Need advice on optoma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-22-2010, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mbates14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ran into one of these crazy things. It seems as an off-brand. never sene on ebefore. but guy said it died after a storm. So im assuming it got zapped.

Took it home, plugged it in, and all the LEDs on top flicker off-on-off-on. power supply is ticking.

So i tore it all the way down to nothing, power supply out, and not hooked to anything. Disabling the interlock, the power supply still ticks. I can watch my output rails swing up then back down to 0 on each tick. next tick comes, same thing happens. checked the caps ESR they are all fine, and checked all the diodes, transistors, and rectifiers in the circuit, all appear to be ok. all the major resistors are ok as well.

I have not checked most of the SMD resistors, although under a lighted magnafier none appear to have a hole blown in them, whcih usually happens with SMD resistors. Also I cannot find any data on this power supply or projector.

The power factor controller IC thats supposed to boost the 170V to 300-400V or so isnt kicking over either. so the main SMPS is trying to startup off of 170v, whcih i dotn know if it will or not. hence why it might be ticking, not enough juice to sustain itself. either that, or a serious issue in the feed back circuit, it has 3 opto-isolators.

So i pulled the datasheet up on the power correction IC, and its an infineon, 1PC08G i think? i forgot, its at the bench. the VCC doesnt even appear at the chip, its at 0V until the power supply tries to kick up. once the power supply "ticks" the meter spikes up then down.

So one can only assume that the power correcter doesnt run until main SMPS is running, because it appears the only time VCC hits the power corrector IC is when the SMPS "ticks" and tries to start. but i honestly dont think the SMPS will run without the corrector running first boosting it up to 300 to 400V

the board is a Quasar Power qp-5315 Rev. 3C.

Any ideas? thanks.
mbates14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-25-2010, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reconlabtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 4,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Never heard of Optoma before? It's one of the primary players in the digital PJ market. As for the details you are looking for, pm sheridan1952 and see if he can help you.
reconlabtech is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-15-2010, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mbates14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nevermind, already fixed it. failure was a component on the power supply board. fixing the power supply brought it back to life.

No i have never heard of optoma. just infocus, boxlight, NEC, and all those guys.
mbates14 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-20-2011, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
bhockle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm did the same with my optoma dv-10. Stripped it down to the power supply and it's remarkable how cheap the power supply is! Under normal usage on a power conditioned line, I can see that 4 of the electrolytic caps on that power supply board are exploded/shot. Not too surprising since the designer of the Quasar qp-5315 Rev 3D decided that they should be 16v rated not 25V and positioned right next to a row of poorly heat sunk power transistors which worked well to boil them up to the breaking point. I'm going to try and replace them with 25V caps , clean the board and see what happens when I put the puzzle box back together.
bhockle is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-10-2012, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
djacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you please tell me what part wa bad on that board that caused the ticking sound?
djacs is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
jcalize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Do you remember what component it was that you replaced on the power supply? any details would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Thank you

jcalize is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
bobsurloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bobsurloc is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
bobsurloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ooops I posted it to the wrong area and its being blocked for moderation for now...
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1219863/need-advice-on-optoma
bobsurloc is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
bobsurloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
basically these 3 sellers. I am not sure if I trust them, tell me how it goes! smile.gif
http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=dv10+power+supply&catId=0&initiative_id=SB_20140115201407
bobsurloc is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off