Official Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010 / 6010 thread - Page 116 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3480 Old 11-10-2014, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
flinke flasche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Laupheim - Germany
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wrote with the german epson support today about the latest Firmware 1.11.
The 1.11 Firmware in only for the youngest TW9000 generation.
Be careful updating older TW9000 if you get the Firmware.

In Germany only the support updates the Firmware.
flinke flasche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3480 Old 11-13-2014, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Question

Epson 6010 has been working fine but tonight when trying to power it up here's what transpired

1. Hit power button on remote
2. Blue light flashes, I hear a faint grinding sound (I'm not the one who normally powers it up so I'm not sure if that's "normal") then flashing blue light goes out and lamp/temp red lights flash for a few seconds and go out. The lamp cover never opened.
3. Hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.
4. Unplug the projector for a few minutes, plug it back in, hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.

Any thoughts?

Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.

Thanks.

Last edited by WynsWrld98; 11-13-2014 at 10:43 PM.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #3453 of 3480 Old 11-14-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #3454 of 3480 Old 11-14-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,498
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.
I have never experienced an Epson Refurb.

One thing I know is the LAMP is NEW from all the reports
I have read. Other than that - IT IS A CRAP SHOOT.

Mine is out of Warranty and when I had a problem - I
said I want my EXACT PJ repaired. Epson told me of a
local service facility. THANK GOD - I did not need it.
drhankz is offline  
post #3455 of 3480 Old 11-17-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
xplorar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@drhankz - Waiting for details about 1.11 firmware and possible improvements through it on 5010 :-)
xplorar is offline  
post #3456 of 3480 Old 11-17-2014, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
AVMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplorar View Post
@drhankz - Waiting for details about 1.11 firmware and possible improvements through it on 5010 :-)
Definitely would like to know more.
AVMax is offline  
post #3457 of 3480 Old 11-21-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
jiggyk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had my 5010e replaced for free when it was just out of warranty a couple months back because of the lens binding issue and now my "new" unit is also flashing red lights after trying to start again. After reading this thread i tried to upgrade firmware and amazingly it is back to life. THANK GOODNESS FOR THIS FORUM!!!!!!!!!
old corps likes this.
jiggyk4 is offline  
post #3458 of 3480 Old 11-21-2014, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiggyk4 View Post
I had my 5010e replaced for free when it was just out of warranty a couple months back because of the lens binding issue and now my "new" unit is also flashing red lights after trying to start again. After reading this thread i tried to upgrade firmware and amazingly it is back to life. THANK GOODNESS FOR THIS FORUM!!!!!!!!!
Which version was installed and which version did you upload to resolve the issue?

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #3459 of 3480 Old 11-21-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
jiggyk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe 1.04 was installed but i never checked and installed 1.09
jiggyk4 is offline  
post #3460 of 3480 Old 11-21-2014, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
ElvisC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Can version 1.11 can be installed safely on TWD9000?
I belive I have 1.05...

Thanks!
ElvisC is offline  
post #3461 of 3480 Old 12-01-2014, 08:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Folks, I just found this forum and thread.


Epson 6010 owner here, getting ready to possibly be on my third replacement unit.


My original 6010 stopped booting and the two red lights started flashing about 2 months after I bought it (in 2013). Now the replacement unit that I received from Epson last year has gone out -- same two red flashing lights at bootup.


I am calling Epson again today to get another. My questions are:


Does anyone have any factual information about the pool of refurbished 6010s that Epson keeps?


Something just doesn't pass the smell test here. Am I just having a string of bad luck or is this a common issue with the 6010?


Thanks
marvcus is offline  
post #3462 of 3480 Old 12-01-2014, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Third unit on the way. Another hardware failure. I asked the CSR at Epson if this was a common issue with the 6010. She did not confirm or deny -- just that if it was
a common issue, then a notice "would be posted on Epson's website."
marvcus is offline  
post #3463 of 3480 Old 12-02-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Grinding sound at startup before red lights flash? If so probably cinema filter which have gears that wrar out
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #3464 of 3480 Old 12-07-2014, 02:19 PM
Member
 
jiggyk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i had the same exact thing happen on my 5010 and installing the new firmware fixed mine but i didnt have any grinding on startup the second time but if there is a grinding sound or was a grinding sound it is the cinema filter i believe and was gonna cost me 500 to have fixed at shop good luck.
jiggyk4 is offline  
post #3465 of 3480 Old 12-09-2014, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I have now installed my 3rd 6010 (first from dealer, two from Epson "factory refurbished"), since September 2013.


I have lost my patience. This replacement 6010 has three flaws (1) it shuts off for no reason after about 5 minutes (or longer, whenever it wants to), (2) there is an intermittent foreign noise coming from the unit when it is on that is distracting, and (3) the adjustment wheel for image up/down is loose and does not turn correctly.


Has anyone else had three defective units?!? I just installed the unit this Sunday and it is not anything related to what I'm doing. The first two were professionally installed and leveled. Another replacement is not going to fix this; I'm asking for my money back or a new projector.
marvcus is offline  
post #3466 of 3480 Old 12-10-2014, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by marvcus View Post
So I have now installed my 3rd 6010 (first from dealer, two from Epson "factory refurbished"), since September 2013.


I have lost my patience. This replacement 6010 has three flaws (1) it shuts off for no reason after about 5 minutes (or longer, whenever it wants to), (2) there is an intermittent foreign noise coming from the unit when it is on that is distracting, and (3) the adjustment wheel for image up/down is loose and does not turn correctly.


Has anyone else had three defective units?!? I just installed the unit this Sunday and it is not anything related to what I'm doing. The first two were professionally installed and leveled. Another replacement is not going to fix this; I'm asking for my money back or a new projector.
Have you tried taking the projector to a friends home?
It sounds like you may have an environment issue considering 3 units with almost the same issue.
Taking it to someones house would help validate if the issue is the projector or your environment(noisy power, fluctuating power, AC power is not between 110-120vac, etc.)

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #3467 of 3480 Old 12-10-2014, 07:57 PM
DTI
Member
 
DTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone else had three defective units?!? I just installed the unit this Sunday and it is not anything related to what I'm doing. The first two were professionally installed and leveled. Another replacement is not going to fix this; I'm asking for my money back or a new projector.[/QUOTE]

I am on 5th 5020ub and still have about 5 months left on warranty but this one I have now is the best looking visual one I couldn't believe the units they would send panel alignment out.. focus out.. noisy auto iris.. as I said before quality control is lacking.. I think after each projector was repaired and they did a visual inspection actually set it up on a 120 inch screen and manually inspect the image they would have less returns.. just my thought.
DTI is offline  
post #3468 of 3480 Old 12-11-2014, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
teeger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTI View Post
Has anyone else had three defective units?!? I just installed the unit this Sunday and it is not anything related to what I'm doing. The first two were professionally installed and leveled. Another replacement is not going to fix this; I'm asking for my money back or a new projector.
I am on 5th 5020ub and still have about 5 months left on warranty but this one I have now is the best looking visual one I couldn't believe the units they would send panel alignment out.. focus out.. noisy auto iris.. as I said before quality control is lacking.. I think after each projector was repaired and they did a visual inspection actually set it up on a 120 inch screen and manually inspect the image they would have less returns.. just my thought.[/QUOTE]

I purchased an Epson 3010 in 2012 -- and I had three units replaced for various flaws before they upgraded me to a refurbished 5010, at their expense. It was a generous offer on their part -- but sadly the refurbed 5010 was also defective with a cluster of burned spots on the LCD panels - causing a big green splotch to show in the projected image. Epson replaced this with a brand-new 5010, which had / has an issue where the projector can take about 5 mins. to fire up. I was, and still am, so frustrated by the lack of quality control on the part of Epson that I simply wrote off the projector (it's in a box in my basement). I didn't want to keep playing a game of hoping the next one will be "the one". A company only can offer so much before confidence is out the window -- not to mention all of the time in packing up projectors to send back -- and the time to install and set up the replacements.

The good news: about a year ago I bought a budget BenQ w1070 3D projector that far exceeded my expectations. The image is sharper by a long shot that any of the Epson units. The color is as good as the Epson or better. On top of the that, I haven't had one single issue. To be fair the 5010 (with auto iris engaged) offered slightly better blacks -- slightly. But all of the other advantages of my BenQ made the overall image much more refined (at a much better price point) than the Epson product.

To those who have Epson units that are reliable -- that's great. I'm only offering my opinion based on my history with the projectors and Epson customer service.

I'm lucky, the rainbow effect of the BenQ w1070 is a non-issue for me.

I thought I'd post to let you know that you aren't alone in the Epson replacement game.

Good luck.

Ian
teeger is offline  
post #3469 of 3480 Old 12-17-2014, 07:32 PM
Newbie
 
ShaunSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3d alignment?

Lately when I watch 3d on my 6010 projector the distant background objects appear to be a slight double image. I've also noticed a darker vertical band on the sides of the image that comes and goes. Usually the side edges were clean. I've replaced the battery in the epson glasses and tried inverting the sync (usually worse) and go back again. Any thoughts?

Shaunsheep
ShaunSheep is offline  
post #3470 of 3480 Old 01-01-2015, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
neil111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
Epson 6010 has been working fine but tonight when trying to power it up here's what transpired

1. Hit power button on remote
2. Blue light flashes, I hear a faint grinding sound (I'm not the one who normally powers it up so I'm not sure if that's "normal") then flashing blue light goes out and lamp/temp red lights flash for a few seconds and go out. The lamp cover never opened.
3. Hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.
4. Unplug the projector for a few minutes, plug it back in, hit power button on unit itself, same exact thing happens.

Any thoughts?

Luckily mine is under warranty (barely). If I go for the option of Epson sending a replacement projector how do I know how old the lamp would be in it (or would it be new?). My lamp isn't very old so I wouldn't want some old junker lamp. Does Epson require an in person signature for the replacement meaning they do fast shipping but someone must be home to sign? If the replacement is a junker could I then send my original projector back to have it repaired and return the refurb replacement? Mine has perfect convergence and has a gorgeous picture so I don't want some piece of junk.

Thanks.
Hi. See this thread. I seem to have the same problem.
neil111 is offline  
post #3471 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 07:36 AM
Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil111 View Post
Hi. See this thread. I seem to have the same problem.

I have updated my original post, see here:
Epson 5010/6010 'Cinema filter Error', grinding noise, red light fix with pics
ashyt16 is offline  
post #3472 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyt16 View Post
The post/thread is pretty lengthy. Can you summarize? Was there a gear out of place you were able to repair?

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3473 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 08:18 AM
Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
The post/thread is pretty lengthy. Can you summarize? Was there a gear out of place you were able to repair?
The links provided directly link to the relevant posts. You will find the info there.
ashyt16 is offline  
post #3474 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyt16 View Post
The links provided directly link to the relevant posts. You will find the info there.
Maybe I'll check it out later when I have time. Honestly, why would you be so opposed to summarizing in a brief sentence or two why the huge post is worth reading through?

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7, Tuba HT

Last edited by Edgar_in_Indy; 01-02-2015 at 09:08 AM.
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
post #3475 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 10:59 AM
Member
 
ashyt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar_in_Indy View Post
Maybe I'll check it out later when I have time. Honestly, why would you be so opposed to summarizing in a brief sentence or two why the huge post is worth reading through?
Because it practically tells you what the problem is at the beginning of the first post.
The gears failed in the gearbox and needed to be repaired.
For anyone that has a problem with the cinema filter or red light symptoms would find this 'WORTH' reading, as you put it.

I posted it to help others , I didn't have to and it took a lot of time to do so!
old corps likes this.
ashyt16 is offline  
post #3476 of 3480 Old 01-02-2015, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElectronicTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyt16 View Post
Because it practically tells you what the problem is at the beginning of the first post.
The gears failed in the gearbox and needed to be repaired.
For anyone that has a problem with the cinema filter or red light symptoms would find this 'WORTH' reading, as you put it.

I posted it to help others , I didn't have to and it took a lot of time to do so!
I appreciate the time you took to post the breakdown of your fix. Keep up the good work!
old corps likes this.
ElectronicTonic is offline  
post #3477 of 3480 Old 01-23-2015, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My 6010 has gotten a noisy fan (slight ticking sound). Has anyone tried to replace a fan in a 5010/6010 themselves? Tips?

Rick
ricwhite is offline  
post #3478 of 3480 Old 01-29-2015, 07:32 PM
Member
 
force10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Issaquah,WA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Epson replacing my way out of date 6010 with a bad panel.
old corps likes this.
force10 is offline  
post #3479 of 3480 Old 02-22-2015, 08:13 AM
Member
 
DeaconDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: East Coast
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blue spot on screen after Epson repair

I had the cinema filter failure on my 2 year old 6010 in December (see related thread here). I asked Epson to repair my exact unit and return it to avoid the unknowns of a refurb and they agreed. I had it back 1 week from the day I shipped it to them, good service and turnaround.

However, after reinstalling I immediately noticed a small bluish/purplish spot approximately the size of a BB (~3mm) appearing on the screen about a third down from top and 1-2' from center. It shows up to different degrees on dark/black scenes. I decided to try to live with it to avoid having to ship back again, but because of the location (near center of screen), it is getting pretty annoying during dark movies. For example, it stood out a lot during Godzilla.

Has anyone else experienced this type of issue? I found a post further back in the thread describing something similar with a suggestion that it could be a dust blob or pixel issue and to try bringing the spot into focus to determine which. Because the spot is small (< size of a BB, 3-5mm), I don't think that test will work.

Given this wasn't present before, I'm wondering what they did during the repair to create it.

Thanks,
DD
DeaconDan is offline  
post #3480 of 3480 Unread Today, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmorris644's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I searched this thread but was unable to find a discussion talking about my issue. I have the 6010 and typically run it at 1080 from my Denon receiver. I use a Mac Mini for my movies. It has worked flawlessly (my 2nd one) I just started to watch some 3D movies because my grand kids are now old enough to appreciate it. My problem is that whenever I come out of 3D mode the resolution is definitely not 1080. The only way that I have found to get it back is to go into the 3D setup screen and reset the settings. Nothing else that I have tried will do it.

Is anyone else experiencing this and if so how do I more easily get it back to normal 1080 mode after watching a 3D movie?

Thanks

Joe

Starting Research for new Theater. New Theater will be 24x36x12.

The link to my previous theater build :) Theater


A Proud Father >
Daughter's Music
jmorris644 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector , Projectors , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Cpu Fan

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off