Official Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010 / 6010 thread - Page 116 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3460 Old 11-10-2014, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
flinke flasche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Laupheim - Germany
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wrote with the german epson support today about the latest Firmware 1.11.
The 1.11 Firmware in only for the youngest TW9000 generation.
Be careful updating older TW9000 if you get the Firmware.

In Germany only the support updates the Firmware.
flinke flasche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3460 Old 11-13-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Question

Epson 6010 has been working fine but tonight when trying to power it up here's what transpired

1. Hit power button on remote
2. Blue light flashes, I hear a faint grinding sound (I'm not the one who normally powers it up so I'm not sure if that's "normal") then flashing blue light goes out and lamp/temp red lights flash for a few seconds and go out. The lamp cover never opened.
3. Hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.
4. Unplug the projector for a few minutes, plug it back in, hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.

Any thoughts?

Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.

Thanks.

Last edited by WynsWrld98; 11-13-2014 at 10:43 PM.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #3453 of 3460 Old 11-14-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #3454 of 3460 Old 11-14-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.
I have never experienced an Epson Refurb.

One thing I know is the LAMP is NEW from all the reports
I have read. Other than that - IT IS A CRAP SHOOT.

Mine is out of Warranty and when I had a problem - I
said I want my EXACT PJ repaired. Epson told me of a
local service facility. THANK GOD - I did not need it.
drhankz is online now  
post #3455 of 3460 Old 11-17-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
xplorar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@drhankz - Waiting for details about 1.11 firmware and possible improvements through it on 5010 :-)
xplorar is offline  
post #3456 of 3460 Old 11-17-2014, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
AVMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplorar View Post
@drhankz - Waiting for details about 1.11 firmware and possible improvements through it on 5010 :-)
Definitely would like to know more.
AVMax is offline  
post #3457 of 3460 Old 11-21-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
jiggyk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had my 5010e replaced for free when it was just out of warranty a couple months back because of the lens binding issue and now my "new" unit is also flashing red lights after trying to start again. After reading this thread i tried to upgrade firmware and amazingly it is back to life. THANK GOODNESS FOR THIS FORUM!!!!!!!!!
old corps likes this.
jiggyk4 is offline  
post #3458 of 3460 Old 11-21-2014, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiggyk4 View Post
I had my 5010e replaced for free when it was just out of warranty a couple months back because of the lens binding issue and now my "new" unit is also flashing red lights after trying to start again. After reading this thread i tried to upgrade firmware and amazingly it is back to life. THANK GOODNESS FOR THIS FORUM!!!!!!!!!
Which version was installed and which version did you upload to resolve the issue?

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #3459 of 3460 Old 11-21-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
jiggyk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe 1.04 was installed but i never checked and installed 1.09
jiggyk4 is offline  
post #3460 of 3460 Old 11-21-2014, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
ElvisC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Can version 1.11 can be installed safely on TWD9000?
I belive I have 1.05...

Thanks!
ElvisC is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector , Projectors , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Cpu Fan

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off