Optoma HD71 HDMI - Blu-Ray Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-08-2009, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ljaneczko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to share fre things about my setup.

Few weeks ago I purchased Onkyo TX-SR507 receiver, 4 - HDMI in, 1 HDMI out, with the though ofconnecting my new LG BD370 Blu-Ray player with Netflix capability. Also I wanted to connect my Optimum Cable HD receiver.

Well, here's my dilleama and hopefully someone might give me some guidance.

I loved the HDMI connectivity of my cable hd receiver and the roku box, picture was great, loved it. The minute I connected the LG BD 370 to one of the HDMI AV box, my picture from the LG DVD was scrambled green.

Not good and I wasn't too happy. Looking deeper into the manual and contacting Optoma, and LG, I was told by Optoma support that I can't connect via HDMI cable, so why is the connection there in the first place.
I have tried reducing the LG DVD players resolution to 720, 1080i, still same green screen. I have read somewhere that there might be a "handshaking" issue between HD71 and the LB blu-ray player but to this day Optoma says there are no issues or firmware updates for their HD71 projector and that I should be using a component cable to so that's what I did, I reconnected everything via comonent cables and I am looking at 1080i.

Still would like to know if any of you using HD71 with Blu-Ray player can connect via HDMI. That's what I am after, preferebly with Netflix capability..

Thanks in advance for your input

Les
ljaneczko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-08-2009, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,628
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Google this and you will see you are far from alone with HDMI issues ..
HDMI connectivity issues

Doug

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

airscapes is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-26-2009, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
shmitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with a Samsung BD P-1600 & HDMI on my HD 71. Dish HD receiver & regular Sony DVD player work just fine via HDMI but not the Samsung.

Anyone have a Bluray player that DOES work with a HD 71 via HDMI as I'd much rather exchange this Samsung than run a 50' component cable...

OP - how did you fix your issue?
shmitr is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-05-2010, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ljaneczko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I spoke several times with Optoma support and this monday I sent my HD71 back for service. They will try to get this fixed. I will post the results once I know more.

I purchase a samsung lue-ray player to test and had same results. So, there's clearly some handshaking issues going on with blue-ray players. Mine worked fine with component 1080i.
ljaneczko is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-19-2010, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ljaneczko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have received the projector back from Optoma service and they told they would change the motherboard which I am not sure if they did or not but I will take their word that the did. So the projector came back with same issue at 720 blue ray output showing same green-scrambled screen. They said the have tested it but I am not convinced that anyone used any blue ray dvd player as a source. Most likely they used some sort of signal generator with a test pattern despite sending specific instructions on how to test and what my issue was. Not sure I will buy another projector from them again. I sent another email describing my issue upon projector return so I will post the latest news for you.
ljaneczko is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 02-16-2010, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ljaneczko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After being frustrated not being able to use the HDMI, i went for one more try and purchased a Sony blue-ray w/Netflix and after playing with video setting I have it finally working now. It seems that Optoma can "talk" to Sony projectors but not others. Today, I have recived a message from Optoma that they will be coming out with the firmware update to correct the issue. They will let me know when the firmware becomes available. That's the latest.
ljaneczko is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 02-16-2010, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TF Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under the new floor in my basement
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you're experiencing is an HDCP handshake issue. Basically the projector and player(s) are not speaking the same language. Unfortunately with these issues the only way for the manufacturer to know there's a problem is for someone to report it. So it looks like you're the guinea pig, ljaneczko. Good luck! Keep us posted...

(edit) BTW - I'm shocked that this wasn't easier (or quicker) for them to determine. It seems pretty black and white as far as HDMI issues go. I'd be upset if I were in your shoes as well.
TF Ghost is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 02-20-2010, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
kkellycpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me know how this turns out, or if I need to call someone and lodge my complaints. Here's what I have:

Brand new Sony BDP-N460 Blu-ray player
connected via HDMI to
Brand new Onkyo TX-SR607 7.1 A/V receiver
connected via HDMI to
Newly refurbished Optoma HD-71


I get the first Blu-ray screen for about 5 seconds, then it turns into that scrambled picture that's been described.

(Xbox and HD cable works fine at 1080i).

I switched the Blu-ray to A/V receiver connection to Component and left the HDMI to projector. That worked fine (after adding a digital coax for audio).

But I'd rather be connecting to HDMI all-around, and I get NO help from Sony.

Let me know if I can help by complaining somewhere - or if you get some new firmware.
kkellycpa is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 02-20-2010, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
kkellycpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljaneczko View Post

After being frustrated not being able to use the HDMI, i went for one more try and purchased a Sony blue-ray w/Netflix and after playing with video setting I have it finally working now. It seems that Optoma can "talk" to Sony projectors but not others. Today, I have recived a message from Optoma that they will be coming out with the firmware update to correct the issue. They will let me know when the firmware becomes available. That's the latest.

Which Sony did you get? On which machine (Blu-ray or projector) did you play with the video settings? And which settings did you fix and how?

Thanks for any help - I spent several hours trying to get it to work yesterday with Sony. "Frustrated" doesn't begin to describe the feeling.
kkellycpa is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 02-21-2010, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
kkellycpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found an answer by trial and error (mostly error).

Went into the Sony setup on the blu-ray player. Selected Screen settings. Selected HDMI Deep Color Control. Set to OFF.

HDMI now works fine.

Hope this helps someone.
kkellycpa is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-24-2010, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ljaneczko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK - Optoma has the FIX NOW, got a email from their service, they pickup up my projector and updated the firware where now it acceps all types of Blue-Ray players.

So call them and make the arrangements to have the new firmware installed.

Yes, I was the guinea pig but now we all have the FIX.

Good luck.
ljaneczko is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 05-24-2010, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
snarfydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting!!! I ran into the same problem on my HD20 / BDP N460. No help from Sony; in fact returned one and got a replacement with the same issue. Your solution works.
snarfydog is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-27-2010, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
nourroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a way to upgrade this firmware themselves? Without sending the projector back to Optoma? Thanks.
nourroll is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-14-2012, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
ichowdhury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey thanks kkellycpa,

This helped me out greatly here in India. Bought a used projector in the US. Got it shipped with great trouble here then plugged my new sony blu ray dvd and.... nothing!!!

Found this posting and it's all good. Thanks much.

indrajit
ichowdhury is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-01-2013, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
tdurhamjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread but did anyone ever find a way to upgrade the firmware yourself? I don't want to send my HD71 off for an upgrade. But I do want to get it updated so that I can use my BD player.

thanks,
Tim
tdurhamjr is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off