VIVITEK QUMI LED 1280x800 - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2167 Old 04-29-2012, 11:14 PM
Newbie
 
babablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skronk View Post

Try turning auto source to off in the installation II menu. If i remember correctly i had to do this with mine when I used my switcher.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madrid64 View Post

I bought an hdmi switcher too, I need to connect the qumi to the ps3 and xbox360, but sometimes it worked great and sometimes there were a lot of image noise, the solution I found was to put the ps3 or whatever other source to 720p, and that solved the problem, if you put the source to 1080p you'll have problem with the signal, hope this helps.

Combination of both of these worked. Thanks guys
babablue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2167 Old 05-02-2012, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Joey_is_here2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The users on this forum are really good at resolving issues and giving advice. So here is a test (smile). Has anyone tried to use Slingbox with their Qumi? I have my iPad2 transmitting Comcast cable (via Slingbox HD). I have connected it to my Qumi via an Apple HDMI adapter. Unfortunately, the Qumi only shows the signal at 480p. When I watch Netflix via the Qumi and iPad2, the Qumi shows the signal being received at 1080p. Therefore, I am suspecting the issue is with Slingbox and/or Comcast. But I was wondering if anyone else had this issue and, if so, how did they resolve it. Thanks.
Joey_is_here2003 is offline  
post #1863 of 2167 Old 05-02-2012, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Joey_is_here2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard any more about the wifi dongle that was to be released for the Qumi Q5, but can also be used with the Qumi Q2 via a software update? I think it was supposed to be released in April 2012 and has already been released in Europe.
Joey_is_here2003 is offline  
post #1864 of 2167 Old 05-02-2012, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalJman View Post


So, Qumi is a bit of a half way attempt at getting 3D sadly to say but it can be done. Now just for info I did return my Qumi for a third time because one of the panels went bad and I ended up getting the Viewsonic PLED W-500 because of it's ability to do 3D over HDMI with VP1 thing that is like the Optoma 3D-XL. So I can't do any further testing, but this is what I did get established on it.

So, yes Sterescopic Player is a must. The next thing is you need to be able to use a VGA cable, one that is marketed as SVGA from like monoprice, etc, and a graphics card capable of setting it to 1280*800 at 120Hz. The trick for most you will be getting this setup this way. For my little laptop which had a measley intel graphics chip I was able to get it set at this resolution by bending one of the pins, can't remember which at the moment. But if you have a upper scale graphics card then you can probably do this resolution just fine. Then comes the trickery for the content. So, there's no way for you to play a 3D bluray on any other player accept from Stereoscopic player, and you have to have a decryptor like AnyDVDHD or DVDFab I think also has one for Bluray. Stereoscopic player will not decrypt it for you. Your setup will be pageflipping software in Stereoscopic player in the viewing method. Then choose open file from Stereoscopic player and load up an SSIF file from the stream folder. That's it for playing it.

For the glasses and setup of projector. There's an advanced menu at the far right tab and under that advanced is 3D. If you're going to use DLP link, then you need DLP link glasses and it syncs up just fine. If you choose IR, then you need to have an emitter hooked up to it and choose that setting and obviously have the glasses.

That's basically it. A pain, yes. Can it be done. Yes, if you trouble shoot a lot and find out which part isn't working. It's usually the part of getting the resolution to run at that correctly. Even my AMD 6970 wasn't detecting that resolution correctly and therefore the pin mod had to be done. Is it worth it. I'm going to lean towards the no side now that I've had such an easy and wonderful experience with the Viewsonic. But once you have the magic setup, you can completely enjoy the 3D on this setup.

So does the Qumi NOT work with the Optoma 3D-XL? I'd probably get the 3-D-XL to use with my PS3 if it does.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1865 of 2167 Old 05-02-2012, 06:45 PM
Member
 
zoroastros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm, the qumi CAN'T display 3d over hdmi via viewsonic VP3D1!
zoroastros is offline  
post #1866 of 2167 Old 05-03-2012, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
serveurperso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Vivitek QUMI Q2 users,

I have the QUMI Q2, I get a strange media player issue - The problem is present on three Qumi I tested, two white and one black from same manufacture date (december 2011) / batch :

The internal media player give a strange vertical only "color bad alignment" on almost all videos. - MKV SD & HD and somes AVI on SD or USB HDD,

The problem is easily seen on episodes of the simpsons in HD MKV - Some colors drool over a few pixels up. This is only a vertical shift.

It's not hardware problem (Still pictures on USB and HDMI or VGA sources are perfect...)

I get this issue with stock and last wifi-enabled firmwares.

Have you noticed? I make pictures with a Lumix LX5 soon.

English isn't my native language so I'm truly sorry if I make some mistakes

Pascal
serveurperso is offline  
post #1867 of 2167 Old 05-03-2012, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
serveurperso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
serveurperso is offline  
post #1868 of 2167 Old 05-08-2012, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
mishari84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
how is this projector with games? how much is the lag?
mishari84 is online now  
post #1869 of 2167 Old 05-08-2012, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Amber Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishari84 View Post

how is this projector with games? how much is the lag?

Also would like to know about lag and Qumi
Amber Ale is offline  
post #1870 of 2167 Old 05-09-2012, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Chimera2345's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barre, VT
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishari84 View Post

how is this projector with games? how much is the lag?

No problems here with my Xbox 360 and the Qumi. I've played a lot of high-action stuff (Dirt 3, Forza 4) and there is zero lag that I've noticed (VGA connection from Xbox since mine doesn't have HDMI)
Chimera2345 is offline  
post #1871 of 2167 Old 05-09-2012, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
mishari84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
thanks, my choices are Qumi and LG HW300
i watched this video many times on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCYzu6IhbSc
i noticed in this video 2 things:
- LG has noticeable more lag than Qumi
- LG has more crisp and accurate colors

is it true or settings were not correct?
mishari84 is online now  
post #1872 of 2167 Old 05-09-2012, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
Danironimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have questions for those who experience eye strain from viewing CCFL/LED lit TV's and PC monitors: Does the Qumi have the same effect on your eyes? Also, is it possible to run 120hz in regular 2D mode like some 3D monitors are able to? Thanks
Danironimo is offline  
post #1873 of 2167 Old 05-10-2012, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
dmxsoulja3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, was wondering if anyone could post, or direct me to some pictures of how people have these setup, obviously ceiling mount is do'able but not too practical, would like to see how people used coffee table or shelf or something of the like so its semi-permanent and can be moved if needed.
dmxsoulja3 is offline  
post #1874 of 2167 Old 05-10-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
madrid64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxsoulja3 View Post

Hello, was wondering if anyone could post, or direct me to some pictures of how people have these setup, obviously ceiling mount is do'able but not too practical, would like to see how people used coffee table or shelf or something of the like so its semi-permanent and can be moved if needed.

Hi man, here's is what I did with my qumi, and it works great!
Attachment 246180

Attachment 246181

Attachment 246182

Attachment 246183
LL
LL
LL
LL
madrid64 is offline  
post #1875 of 2167 Old 05-10-2012, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
action_jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here is mine, a simple shelf mount with an Apple TV providing video.

Epson Home Cinema 3010 Projector____Paradigm 9SE MK II Main LR
Yamaha RX-V667 AVR_______________Paradigm CC-270 V.3 Center
Emotiva UPA-5 Amplifier______________Paradigm PS-1200 Sub
Sony BDP-570 Blu Ray_______________Polk bookshelf for Surrounds
action_jackson is offline  
post #1876 of 2167 Old 05-17-2012, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Honzik1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Please, what is the internal memory for? There is way how to copy files from USB drive to internal memory?
Honzik1 is offline  
post #1877 of 2167 Old 05-17-2012, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
JamesGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Qumi 2 off Amazon used for $414. It was direct from amazon, and I am amazed at this little thing. Checking the hours on it, I was surprised to find it only had 39 hours.

I didn't get a high gain screen, just a generic matte screen, 92", and it looks good in our living room. At some point I'll upgrade to a high gain, but for now, this is just about right for our home.

It has the warm up focus issue, which is a non-issue for me. We built an itx bookshelf PC to feed it yummy source material. We're using an AMD A8-3780K APU that has an onboard Radeon HD 6550HD GPU. It works well with anything I can throw at it. Games, blu-rays, etc. etc.

The only 2 issues I have is that the Qumi is not HDCP compliant, so to play bluray discs or other protected content, I have to crack the DRM...so additional software is needed. The second item is mounting it. Our living room is a logistics nightmare for a projector...which I didn't realize until we actually got the screen and projector.

With it all set up, connected to our Wii and HTPC, this thing is amazing. We use it 10-16 hours a day. It'll be less in the summer, but we'll have some movie nights outside as well as some wii tournaments.

No more TVs...
JamesGT is offline  
post #1878 of 2167 Old 05-17-2012, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
JamesGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danironimo View Post

Also, is it possible to run 120hz in regular 2D mode like some 3D monitors are able to? Thanks

Sure, I did this yesterday, but the 1280x720 at 120hz didn't look very good as far as how it worked as a computer monitor. I did not try any video, nor did I try any custom resolutions such as 1280x800 @ 120hz, but that will probably give me out of sync errors.
JamesGT is offline  
post #1879 of 2167 Old 05-17-2012, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just posted in the 3DFury forum and asked what I needed to play 3D blurays off the PS3 with the Qumi. An admin there replied that all you need is the 3DFury and DLP link glasses. Anyone tried this? I'd like to but it's like $400 I think just for the 3DFury.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1880 of 2167 Old 05-26-2012, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoroastros View Post

I can confirm, the qumi CAN'T display 3d over hdmi via viewsonic VP3D1!

Hmm, a reviewer on Amazon states that he got it working through his PS3 no problem. I'm still trying to figure out the cheapest way to go to get 3D from the PS3 on the Qumi.
I was going to go with the VIP 3D Displayer, but the Viewsonic device is a hundred dollars cheaper.

Anyone?
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1881 of 2167 Old 05-27-2012, 10:31 PM
Newbie
 
TheHetare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoroastros View Post

I can confirm, the qumi CAN'T display 3d over hdmi via viewsonic VP3D1!

My Qumi Q2 is can display 720p@120Hz over HDMI via viewsonic VP3D1.
but, can't display 720p@120Hz over HDMI from other.

Connection and equipment to my Qumi.
PS3 and XBOX360, Blu-ray player, HiMedia HD900B - HDMI Switcher - VP3D1 - Qumi.
TheHetare is offline  
post #1882 of 2167 Old 05-30-2012, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHetare View Post


My Qumi Q2 is can display 720p@120Hz over HDMI via viewsonic VP3D1.
but, can't display 720p@120Hz over HDMI from other.

Do you mean can't display 120hz from the other converters like Optoma 3D-XL and 3DFury? So it works with the Viewsonic? In going crazy reading conflicting reports! I want 3D! LOL
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1883 of 2167 Old 05-31-2012, 01:57 AM
Member
 
newguy12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this little thing looks good but the optoma ml500 is still the champ over this. i wish they would bring out a led 1080p 20,000 plus model. people would flock to it.
newguy12345 is offline  
post #1884 of 2167 Old 06-08-2012, 04:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So after playing around and researching online, I have found it's quite simple to get 3D on the Qumi, with a catch.

I bought a $35 pair of DLP Link glasses on Amazon. Sainsonic brand.
Downloaded the free Stereoscopic Player software (free version plays videos up to 5 min. long.)
Bought a $2 VGA female to female adapter to connect Qumi's VGA cable to regular VGA cable at pc to get 120 hz @ 1280x720 (120 hz can also be achieved thru HDMI but at max resolution of 1024x768, but it does work!)
Found some free downloadable 3D clips to test it out, and it works just fine! I don't have a quad buffered graphics card either, just an Nvidia GeForce 9200, which is not that great.

The image is perfectly fine to me at 96 inches at night with no ambient light.

Now I'm going to follow instructions I found on how to dl YouTube 3D vids and play them with Stereoscopic player. The 5 minute limit on the free version will be ok to test 3 D trailers and such.

Also going to order the 3DFury to get my PS3 going with 3D Blu Rays and games.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1885 of 2167 Old 06-10-2012, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
TheHetare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post


Do you mean can't display 120hz from the other converters like Optoma 3D-XL and 3DFury? So it works with the Viewsonic? In going crazy reading conflicting reports! I want 3D! LOL

I had a HDFury2, and thought trying to use for 3D.
But, I try the HDMI connection to Qumi and 3DVP1, 3D menu had been displayed!
In so useless zoroastros's Qumi, would individual differences.

If you enjoy 3D images to ensure
Qumi's Universal Port can input 720p@120Hz signal.

Video equipment - VP3D1, 3D-XL - HDMI2VGA(HDFury, etc.) - Qumi(Universal Port)
or
Video equipment - 3DFury - Qumi(Universal Port)
TheHetare is offline  
post #1886 of 2167 Old 06-11-2012, 07:19 AM
Member
 
nonahunjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What setting did you use in stereoscopic player cause I can not get this darn thing to work. I have 3d enabled on the qumi at 120Hz but it does not show up as 3d with my dlp link glasses. Please help, I have been trying to get this thing to work for ages.
nonahunjan is offline  
post #1887 of 2167 Old 06-11-2012, 07:20 AM
Member
 
nonahunjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post

So after playing around and researching online, I have found it's quite simple to get 3D on the Qumi, with a catch.
I bought a $35 pair of DLP Link glasses on Amazon. Sainsonic brand.
Downloaded the free Stereoscopic Player software (free version plays videos up to 5 min. long.)
Bought a $2 VGA female to female adapter to connect Qumi's VGA cable to regular VGA cable at pc to get 120 hz @ 1280x720 (120 hz can also be achieved thru HDMI but at max resolution of 1024x768, but it does work!)
Found some free downloadable 3D clips to test it out, and it works just fine! I don't have a quad buffered graphics card either, just an Nvidia GeForce 9200, which is not that great.
The image is perfectly fine to me at 96 inches at night with no ambient light.
Now I'm going to follow instructions I found on how to dl YouTube 3D vids and play them with Stereoscopic player. The 5 minute limit on the free version will be ok to test 3 D trailers and such.
Also going to order the 3DFury to get my PS3 going with 3D Blu Rays and games.

What setting did you use in stereoscopic player cause I can not get this darn thing to work. I have 3d enabled on the qumi at 120Hz but it does not show up as 3d with my dlp link glasses. Please help, I have been trying to get this thing to work for ages.
nonahunjan is offline  
post #1888 of 2167 Old 06-11-2012, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonahunjan View Post

What setting did you use in stereoscopic player cause I can not get this darn thing to work. I have 3d enabled on the qumi at 120Hz but it does not show up as 3d with my dlp link glasses. Please help, I have been trying to get this thing to work for ages.

Page flipping. Also it will only play in 3D once you set it to full screen. But I haven't been able to get the 3D YouTube videos I downloaded to play. They play when the PC is hooked up to my monitor, obviously not in 3D, but when I hook up to the Qumi they won't start. The only one I've got to play so far was the first video I downloaded (it wasn't from YouTube) it had some still pictures and then video clips of a train and some other stuff.

But I just ordered the 3DFury today. Hopefully I'll have it by the weekend!
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1889 of 2167 Old 06-14-2012, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
Tite003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone!!

It´s great to be here, I´ve been enjoying this forum for a long time and finally I decided to sing up.

I have a Qumi since yesterday and I´m really impressed and happy with, but I was wondering if anyone knows how to connect my tv cable box (scart) to the qumi. What sort of adapter do I need? I bought a Scart male-Vga female cable, but it doesn´t work!

Apologies for my English!
Tite003 is offline  
post #1890 of 2167 Old 06-14-2012, 05:55 AM
Member
 
SiggUA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
An adapter from Scart to composite video will do the job. It should be connected to the input "AV IN".
SiggUA is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Vivitek Qumi Q2 300 Lumen Wxga Hdmi 3d Ready Pocket Dlp Projector White

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off