Optoma GT720 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 109 Old 05-15-2011, 01:59 AM
Member
 
henrik-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
diff is some lumen and contrast utputs, like 100 lu-200 contrast.
thats all from what i have read, they use different bulp
henrik-t is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 109 Old 05-17-2011, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Logan M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helena, Mt.
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand2 View Post

Difference between gt720 and gt700? Nothing that I've seen.

The GT720 has a brighter bulb which gives it a better contrast ratio and obviously higher lumen output. The GT700 uses the same bulb as the GT360. Which may mean that it ends up being the cheaper and easier to find of the two down the road.
Logan M is offline  
post #93 of 109 Old 06-22-2011, 11:31 AM
Member
 
henrik-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Optoma 720 GameTime Short Throw +3D making a 150"+ from 1.8meters, Short Video inside


Hi this i just a short video of my PJ shooting from about 1.8meters maby less making a +150" picture.
this PJ can do 3D too.
Btw im hand holding the cam, so its not 100% in focus all the time. ill do better next video



henrik-t is offline  
post #94 of 109 Old 08-08-2011, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I been using my GT720 every where. In my main theater, bedroom, outside, and road trips. I just measured the lumen in the brightest mode and I got 2340 from the maximum 2500. I'm sure I can get more. My best viewing mode gave me 1082. About the brightest anyone should use for movie viewing I think. Its really bright. Some scenes I have to look away. All measurements were done in Eco mode
blee0120 is offline  
post #95 of 109 Old 08-08-2011, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
This is with my lights on in my bedroom. I still get a good picture
LL
blee0120 is offline  
post #96 of 109 Old 08-08-2011, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
From the computer. I get a better picture through the computer than your my blu ray player
LL
LL
LL
blee0120 is offline  
post #97 of 109 Old 09-07-2011, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
NikTheTec9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am i missing out on picture quality by going with the GT720 over the HD66. Im mainly watching blu-ray's with a little bit of gaming. This QnA is going to be deciding factor of my next purchase. I has running the HD65 before it almost burnt down my house. Thanks
NikTheTec9 is offline  
post #98 of 109 Old 09-07-2011, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
What screen are you using? Is it a theater friendly environment?
blee0120 is offline  
post #99 of 109 Old 09-14-2011, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
how is the 3d on this for movies? figure it should be similar to the gt750 so figured i'd ask here since the gt750 isn't out yet. is the 3d like in the movies, do you get the depth and things popping out etc?
robl45 is offline  
post #100 of 109 Old 09-21-2011, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ToHellWithUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Atlanta (GA)
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up this projector from Best Buy today on clearance, trying to decide if I should open it to try it out (15% restocking fee).

I currently have an Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 400 in our family room with a good bit of ambient light (~110" diag. image). It's practically not watchable during the day. Is the GT720 going to be a noticeable improvement over my Epson (2500 lumens vs. 1500 according to spec)? The Optima has lower contrast (3000:1 vs. 5000:1), but I don't think that is as important in ambient lighting (correct?).

I would also have to totally rethink my mounting/placement, as the Epson has lens shift and zoom, and is currently ceiling mounted slightly off center and 12' from the wall, which obviously wouldn't work for the GT720.

Any thoughts/opinions are appreciated.
ToHellWithUGA is offline  
post #101 of 109 Old 09-21-2011, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToHellWithUGA View Post

I just picked up this projector from Best Buy today on clearance, trying to decide if I should open it to try it out (15% restocking fee).

I currently have an Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 400 in our family room with a good bit of ambient light (~110" diag. image). It's practically not watchable during the day. Is the GT720 going to be a noticeable improvement over my Epson (2500 lumens vs. 1500 according to spec)? The Optima has lower contrast (3000:1 vs. 5000:1), but I don't think that is as important in ambient lighting (correct?).

I would also have to totally rethink my mounting/placement, as the Epson has lens shift and zoom, and is currently ceiling mounted slightly off center and 12' from the wall, which obviously wouldn't work for the GT720.

Any thoughts/opinions are appreciated.

I'm sure your Epson doesn't get near the lumens that it claims. Most projectors don't, but the Optoma GT720 actually exceeds its claims. Mines get 2300 lumens in Eco mode. I have a HP screen and I get a good amount of foot lamberts. It should work great with ambient light. It's not the best picture, but its great when you are watching hdtv, video games, sports, or if you are using it with a pc. But its a very sharp 720p projector that has a long lamp life. I think its a good projector
blee0120 is offline  
post #102 of 109 Old 09-22-2011, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
ToHellWithUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Atlanta (GA)
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

I'm sure your Epson doesn't get near the lumens that it claims. Most projectors don't, but the Optoma GT720 actually exceeds its claims. Mines get 2300 lumens in Eco mode. I have a HP screen and I get a good amount of foot lamberts. It should work great with ambient light. It's not the best picture, but its great when you are watching hdtv, video games, sports, or if you are using it with a pc. But its a very sharp 720p projector that has a long lamp life. I think its a good projector

Thanks for the reply, blee0120. I really want to open this and try it out. Even if it doesn't work as a replacement for the Epson in the Family Room, I'm sure I could find a use for it elsewhere.
ToHellWithUGA is offline  
post #103 of 109 Old 10-18-2011, 02:29 AM
Newbie
 
manish26264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using GT720 since last six months, recently I started having flickering so I googled and found that this due to dust on color wheel, I blew off the so called dust 2 - 3 times but after about a week it starts again, so I think the color wheel is not good and needs to be replaced. I have been searching for the color wheel but am unable to find it, do anyone know where can I get it.

Thanks.
manish26264 is offline  
post #104 of 109 Old 10-19-2011, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
jiba1681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

i've had my gt720 for about a week now. I'm having issues with the picture quality. On blue rays and HD tv thru comcast When the picture gets too bright the faces seem saturated and the resolution becomes unclear. is there a setting that can possibly adjust this?
jiba1681 is offline  
post #105 of 109 Old 10-19-2011, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiba1681 View Post

Hi,

i've had my gt720 for about a week now. I'm having issues with the picture quality. On blue rays and HD tv thru comcast When the picture gets too bright the faces seem saturated and the resolution becomes unclear. is there a setting that can possibly adjust this?

You beed to go into the picture setting and tune the colors down. It's provantage too bright. Also, you can choose other presets, like cinema mode. Fine tuning it can be a headache
blee0120 is offline  
post #106 of 109 Old 10-19-2011, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by manish26264 View Post

I am using GT720 since last six months, recently I started having flickering so I googled and found that this due to dust on color wheel, I blew off the so called dust 2 - 3 times but after about a week it starts again, so I think the color wheel is not good and needs to be replaced. I have been searching for the color wheel but am unable to find it, do anyone know where can I get it.

Thanks.

Wish I can help. You might have to send it into Optoma for repair. Hope this doesn't happen to me anytime soon with mines
blee0120 is offline  
post #107 of 109 Old 10-19-2011, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
jiba1681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

You beed to go into the picture setting and tune the colors down. It's provantage too bright. Also, you can choose other presets, like cinema mode. Fine tuning it can be a headache

thanks bee
jiba1681 is offline  
post #108 of 109 Old 03-06-2014, 01:14 AM
Member
 
somedude22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reviving an old thread. I started getting the dreaded white spots on the screen, thanks to a faulty DMD chip. I called Optoma asking about this, and to my surprise, even though the projector itself only has a 1 year warranty, the DMD chip has a 3 year warranty. Fortunately I'm under the 3 year threshold, so I was approved for an in-warranty repair. I don't think I saw this info on this forum, so I wanted to pass it along.
somedude22 is offline  
post #109 of 109 Old 03-06-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
These litter ebay with bad dmds, they should recall em all IMO.
Verge2 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off