Super Bowl Sunday and Winter Olympics - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 01-24-2010, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it's down to the wire with Super Bowl Sunday upon us and the Olympics soon thereafter. Over the past few months I've read all the threads and done extensive research. This is my first projector purchase and I'm looking to spend around $1,000, maybe up to $1,500 max. I watch a lot of HD sports and like video games and blu ray as well (ps3, xbox). There is decent light control but not great unless it's evening. I'll be projecting from 14ft and ideally there'd be flexibility regarding lens shifting.

There seem to be several solid options if I go with 720p and now there's even some tempting 1080p's as well. The frustrating thing is that a lot of the 720's have been out for a year or more and prices haven't come down much. I'm looking to get good bang for the buck and am not afraid to buy another projector in a couple/few years when there's a sweet 1080p deal for under $1000.

That all said, I've narrowed my search down to one leading projector: the Panasonic AX200. If any of you could take the time to convince me this is the right or wrong choice, I'd very much appreciate it. Going to pull the trigger by week's end!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-25-2010, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member

Definition of "decent" light control could be important.

I prefer very dim light when using the projector but even to my old eyes slight increases in ambient light causes visible slight image degradation/washout.