Viewsonic PLED-W500 LED 1280x800 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 289 Old 11-29-2011, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm out of town until after the first of the year, Pj is at home.

tatinko had problems with 1280x720P@120Hz on the Qumi
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post21082872

"" Any 120hz capable graphics card can do it, 720p@120hz means 3D Ready, but I guess this was a marketing trick from Vivitek, because 720p@120hz is absolutly unwatch-able and blurred.""

I did not have this problem, nor did anyone else post that they had this problem, I think it's a result of his hardware/system not being capaple of handling the additional bandwidth required when going from 1024x768 to 1280x720 at 120Hz.

It was well known that the clones that did support 3D, were only going too do so at 1024x768. The Viewsonic was the wildcard, I speculated that it was going to be support 3D at 1280x720@120Hz as soon as the product page was posted and the VP3D1 was shown as an accessory. I've no idea why the 3D-XL did not work, I would have tried longer but had to send it back sooner than I would have liked due to having to leave town.
3DNewb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 289 Old 11-30-2011, 11:12 AM
Member
 
jumbi555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisyphus View Post


Jumbi, or 3Dnewb, if you have a chance sometime could you try 720p 120hz via hdmi straight from PC to the Viewsonic? I'm guessing it won't sync.

Is the VP3D1 outputting a non standard, custom timing? Because right now it sounds like NONE of the 500lm clones will sync to 720p 120hz with standard timings.

One thing I'm curious of, if you connect a pc via hdmi @ 1024 x 768, what does the projector show the input as? 1024 x 768, or 1280x720 ? Maybe the projector is automatically scaling 1024x768 to 1280x720?

Thanks!

I've been "off the grid" for a few days - I will try this soon.
jumbi555 is offline  
post #183 of 289 Old 11-30-2011, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sisyphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good. Not sure if I was clear in my post but 720p 120hz should be sent from PC directly to Viewsonic PLED-W500 projector. The VP3D1 should be disconnected.

If the projector syncs to the signal then we'll know there is some other reason the Optoma 3DXL wasn't working. Maybe as 3DNEWB mentioned the 3DXL is confused by the projector's EDID or slow sync time. This might be fixed with Gefen's HDMI Detective Plus, or the new HDFURY Dr HDMI, both of which can spoof other EDIDs as well as supply a constant signal.
Sisyphus is offline  
post #184 of 289 Old 12-05-2011, 03:16 AM
Member
 
andysm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a new but brief review of the Viewsonic:
http://www.reghardware.com/2011/12/0...500_projector/
andysm is offline  
post #185 of 289 Old 12-09-2011, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So Jumi555, I'm curious if you were ever able to get over/under working with the VP3D1, did Viewsonic send you an update for it?

Are you and the wife, enjoying the 3D?
Which brand of glasses did you end up getting and how are they working out?

I know I enjoyed 3D gaming on my PLED. I wish one of the other clone owners would get 3D working at 720P, maybe they can, once the 3DFury releases, that's if the product is all that it claims to be. Prior HDFury products delivered as promised, from what I've read.

The Acer is on special promo sale for 500 bucks atm, I'd inform my friends, but they are waiting for conclusive reports on its 3D capabilities.

They'd jump on the PLED if it was similarly priced. I couldn't get them off of mine, when I was home. I'm still bummed that the 3D-XL did not work, I wish I had more time to mess with it.
3DNewb is offline  
post #186 of 289 Old 12-09-2011, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at the specs on the product page on the VP3D1, I see Top and Bottom is only supported at a 720P input. (1080P is, but only at 24Hz)

3D Mode Side-by-Side: 1080i / 60Hz, 1080i / 50Hz Frame-Packing: 1080p / 24Hz, 720p / 60Hz, 720p / 50Hz Top-and-Bottom: 1080p / 24Hz, 720p / 60Hz, 720p / 50Hz 2D Mode NTSC 480i/p, PAL SECAM 576i/p, HD 720p/1080i/1080p
3DNewb is offline  
post #187 of 289 Old 12-11-2011, 06:24 AM
Member
 
travis_bickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am unsure about ceiling mount this little puppy. do you guys think or have expierence if such a cctv holder will do it?

http://www.amazon.de/Kamerahalter-MO...d_sim_sbs_ce_1

on the downside the projector has 1 hole for a tripod and three smaller holes for something i am not aware of. the stated mount holder above states it can handle up to 6,6 lbs. but what about the projector itselfs. the screw thread is placed around plastic. will it bear up with the projectors weight of about 2,6 lbs?

i am very thankful for any useful response
travis_bickle is offline  
post #188 of 289 Old 12-12-2011, 11:48 AM
Member
 
fatalfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys


just wondering something about the sound on the viewsonic. I know theres only a 3.5 audio in jack . If i attached my creative speakers through this (
i use this setup for my laptop via the headphone input) , will it disable the onboard speakers ? will the sound from the viewsonic travel through and play on the extra speakers ?

any help appreciated.
fatalfury is offline  
post #189 of 289 Old 12-12-2011, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis_bickle View Post

i am unsure about ceiling mount this little puppy. do you guys think or have expierence if such a cctv holder will do it?

http://www.amazon.de/Kamerahalter-MO...d_sim_sbs_ce_1

on the downside the projector has 1 hole for a tripod and three smaller holes for something i am not aware of. the stated mount holder above states it can handle up to 6,6 lbs. but what about the projector itselfs. the screw thread is placed around plastic. will it bear up with the projectors weight of about 2,6 lbs?

i am very thankful for any useful response

I have mine on a tripod. you can refer to these posts http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post21257871
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21252555

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatalfury View Post

Hi guys


just wondering something about the sound on the viewsonic. I know theres only a 3.5 audio in jack . If i attached my creative speakers through this (
i use this setup for my laptop via the headphone input) , will it disable the onboard speakers ? will the sound from the viewsonic travel through and play on the extra speakers ?

any help appreciated.

I tried it using an Altec Lansing Orbit speaker that has a 3.5 audio lead, it did not work. Suprisingly, this is what a Viewsonic Tec told me would work in an email. He told me speakers with a USB lead would not work, but I'm not so sure.
Link to speaker I have, that I was told would work, but did not.
http://www.amazon.com/Altec-Lansing-...3726269&sr=8-4
Link to speaker I think would work
http://www.amazon.com/Altec-Lansing-...726269&sr=8-14
3DNewb is offline  
post #190 of 289 Old 12-12-2011, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm out of town, so can you guys tell me if

When using the Magnify function of the remote, does it do the whole image? or just a portion of the image? In otherwords, is it a zoom function for sizing the image to the screen?

I can't remember, I was too busy gaming when I was at home.
3DNewb is offline  
post #191 of 289 Old 12-12-2011, 07:32 PM
Member
 
madrid64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis_bickle View Post

i am unsure about ceiling mount this little puppy. do you guys think or have expierence if such a cctv holder will do it?

http://www.amazon.de/Kamerahalter-MO...d_sim_sbs_ce_1

on the downside the projector has 1 hole for a tripod and three smaller holes for something i am not aware of. the stated mount holder above states it can handle up to 6,6 lbs. but what about the projector itselfs. the screw thread is placed around plastic. will it bear up with the projectors weight of about 2,6 lbs?

i am very thankful for any useful response

hey I have a little experience mounting this kind of beamer, this is the link where I post what kind of ceiling mount I used, and how I put everythig together; http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...304775&page=60
madrid64 is offline  
post #192 of 289 Old 12-13-2011, 04:21 AM
Member
 
travis_bickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DNewb View Post

I have mine on a tripod. you can refer to these posts
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21252555

so as you state in the linked post many people use this kind of security camera holders.

i think i'll give it it try with the one i posted earlier and give you response about how it matches and if it feels save and sturdy.

the three small holes would give me an ever worse feeling of sturdiness. when one thing breaks the others would drop too.

the only alternative to me would be to build something as a shelf mounted by brackets to the wall. but then i would've to lay the projector updside down on the wood and theres a risk someone tumbling about hdmi or power cable and let the projector drop.
travis_bickle is offline  
post #193 of 289 Old 12-13-2011, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the first link I gave it showed a picture from the Acer K330 manual showing that the manufacturer suggested mounting for ceiling applications was via the use of the 3 point mounting

I specifically stated "When in doubt, take the safe route imo."

The posters that had used security camera mounts were Qumi owners, the Qumi only has a single mounting hole.

While these projectors are not very heavy, I'm unsure if the use of the tripod mounting hole would cause any problems.

Regardless of how you mount it, if there's a possibility of someone tripping over the feed cable, you'd want to secure both the PJ and cable so securely that the damage is inflicted on the person and not the hardware.

They do make shelf mounts as well that you could use. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...elf+wall+mount
3DNewb is offline  
post #194 of 289 Old 12-27-2011, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
PatrickB101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3dnewb picked one of these up on your recomendation! Looks nice. Looking around for a cheap fixed frame screen. Do you guys think I could make a 16:9 screen work correctly with this projector? or just buy a 16:10 screen as well?

http://www.overstock.com/Electronics...1/product.html

looking at something like that.
PatrickB101 is offline  
post #195 of 289 Old 12-27-2011, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
PatrickB101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PatrickB101 is offline  
post #196 of 289 Old 12-28-2011, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
fiocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This projector is compatible with dongle USB wifi ?
fiocco is offline  
post #197 of 289 Old 01-26-2012, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
pabmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiocco View Post

This projector is compatible with dongle USB wifi ?

yes, with ViewSonic WPD-100
www.viewsonic.com/products/wpd100.htm
pabmas is offline  
post #198 of 289 Old 02-05-2012, 02:44 AM
Newbie
 
djloozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm whether the PLED-W500 will do 1280x800/720 at 120hz over hdmi or vga so that it can be used with Nvidia 3d Vision as a generic monitor with the edid hack?


Actually would the above work for any of the three clones, I know it's been confirmed they can all do 3D at 1024x768 over vga with the dlp glasses but I'm planning to use the nvidia glasses and emitter instead.
djloozer is offline  
post #199 of 289 Old 02-07-2012, 12:22 AM
Newbie
 
fiocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
djloozer, i have this projector but how i can to do that ? with the edid hack for 120 hz, plz thx.
fiocco is offline  
post #200 of 289 Old 02-07-2012, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eat meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
use a dvi to vga adaptor, remove the to x marked pins on the dvi side,they send the edid data.it will show up as a generic or crt monitor now to the card.

00000000 o o
00000000 -----
00000xx0 o o

__________________________________________
Are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat Popsicle.

(fifth element)
__________________________________________
eat meat is offline  
post #201 of 289 Old 02-08-2012, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
fiocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In 2012 ? used a DVI adaptor ?! it's a joke !
fiocco is offline  
post #202 of 289 Old 02-19-2012, 08:38 PM
Member
 
brand2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tigerdirect on ebay has w500 for $399.99
brand2 is offline  
post #203 of 289 Old 02-21-2012, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Miwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hopatcong, NJ
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What kind of screens are you all using for this projector? What combination works? Should I go with a High Power Screen, High Contrast.... Gain? Looking for a 74-82" diagonal 16:9 screen to pair up with the PLED-W500 I snagged on the Tigerdirect deal.
Miwo is offline  
post #204 of 289 Old 03-06-2012, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Mayuyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my red is not red at all, max red only "tomato-like" only. black level seems a little worse than my Qumi
Mayuyu is offline  
post #205 of 289 Old 03-28-2012, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
swerveddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I just ordered one of these units with the TigerDirect.ca deal they had going for 469, not that bad since the acer unit and optoma units I was looking at were quite a bit more.

I have a question regarding the 3d vision. I have an acer aspire laptop 5745DG that came with the 3dvision emitter built in and a pair of the 3d vision glasses to do some modest gameing and 3d bluray watching. I'm wondering If these exisiting glasses will be compatible with this projector.

I understand a few of you have got the 3d working. Does the projector have an emitter or should I just use the one that comes with my laptop.
Wondering if I need to buy any additional hardware for this function? I have the wireless p854 3d vision glasses.

Thanks,
swerveddy is offline  
post #206 of 289 Old 03-28-2012, 10:07 PM
Member
 
scurrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Guys,

Thanks for supplying all of the great information in this thread. After reading it and going down a few of the rabbit hole links, I'm sitting here two hours later and wondering... can the clones all do 720p 120Hz 3D with DLP link glasses from an NVidia GTX570 via DVI to VGA adapters?

I think so, but I'm somehow unsecure in this even after all of the reading. I understand that I may have to fool with EDID spoofing.
scurrier is offline  
post #207 of 289 Old 03-31-2012, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
snugglebuddies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Thanks for tons of great info so far about this projector. I took the plunge this weekend and am fairly happy with the purchase.

My question whether or not to keep this projector is bouncing around in my head. First, the lense has some very small scratches on it which I'm 99% sure aren't from me and 99% sure make no noticeable difference that I could discern in picture quality. Also, some light leakage and barely detectable lighter spots at the outside of the actual projected area, like up where my playstation gives no data but is probably within the projectors projectable area.

In a nutshell I feel like I'm struggling with expecting a low end piece of equipment to perform like a high end piece of equipment. It looks good but I'm not sure what I should reasonably expect from these led clones and whether to return it, try another one, or lighten up about my plastic lensed toy.

Don't want to go crazy obsessing about the small stuff if that's just part of the experience at this price range.

This is also my first projector.

Thanks! Any advice appreciated.
snugglebuddies is offline  
post #208 of 289 Old 04-03-2012, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Xperience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisyphus View Post

Sounds good. Not sure if I was clear in my post but 720p 120hz should be sent from PC directly to Viewsonic PLED-W500 projector. The VP3D1 should be disconnected.

If the projector syncs to the signal then we'll know there is some other reason the Optoma 3DXL wasn't working. Maybe as 3DNEWB mentioned the 3DXL is confused by the projector's EDID or slow sync time. This might be fixed with Gefen's HDMI Detective Plus, or the new HDFURY Dr HDMI, both of which can spoof other EDIDs as well as supply a constant signal.


I tried to connect the pled w500 directly from a PC with ATI HD5450 graphics card via hdmi and the PC would only put out 1024 X 768 @ 120 Hz.

Next I tried with another PC with nvidia GeForce 9600GT via a DVI cable and DVI-HDMI adapter. Again the PC would only list 1024X 768 @ 120 Hz in the display modes.

So in both PCs it was NOT possible to get true 720p output to projector @ 120Hz.

This is probably an EDID issue and the reason why 3D-XL also failed to work with the pled w500. I think that the VP3D1 probably ignores the EDID portion that mentions the capabilities of the monitor @ 120Hz and sends out a 720p signal @ 120Hz to the pled w500 based on model (or other parameters).

Anyone here know any EDID hacks to get 720p @ 120Hz from a PC for 3D viewing at 720p?
Tehen likes this.
Xperience is offline  
post #209 of 289 Old 04-03-2012, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
nigroandres's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same problem here, 120hz only 4:3 from hd5450
I wrote viewsonic support, whith no response

I set windows to 1024x768 120hz, set proyector force to 16:10, and increse horizontaly size in mkv ...

Size original * 1.6 / 1.333 = new size
nigroandres is offline  
post #210 of 289 Old 04-03-2012, 08:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sisyphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. Thanks for testing that! Not too familiar with Nvidia but there should be an option for creating a custom resolution of 720p @ 120hz.

I wonder if you could use the Gefen HDMI Detective to capture the edid information from a projector like the Optoma HD66 or GT720 and connect it between the Optoma 3DXL and Viewsonic W500 or Acer K330.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xperience View Post

I tried to connect the pled w500 directly from a PC with ATI HD5450 graphics card via hdmi and the PC would only put out 1024 X 768 @ 120 Hz.

Next I tried with another PC with nvidia GeForce 9600GT via a DVI cable and DVI-HDMI adapter. Again the PC would only list 1024X 768 @ 120 Hz in the display modes.

So in both PCs it was NOT possible to get true 720p output to projector @ 120Hz.

This is probably an EDID issue and the reason why 3D-XL also failed to work with the pled w500. I think that the VP3D1 probably ignores the EDID portion that mentions the capabilities of the monitor @ 120Hz and sends out a 720p signal @ 120Hz to the pled w500 based on model (or other parameters).

Anyone here know any EDID hacks to get 720p @ 120Hz from a PC for 3D viewing at 720p?

Sisyphus is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Viewsonic Pled W500 80 Inch 720p Front Projector Black , New Led Projector 1280x800 500 Lumens 3500 1 Pled W500
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off