ACER K330 LED 1280x800 - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2013, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
maelstromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by balazsharmath View Post

Hi,

Did you ever get the following message on the screen: "Factory Fan RPM is not ready. Please do Fan Calibration" ?

Thanks

I did. And I haven't been able to figure out the menu to fix this. I managed to get to the Service Menu but can't find where to do Fan Calibration. Is this a sign of fan about to die?
maelstromm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2013, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
balazsharmath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maelstromm View Post

I did. And I haven't been able to figure out the menu to fix this. I managed to get to the Service Menu but can't find where to do Fan Calibration. Is this a sign of fan about to die?

I did the calibration procedure and it fixed the problem, the message doesn't come up anymore, hopefully it will work for others too.

Fan Calibration Procedure
- Hold on “Menu” button then plug in Power Cord.
- Power LED will flash red and blue .
- Release “Menu” button once Power
LED flashes blue only.
- The Projector will power on.
balazsharmath is offline  
Old 11-25-2013, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
maelstromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by balazsharmath View Post

I did the calibration procedure and it fixed the problem, the message doesn't come up anymore, hopefully it will work for others too.

Fan Calibration Procedure
- Hold on “Menu” button then plug in Power Cord.
- Power LED will flash red and blue .
- Release “Menu” button once Power
LED flashes blue only.
- The Projector will power on.

Thank you!! That worked perfectly.

For anyone that has mounted this on a ceiling, what mount have you used? Anyone tried a monoprice universal mount? If so, did you use risers to account for the 25mm long screw? Or have you used shorter screws?
maelstromm is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Tehen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi fellow K330 owners,

Does anyone of you tried the Acer K132 or Acer K135 projectors?
They seem to be a lot like our K330 but smaller.
I like my K330 but I may buy a second smaller proj to carry around so I was wondering how the K132/135 compare to the K330 in image quality.

Also, did anyone try the 3D EDID override with these smaller proj ?

Tehen is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
kenoh89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Need help to open the service menu! Tried options above, none helped! I get message Factory Fan RPM is not ready, how do I fix it?
kenoh89 is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 12:26 AM
Member
 
raj_rios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently in Northern Europe, from North America.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sorry to revive an old thread, I recently bought a used K330 and need some help. The lenses were quite dirty inside, so I opened the lens housing and cleaned them all. I think I may have reversed the orientation of one or two of them, because although the image is now clean and sharp, there are red bars being projected just above and below the frame. Could anybody please describe or take photographs of the proper lens orientation for me? Thanks so much.

I'll be happy to return the favor by explaining how to get 3D to work over HDMI...
raj_rios is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 57
If you cleaned/moved multiple lenses or even one you may have knocked out of balance what is likely a precise alignment. What you are seeing may be severe chromatic aberration or it could be minimal chromatic aberration (no way to tell without a photograph). The lenses may need to be realigned by a professional or you may just not be accustomed to what is normal chromatic aberration on these projectors.

Post a screenshot.
Mik James is offline  
Old 10-19-2014, 11:12 AM
Member
 
raj_rios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently in Northern Europe, from North America.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik James View Post
If you cleaned/moved multiple lenses or even one you may have knocked out of balance what is likely a precise alignment. What you are seeing may be severe chromatic aberration or it could be minimal chromatic aberration (no way to tell without a photograph). The lenses may need to be realigned by a professional or you may just not be accustomed to what is normal chromatic aberration on these projectors.

Post a screenshot.
Certainly. Unfortunately my phone's camera doesn't quite do the color justice, but in person everything looks exactly as it should (gamma and contrast could be better), excluding the bars above and below the screen of course. Keep in mind while inspecting the lines that it has diamond-cut pixels.

To elaborate, after I received the projector I opened and cleaned it, and everything functioned perfectly for several weeks. One night about two weeks ago the projector randomly died while watching a movie. The power light showed the blown bulb error. Knowing how unlikely that would be I opened the projector and reseated the LED calibration wires, and while I was in there dusted the lenses again. The projector came back to life, but now I have this red bar.

Pictures 1-5 show it now in current operation with descriptions in the title.
Pictures 6 and 7 show my current lens orientation.

I appreciate any advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 Beamer Full.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	178.4 KB
ID:	319810   Click image for larger version

Name:	4 Beamer Color.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	319818   Click image for larger version

Name:	3 Beamer Bottom.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	152.3 KB
ID:	319826   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 Beamer Top.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	319834   Click image for larger version

Name:	5 Beamer Color 2.jpg
Views:	232
Size:	132.5 KB
ID:	319842  

Click image for larger version

Name:	7 convex towards mirror housing .jpg
Views:	218
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	319850   Click image for larger version

Name:	6 Notch towards LEDs.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	319858  

Last edited by raj_rios; 10-20-2014 at 09:41 AM.
raj_rios is offline  
Old 11-15-2014, 07:57 AM
Member
 
DonBrutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Cleaning

I have been wanting to clean my k330 for awhile now. I made filters but i still have dust blobs. Now I'm not sure i should. Anyone else done it? Anyone have any tips on how to disassemble?
DonBrutto is offline  
Old 11-15-2014, 08:12 AM
Member
 
DonBrutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
EDID overide

I just got a new Emotiva Fusion 8100. I have always used an edid override for an acer h5360 so i could play video games with my nvidia gtx650. Now it screws up my receiver. If i apply the override nvidia renames the connection from "Kontron Fusion 8100" to"h5360" and i am unable to select audio through the hdmi in the set up digital audio screen. Then it starts disappearing from the windows audio screen as if i have no device at all. Still has picture though. Anyone encounter anything like this before?
DonBrutto is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
K330 shuts down

Hi K330 owners, I can get my hand on a cheap unit, which shuts down after booting.

At youtube you can find a video about it with ID aIrmXVYa2TY

Some service guys from a repair store sad the LED have to be replaced.. am not sure. Might cleaning fans or some simple maintenance trick solve the issue? The unit ran over 5K+ hours already.

Please give me some advice.
Dahero is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 03:34 AM
Member
 
fiocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugrash View Post
Yah that file is for HDMI 1.4 Displays using side by side or over and under.

Try this one, it's for a VGA connection. Acer H5360 analog 1280 720 120 native.zip 1k .zip file

I updated the native resolution to report 1280x720@120Hz which is 16:9 and what you want for movies.

It still has the H5360 color profile, but should work ok. I have one with an updated color profile for my PLED-W500, but it's on another computer.

For games using Nvidia, the display must be spoofed to show it as supported. For file playback, it is not necessary. but some playback software will only enable 3D in a "fullscreen" at "native resolution".

alt+enter are fullscreen hotkeys in windows.

Hello, can you do a same to HDMI 720 native with open input hdmi sound 5.1 or 7.1 ? please thank you
fiocco is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 01:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Two problems:

1. Can't get into the settings. When I press Menu button - it reacts the same way as I press Power button.
2. Can't turn the projector off after it's been working for 15 minutes or more.
Please wait 10 seconds for LED calibration.
[Yes] and [No]

I'm not able to choose any option - see 1).

Please help.
When I tried to put my SNID to Acer contact page, it tells me:

Quote:
Country: US
Warranty Type: SMW-1 yr (MI or CI)
Warranty End Date: 6/13/2013
Your system is no longer eligible for free phone support. Please use one of the alternative support links as seen above.
Please advice.
dreamventure is offline  
Old 02-11-2015, 11:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamventure View Post
Two problems:

1. Can't get into the settings. When I press Menu button - it reacts the same way as I press Power button.
2. Can't turn the projector off after it's been working for 15 minutes or more.
Please wait 10 seconds for LED calibration.
[Yes] and [No]

I'm not able to choose any option - see 1).

Please help.
When I tried to put my SNID to Acer contact page, it tells me:



Please advice.
anyone?
dreamventure is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
UP
dreamventure is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Forgot to mention: I don't have a remote. I tried buttons on the projector itself.
Thanks anybody who might be helpful.
dreamventure is offline  
Old 03-11-2015, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I might solve the problem (may able to go to settings and do that LED calibration) by just getting remote for my projector.
I have EY.JCN01.008 [K330] model.

Would someone know if I can program Comcast or AT&T universal remote or not? I have tried to find the right code for Acer remote, but Google keeps silent.

Any advices would be appreciated.
dreamventure is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 02:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Lamp red light on

Hi there.

I am new here and I have been reading some of the posts. I don't really understand most of them as I am not very keen into technology, but I love my K330, or I used to love it because 2 days ago the signal has become extremely weak and there is a red light on the main control that says LAMP.
I have read here that by accessing to SERVICE MENU some of the problems are sorted but I don't know how to access to this SERVICE MENU. Can you help me to find it?
I have called ACER and I didn't understand very well what they said but probably changing the lamp is their solution. Anybody know how much would it cost me? Does it worth to be replaced? How difficult is to replace it by myself (I'm not very handy)? Where can I purchase the new lamp (United Kingdom)? Acer said that the cost for the diagnosis is £50 and then they will tell me what is wrong in the projector. I am very disappointed because my lamp was supposed to last for 20000 hours and I would say that the projector has been On less than 5000.

Thanks in advance for your help.
racafo is offline  
Old 06-12-2015, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi there.

I am new here and I have been reading some of the posts. I don't really understand most of them as I am not very keen into technology, but I love my K330, or I used to love it because 2 days ago the signal has become extremely weak and there is a red light on the main control that says LAMP.
I have read here that by accessing to SERVICE MENU some of the problems are sorted but I don't know how to access to this SERVICE MENU. Can you help me to find it?
I have called ACER and I didn't understand very well what they said but probably changing the lamp is their solution. Anybody know how much would it cost me? Does it worth to be replaced? How difficult is to replace it by myself (I'm not very handy)? Where can I purchase the new lamp (United Kingdom)? Acer said that the cost for the diagnosis is £50 and then they will tell me what is wrong in the projector. I am very disappointed because my lamp was supposed to last for 20000 hours and I would say that the projector has been On less than 5000.

Thanks in advance for your help.
racafo is offline  
 

Tags
Acer K330 Portable Home Theater Projector , Projectors , Led Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off