ACER K330 LED 1280x800 - Page 32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2013, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
maelstromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by balazsharmath View Post

Hi,

Did you ever get the following message on the screen: "Factory Fan RPM is not ready. Please do Fan Calibration" ?

Thanks

I did. And I haven't been able to figure out the menu to fix this. I managed to get to the Service Menu but can't find where to do Fan Calibration. Is this a sign of fan about to die?
maelstromm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2013, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
balazsharmath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maelstromm View Post

I did. And I haven't been able to figure out the menu to fix this. I managed to get to the Service Menu but can't find where to do Fan Calibration. Is this a sign of fan about to die?

I did the calibration procedure and it fixed the problem, the message doesn't come up anymore, hopefully it will work for others too.

Fan Calibration Procedure
- Hold on “Menu” button then plug in Power Cord.
- Power LED will flash red and blue .
- Release “Menu” button once Power
LED flashes blue only.
- The Projector will power on.
balazsharmath is offline  
Old 11-25-2013, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
maelstromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by balazsharmath View Post

I did the calibration procedure and it fixed the problem, the message doesn't come up anymore, hopefully it will work for others too.

Fan Calibration Procedure
- Hold on “Menu” button then plug in Power Cord.
- Power LED will flash red and blue .
- Release “Menu” button once Power
LED flashes blue only.
- The Projector will power on.

Thank you!! That worked perfectly.

For anyone that has mounted this on a ceiling, what mount have you used? Anyone tried a monoprice universal mount? If so, did you use risers to account for the 25mm long screw? Or have you used shorter screws?
maelstromm is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Tehen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi fellow K330 owners,

Does anyone of you tried the Acer K132 or Acer K135 projectors?
They seem to be a lot like our K330 but smaller.
I like my K330 but I may buy a second smaller proj to carry around so I was wondering how the K132/135 compare to the K330 in image quality.

Also, did anyone try the 3D EDID override with these smaller proj ?

Tehen is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 11:22 AM
Member
 
kenoh89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Need help to open the service menu! Tried options above, none helped! I get message Factory Fan RPM is not ready, how do I fix it?
kenoh89 is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 01:26 AM
Member
 
raj_rios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently in Northern Europe, from North America.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sorry to revive an old thread, I recently bought a used K330 and need some help. The lenses were quite dirty inside, so I opened the lens housing and cleaned them all. I think I may have reversed the orientation of one or two of them, because although the image is now clean and sharp, there are red bars being projected just above and below the frame. Could anybody please describe or take photographs of the proper lens orientation for me? Thanks so much.

I'll be happy to return the favor by explaining how to get 3D to work over HDMI...
raj_rios is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If you cleaned/moved multiple lenses or even one you may have knocked out of balance what is likely a precise alignment. What you are seeing may be severe chromatic aberration or it could be minimal chromatic aberration (no way to tell without a photograph). The lenses may need to be realigned by a professional or you may just not be accustomed to what is normal chromatic aberration on these projectors.

Post a screenshot.
Mik James is offline  
Old 10-19-2014, 12:12 PM
Member
 
raj_rios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently in Northern Europe, from North America.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik James View Post
If you cleaned/moved multiple lenses or even one you may have knocked out of balance what is likely a precise alignment. What you are seeing may be severe chromatic aberration or it could be minimal chromatic aberration (no way to tell without a photograph). The lenses may need to be realigned by a professional or you may just not be accustomed to what is normal chromatic aberration on these projectors.

Post a screenshot.
Certainly. Unfortunately my phone's camera doesn't quite do the color justice, but in person everything looks exactly as it should (gamma and contrast could be better), excluding the bars above and below the screen of course. Keep in mind while inspecting the lines that it has diamond-cut pixels.

To elaborate, after I received the projector I opened and cleaned it, and everything functioned perfectly for several weeks. One night about two weeks ago the projector randomly died while watching a movie. The power light showed the blown bulb error. Knowing how unlikely that would be I opened the projector and reseated the LED calibration wires, and while I was in there dusted the lenses again. The projector came back to life, but now I have this red bar.

Pictures 1-5 show it now in current operation with descriptions in the title.
Pictures 6 and 7 show my current lens orientation.

I appreciate any advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 Beamer Full.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	178.4 KB
ID:	319810   Click image for larger version

Name:	4 Beamer Color.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	319818   Click image for larger version

Name:	3 Beamer Bottom.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	152.3 KB
ID:	319826   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 Beamer Top.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	319834   Click image for larger version

Name:	5 Beamer Color 2.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	132.5 KB
ID:	319842  

Click image for larger version

Name:	7 convex towards mirror housing .jpg
Views:	49
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	319850   Click image for larger version

Name:	6 Notch towards LEDs.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	319858  

Last edited by raj_rios; 10-20-2014 at 10:41 AM.
raj_rios is offline  
Old 11-15-2014, 08:57 AM
Member
 
DonBrutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Cleaning

I have been wanting to clean my k330 for awhile now. I made filters but i still have dust blobs. Now I'm not sure i should. Anyone else done it? Anyone have any tips on how to disassemble?
DonBrutto is offline  
Old 11-15-2014, 09:12 AM
Member
 
DonBrutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
EDID overide

I just got a new Emotiva Fusion 8100. I have always used an edid override for an acer h5360 so i could play video games with my nvidia gtx650. Now it screws up my receiver. If i apply the override nvidia renames the connection from "Kontron Fusion 8100" to"h5360" and i am unable to select audio through the hdmi in the set up digital audio screen. Then it starts disappearing from the windows audio screen as if i have no device at all. Still has picture though. Anyone encounter anything like this before?
DonBrutto is offline  
 

Tags
Acer K330 Portable Home Theater Projector , Projectors , Led Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off