Epson 8700UB Dust Blob? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 36 Old 11-09-2011, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My pj is about 6 months old and for at least half of that (maybe more) there has been a fuzzy green spot about softball size in the center. From what I see in the forums it is probably a dust blob. When my kids even noticed the green spot, I decided I wanted to try and exercise my Warranty. I had already initiated the call to Epson and the first refurb was on the way when I started reading about the problems with convergence. Like others on the forums, my original pj seems to have very good convergence (I think, I am new to this).

So far the warranty process has gone like this:

First refurb had a smudge on the lens and the focus ring was jammed. Also the lens shift was very easily thrown off (seemed really loose compared to mine). I called this one in as DOA the day it arrived.

Second refurb has some light scratches on the lens but at least the focus ring works. Again the lens shift seems loose and thrown off much easier than mine. The convergence is quite a bit worse than mine from what my untrained eye can tell.

I also noticed that according to the serial numbers, I am getting units that are quite a bit older (at least in sequence) than mine.

Here are some pics.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 11-09-2011, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter

Here are 2 more shots. One is the green spot that started all this and the other I just though was interesting how much redder the black field is on the refurb. Does the new bulb make that much difference? Mine has a little over 400 hours on it.
LL
LL
post #3 of 36 Old 11-11-2011, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would send it back it looks like you got a bad unit with lcd panel alignment. If it's more than 1 pixel off call them and see what happens good luck.