Do passive HDMI extenders work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-11-2009, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
twstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried the passive HDMI extenders like this one?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I can get a signal passed through my current 35ft HDMI cable but would like to extend it with an additional 10ft cable and wondered if this will do the trick.
twstand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-11-2009, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Jerrym303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They can help, you just have to try it. You want it near the pj end.
Jerrym303 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-11-2009, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
twstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Jeremy. Hopefully this is the last run to the parts store before my big cable run underneath a floor with dirt beneath me. Yuck.
twstand is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-11-2009, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
lewke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did the same exact thing for my setup, just my 35 footer went up and over in the walls. I used an coupler for the last 10 feet to my projector, I purchased monoprice but I recall them having much cheaper ones......

This one worked for me.....

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Are you running anything else, I ran component as backup, as you won't get the chance again.........
lewke is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-12-2009, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
twstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm doing all my testing of cables beforehand. If something goes wrong once installed, I can still run a long component cable I have "above ground" for trouble-shooting.

The prices at monoprice are unbelievable.
twstand is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-09-2012, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Monoprice put one of these into an order by mistake and when I alerted them they didn't want it back.

I can't imagine how these would work.

-brian
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-09-2012, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
i bought one of those a while back. Did not work for me. sitting in a box along with one of their hdmi matrix
speavler is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-09-2012, 03:32 PM
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Whenever you have a passive device, it is robbing peter to pay paul. Usually, these passive devices just change capacitance but if it is a circuit then it is powering it off the 5V line and could drop the voltage too low. It is a crap shoot whether it will work or not.

You are always better with one long cable then adding multiple connections. If your cable will be difficult to change I would future proof and run conduit if possible, or at least a solution that can handle full HDMI bandwidth (i.e. high speed). That way you won't have a problem when you upgrade your equipment down the road. If the cable is easy to change then try cheap first and if it doesn't work use a better solution.
BobL is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off