Panasonic PT-AE4000 light bulb run time - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP > Panasonic PT-AE4000 light bulb run time

Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

justhavingfun's Avatar justhavingfun
09:44 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 9
02-27-2011 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2004
When I check out other people's thread about lamp run time, their projector has indicator to replace the lamp at 1800 hrs and after 2000 hrs run time. But my projector has just passed 2000 hrs but I am not seeing any lamp replacing indicator at all.

Should I just replace the lamp or wait for the projector internal indicator to come up then replace?
MovieSwede's Avatar MovieSwede
11:41 PM Liked: 37
post #2 of 9
02-27-2011 | Posts: 6,773
Joined: Feb 2007
Did you run it on normal or eco mode?
The Digital Pimp's Avatar The Digital Pimp
10:18 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 9
02-28-2011 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Dirty little secret. If your bulb brightness still looks fine to you, ignore/reset the warnings. I have a AE-1000U and I ran my first bulb to 2300 hrs or so, mix of eco and normal mode. When it got to the end of life, it started flickering a bit, so I changed it then.

I don't think there is any harm in extending it if it looks ok to you.
Sheridan1952's Avatar Sheridan1952
12:05 PM Liked: 16
post #4 of 9
02-28-2011 | Posts: 1,918
Joined: Aug 2002
While there is no harm in running the bulb out, lamps dim as they age. So by the time you replace it, you will have lost at least 85% of the lamps output brightness. When you do replace it and see a dramatic difference, you'll wonder why you waited so long.
justhavingfun's Avatar justhavingfun
04:28 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 9
02-28-2011 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2004
Thanks for the responses. I used eco-mode at first 1000 hours and normal mode rest of the time. It is little dimmer for sure but still looks good enough for me. I will wait little longer to see what happens. I have the spare bulb ready to be install.

One more question, does the projector has internal sensor to warn the user to replace the bulb or strictly number of hours usage? If it is number of hour usage, I am just wondering how come mine does not display the message for me to change the bulb?
Sheridan1952's Avatar Sheridan1952
05:19 PM Liked: 16
post #6 of 9
02-28-2011 | Posts: 1,918
Joined: Aug 2002
There are no sensors, it is driven by a counter. You haven't seen the replace message yet because you used ECO mode for the first 1000 hours. If you ran on ECO mode the entire time, you would get the message at 3000 hours. It should appear in about 300 - 500 more hours.
justhavingfun's Avatar justhavingfun
05:25 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 9
02-28-2011 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2004
Thanks Sheridan1952. That makes sense now. I probably have another couple hundreds left then.
Jay Camaro Judd's Avatar Jay Camaro Judd
01:47 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 9
08-18-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2012
Yeah i Just passed my 2000 Hr Limit.
I did reset to Continue use, But one thing i have noticed which really sucks, is If you use it like i do as my computer/entertainment Center. If you turn it on for 10 minutes it counts as one Full Hour. So i'm not really at 2000 Hours, in that case.
BigDaddySki's Avatar BigDaddySki
08:35 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 9
09-01-2014 | Posts: 5
Joined: Nov 2013
My bulb is at 1800 hrs and seems fine, so I am not anxious to replace it. I was just wondering how to go past the 2000 hrs, but it looks like I just have to reset it?

It's used in my rental cabin anyhow, so idiots leave the projector on like it's a regular TV. Last renters were there for three nights and my counter recorded 44 hrs!!! I'm switching it to eco-mode when I replace the bulb, next time.

And thanks to Mr. G for the Provantage recommendation for the replacement bulb. Saved about $40.
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3