Hdmi and fiber optic splitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-07-2009, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ex_action_figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have my cable box and xbox 360 hooked up to my denon receiver via hdmi for vidio and fiber optic for audio and then one long hdmi to my panasonic ax200u. The issue is my receiver only had two hdmi inputs and two fiber optic inputs and I just bought a ps3.

I know there are hdmi spliters but are there fiber optic splitters?
Or even better is there a box that splits both hdmi and fiber optic?
If so does anyone know where I could buy these things?

I'd like to have one input as the tv and then one as both xbox and playstation
any ideas?
ex_action_figure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-07-2009, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
orion456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just buy a HDMI switch and use the HDMI to carry both the sound and video. HDMI sound is better than optical.
orion456 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-07-2009, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ex_action_figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really? I thought fiber optic was better.

Regardless, my receiver does not support audio over hdmi so I have no choice but to run both.

Is it splitters that I need?
ex_action_figure is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-07-2009, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Jerrym303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be surprised if your cable box audio could not be connected by coax. any reciever has more than 2 inputs.
Jerrym303 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-08-2009, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ex_action_figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does have coax as does my cablebox but I really don't know anything about coax audio..do I just need a digital coax cable?
ex_action_figure is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-08-2009, 05:15 PM
Member
 
taxman95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex_action_figure View Post

It does have coax as does my cablebox but I really don't know anything about coax audio..do I just need a digital coax cable?

Monoprice has a new HDMI splitter that will work for you. It has 4 HDMI inputs, and outputs the video by HDMI (in my case direct to my TV) but the audio can go by Coax to my receiver.

My only issue is that so far my Harmony won't control the HDMI switch, but I haven't spent time to trouble shoot this yet
taxman95 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-08-2009, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
orion456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex_action_figure View Post

Really? I thought fiber optic was better.

You can't play TrueHD audio or other lossless audio without HDMI.
orion456 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-08-2009, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Jerrym303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coax will be fine from your cable box. You are not going to get trueHD from your cablebox anyway regardless of the cable used. Only from Blu-Ray.

This little $3.58 cable will do the trick:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Jerrym303 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-09-2009, 06:05 PM
Member
 
MassGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar issue. I bought the Oppo hdmi switch and I have PJ 4K pic with my cable and PS3. My problem is that I need to use the fiber optical on my receiver (yamaha) and my PS3. I have no sound on the PS3 but the cable is fine. Do I need to switch something on the PS3 so it searches and uses the optical?
MassGT is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off