New Optoma HD33 HD3300 1080p 3D Projector Review - Page 179 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5341 of 5362 Old 04-27-2015, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
I need to project from about 18ft (recommended placement is about 13" ABOVE screen, and I will put it about 13" BELOW screen top)

I don't really want to bother dismantling it unless there's a chance of more or less normal looking picture.
Don't do it, man. Just say no to keystoning. That is all.


Quote:
Got a new tip, you want even better blacks use the Standard gamma instead of film, blacks get 40 percent better. Grayscale tuning will stay the same. On mine grayscale setup went easy minus one on the red gain and plus 3 on the blue gain, rgb bias stays at zero's, I also use pure detail at 2. Give it a shot see what you think. Watching Gotham right now and blacks plus detail look the best ever. Pretty great projector.
Wait, what? I'm curious now, as I have an HD3300 with a bright screen (for 3D) and the 2D blacks kinda suck. So are you saying look at what they're using for gamma settings in their standard setting and implement them in a custom tune? I used the Disney WOW disc to calibrate and it seems good, but the blacks...they're lacking.
blastermaster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5342 of 5362 Old 04-28-2015, 01:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 13,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Standard has a darker black level. The tuning numbers I mentioned are from using colorfacts a clostly calibrating system. It didn't take much to fine tune a perfect grayscale. Colors look great and now with standard gamma blacks are twice as good. View dark material and flip from Film to Standard and you'll see how different. Yes for 2D, for 3D let the projector go to it's factory setup for high brightness, glasses balance things out.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #5343 of 5362 Old 04-28-2015, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,466
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post
Standard has a darker black level.
Gamma doesn't influence black level but it does influence intrascene contrast (within a given scene/picture). Higher gamma gives the perception of more contrast but usually at the cost of shadow detail.

A good read. http://www.normankoren.com/makingfin....html#Gammabox

Last edited by Elix; 04-28-2015 at 06:54 AM.
Elix is offline  
post #5344 of 5362 Old 04-28-2015, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 13,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just flip from standard to film, the darker black level is undeniable, I'm really liking what I see. I have a Yamaha DPX1300 here which is DC3 and iris controlled. Now the HD33 is getting close to it's black level no haze look of the Yamaha. I'd give Standard gamma a shot.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #5345 of 5362 Old 04-30-2015, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post
Just flip from standard to film, the darker black level is undeniable, I'm really liking what I see. I have a Yamaha DPX1300 here which is DC3 and iris controlled. Now the HD33 is getting close to it's black level no haze look of the Yamaha. I'd give Standard gamma a shot.
I tried switching and recalibrating with Standard as a test, and quickly went back to my calibrated film mode. I get perfect blacks, great pop, and incredible color in film mode. nearly 4 years later, i couldn't be happer with my HD3300. it took a lot of tweaking and fiddling the first year or so but i finally have it to where I never think about touching it.
oleus is offline  
post #5346 of 5362 Old 05-10-2015, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 13,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I still use my Film settings but for something like the Stars Wars garbage shoot scene standard might take the haze out. Oh my film settings still have great blacks and detail in blacks are very good. When you're trying to get the best black from the pludge black pattern close your eyes then look again at the lighter black bar and darken it till you can barely see it. Closing your eyes many times will help you find the absolute low needed, raises the contrast.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #5347 of 5362 Old 07-16-2015, 12:13 AM
Newbie
 
joeycas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone experienced whirring/buzzing sound on their HD33? My 3-year old HD33 produces that whirring sound on startup and disappears a few seconds after the video has played. Is this a sign of bad color wheel?
joeycas is offline  
post #5348 of 5362 Old 08-13-2015, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
RxRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Kinda late down the line I know, but what's the procedure regarding firmware updates for the hd33? I was a pretty early adopter and seems the main firmware is the very first (C01), and probably the other 3 as well (found the service menu). I've always thought my PJ was just a little mental, with the random setting resets. It's like, turn it on and see if it's had a minor stroke today and forgot what we spoke about last time. REMEMBER SETTINGS! I still love it, but if it were my kid it'd be an 'under the stairs' one

I bought it from the US but I'm in Australia. I guess they have a distributor here. I think the main question is are they still obliged to address fundamental design flaws after warranty, or will I have to cough up? If so I wont bother, unless there is some sort of PQ improvement somewhere in the update chain We've learned to accept each others issues by now. Cheers.
RxRacer is offline  
post #5349 of 5362 Old 08-13-2015, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I haven't had my HD33 for a year and 1/2 now but at that time updates were a in-house manufactures update only. I believe c03 update fixed many of the issues you describe.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Home Theater, Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.50:1 to 16:9, Denon 1912 AVR, 7.1 with Ohm mains, Custom Built HTPC, 10TB NAS
rekbones is offline  
post #5350 of 5362 Old 08-13-2015, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 13,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have C03 files and C05. My PJ has C04 and no issues so I didn't bother to load 5. The C03 file shows you how to upgrade. You'll need both, pm me your email and I'll forward them.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #5351 of 5362 Old 09-28-2015, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
hoping someone might be able to help with an issue i started noticing this weekend - there is a faint but noticeable dark spot on the lower edge of the projected image. it's small and only noticeable with a white background, but I cleaned the lens and it's still there. is this something serious and has anyone else experienced something like this?
oleus is offline  
post #5352 of 5362 Old 09-28-2015, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 391
How old is your bulb? It could be that. Or it could be you need to clean the internals. I remember that happening to my old BenQ and that was right before it died. At that time I was happy to upgrade to a new 3D projector. If my HD3300 were to die now I'd be a sad panda as there is really nothing out there that excites me. Waiting for reasonably priced 4k...and DLP.
blastermaster is online now  
post #5353 of 5362 Old 09-28-2015, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
How old is your bulb? It could be that. Or it could be you need to clean the internals. I remember that happening to my old BenQ and that was right before it died. At that time I was happy to upgrade to a new 3D projector. If my HD3300 were to die now I'd be a sad panda as there is really nothing out there that excites me. Waiting for reasonably priced 4k...and DLP.
The bulb is a couple of years old, but still pretty bright. I'm hoping it's just the bulb. I'm not sure I trust myself to clean the internals or what is involved with that. Maybe tomorrow I'll take the projector down and take the bulb out and see if i notice anything. It just sort of popped up out of nowhere. it's a small blotch but now that I see it, I can't unsee it.
oleus is offline  
post #5354 of 5362 Old 09-29-2015, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
strangely (and thankfully, knock on wood) the dark spot seems to be dissipating over the last couple of days. It's at least 50% better. Who knows what it is but hopefully it will just disappear !
oleus is offline  
post #5355 of 5362 Old 10-13-2015, 11:12 AM
Member
 
jazack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lees Summit, MO
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Optoma HD33

I am needing to do a Firmware update on my projector that is around 4 years old and I assume has the original firmware on it. Is there a way to get the files without sending it in? I have seen a few comments on here stating they had the files. I am comfortable doing the upgrade myself but need the proper files to do so. I am hopeful this will correct an HDMI handshake issue I have been experiencing......
jazack is offline  
post #5356 of 5362 Old 10-13-2015, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazack View Post
I am needing to do a Firmware update on my projector that is around 4 years old and I assume has the original firmware on it. Is there a way to get the files without sending it in? I have seen a few comments on here stating they had the files. I am comfortable doing the upgrade myself but need the proper files to do so. I am hopeful this will correct an HDMI handshake issue I have been experiencing......
What was the final firmware on these ? I think I had the final firmware installed when I sent mine in (I was never able to flash it with the files they provided) but I still get handshake lock ups . Just slightly less frequently. I have to unplug it about once a week to resolve it.
oleus is offline  
post #5357 of 5362 Old 10-14-2015, 07:45 AM
Member
 
jazack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lees Summit, MO
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine doesn't lock up and I don't need to power cycle it. Its a really weird problem where when coming from my Yamaha receiver (3020, fully updated) and then using direct TV input, it wont output to the projector, unless, both HDMI outs are set o on and being used on the the Yamaha. So the work around is having both HDMI outs on my receiver going to a device and powered on. In this case, i have a spare receiver in my rack area sitting there, powered on with the HDMI plugged into it coming from my Yamaha. I also lose audio from time too time and have to change inputs real quick to get it back. Only thing that isn't up to date in this whole set up is the firmware on the projector. This doesn't happen if i output to a TV so i have narrowed it down to that device, I think.
jazack is offline  
post #5358 of 5362 Old 10-14-2015, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 246
So, I bought my HD33 January of 2013. I love the projector and haven't had any issues. I have a Da-Lite 100IN Model B Manual Pull Down Screen Matte White 4X3 that I pull down far enough for 16:9 widescreen.

This was all purchased for $1,200. Given the options today, is there a need to upgrade? I am really not into 4K yet as I still am satisfied with 720p at 10 feet from screen. I "think" that I am satisfied with my setup but wanted to know if this projector was still good according to today's standards and if not was there anything in the $1500 range that would constitute an upgrade? What about my screen?

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2 Bed), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4 Monitor Series II, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1-Klipsch RW12D, Sub 2-MTX SW2
Projector-Optoma HD33 DLP 3D, Screen-Da-Lite 100" Model B, TV-Insignia 65" LCD 1080p (NS-65D550NA15)
rontalley is offline  
post #5359 of 5362 Old 11-21-2015, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
platinum_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post
I have C03 files and C05. My PJ has C04 and no issues so I didn't bother to load 5. The C03 file shows you how to upgrade. You'll need both, pm me your email and I'll forward them.
Love to get hold of these files as I am at C01. I have contacted Optoma regarding the upgrade and what it would cost - by the time said and done looks like about 250 taking shipping into consideration. Seems like a lot and being without a projector for a month...

I tried sending you a PM, but I have been mostly a lurker here, reading more than posting so I cannot send PM's because I have less than 15 posts. Here is what Optoma sent me back regarding the fixes in C07

Our latest FW version is
PW980 = C07
Upgrade PW980 firmware to modify the color table
1. Fix Video change to Components(720p) sometimes image reddish.
2. Fix 16-Gray pattern un-smooth in different resolution. During execute ADC Calibration,
don't execute ADC bandwidth adjust.
3. Improve adjust Pure Motion image red and flicker issue.
4. Fix Pure Motion not work when change different display mode.
5. Fix 3D L/R frame was inverted cause uncomfortable issue when set format to LBX.
6. Add 4:3 format for 3D 1080p24FP/720p50FP/720p60FP

8051 = C01
PA131 = C05 Upgrade PA131 firmware to modify the setting while PureMotion=High
platinum_one is offline  
post #5360 of 5362 Old 11-25-2015, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, everyone.

I've bought main board for HD33 from Optoma USA. I've installed it and have some big troubles.
In general looks like everything is working. But something wrong with HDMI connection.

For example:
- In 720p 60Hz and lower resolutions - everything is fine
- In 1080p 32bits (true color) - only couple of times I saw some kind of image - with a lot of noise, distortion and flutter.
- In 1080p 16bits (high color) 24Hz - a little noise (like snow) on white (or light) areas of image.
- In 1080p 16bits (high color) 50Hz - spontanous horisontal lines, and its count is always increasing until image is freezing -> black screen -> and from begining (almost good image)

See video:

In VGA port - 1080p 60 Hz - image is fine.

This Main board was checked on 2 identical HD33 (first with burned main board, second fully operational unit). Identical behaviour.

Also, first HD33 was checked with Main Board from second HD33 - everything working fine. Looks like My first and second HD33 are identical units (including FW).

On new Main Board and on Main Board from second HD33 identical letterings - 8KZ01G001 REV: E.

First HD33 with new Main Board shows next FW revisions:
PW980: C07
PA131: C05
8051: C01
DDP3021: B07

Second HD33:
PW980: C03
PA131: C02
8051: C01
DDP3021: B07

So I think that this may be a FW problem. Too new PW980, PA131 or too old 8051, DDP3021 revisions.

If this is true, can anyone send me PW980: C03, PA131: C02 with appropriate software (this combination of FW's is working).

According to service manual, for changing PW980 I need Mini-USB cable, for PA131 - RS232 cable.
It will be no problem - I'm programmer and I work with microcontrollers.

Or maybe you better know what's wrong in my situation.

Waiting for your answer.

Thanks.
vrai-lxi is offline  
post #5361 of 5362 Old 11-25-2015, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, everyone.

I've bought main board for HD33 from Optoma USA. I've installed it and have some big troubles.
In general looks like everything is working. But something wrong with HDMI connection.

For example:
- In 720p 60Hz and lower resolutions - everything is fine
- In 1080p 32bits (true color) - only couple of times I saw some kind of image - with a lot of noise, distortion and flutter.
- In 1080p 16bits (high color) 24Hz - a little noise (like snow) on white (or light) areas of image.
- In 1080p 16bits (high color) 50Hz - spontanous horisontal lines, and its count is always increasing until image is freezing -> black screen -> and from begining (almost good image)

See video:

In VGA port - 1080p 60 Hz - image is fine.

This Main board was checked on 2 identical HD33 (first with burned main board, second fully operational unit). Identical behaviour.

Also, first HD33 was checked with Main Board from second HD33 - everything working fine. Looks like My first and second HD33 are identical units (including FW).

On new Main Board and on Main Board from second HD33 identical letterings - 8KZ01G001 REV: E.

First HD33 with new Main Board shows next FW revisions:
PW980: C07
PA131: C05
8051: C01
DDP3021: B07

Second HD33:
PW980: C03
PA131: C02
8051: C01
DDP3021: B07

So I think that this may be a FW problem. Too new PW980, PA131 or too old 8051, DDP3021 revisions.

If this is true, can anyone send me PW980: C03, PA131: C02 with appropriate software (this combination of FW's is working).

According to service manual, for changing PW980 I need Mini-USB cable, for PA131 - RS232 cable.
It will be no problem - I'm programmer and I work with microcontrollers.

Or maybe you better know what's wrong in my situation.

Waiting for your answer.

Thanks.
vrai-lxi is offline  
post #5362 of 5362 Old 12-14-2015, 11:43 AM
Member
 
WindmillPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone have the optimal parameters image for the screen gain of 0.8?
WindmillPL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd33 1080p 3d Projector , Projectors
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off