2010, 04:47 AM
Member
 
RolandL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by donster28 View Post

Today, I was lucky enough to get a hold of two 3D blurays, exclusive to Panasonic: Coraline and Ice Age 3.

I will report back tonight on how these fare on my HD66-Nvidia combo.

So, how do they look?

I have an old Sanyo Z4 720p projector that I bought in 2006 for about $1500. It came with an extra lamp which I'm using now. When it goes, maybe I should buy the HD66 instead of a new lamp? I wonder how the HD66 compares in picture quality to the Sanyo Z4?
RolandL is offline  
post #657 of 1341 Old 07-06-2010, 04:58 AM
Member
 
jaydoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolandL View Post

So, how do they look?

I have an old Sanyo Z4 720p projector that I bought in 2006 for about $1500. It came with an extra lamp which I'm using now. When it goes, maybe I should buy the HD66 instead of a new lamp? I wonder how the HD66 compares in picture quality to the Sanyo Z4?

I myself had the HD65 and replaced it with the HD66, and I am very happy with what I got. I wanted it both for 2D and 3D and to me it's on par, not better than the HD65. Just waiting on the converter box, which will convert all 3D formats, which is scheduled for release in Q4 I have been told by Optoma.
jaydoy is offline  
post #658 of 1341 Old 07-06-2010, 07:24 AM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dajaga007 View Post

or you can do this also

1.PC
2.Video Card - ATI I think hd5800 or better
3.DLPlink glasses ie xpand x102
4. IZ3D drivers (I think ATI users get the DLP drivers for free)
5. Also doesnt matter if its ATI or Nvidia you are gonna need a player that supports 3D ie totalmedia or powerdvd

Also with ATI you do not need a spoofed HD66

I would think an nVidia card would be best and more bug free. Also, don't skimp on the card. Get at much memory on board the card as you can afford. 512k minimum. 1GB--better. Get a dual processor PC--they are very cheap now. 2.5 ghz to 3+ ghz. Also 1GB of ram, 2 GB--better. Here's why: 3D separation; anti-aliasing, etc. takes card memory--PowerDVD, etc. takes ram memory. Dual processor takes load off both. PowerDVD will use hardware acceleration where possible, but it is still an application running in ram.
threed123 is offline  
post #659 of 1341 Old 07-06-2010, 09:42 AM
Member
 
creed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all,
In my country there isn't any Optoma HD66 yet, there are still HD65 can be bought brand new but the price is considerably higher than the Dell 1610HD where I can source from the local Dell website, not to mentioned the Dell included a 2 year warranty for the body & 1 year warranty for the bulb/lamp as well.

Is the Dell 1610HD same as the Optoma HD66 even though it is sells/branded as a business projector? I also notice the Dell allows for a shorter distance to achieve the same image size projected due to the 1.2x zoom compare to 1.1x zoom of either HD65/HD66.

I do not have the chance to see it in performance but anyone here know how's the performance of this 1610HD in term of for movie?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Dell-1610HD.htm

Anyone?
creed is online now  
post #660 of 1341 Old 07-06-2010, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Pugnax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What size bolts are needed to mount the projector on the ceiling?
Pugnax is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off