The Offical Epson 8350 Owners Thread - Page 293 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8761 of 8790 Old 09-08-2014, 09:38 AM
Member
 
crimsonblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Maryland/DC/VA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I never called a repair center; I called Epson, and they made a generous one-time exception since it was only a week or so out of warranty. Don't bother emailing, time is wasted that way -- give them a call. Google Epson Projector Service to get the right number.

_______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
crimsonblue is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8762 of 8790 Old 09-08-2014, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonblue View Post
I never called a repair center; I called Epson, and they made a generous one-time exception since it was only a week or so out of warranty. Don't bother emailing, time is wasted that way -- give them a call. Google Epson Projector Service to get the right number.
Yep.... this was their response below..

I understand when a product is out of warranty that you might have to come out of pocket for repairs, but it is VERY frustrating when the parts/labor are MORE than price of a new projector.

I've expressed my displeasure but doubt it will do any good... after this issue, not sure I can justify giving EPSON anymore business. Sigh.

----------------------------------------

Thank you for contacting Epson.

Unfortunately, based on our records, your unit is no longer under warranty. There is no option to swap for a refurbished unit. We do sell refurbished units on our website under the Clearance section.

The Main Board which has all the inputs attached to it comes with the Optical Engine because they are calibrated to each other. There is no way to have just the Main Board replaced by itself. This is the main component of the projector and that is why it is so expensive.

If you require further assistance with this particular issue, please ensure all of our previous correspondence is contained in your reply, so we can better track the history of this issue.

If you have a different issue, please submit another E-form via our website (http://www.epson.com), and we will respond in a timely manner. Thank you again for contacting Epson.


Jimmy Z
Advanced Customer Support Specialist
Epson America, Inc.
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8763 of 8790 Old 09-08-2014, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey_Dawg View Post
The girl I spoke with said due to how the 8350 was designed, they had to purchase a major component to address the HDMI issue. She agreed the design was ridiculous and they did not prefer this either as it wasnt cost effective to repair this unit. (they lose business) This was the only service center in GA for EPSONS if I remember correctly (from their web site).

I sent an email describing the situation to EPSON support to see if i had any other options (refurb, etc).

We'll see what they say.
doesn't sound right to me.
a new one is 1099 on amazon right now
and an 8345 is only 899
so how can a part me 1000 + labor?

u may want to point that out to repair place.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #8764 of 8790 Old 09-08-2014, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
doesn't sound right to me.
a new one is 1099 on amazon right now
and an 8345 is only 899
so how can a part me 1000 + labor?

u may want to point that out to repair place.
Read my above post... EPSON CS confirmed what I was told... not happy with this right now.
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8765 of 8790 Old 09-08-2014, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Do what Crimson Blue suggested and call Epson directly. Talk to somebody in charge. A service center person has to strictly go by the rules and can't authorize replacements for an out of warranty unit. Sending an Email will just get you the same response as the service center. Tell them about the impossible situation a repair of this type is for you. If your unit is not too long out of warranty, they'll probably try to help you. Believe me, if you talk to someone at Epson directly, the last thing they'd want to do is leave you high and dry.
kevinwoodward likes this.
ben38 is online now  
post #8766 of 8790 Old 09-10-2014, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
Do what Crimson Blue suggested and call Epson directly. Talk to somebody in charge. A service center person has to strictly go by the rules and can't authorize replacements for an out of warranty unit. Sending an Email will just get you the same response as the service center. Tell them about the impossible situation a repair of this type is for you. If your unit is not too long out of warranty, they'll probably try to help you. Believe me, if you talk to someone at Epson directly, the last thing they'd want to do is leave you high and dry.
Called EPSON support, got pointed to call a projector tech support number. The guy didn't help much, helped with me setting up EPSON Loyalty account to see which projectors they had there (at "discounted prices")...none of the projector options there were close to level of 8350.

He then gave me "sales" number to call to see if they could assist further. He confirmed the cost I was quoted for the fix. What a bad design. Sigh.
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8767 of 8790 Old 09-10-2014, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey_Dawg View Post
Called EPSON support, got pointed to call a projector tech support number. The guy didn't help much, helped with me setting up EPSON Loyalty account to see which projectors they had there (at "discounted prices")...none of the projector options there were close to level of 8350.

He then gave me "sales" number to call to see if they could assist further. He confirmed the cost I was quoted for the fix. What a bad design. Sigh.
Sorry they didn't help you. I'm surprised. If it was a long discontinued model like the 6500ub i could understand their behavior. But this is a projector that they still sell that has suffered a catastrophic failure. They should want to make it right regardless of the warranty. Really disappointing.
ben38 is online now  
post #8768 of 8790 Old 09-10-2014, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
Sorry they didn't help you. I'm surprised. If it was a long discontinued model like the 6500ub i could understand their behavior. But this is a projector that they still sell that has suffered a catastrophic failure. They should want to make it right regardless of the warranty. Really disappointing.
try calling back and getting someone else.
mention this board and how 100's of people are troubled by this issue.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #8769 of 8790 Old 09-15-2014, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I saw it a few months ago a solution to remove dust but I can not find the method.
Antoin Brgn is offline  
post #8770 of 8790 Old 09-24-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Landsharkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a big fan of HDTV's (LCD/DLP) and looking to possibly make the switch to a projector. I'm doing 90% gaming, so looking for something with low input lag (at least as low as a DLP HDTV, which I'm assuming the projector is better than that).

Anyway, I currently own a Mitsubishi WD-65833 DLP HDTV and am about to sell it and buy a 'used' Sharp Aquos 70" LC-70C6500U (for about $900). However, I also just found a used Epson 8350 for $750 (less than 3 years old).

I'd like to know if making the switch will have me missing out from any feature/lighting/etc that a traditional HDTV would have over the projector?

I'm using it in a medium-lit room with windows only on one side of the room (north facing, so no direct sunlight).

I know the 8350 has 2,000 lumens, is that bright enough or comparable to the Sharp Aquos 70" in real world testing?

Any other suggestions or comments?

Thank you!
Landsharkk is offline  
post #8771 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landsharkk View Post
I'm a big fan of HDTV's (LCD/DLP) and looking to possibly make the switch to a projector. I'm doing 90% gaming, so looking for something with low input lag (at least as low as a DLP HDTV, which I'm assuming the projector is better than that).

Anyway, I currently own a Mitsubishi WD-65833 DLP HDTV and am about to sell it and buy a 'used' Sharp Aquos 70" LC-70C6500U (for about $900). However, I also just found a used Epson 8350 for $750 (less than 3 years old).

I'd like to know if making the switch will have me missing out from any feature/lighting/etc that a traditional HDTV would have over the projector?

I'm using it in a medium-lit room with windows only on one side of the room (north facing, so no direct sunlight).

I know the 8350 has 2,000 lumens, is that bright enough or comparable to the Sharp Aquos 70" in real world testing?

Any other suggestions or comments?

Thank you!
I have the 60" Aquos and the 8350 and the TV is a good bit brighter (they are in adjoining rooms). If I had a room with medium light, I'd probably opt for the 70" over the projector unless you can black out the windows. You could still see the image of the 8350 in medium light but the 70" AQOUS will look much better.
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8772 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
try calling back and getting someone else.
mention this board and how 100's of people are troubled by this issue.
I tired this a few times with sales and the best they would offer me is $930 for a new 8350.

I ordered and installed a component cable only to discover that HDMI inputs (100% of my devices) wont output a signal over component. (this may be common knowledge, but I had no clue).

So now I am looking for a new projector... what do yall think the value is of a 8350 with only component output working on it? Gonna try and sell and get a few bucks out of it.
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8773 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey_Dawg View Post
I tired this a few times with sales and the best they would offer me is $930 for a new 8350.

I ordered and installed a component cable only to discover that HDMI inputs (100% of my devices) wont output a signal over component. (this may be common knowledge, but I had no clue).

So now I am looking for a new projector... what do yall think the value is of a 8350 with only component output working on it? Gonna try and sell and get a few bucks out of it.
I think the signals only go up... if you ran component from all to your receiver it would work. do you see a difference in the picture? how many sources are you running and do any not have component?
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #8774 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Mikey_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I think the signals only go up... if you ran component from all to your receiver it would work. do you see a difference in the picture? how many sources are you running and do any not have component?
Sources are PS3 are Xbox 1 (DirecTV is run through XBOX1) and are all HDMI.

Neither of them have component natively so would have to buy aftermarket converters which I hear are unreliable.

Just gonna look at EPSONs new 3000 line and might pull the trigger on one of them. Just ridiculous the HDMI board cant be repaired for a reasonable price...
Mikey_Dawg is online now  
post #8775 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey_Dawg View Post
Sources are PS3 are Xbox 1 (DirecTV is run through XBOX1) and are all HDMI.

Neither of them have component natively so would have to buy aftermarket converters which I hear are unreliable.

Just gonna look at EPSONs new 3000 line and might pull the trigger on one of them. Just ridiculous the HDMI board cant be repaired for a reasonable price...
my ps3 and old xbox 360 all had component via a cable/connector
would be cheaper than new projector but i hear you

buy something better
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #8776 of 8790 Old 09-25-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
lakersin2025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my 3 year old had a temper tantrum and pushed my projector off of the 2.5ft high table it was sitting on.... No, I didn't murder him. It took me a week to turn it on to asses the damage. It landed partially on a folded up blowup mattress before hitting the hardwood flooring. I turned it on and all seems good! I was sure the bulb would at least of been broken but nope, still 1,100 hrs and kickin.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lakersin2025 is offline  
post #8777 of 8790 Old 09-26-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
thucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a 8350 or 8345. The projector will be on a shelf about 3-4' above where I sit on the couch. I'm concerned that I might have noise issues being that close to the projector. Does anyone have this projector setup in a similar arrangement? If so, how noticeable is the noise?

The room is a dedicated theater room, so it'll be pitch black when watching movies. The projector will most likely be in low light mode the whole time.

Thanks,
thucker is offline  
post #8778 of 8790 Old 09-26-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
That's one data point: drop test from 30" and still working... C H E C K ! !

Ouch. This is NOT any thing we'd want to try - congratulations on it still working! You are a lucky dog, indeed
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #8779 of 8790 Old 09-26-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thucker View Post
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a 8350 or 8345. The projector will be on a shelf about 3-4' above where I sit on the couch. I'm concerned that I might have noise issues being that close to the projector. Does anyone have this projector setup in a similar arrangement? If so, how noticeable is the noise?

The room is a dedicated theater room, so it'll be pitch black when watching movies. The projector will most likely be in low light mode the whole time.

Thanks,

See my pics. Mine is on the counter about 4-5 feet behind closest seating position. I keep it on non-ECO so fan runs at max 100% of the time. We don't hear anything, but we only use it for movies at close to reference levels. Also, surrounds and sub is back there near it.

Tesla1856 is offline  
post #8780 of 8790 Old 09-26-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
What the heck happened to forum ?

Am I on the right website? Did they change software again?


All my "rooms", pics and equipment lists are gone.

Tesla1856 is offline  
post #8781 of 8790 Old 09-27-2014, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Flashing temp light

Hi everyone, my Epson 8350 is flashing the temp light right after I turn it on. Bulb only has 300 hours on it. I should add that the air filter is clean, and this happened right after I moved it to my new place a few states away. I did transport it in the original packaging. It was working fine before. Anyone have any tips on how to do a self repair? Thank you!
David Senecal is offline  
post #8782 of 8790 Old 09-28-2014, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thucker View Post
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a 8350 or 8345. The projector will be on a shelf about 3-4' above where I sit on the couch. I'm concerned that I might have noise issues being that close to the projector. Does anyone have this projector setup in a similar arrangement? If so, how noticeable is the noise?

The room is a dedicated theater room, so it'll be pitch black when watching movies. The projector will most likely be in low light mode the whole time.

Thanks,
I sit on a couch below mine, run it on cinema and I hear it but it doesn't bother me, and I hate stuff like that.

you will be fine.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #8783 of 8790 Old 09-28-2014, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Senecal View Post
Hi everyone, my Epson 8350 is flashing the temp light right after I turn it on. Bulb only has 300 hours on it. I should add that the air filter is clean, and this happened right after I moved it to my new place a few states away. I did transport it in the original packaging. It was working fine before. Anyone have any tips on how to do a self repair? Thank you!
Have you tried the HIGH ALTITUDE mode?
ben38 is online now  
post #8784 of 8790 Old 09-28-2014, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben38 View Post
Have you tried the HIGH ALTITUDE mode?
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure I can enable High Altitude mode in time, since there is about 10 seconds from turning on the projector to shut off. Not enough time to warm up the lamp and even let me see the screen long enough to enter the menu. I do see the screen for just a couple seconds so I don't think it's a lamp issue. I am also only 6' above sea level.
David Senecal is offline  
post #8785 of 8790 Old 09-28-2014, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Senecal View Post
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure I can enable High Altitude mode in time, since there is about 10 seconds from turning on the projector to shut off. Not enough time to warm up the lamp and even let me see the screen long enough to enter the menu. I do see the screen for just a couple seconds so I don't think it's a lamp issue. I am also only 6' above sea level.

Have you tried reseating the lamp? Try taking it out and putting it back in just to make sure it's in nice and firm with all the screws tight (not "too" tight of course...you don't have to go nuts with it). Might help, who knows. Perhaps it unseated somewhat during the move.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kilgore is offline  
post #8786 of 8790 Old 09-28-2014, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 78
If reseating the lamp doesn't work, one of the fan connections may have come loose during the move. You may have to open the case.
ben38 is online now  
post #8787 of 8790 Old 09-29-2014, 04:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey guys a I just upgraded to a 5020 so I have a excellent 8350 in the classifieds. Great deal. Thanks
hotpepper007 is offline  
post #8788 of 8790 Old 09-29-2014, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
yep!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post
Have you tried reseating the lamp? Try taking it out and putting it back in just to make sure it's in nice and firm with all the screws tight (not "too" tight of course...you don't have to go nuts with it). Might help, who knows. Perhaps it unseated somewhat during the move.


This worked perfectly. Thank you so much.
David Senecal is offline  
post #8789 of 8790 Old 09-29-2014, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Senecal View Post
This worked perfectly. Thank you so much.
Awesome! Glad to be of help.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kilgore is offline  
post #8790 of 8790 Old 09-29-2014, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ben38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Senecal View Post
This worked perfectly. Thank you so much.
Good news. Glad to hear it.

Now that you can, do yourself a service by putting your projector in high altitude mode. The 8350 fans in normal mode shut down way too early. This may have been corrected in the latest software, but no reason to take a chance.
ben38 is online now  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off