New Casio projectors: LED/Laser, 720p, compact - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 876 Old 04-04-2010, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
star_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by threed123 View Post

I love it when a big name brings out 3rd generation technology with improved 1st generation 720p image detail...it just shows you when they started research on this thing and how long it took them to get it to production. That ship has sailed for any price...imho...I understand it's giddy to wonder at how great this technology is going to progress, but older techology is overtaking it so what is the point? If it's going to compete, then it needs to be a better image (e.g. 1080p) for additonal $$$, or same for less $$$.

R&D is expensive. At some point in the dev. cycle most companies will say "What has that idea made for the company?" In this case I believe that the answer was "We are going to market if first for business usage, then go for consumer home theater usage as we recoup some R&D via the business usage".

I recall the DLP (digital light processors) had a similar thing happen. The DLP was initially intended for fiber-optic switches but to recoup some R&D they went into the consumer market. (I don't know where DLP and fiber switch technology are today)
star_man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 876 Old 04-04-2010, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ckong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfcmoon View Post

News: the blue is now stronger than before, my settings in blue is +10, the laser needs 180/200 hours before the "real" result.

Before 180/200 hours the color setting blue needs to be overhaul to +50 (the max).

Isn't this color shift a pain in the ass because of the constant re-calibration?
ckong is online now  
post #183 of 876 Old 04-05-2010, 02:46 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, the laser needs to be used before having his best potential, that's all.
It's very easy: you receive the projector you use blue at max (+50), 180/200 hours later you put +10 and that's it.

The results are very good.
cfcmoon is offline  
post #184 of 876 Old 04-05-2010, 05:10 PM
Member
 
crazedmodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by threed123 View Post

I love it when a big name brings out 3rd generation technology with improved 1st generation 720p image detail...it just shows you when they started research on this thing and how long it took them to get it to production. That ship has sailed for any price...imho...I understand it's giddy to wonder at how great this technology is going to progress, but older techology is overtaking it so what is the point? If it's going to compete, then it needs to be a better image (e.g. 1080p) for additonal $$$, or same for less $$$. It's like wondering why you can't sell your 1st generation 1080p for $10k, when you spent $20k for it just 3 years ago.

That's not really fair considering this is a business projector, 1080p isn't naerly as important as cost and brightness. Just because we want to use it for HT doesn't mean it was made to compete with HT products.

Besides for a lot of us 720p is enough. Honestly I would rather have 720p LED than 1080p bulb. I would be even happier to have lens shift but hopefully in time we'll see it.

I was wondering if anyone knew if this has a filter like an LCD projector or if it's sealed like most DLPs? I'm really lazy and I use my projector next to my garage where I do a lot of woodworking in the summer and I don't really want the hassle of having to clean it out all the time or dust getting inside the lens, etc.
crazedmodder is offline  
post #185 of 876 Old 04-06-2010, 01:38 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Besides for a lot of us 720p is enough. Honestly I would rather have 720p LED than 1080p bulb.

Exact ! I have seen many bluerays in 1080p on the casio (with downscale 720p) and it's wonderful... Real 1080p is better for sure, but in fact, for me it's like a processor overclocked, it's better but not 100% better it's like 25% better (for me).

And for dust...Nothing like LCD projectors ^^, No dust problem at all ! it's like DLPs bulb. I don't know if it is sealed but, i didn't have problems with dust, it's perfect like my old sim2 domino d10 and my old domino 20 (sealed).
It's very important thanks for the question
cfcmoon is offline  
post #186 of 876 Old 04-08-2010, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
ventaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Best Buy has two of the models on sale through their website.

XJ-A240 for $849.99
XJ-A140 for $799.99


I'll probably snag one later on in time for Christmas if something better doesn't come along.
ventaak is offline  
post #187 of 876 Old 04-09-2010, 02:00 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The XJ-A140 is not interesting at this price, for 50 $ more you have 720p with the 240.
cfcmoon is offline  
post #188 of 876 Old 04-09-2010, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
How does the XJ-A240 handle 1280 x 720 input? Scale to 1280 x 800 or blank out 80 lines and go pixel to pixel?

Maybe a good solution be something like a Duo that would do the scaling of all resolutions to the native resolution of the XJ-A240. Not bad, a good LED solution for less than $2K.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #189 of 876 Old 04-09-2010, 12:31 PM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pixel to pixel i think (but not sure), the pitch is very good better than my domino D10.
I have the level sound for eco modes:
eco1: 35db
eco2: 29db
cfcmoon is offline  
post #190 of 876 Old 04-10-2010, 02:17 AM
Member
 
NickBose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. That's a very good price. However BestBuy says on the page that it "does not ship to known freight forwarders, and orders to such will be canceled"
Wonder if Shipito is among known forwarder? As I'm not in US
NickBose is offline  
post #191 of 876 Old 04-10-2010, 01:30 PM
Member
 
crazedmodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome. Best Buy Canada has the XJ-A140 so hopefully they will have the 2xx series soon. If they are hard to find in Canada there will be much rage on my part.

According to Casio's site:
XJ-A140: $ 849.99CAD
XJ-A230: $ 899.99CAD
XJ-A240: $ 999.99CAD

The XJ-A230 is looking extremely good right now. Not worth the extra $100 for 500 more lumens for me but $50 is worth it for widescreen.

I'm hoping the lower brightness = less heat and as a result less fan noise and maybe longer life too.

Now I just need someone in Canada to get this thing in store so I can check it out!

Oh and thanks for all the information cfcmoon. Those sounds levels aren't bad at all. Right now I run my HD70 in high-altitude mode all the time and my Behringer EP2500 fan is still the loudest thing. Plus when the room gets hot my PS3 gets decently loud also so I don't think the Casio's will cause too much trouble in my setup.
crazedmodder is offline  
post #192 of 876 Old 04-10-2010, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
star_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickBose View Post

BestBuy says on the page that it "does not ship to known freight forwarders, and orders to such will be canceled"

Try ebay. Lots of times sellers will ship anywhere.
star_man is offline  
post #193 of 876 Old 04-10-2010, 06:20 PM
Member
 
NickBose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by star_man View Post

Try ebay. Lots of times sellers will ship anywhere.

There's none on eBay and even if there is, price'd be much higher
NickBose is offline  
post #194 of 876 Old 04-11-2010, 12:35 PM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if you will can use eco2 with the XJ-A230 ...
It won't be sufficient ...
If the price is different, it is not for nothing.
And without eco2, you will must tolerate strong noise.

For me eco1 in video games with music/sounds it's okay but for movies no.
I use always eco2 for movies
After it depends on you, of course.
cfcmoon is offline  
post #195 of 876 Old 04-11-2010, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
sxr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldk View Post

It definitily is a businessprojector when it comes to noiselevels, remember there's still upto 2500 lumens coming out of the lens at a powerdraw of 287 watts. Add that it is about 4 centimeters high, so there's only a small fan working hard to pump out the excess heat.

I'm wondering if we could modify the airflow through the device or make a hushbox. This looks like a good "TV" projector. I'd keep a 1080p bulb unit for blu-ray only and use this for everything else.
sxr71 is offline  
post #196 of 876 Old 04-11-2010, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
star_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxr71 View Post

wondering if we could modify the airflow through the device

Could use a laptop cooler, possibly. It depends on if the pj fan is temperature controlled or if it runs all the time. If it runs all the time then not much point in a cooler.

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1135&ID=1597
star_man is offline  
post #197 of 876 Old 04-11-2010, 05:12 PM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It runs all the time, one level for eco2, other for eco1, and full mode with fan to 100%.
And a blueray on ps3 looks gorgeous with this projector ^^ (but forget 1080p it's obviously a 720p downscale, but it's good for a 720p).
cfcmoon is offline  
post #198 of 876 Old 04-12-2010, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
star_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfcmoon View Post

runs all the time, one level for eco2, other for eco1, and full mode with fan to 100%.

What're the decibels for full?
Earlier you said:

eco1: 35db
eco2: 29db


And for sake of comparison and perspective:

Whisper Quiet Library 30dB
Normal conversation (3-5') 60-70dB
Telephone dial tone 80dB
City Traffic (inside car) 85dB
Train whistle at 500' 90dB
Subway train at 200' 95dB
star_man is offline  
post #199 of 876 Old 04-12-2010, 08:40 PM
Member
 
crazedmodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll have to hear it myself for how loud it is. I think eco1 would be ok in my setup (pretty loud HTPC, EP2500 amp and I have my HD70 fan on high). The only time I would need it to be quiet would be late at night, but I use headphones then anyways so it's not a huge factor for me unless it's crazy loud.

cfcmoon I have another question. Can you put the eco mode into your saved settings (presets/modes) so that you can switch between them quickly? Like let's say you have:
one setting for night time with eco2
the second setting for day time with eco1
so that way you don't have to go into the options menu to change eco modes?
crazedmodder is offline  
post #200 of 876 Old 04-13-2010, 03:20 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For full, i don't know i gave you the db you can see here:
http://www.casio-projectors.eu/uk/products/xja240/

Official specs.
They don't give us the db in full mode (it's horrible, VERY strong, you can use it in a street but in your home lol, no).

And i use the same settings for eco1 or eco2 modes, no problem
It's quick to change with remote control, during night you switch in one second with one finger.
In full mode (i never use full mode) the picture is too bright and you need to change the settings (colors etc).
Not interesting at all, for me.
cfcmoon is offline  
post #201 of 876 Old 04-13-2010, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
star_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(thanks cfcmoon for all info so far)

I've read through most of this thread and here's what I understand:
It's suitable for 720P and for the price and the fact that it's essentially lamp-less it will find a place in homes.

I have a question for those people who understand this confluence of technologies
DLP, laser, LED and phosphor color wheel (do I have this right?).

What technological hurdle prevents Casio from releasing a 1080p model? Because I think many are looking at these models and wondering how long will it be until they release a 1080P model.
star_man is offline  
post #202 of 876 Old 04-13-2010, 11:54 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I imagine they will release a 1080p model for christmas but it's my opinion lol.
And they break the market if they do it...
And the competitors are japanese too.
Perhaps they don't want to kill theirs neighbors lol, i don't know.

This confluence of technologies allows strong brightness (in comparison to pure led projectors), and a good price.
cfcmoon is offline  
post #203 of 876 Old 04-14-2010, 10:01 AM
Member
 
crazedmodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by star_man View Post

(thanks cfcmoon for all info so far)

I've read through most of this thread and here's what I understand:
It's suitable for 720P and for the price and the fact that it's essentially lamp-less it will find a place in homes.

I have a question for those people who understand this confluence of technologies
DLP, laser, LED and phosphor color wheel (do I have this right?).

What technological hurdle prevents Casio from releasing a 1080p model? Because I think many are looking at these models and wondering how long will it be until they release a 1080P model.

There is nothing technological keeping them from releasing a 1080p model. The thing about this line however is that they are for business use which is apparent by the brightness and the fact that it's a 16:10 ratio instead of 16:9. It's not worth the extra cost for businesses to purchase a 1080p projector, sure resolution matters but not as much as cost once you're already talking about high resolutions.
crazedmodder is offline  
post #204 of 876 Old 04-14-2010, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Alexx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about buying a LED Projector myself. I have the Optoma HD65 and I love it. Although when it comes to TV use, I prefer a LED projector so I don't have to worry about lamp replacements. I only use my Optoma for bluray and DVD movies.

So I have a question:
If the Casio XJ-A240 is a 2500 lumens (too bright) and a 16:10 (not true 16:9), wouldn't the Casio XJ-A130 be the better buy at 2000 lumens and 4:3 format? The 2000 lumens would give you darker black bars (top and bottom) in widescreen formats and not look light gray as it does with 2500 lumens. While the 4:3 format, while not 16:9, would give you a more ture widescreen format and not that stretched out 16:10 format look.

The reason I'm asking is because a while back before I bought my Optoma HD65, I bought an Epson 2500 lumens with a 16:10 format, and the look of that projector wasn't all that great (same issues I described). And I see that the Casio XJ-A240 has the same specs.
Alexx1 is offline  
post #205 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 05:40 AM
Member
 
cfcmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You forget the 2500 lumens are in full mode, and the full mode is not usable because of the horrible and strong sound with the fan.
You will use eco1 or eco2 and you will not have the 2500 lumens
full mode = 270 watts = 2500 lumens
eco1 = 190 watts = 1759 (theoretical but less i think)
eco2 = 130 watts = 1203 (theoretical but less i think)


And no problem at all with the 16:10 because when it use 720p resolution, it's automatic you toggle in 16:9 with no loss (and the pitch is better than my domino D10 Sim2 pure 720p projector).
cfcmoon is offline  
post #206 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
cfcmoon,

How much CMS function is available on the Casio?

Jack

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #207 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
cfcmoon,

Another question.

"And no problem at all with the 16:10 because when it use 720p resolution, it's automatic you toggle in 16:9 with no loss (and the pitch is better than my domino D10 Sim2 pure 720p projector)."

Does the Casio do this by applying the 720 lines to the upper or lower rows of pixels leaving black stripe below or above the image?

Jack

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #208 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
ventaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.cine4home.de/Specials/Cas...asioHybrid.htm

There's another review up with some really good pictures of the innards of the projector, but it's in German(?).

Based on what it says(through google translation) and some of those pictures, I'm having second thoughts and considering waiting to see how the HX300g turns out.

I thought it had just one laser, but it's actually an array of 24?! Also, based on the pictures, it looks like the thing has a TON of fans. I'm counting three next to that laser array in the middle (I could be wrong), which probably means there's another one in the front and the back? No wonder it's so noisy.

The good news is (?), the contrast is really good when you find the right settings(?):

Quote:


In practical tests, the high native contrast is rewarded and honest. adjusted properly (from the factory, the level unfortunately completely blocked), offers the little casio in Eco mode and excellent balance of black level, brightness and Inbildkontrast. The visual plasticity is in fact so good that it makes almost all home theater projectors are behind the same price range. For a non-optimized presentation projector contrast to this result is quite remarkable.

ventaak is offline  
post #209 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 11:42 AM
Member
 
kenshin2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone got a hold of the xj-a240 in U.S. yet?
kenshin2b is online now  
post #210 of 876 Old 04-15-2010, 12:11 PM
Member
 
from416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi,cfcmoon,thanks for your info.

I saw they are selling xj-a130 at staples.ca, 724.99 Can$,

much cheapter than the price listed on casio official site.

how do you hook up xj-130 with tv cable ? like this

I am not using digital box yet.

if using echo 3 setting, it is bright enough to watch tv in the daylight time?

how does this projector connect with nintendo wii ,especially how to output the audio?

thanks a lot
from416 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off