Official Viewsonic Pro8100 1080p Projector Thread - Part 2 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 146 Old 05-05-2010, 10:57 PM
Newbie
 
dingofarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought one from newegg, and mine does not appear to have the HB, build date of jan 10, I am running it on a 350va APC UPS, seems fine on a plain light beige wall at around 100inch diag. Is there a particular Blu ray sceen that would highlight this issue? I'm extreamly impressed, and can't wait to finnish my basement.

On a different note, who is using the 8100 with the 2.35:1 aspect screen instead of a 16:9, Im trying to decide, but I use it primarly for blue ray movies and PS3, we don't have cable and I don't see that changing anytime soon.
dingofarmer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 146 Old 05-06-2010, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
saumil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's very good news.
You should post your question on the part 1 of this thread at http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post18593115
saumil is offline  
post #123 of 146 Old 05-13-2010, 09:55 AM
Member
 
samwise7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingofarmer View Post

I just bought one from newegg, and mine does not appear to have the HB, build date of jan 10, I am running it on a 350va APC UPS, seems fine on a plain light beige wall at around 100inch diag. Is there a particular Blu ray sceen that would highlight this issue? I'm extreamly impressed, and can't wait to finnish my basement.

On a different note, who is using the 8100 with the 2.35:1 aspect screen instead of a 16:9, Im trying to decide, but I use it primarly for blue ray movies and PS3, we don't have cable and I don't see that changing anytime soon.


I've got mine on a 115" Diag. scope screen. I don't use an A-lens, just zoom and shift. Very easy on this projector. I absolutely love watching movies in scope.
samwise7 is offline  
post #124 of 146 Old 05-17-2010, 02:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwise7 View Post

I've got mine on a 115" Diag. scope screen. I don't use an A-lens, just zoom and shift. Very easy on this projector. I absolutely love watching movies in scope.

That's great to hear as it's my current plan!
How long would you say it takes you to do that?

How much do you need to shift once zoomed? I kinda thought that wouldn't be necessary.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #125 of 146 Old 06-16-2010, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Eyecube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, i've been wondering exactly what do you do to go into 2.35? What do you mean zoom and shift?
I'd love to get rid of the bars!

Thank you in advance.
Eyecube is offline  
post #126 of 146 Old 06-16-2010, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Meret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keopele View Post

Hey Meret,

It seems that the HB is more common on the new build projectors than may have been thought. When I weighed the risks/rewards of going ahead with the purchase of a Pro8100, I considered the chances of getting a projector with HB small. I figured it was just a few people who may be getting unlucky and/or had something going on in their home's wiring that may be causing the HB. Now that I have a unit with HB and almost everyone who has answered the survey and has a new unit, has the HB, it seems much more common than I had thought. I am wondering if the HB issue should be moved to the common problems (on new units) area of the initial description in this post?

Agreed it's become a more frequent problem. I moved the issue into common issues.
Meret is offline  
post #127 of 146 Old 06-16-2010, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyecube View Post

Hey, i've been wondering exactly what do you do to go into 2.35? What do you mean zoom and shift?
I'd love to get rid of the bars!

Thank you in advance.

You will get more response if you put this in the main Pro8100 thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...35509&page=223

This thread was created by Meret to summarize the info in the main thread so you don't have to read 6600+ posts.

I think you need an anamorphic lens and a sled to answer your question.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #128 of 146 Old 06-17-2010, 07:41 AM
Member
 
samwise7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@eyecube, what I meant was that I zoom in until the black bars are off the screen. Since I have a 2:35:1 aspect ratio screen, when I do this with a scope film, the picture fills my screen. When I'm viewing 16:9 or 4:3 material, I have bars on the side. The reason I use lens shift is since my PJ isn't centered on the screen, I have to shift the image up or down to center the image horizontally. Takes less than a minute with the electronic zoom/shift the VS8100 has. This is know as the "poor man's cinema scope method". I don't own/use an a-lens, sled or curved screen.
samwise7 is offline  
post #129 of 146 Old 06-17-2010, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I forgot about this method using a 2.35 screen.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #130 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
Intelibuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my contribution to the horizontal banding issue that many people has experienced with the ViewSonic pro8100, I have found what the problem is and I have resolved it, for those who recently bought the projector and found this issue, do not return it for a refurbished one, there is a solution and I will explain what it is. I followed this thread and some said is the quality of the hdmi cables, or what could be resolved with an adapter that does not have the grounded pin or may be with the use of an isolator transformer, what, I tried everything and nothing worked. Some people says that since hdmi is digital, then it works or it doesn't, there is nothing between like analog signals that can get improved, well my friends, this is not totally true. Wonder if most people that has experienced the horizontal banding has long hdmi cables as I do, I have a 25 ft long cable which was working fine with a Blu ray player, but when I connected a Nettop PC to the projector I started seeing the horrible horizontal banding, and this happened after I updated the firmware update. Since I knew my hdmi cable was long so I bought one of these HDMI repeater equalizers from Amazon, I connected it to extend the length of the cable, but the horizontal banding issue was there, an annoying big number of red horizontal lines were there, all I had to do to get rid of them was to change the equalizer settings on the hdmi repeater, this small repeater has 7 positions (I think) that you can change according to the length of your cable, seems like the default position for my switch was not good enough, so, by changing to a different position it incredibly helped to make the horizontal banding lines go away. So, that's it, buy an hdmi repeater with equalizer and no more HB. The one I got was the "Bytecc HDMI Repeater 1.3b 1080p cable". One thing I tried was to plug the HDMI cable to the HDMI 2 port on the projector and it helped for a few minutes but after that HB was still there until I toggled the switch on the HDMI repeater, so, good luck, hope that helps for most of you, it worked pretty well for me. (Wonder if other projectors suffer of the same problem since this is an issue with the cable length, may be this VS projector is very sensitive to long length cables)
Intelibuyer is offline  
post #131 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intelibuyer View Post

This is my contribution to the horizontal banding issue that many people has experienced with the ViewSonic pro8100, I have found what the problem is and I have resolved it, for those who recently bought the projector and found this issue, do not return it for a refurbished one, there is a solution and I will explain what it is. I followed this thread and some said is the quality of the hdmi cables, or what could be resolved with an adapter that does not have the grounded pin or may be with the use of an isolator transformer, what, I tried everything and nothing worked. Some people says that since hdmi is digital, then it works or it doesn't, there is nothing between like analog signals that can get improved, well my friends, this is not totally true. Wonder if most people that has experienced the horizontal banding has long hdmi cables as I do, I have a 25 ft long cable which was working fine with a Blu ray player, but when I connected a Nettop PC to the projector I started seeing the horrible horizontal banding, and this happened after I updated the firmware update. Since I knew my hdmi cable was long so I bought one of these HDMI repeater equalizers from Amazon, I connected it to extend the length of the cable, but the horizontal banding issue was there, an annoying big number of red horizontal lines were there, all I had to do to get rid of them was to change the equalizer settings on the hdmi repeater, this small repeater has 7 positions (I think) that you can change according to the length of your cable, seems like the default position for my switch was not good enough, so, by changing to a different position it incredibly helped to make the horizontal banding lines go away. So, that's it, buy an hdmi repeater with equalizer and no more HB. The one I got was the "Bytecc HDMI Repeater 1.3b 1080p cable". One thing I tried was to plug the HDMI cable to the HDMI 2 port on the projector and it helped for a few minutes but after that HB was still there until I toggled the switch on the HDMI repeater, so, good luck, hope that helps for most of you, it worked pretty well for me. (Wonder if other projectors suffer of the same problem since this is an issue with the cable length, may be this VS projector is very sensitive to long length cables)

The HB issue people are having is actually there without any video cable plugged in. Such as when going to the zooming/lens shift screen you will see it. So the source has no effect and it's within the projector itself. Now if this somehow makes the projector see the signal different and removes the lines, that would be great, but I'm thinking you might have had some other issue because you only had it from one source and you mentioned red lines. With ours the lines have no specific color.

Thanks!

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #132 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 09:53 AM
 
ntrain6943's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome! More than one way to GET the imfamous horizontal banding issue, LOL! I actually tried an HDMI equalizer(probably the same one from Amazon), and it didnt do the trick for my last one. Neither did cable swap outs or using a very short HDMI cable(I use a 25 footer, but I swapped in a 3 footer as well in a quick rig fashion with the same results). But hey if the equalizer for you worked, then maybe there are different ways the Amateur8100 can aquire HB/VB etc........lovely product with the scent of LEMON!
ntrain6943 is offline  
post #133 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Brian McKay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntrain6943 View Post

Awesome! More than one way to GET the imfamous horizontal banding issue, LOL! I actually tried an HDMI equalizer(probably the same one from Amazon), and it didnt do the trick for my last one. Neither did cable swap outs or using a very short HDMI cable(I use a 25 footer, but I swapped in a 3 footer as well in a quick rig fashion with the same results). But hey if the equalizer for you worked, then maybe there are different ways the Amateur8100 can aquire HB/VB etc........lovely product with the scent of LEMON!

Wow, just wow... do you have an axe to grind or just enjoy being an @#$%$# ?
Brian McKay is offline  
post #134 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 12:43 PM
 
ntrain6943's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian McKay View Post

Wow, just wow... do you have an axe to grind or just enjoy being an @#$%$# ?

Im just mentioning that there is more than one way to get HB on the unit, it won't work for everyone. Im just adding a bit of humor into it.
ntrain6943 is offline  
post #135 of 146 Old 06-21-2010, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Not sure ur brand of humor is much appreciated here.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #136 of 146 Old 06-29-2010, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

Not sure ur brand of humor is much appreciated here.

There are those that stretch the truth, then there are those that are outright .. you get the picture. The Web provides an area where some can simply say whatever they like, as there is no way to actually disprove anything and they know it. It's sad that these folks lives are so empty.

Uncle Willie



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #137 of 146 Old 06-29-2010, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian McKay View Post

Wow, just wow... do you have an axe to grind or just enjoy being an @#$%$# ?

If there is an axe, it has a very dull blade.

Uncle Willie



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #138 of 146 Old 07-09-2010, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
mayank_trip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It took me an hour to find an image of Horizontal Banding on this projector on the original thread. So to help others who are looking for the same, here is an image that was posted by someone else!

Mayank
LL
mayank_trip is offline  
post #139 of 146 Old 07-11-2010, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
robbu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Power Led Status Green - Status Flashing Red
Hi all, the projector has approx 250 hours with filter changed at 200 to the one suggested in the other threads. Now when I turn it on the status comes up green then changes to red flashing - after the picture is on the screen for 15 seconds the red goes away - I looked at the code in the service manual and it says "overcooled" Anyone have any idea what is going on here?
robbu is offline  
post #140 of 146 Old 07-11-2010, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
You'll get more responses over at the main thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post18892775

FWIW my book only lists "green/blinking green" for cooling down and "orange/blinking red" for lamp error. Didn't check the service manual tho.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #141 of 146 Old 08-01-2010, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
lonerider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if there is a way to help improve the "judder" (during camera pans) that is present in the 8100? It seems that I am very prone to noticing it during BR movies. Also has anybody seen first hand if the frame interpolation on the Panny 4000u actually help to eliminate this problem? I've had my VS now for 3 wks and have it set up pretty well but I just can't seem to get over the blurs that occur on any fast moving scenes. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I really don't want to send it back and I only have a few days to decide.
lonerider is offline  
post #142 of 146 Old 08-04-2010, 06:00 AM
Member
 
b4ward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, thanks to the hundreds of thread posted here that have helped me along the way in setting up my home theater and my Viewsonic pj, which I love, except...

I have not been able to download the firmware update. I have tried on three computers and when I try to unzip the ".brec" file, it says it cannot open due to not recognizing the .brec

Mine was manufactured March 2008 and has the VB right out of the box. It seems to go away after a bit. I've unplugged but I lose my settings. My save is greyed out when I try to save. Someone posted about this but I will have to hunt it down. If anyone has a quick link, let me know.

Thanks for everyone's help.
b4ward is offline  
post #143 of 146 Old 10-01-2010, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
dingofarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I stated earlyer that I had no HB, I do have VB and the unplug for an hour works, I also noticed that it dissapears after 15min of a movie.
dingofarmer is offline  
post #144 of 146 Old 10-01-2010, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The main Pro8100 discussion is over here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post19230736

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #145 of 146 Old 11-14-2010, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
moparfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did a quick google search and the low price one was said to be an "oem-equivalent" ...

Where have people gotten their OEM lamps?

My 8100 seems to be problem free so I'll buy a spare lamp - at which point the projector will probably spontaneously combust...
moparfan is offline  
post #146 of 146 Old 11-14-2010, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Since a true OEM bulb is a $300-$400 item, why not wait 'til you've got at least 1,000 hours on it? You may want to upgrade before you need a new bulb. I think it's good for 4,000-5,000 hours on Eco mode.

For sources, just google the P/N of the bulb. Here's one: http://shopper.cnet.com/projector-ac...-32820197.html

BTW see my post #144 and ask the question over there as a lot more of us watch that thread. This thread was setup to consolidate info.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off