Dropped Projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 09-03-2011, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I was helping my brother set up his home theater. He bought the Optoma HD66 and is projecting to a painted drywall screen. When installing the projector on the ceiling he dropped it - there is a slight rattle inside. We finished the install - hooked everything up and everything appears to be ok. However - I am not impressed with the picture quality - colors are not popping and everything looks washed out a little - like it's not projecting at full power (I'm no expert in this area) - not really bad but a big difference compared to my Mitsubishi HD1000. Could something of happened to the projector when he dropped it to cause this? The other issue could be his screen - He could not get the Behr WOP so he got the Martha Stewart Precious Metals - Tin - so it was a quart of Behr White, quart of Behr Deep Base - Quart of MS Precious Metals. Ceiling mount w/white ceiling and it's in the basement so light controlled. We are going to paint the screen using Delta Ceramcoat - I couldn't find any reference to anybody using the Martha Stewart paint - so I'm hoping this will help. I guess my big question is would dropping the projector decrease the picture quality - I figured since the bulb fired and we are getting a half way decent picture - everything is functional. Might just need some good calibration and with the new paint it will be good to go - just pretty disappointed with the out of box quality.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-03-2011, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Light tunnel could have broken.. anything is possible if it was dropped.
I would take it down, and over to your place and hook it up on a table. Then you can compare to yours on the same screen...
post #3 of 6 Old 09-03-2011, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 15