VIVITEK QUMI LED 1280x800 - Page 72 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 02:09 AM
Member
 
JDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fortaleza, Brazil
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the Q7 need a 3D adapter between it and the 3D source, like a 3D Blu-ray player? I currently use a ViewSonic 3D adapter for my Qumi2.

Qumi2,
DIY screen,
Samsung E5500 3D BD player,
ViewSonic VP3D1 3D adapter,
3DTV Corp glasses (D+D3G Hi-Shock DLP-Pro),
old Philips 5.1 HT system for sound.
JDAstro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
fred1807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about the 1080p led projectors out thetr? viewsonic, acer, lg... are they noisy for a whole day of work?
fred1807 is offline  
post #2133 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDAstro View Post

Does the Q7 need a 3D adapter between it and the 3D source, like a 3D Blu-ray player? I currently use a ViewSonic 3D adapter for my Qumi2.


Not sure about the q...7 but how does the viewsonic3d adapter work for the qumi. Was looking to hook my ps3 up to my q5 for 3d from what I read here the hd fury works but its also $400 wanted to see if there was an adapter that does the same thing for little cheaper.

mikeyhill is offline  
post #2134 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I didn't get the Viewsonic adapter because I read different things. Some couldn't get it to work with the Qumi an some said it did work. My 3DFury still works great. I have it between my PS3 and my Pioneer VSX receiver. There is a message board on HDFury's website. There are many discussions on there and that's where I had my questions answered.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #2135 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What 3d glasses do you recommend thanks in advance
mikeyhill is offline  
post #2136 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well I can tell you I tried two different kinds, both from Amazon.
The Sainsonic SSZ-200DLW rechargeable ones, which are great, and another brand that I think was called 3DTV or something that were battery powered (I'm not at home now to check,) and those worked, but the image appeared darker in one eye and that annoyed me.
The Sainsonic were better. They're only $29.99 on Amazon.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #2137 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post

Well I can tell you I tried two different kinds, both from Amazon.
The Sainsonic SSZ-200DLW rechargeable ones, which are great, and another brand that I think was called 3DTV or something that were battery powered (I'm not at home now to check,) and those worked, but the image appeared darker in one eye and that annoyed me.
The Sainsonic were better. They're only $29.99 on Amazon.


Thanks a lot for your help ok only one more question I have is about the Hdmi plugs you have to get certain ones?

mikeyhill is offline  
post #2138 of 2168 Old 12-16-2013, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyhill View Post


Thanks a lot for your help ok only one more question I have is about the Hdmi plugs you have to get certain ones?
I use the regular ones I've always used. I did have one very cheap one with a very thin wire that didnt work, but even the Amazon Basics work.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #2139 of 2168 Old 12-17-2013, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyhill View Post

Thanks a lot for your help ok only one more question I have is about the Hdmi plugs you have to get certain ones?
What is it with people and HDMI leads? All you need to do is avoid cheap thin cables which won't have a good high-frequency performance (but probably good enough for 720p over 4 feet). I bought a 40 foot cable for less than 10UKP that works fine at 1080p.

The Q2 needs a mini HDMI plug or an adapter. The Q5 (and presumably the Q7 also) has a standard HDMI.
crashbot is offline  
post #2140 of 2168 Old 12-17-2013, 02:37 AM
Member
 
JDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fortaleza, Brazil
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought the ViewSonic VP3D1 adapter because it was only $200. It is large and light weight - not good for hauling around with a notebook - but works fine with my Qumi2. So far I have used a PS3, Fuji W3 3D camera, a Samsung 3D Blu-Ray Player and my Acer notebook with it. It has two HDMI input ports which I find convenient for leaving my BD player always connected and the second port for the other devices.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyhill View Post


Not sure about the q...7 but how does the viewsonic3d adapter work for the qumi. Was looking to hook my ps3 up to my q5 for 3d from what I read here the hd fury works but its also $400 wanted to see if there was an adapter that does the same thing for little cheaper.

Qumi2,
DIY screen,
Samsung E5500 3D BD player,
ViewSonic VP3D1 3D adapter,
3DTV Corp glasses (D+D3G Hi-Shock DLP-Pro),
old Philips 5.1 HT system for sound.
JDAstro is offline  
post #2141 of 2168 Old 12-17-2013, 02:41 AM
Member
 
JDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fortaleza, Brazil
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Q2 comes with a mini-to-standard HDMI cable - but it's quite short. My Q2 sits on top of the ViewSonic adapter.

quote name="crashbot" url="/t/1304775/vivitek-qumi-led-1280x800/2130#post_24084122"]
What is it with people and HDMI leads? All you need to do is avoid cheap thin cables which won't have a good high-frequency performance (but probably good enough for 720p over 4 feet). I bought a 40 foot cable for less than 10UKP that works fine at 1080p.

The Q2 needs a mini HDMI plug or an adapter. The Q5 (and presumably the Q7 also) has a standard HDMI.[/quote]

Qumi2,
DIY screen,
Samsung E5500 3D BD player,
ViewSonic VP3D1 3D adapter,
3DTV Corp glasses (D+D3G Hi-Shock DLP-Pro),
old Philips 5.1 HT system for sound.
JDAstro is offline  
post #2142 of 2168 Old 12-17-2013, 04:02 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDAstro View Post

The Q2 comes with a mini-to-standard HDMI cable - but it's quite short. My Q2 sits on top of the ViewSonic adapter.
It does indeed, but I don't use 3D. Standard-to-mini adapters are cheap enough if procured from the right place, but I have a cheap passive HDMI switch box connected via the short Vivitek cable which provides (in effect) three standard HDMI inputs to my Q2.
crashbot is offline  
post #2143 of 2168 Old 12-17-2013, 05:11 AM
Newbie
 
MarB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wink.gif

The Q7 uses standard HDMI sockets and does not need adapters to display 3D contents: if the source feeds it, it seems to play it good (tried with Philips BDP7700).

I also have tried switching on the internal 2D->3D engine on a 2D feed and it seems to play it good as well.

I'm saying "seems" since I don't have 3D glasses (yet), so I cannot say anything about the *perceived* 3D effect: it is just noticeable that the PJ il displaying something in 3D mode...

 


Edit: sorry, everybody. I did the,simpler thing: RTFM...
Q7 can be set either in DLP-link mode, either coupled to an IR beamer; 3d may be set to side-by-side, top/bottom and frame sequential.

Regards from Rome!

MarB is offline  
post #2144 of 2168 Old 12-22-2013, 03:54 AM
Member
 
mihaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post

It does indeed, but I don't use 3D. Standard-to-mini adapters are cheap enough if procured from the right place, but I have a cheap passive HDMI switch box connected via the short Vivitek cable which provides (in effect) three standard HDMI inputs to my Q2.
Which switch box is that. Does passive mean you have to switch input yourself?
mihaid is offline  
post #2145 of 2168 Old 12-22-2013, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Yes, just a bank of switches.
crashbot is offline  
post #2146 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 12:38 AM
Newbie
 
Rodzila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 

Hello. I have a qumi q2 and i have a question for you guys. when I watch tv or my pc with the projector on a resolution of 1280x720 the picture is fine but the light from the projector is much bigger . It is like a big square and the picture is above and the rest of the "light throw" square is under the picture. When it is a dark scene you really see the light from the bottom part of the squre under the picture.

 

Hope you understand what I am trying to explain.

Thanks.

Rodzila is offline  
post #2147 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Yep. That's what it does. 1280x720 is 16:9, and the Qumi offers 16:10. If you want, you can alter the PC output to 1280x800, or you can tell the Qumi to stretch the 1280x720 to 16:10.
crashbot is offline  
post #2148 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 03:56 AM
Member
 
mihaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post

Yes, just a bank of switches.
I was hoping you might post a link or point me to the shop's name.
mihaid is offline  
post #2149 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 04:00 AM
Member
 
mihaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodzila View Post

Hello. I have a qumi q2 and i have a question for you guys. when I watch tv or my pc with the projector on a resolution of 1280x720 the picture is fine but the light from the projector is much bigger . It is like a big square and the picture is above and the rest of the "light throw" square is under the picture. When it is a dark scene you really see the light from the bottom part of the squre under the picture.

Hope you understand what I am trying to explain.
Thanks.
Yeah I know, it's some kind of escaped light.i don't know if you can do anything about it other than a screen.
mihaid is offline  
post #2150 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Proper projection screens have black borders to conceal escaped light in the "non picture" area. In a cinema they are moveable to accommodate different aspect ratios.

I think the enquirer was taking about the unused area of the DLP matrix, but there is also a fair amount of flare from reflections within the optical assembly that gets cast outside even the borders of the DLP. This can be substantially reduced if you are prepared to fit a baffle about a foot in front of the lens (and eliminated completely if you are prepared to accept a very small amount of darkening around the very edge of the projected image and make the baffle as tight to the image as possible).
crashbot is offline  
post #2151 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihaid View Post

I was hoping you might post a link or point me to the shop's name.
It was just from the local bargain store. Similar to this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5-Way-HDMI-Selector-Switch-Box-Brand-NEW-Manual-/260906495388
crashbot is offline  
post #2152 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Rodzila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

learned something today thanks crashbot!

 

any other suggestions how to remove the light? 

Rodzila is offline  
post #2153 of 2168 Old 12-23-2013, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Turn it off.
crashbot is offline  
post #2154 of 2168 Old 12-25-2013, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Got my fury and the saisonic glasses cant seem to get a 3d picture got a solid blue light on the fury and the ps3 plays movies but definite not a 3d image hit the frame rate button to 720p and put dip swith 7 and 8 on not sure whats going on any ideas?

mikeyhill is offline  
post #2155 of 2168 Old 12-26-2013, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyhill View Post

Got my fury and the saisonic glasses cant seem to get a 3d picture got a solid blue light on the fury and the ps3 plays movies but definite not a 3d image hit the frame rate button to 720p and put dip swith 7 and 8 on not sure whats going on any ideas?
Are they dlp link glasses?
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #2156 of 2168 Old 12-27-2013, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post


Are they dlp link glasses?

Yea got the ones you recommended the saisonic finally got it working after some tweaking I had the slides on the side of the fury not centered and the dlp link on the qumi was not turned on...What a beautiful 3d picture it give off watched the imax nature dvds under sea and deep sea stunning 3d very happy. Been thinking about getting a nice portable speaker for when on the go to hook into the audio out maybe a bose soundlink 2 any other reccomendations. One more question since im so new to this what would be the best way to hook my cable box hdtv and the qumi together so I don't have to unplug the hdtv from the cablebox each time I wanna use the projector for watching cable. Im guessing an hdmi receiver? I have an surround sound receiver now but does not have hdmi ports... any help would be much appreciated thanks in advance

mikeyhill is offline  
post #2157 of 2168 Old 12-27-2013, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
crashbot is offline  
post #2158 of 2168 Old 02-13-2014, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
Tahir Hussain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello Friends !

 

I recently got a Qumi Q2 for watching movies in my leisure time but got slightly disappointed after learning the real meaning of "3D Ready"

Got some insight on stereoscopic players and the overall 3D technology supported by Qumi Q2.

 

I don't have enough gadgets to play 3d content, just wanted to confirm is any of my two laptops capable to project 3D.

 

1) One with Intel i5 & integrated HD 4000 Graphic

2) and a old Toshiba Qosmio G35 AV600 with nvidia geforce 7300.

 

Or can I play 3D with any of those android mini PC, I am any way wanting to buy an android mini PC with best specs.

 

Please guys, help me out.

 

Thanks

Tahir Hussain is offline  
post #2159 of 2168 Old 02-13-2014, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
mikeyhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey yea that whole 3d ready thing is such a scam it has to say Full 3d I believe for the 3d to work with nothing. I have the qumi q5 and had to buy the 3d fury 3d converter which I think is like 3-400. I have a ps3 so it converts the 3d signal from the ps3 and projects it. I have the 30.00 saisonic 3d dlp glasses from amazon and they work well. The 3d is quite amazing and worth it the imax coral reef movies are stunning. Im not sure about how the computer works with it I think it has to have a NVidia video card to be able to process the 3d but im not sure hope it all works out for you

mikeyhill is offline  
post #2160 of 2168 Old 02-13-2014, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Why do you say it's a scam? Do you think it should be able to turn any old video source into 3D??

I have no interest in 3D, but I know that it has been discussed earlier in this topic. There are two main methods: one used on broadcast TV where the stereo video is transmitted as two half-resolution images side-by-side (and the display has to multiplex them onto its screen); and the other is to transmit each half of the stereo pair alternately. I believe the latter is what the Qumi is compatible with. The signal source has to be capable of doing this, and in the case of PC games the graphics rendering load is doubled by having to generate two views (OK, maybe not doubled because the frame rate is halved, but the in-betweening isn't so straightforward).

The next issue is to control the light gates in the glasses so that the correct image is send to each eye. Get this in the wrong phase and the effect is ruined. This is often done using an infrared control signal output by the video source.

In summary, as has been found, and as is usually the case with competing standards, you need to use the right equipment and then it works.
crashbot is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Vivitek Qumi Q2 300 Lumen Wxga Hdmi 3d Ready Pocket Dlp Projector White

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off