LG HW300T LED 1280x800 - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 695 Old 02-23-2012, 09:04 AM
tqn
Senior Member
 
tqn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrepa View Post

here the solution for the streching problem, now you should watch everything in 16:9
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98Xb-tteDac

a question... how works it on 84''? the remote control is always necessary? I ask it because I have seen the pj for 300 without remote (380 with, new)

I'm not sure people noticed my post earlier, but I mentioned that I have this projector, and with a firmware of 3.00.12, there is no stretching problem. No need to mess with the output of your media player and playing with resizing on the projector. Just select "just scan" and 16:9 images are displayed in the correct aspect ratio.
tqn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 695 Old 02-23-2012, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrepa View Post

here the solution for the streching problem, now you should watch everything in 16:9
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98Xb-tteDac

a question... how works it on 84''? the remote control is always necessary? I ask it because I have seen the pj for 300 without remote (380 with, new)

Could someone with a quicker mind than mine interpret what was done in that sequence, step by step.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #363 of 695 Old 02-23-2012, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
turrepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
he select 'format imagen', 'zoom', and he turn it more streech, is very simple in my opinion.

and now... i ask again the same:

1-how works this pj on 84''? 300 lumens are enaught for this screen?
2-is the remote control always necessary?

I have those questions because I have seen the pj for 300 without remote (380 with, new)
turrepa is offline  
post #364 of 695 Old 02-23-2012, 11:25 AM
tqn
Senior Member
 
tqn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrepa View Post

he select 'format imagen', 'zoom', and he turn it more streech, is very simple in my opinion.

and now... i ask again the same:

1-how works this pj on 84''? 300 lumens are enaught for this screen?
2-is the remote control always necessary?

I have those questions because I have seen the pj for 300 without remote (380 with, new)

1) First, I doubt the HW300T puts out the claimed 300 lumens and still have any decent picture quality or acceptable fan noise. Having said that, I project an 80" image and I still think it's a little dim. Desired brightness is subjective though, so someone else might find the picture acceptable.

2) Not sure what you mean by your question. If you don't have the remote, you can use the buttons that are on top of the projector. Or use a Logitech Harmony remote.
tqn is offline  
post #365 of 695 Old 02-23-2012, 11:48 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrepa View Post

he select 'format imagen', 'zoom', and he turn it more streech, is very simple in my opinion.

and now... i ask again the same:

1-how works this pj on 84''? 300 lumens are enaught for this screen?
2-is the remote control always necessary?

I have those questions because I have seen the pj for 300 without remote (380 with, new)

all the controls are on the projector, so you don't have to use a remote if you don't have one. and I have it projecting an image that's 97" diagonal and on economy mode and it's just fine in a dark room, so 80" will be no problem at all. hope that helps
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #366 of 695 Old 02-24-2012, 12:39 AM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
here are my results of the stretching issue of my LG HW301G, anyone with more knowledge of aspect ratios math are welcome to comment and try to put this issue to rest

I have a 52x83 inch screen in the 16:10 format, that's 97" diagonal @ 10.5 feet

which in 16:9 mode should be 47x83 inches according to projector central calculator

in 2.39:1 mode it should be 35x83 according to projector calculator

Playing my "Pelham 123" bluray movie, which is supposed to be 2.40:1 ratio, I measured my image at 38x83 with bluray player set at 16:9 normal, and projector at "just scan"

so, that's a 3" inch difference, again the calculator says 2.39:1, but movie is 2.40:1 maybe that accounts for the 3" inches? anyone have any thoughts....btw, I tried the steps on the youtube video link above and "just scan" is what you end up when you used the zoom settings you see in the video.


one final thing....playing a movie that is recorded in 1.85:1 aspect ratio "edward acissorhands" bluray, the image is 50x83 inches, so it's a 3" strech from what a 47x84 (16:9) should measure...sooooo, it looks like this projector stretches everything by 3" inches on a 97" diagonal screen via HDMI.
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #367 of 695 Old 02-24-2012, 01:07 AM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqn View Post

I'm not sure people noticed my post earlier, but I mentioned that I have this projector, and with a firmware of 3.00.12, there is no stretching problem. No need to mess with the output of your media player and playing with resizing on the projector. Just select "just scan" and 16:9 images are displayed in the correct aspect ratio.

I had the same firmware on my 300t and it did stretch the image a lil bit, try getting a true 16:9 image, for example if you're using a 16:9 format screen..I posted my results in the previous posting, it's a 3" stretch, measure your projected image and compare it with a projection calculator, you might have a good projector, but it's such a minor stretch, most people wouldn't notice. but I see you're a senior member so I assume you know what you're talking about.
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #368 of 695 Old 02-24-2012, 09:05 AM
tqn
Senior Member
 
tqn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

I had the same firmware on my 300t and it did stretch the image a lil bit, try getting a true 16:9 image, for example if you're using a 16:9 format screen..I posted my results in the previous posting, it's a 3" stretch, measure your projected image and compare it with a projection calculator, you might have a good projector, but it's such a minor stretch, most people wouldn't notice. but I see you're a senior member so I assume you know what you're talking about.

Senior means older, not necessarily wiser

I'll measure the image when I get a chance.
tqn is offline  
post #369 of 695 Old 02-27-2012, 06:13 PM
 
Solid-State's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do you guys know if the lightpath is sealed on this thing? I'm concerned because it would be used in a smokers house.
Solid-State is offline  
post #370 of 695 Old 02-27-2012, 08:02 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solid-State View Post

Do you guys know if the lightpath is sealed on this thing? I'm concerned because it would be used in a smokers house.

I believe so since there's no air filter on the unit, I believe most if not all new DLP projectors have a sealed light path thus no filter needed
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #371 of 695 Old 02-28-2012, 02:35 AM
Member
 
kajaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There is something strange about prices and distribution when you compare HW300G with his little brother HX300G: if you look for them in the web or stores, HW300G is usually cheaper and harder to find than HX300G. This is just the opposite of what it uses to be when a new product from the same line is released. Maybe LG and distributors really know about the HW problems, very noticeable particularly when you use to it play games more than watching movies (search on youtube, I havent find any video without stretching on HW300G while playing a video game).

HX300G could be another good option: same features like lumens, colors quality, divx player, conections, etc. Just less resolution (XGA 1024x768 vs WXGA 1280x800) but also less noise level (23 eco/31 normal vs 26 eco/34 normal). And no strecthing problems.

IMO noise level is more important than resolution in this projector that usually will be placed close to you and proyecting about 80''-100''.
kajaroo is offline  
post #372 of 695 Old 02-29-2012, 05:25 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kajaroo View Post

There is something strange about prices and distribution when you compare HW300G with his little brother HX300G: if you look for them in the web or stores, HW300G is usually cheaper and harder to find than HX300G. This is just the opposite of what it uses to be when a new product from the same line is released. Maybe LG and distributors really know about the HW problems, very noticeable particularly when you use to it play games more than watching movies (search on youtube, I havent find any video without stretching on HW300G while playing a video game).

HX300G could be another good option: same features like lumens, colors quality, divx player, conections, etc. Just less resolution (XGA 1024x768 vs WXGA 1280x800) but also less noise level (23 eco/31 normal vs 26 eco/34 normal). And no strecthing problems.

IMO noise level is more important than resolution in this projector that usually will be placed close to you and proyecting about 80''-100''.

I don't know where you are located, but here in the USA, so california area, the only vendor that has the HW300t and HW3001G is FRYS electronics, and they seem to be having a hard time selling these units, the 300T with tuner was on sale for 540 and the 301G (white color without tuner) was on sale for 480 last week, I have a raincheck for the 300t and IM hoping that the new shipment from LG will be updated with new firmware and no stretching issues.

the frys website says they don't have the 301G, it's on back order, so hopefully they will get updated units from LG, and the pricing is weird, the HX350t still selling for 670.00 online, and widely available too...LG won't comment on that. by the way, the HW300t is widely available in canada, who knows what LG is up to
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #373 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
kajaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As you can easily notice due to my poor english, I am not from USA/Canada, I am from Spain.

Here stores only sell HW300G (and no more HX300G) due to the fact that HW is the model that LG currently supplies, HX is discontinued and no more in the cathalogue. I have asked this in the main stores (fnac...) and the anwswer is always the same: LG only supplies HW300G. Anyway, searching on the net, most of the online shops still have HX300 available: amazon, pixmania,... LG is trying to distribuite HW300 in Europe more than in USA. This is really weird as USA is a bigger market, and more for this gadgets... Its like they are trying to get rid of them in Europe. The street price: about 500 eur (670 USD).
kajaroo is offline  
post #374 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:51 AM
Member
 
boston909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the HX300G and decided to purchase the HW300G from pixmania on Monday, based on the supposed new firmware of 3.00.12 ... it took 1 day from France to the UK!

Having tested it, it was definitely on an old firmware version - as the HDMI input was still stretched. I usually watch mkv files via USB, and USB movies were great and shown in the correct ratio from the start... so I'd say the USB movie player and compatability is definitely better than the older HX300G.

Despite that, I have returned it to pixmania as the stretching will annoy me for PS3 and TV watching, and have purchased the HW300Y from them instead... as I only just read up the bit about the HW300Y being able to update the firmware itself as it's the WiFi version... so I'll let you all know how that goes when it arrives (should be at the weekend or early next week)...

If it still remains 'stretchy', I'll hang on to it anyway and sell the HX300G on eBay, as the USB movie function is even better than my older HX300G, and it seems to play some mkv files that wouldn't play on my old unit without having to use rebox first to convert to an mp4 container file.
boston909 is offline  
post #375 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just curious could someone who owns the LG post the power bricks output voltage and amperage ?? I believe its 12 Volts DC but I am not sure of the amount of current it draws. It would be even nicer if we could get a picture of the actual power connector.

Thanks

Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #376 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:56 AM
Member
 
boston909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The one that I just sent back today had the same brick as my older HX300G... so your assumption should be correct... I'll take a pic of that tomorrow and confirm.
boston909 is offline  
post #377 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boston909 View Post

The one that I just sent back today had the same brick as my older HX300G... so your assumption should be correct... I'll take a pic of that tomorrow and confirm.

Thanks!! Part of my plan is to plug it into the cars cigarette lighter slot for power or take a fully charged 12 volt car battery with me if I decide to go where there is no power (like camping) I already own a 12 volt FM transmitter that works great, The thing that worries me now are the comments about the Buzz coming out of the 350T Projector's audio out jack. I had this kind of problem with the transmitter and it was a poor factory solder joint. I fixed it and now the thing is so quiet it's great!

Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #378 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 06:41 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bohanna View Post

Thanks!! Part of my plan is to plug it into the cars cigarette lighter slot for power or take a fully charged 12 volt car battery with me if I decide to go where there is no power (like camping) I already own a 12 volt FM transmitter that works great, The thing that worries me now are the comments about the Buzz coming out of the 350T Projector's audio out jack. I had this kind of problem with the transmitter and it was a poor factory solder joint. I fixed it and now the thing is so quiet it's great!

Bohanna

I have the HW301G and there's a slight buzz with the audio out, very subtle but noticeable when using headphones, not enough to annoy me but it's there, like hum, I thought it was my cheap headphones causing it
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #379 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:28 PM
tqn
Senior Member
 
tqn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tqn is offline  
post #380 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

I have the HW301G and there's a slight buzz with the audio out, very subtle but noticeable when using headphones, not enough to annoy me but it's there, like hum, I thought it was my cheap headphones causing it

The headphones couldn't cause a buzz. They have no amplification. Most buzzes are cause by ground problems. There is a preamp coming out of the audio out and if you amplify it you will be amplifying the buzz

Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #381 of 695 Old 03-01-2012, 08:36 PM
tqn
Senior Member
 
tqn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

I had the same firmware on my 300t and it did stretch the image a lil bit, try getting a true 16:9 image, for example if you're using a 16:9 format screen..I posted my results in the previous posting, it's a 3" stretch, measure your projected image and compare it with a projection calculator, you might have a good projector, but it's such a minor stretch, most people wouldn't notice. but I see you're a senior member so I assume you know what you're talking about.

I measured an HDTV image at 68" wide x 38.25" high, which is a 1.78 aspect ratio, i.e. 16:9.
tqn is offline  
post #382 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 01:32 AM
Member
 
boston909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqn View Post

I measured an HDTV image at 68" wide x 38.25" high, which is a 1.78 aspect ratio, i.e. 16:9.

tqn - are you using the HW300Y (or T even) with WiFi updatable firmware? If so, what revision is yours on?

My 'Y' should be arriving today apparently, so I'm keen to try this feature out.
boston909 is offline  
post #383 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 01:48 AM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyone in need of a REMOTE for the HW300T? I ended up with 2 in my returning of projectors (many) somehow I forgot to include the remote in a return. it's the one that has the channel buttons, but it works with any LG LED. I think it works with the HX models too, maybe we can trade something. it's brand new, don't need 2 remotes
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #384 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eat meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG HW300T Projector Specifications

Display: Type:
0.6" DLP (1)

Native: 1280x800 Pixels
Maximum: **
Aspect Ratio: 16:10 (WXGA)


not 16:9

__________________________________________
Are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat Popsicle.

(fifth element)
__________________________________________
eat meat is offline  
post #385 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 04:40 AM
Member
 
kajaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by boston909 View Post

Having tested it, it was definitely on an old firmware version - as the HDMI input was still stretched. I usually watch mkv files via USB, and USB movies were great and shown in the correct ratio from the start... so I'd say the USB movie player and compatability is definitely better than the older HX300G.

Why the USB player from HW is better than HX?? I think both are exactly the same... they both play mkv files... Have you had any problems with any format that you played properly in HW and no in HX?? And the image quality quite similar too.... IMO it is not worth to chage a HX for a HW.
kajaroo is offline  
post #386 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqn View Post

Attachment 239055

19.5 Volts DC 5.65 amps

Thanks for the info! looks like plan B will be a Dc/Ac/power inverter. At basically 600 watts (5.65 amps) I think I'm gonna go with an 800 watt Model.

I already have a plug in Car laptop adaptor that bumps up the voltage from 12-Volts but I am not sure how much current it handles. I think 6 amps is a bit much for this option

Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #387 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 07:34 AM
Member
 
boston909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kajaroo View Post

Why the USB player from HW is better than HX?? I think both are exactly the same... they both play mkv files... Have you had any problems with any format that you played properly in HW and no in HX?? And the image quality quite similar too.... IMO it is not worth to chage a HX for a HW.

I just thought that the layout was much more 'pretty' on the HW300, and it definitely played a couple of movies that my HX300 wouldn't play...
boston909 is offline  
post #388 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Could it be that LG is purposely avoiding fixing the 16:9 stretching problem? The HT crowd is a lot more trouble for LG and its vendors. Also, they may have an HT LED model in the pipeline and don't want competition from the HW300T as undoubtedly the HT model will be more expensive.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #389 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 08:32 AM
Member
 
boston909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Darn... my new HW300Y model (that just arrived) has 3.00.05 on it. Having connected to my router and checked the LG server, via the PJ, it says that there is no update available...

Does anyone know if this might be to do with me being in the UK and the fact that the projetor came from France?

I'll try LG's international support number, but I don't expect to get any joy out of the conversation...
boston909 is offline  
post #390 of 695 Old 03-02-2012, 09:21 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by boston909 View Post

Darn... my new HW300Y model (that just arrived) has 3.00.05 on it. Having connected to my router and checked the LG server, via the PJ, it says that there is no update available...

Does anyone know if this might be to do with me being in the UK and the fact that the projetor came from France?

I'll try LG's international support number, but I don't expect to get any joy out of the conversation...

my 300T has 3.00.08 firmware, haven't connected it to the network to see if it will update to a new firmware, I just opened it and plugged it in to check firmware, will post any finds
garibay_2004 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off