Official Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010 / 6010 thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 05:28 PM
Member
 
VRDnhorns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clthoma2 View Post

I was all but decided on the 5010 until a few recent reviews came out in Sound and Vision and Home Theater magazines. They really have me confused. The first problem that both reviews reference is the screen uniformity issues and the 2nd issue (more severe) is the convergence. Do you guys think that this is a unit by unit issue or does this effect all 5010s? Projector Central says that it is a "worthy" upgrade from the 8700UB, but Home Theater Mag does not?

HELP!

I had the same concers. I am lucky enough to have a dealer that has 6010 in a theater room. Looked great in 2D. Was the JVC better in 2D yes but bightness and installation flexibilty where the deciding factors for me.
Carefully read the review in HT he states most of the issues were on test patterns and not actual viewing.
VRDnhorns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jnabq and drhankz
Thank you both
Should I try to self calibrate or unless there is no obvious issues, just go with the presets
On the 6010 there is the THX setting, which may help me screwing up an already good thing :-)

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #1593 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael goldman View Post

jnabq and drhankz
Thank you both
Should I try to self calibrate or unless there is no obvious issues, just go with the presets
On the 6010 there is the THX setting, which may help me screwing up an already good thing :-)

Most people have said the THX mode is so close to PERFECT they do nothing.

That is my STRONGEST advice for a Novice. DO NOTHING and enjoy.

You bought a kick butt PJ - enjoy.
drhankz is offline  
post #1594 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dehankz
From your lips to my ears
Thanks

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #1595 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 07:42 PM
Member
 
kimsharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Michael, most of my research was around features / cabling / placement / screensize / content / calibration. The Epsons appear to be good to go right out of the box, based on reviews, so the objective is to maximize your user experience

I agree with jnabq on minimizing keystone using placement. Other items I looked at were - choose your throw distance / seat placement. Use decent HDMI cables, use 1080p content and most importantly, know what you bought this for - movies / sports / gaming.

Hope this helps.
kimsharma is offline  
post #1596 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again
This site is, in my limited experience,is the least "agended", forum I have had experience of viewing and participating on.
Little if any of the," I have it so it must be the greatest", attitude you so often see on other sites. Preferences sure, but backed by thoughtful discussions and actual facts.
Thanks to all those who are willing to share their expertise and hard work with other enthusiats

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #1597 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Motovet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bend, Wa.
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use both the vertical and horizontal shift with my limited placement, and it works just fine. Only off on the horizontal about 4", but above the top of the screen about 7".
Mine is the 5010, and it has a good image, but when compared to my pro clibrated plasma, it needs some work once I get some hours on it. Lumagen and chromapure standing by..........

Biggest issue I have right now is getting the 5010 to see the OPPO when I fire up a movie. All other inputs work flawlessly.
Motovet is offline  
post #1598 of 3410 Old 04-12-2012, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Motovet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bend, Wa.
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
K...watched Huble in 3D and some 2D content, and this thing looks better all the time. I also cleaned the lens which for some reason had smudges all over it. This thing rocks!
Motovet is offline  
post #1599 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Just a reminder to guys that are considering this projector. Epson's $100 instant rebate is scheduled to end tomorrow. If you are on the fence, best to decide today or tomorrow.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #1600 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

Just a reminder to guys that are considering this projector. Epson's $100 instant rebate is scheduled to end tomorrow. If you are on the fence, best to decide today or tomorrow.

I have yet to find a rebate form or info anywhere - AND - does it apply to the 6010 as well? I've searched Epson's site and none of the "current rebates" mention these projectors.

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #1601 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint350 View Post

I have yet to find a rebate form or info anywhere - AND - does it apply to the 6010 as well? I've searched Epson's site and none of the "current rebates" mention these projectors.


I believe it's an instant rebate taken off at the time of purchase.
No forms to fill out or send to redeem.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #1602 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

I believe it's an instant rebate taken off at the time of purchase.
No forms to fill out or send to redeem.

Dang - then my deal was not as good as I thought...BUMMER, oh well.
toofast68 is online now  
post #1603 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 12:14 PM
Member
 
kvsub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to order the projector mount for EPson 5010 from Monoprice.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...09&cp_id=10911

The Tech support in MonoPrice is not 100 % sure whether these projector mounts will work with 5010 (For example, the first one listed in the above link) and they are asking distance between mounting holes for 5010. I am not finding this information anywhere. Has anyone here purchased ceiling mounts from Monoprice and installed successfully. If yes, pls share the product code #.
kvsub is offline  
post #1604 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvsub View Post

Has anyone here purchased ceiling mounts from Monoprice and installed successfully. If yes, pls share the product code #.

Maybe I don't qualify to answer this, but I will. I tried two different mounts from monoprice. One didn't fit, the other needed to be modified to fit (so I did). But, in the end, I determined that it was just way too wobbly and ended up getting a really really nice peerless mount. I'd suggest you at least consider doing the same. In this case, monoprice wasn't really able to provide an adequate solution. In general, I like to buy EVERYTHING that I can from monoprice...

-Kevin
KevinG is offline  
post #1605 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
illinicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a peerless as well. Go that route. It is easy to mount, and easy to square up. very high quality.
illinicat is offline  
post #1606 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 01:38 PM
Member
 
kvsub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kvsub is offline  
post #1607 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvsub View Post

U mean from these guys? http://www.peerlessmounts.com/default.aspx

YES Most people use the Peerless PRG-UNV Mount.

I bought mine at Amazon you can get it in WHITE or BLACK.

And don't forget the Peerless Industries - Peerless Round Ceiling Plate
drhankz is offline  
post #1608 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
kamj69my's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried to order the 6010. Was told that it's on back order don't know til when. Have you guys heard anything about this
kamj69my is offline  
post #1609 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 05:25 PM
Member
 
kvsub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

YES Most people use the Peerless PRG-UNV Mount.

I bought mine at Amazon you can get it in WHITE or BLACK.

And don't forget the Peerless Industries - Peerless Round Ceiling Plate

Sorry for asking this. Is the ceiling plate mandatory or optional component here?
kvsub is offline  
post #1610 of 3410 Old 04-13-2012, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The mount that comes with the 6010 is the Chief CHF2500 (RPA Elite). I am not using mine (shelf mount) and it is new and unopened in the box if someone wants to buy it.

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #1611 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvsub View Post

I am trying to order the projector mount for EPson 5010 from Monoprice.
The Tech support in MonoPrice is not 100 % sure whether these projector mounts will work with 5010 ... I am not finding this information anywhere. Has anyone here purchased ceiling mounts from Monoprice and installed successfully. If yes, pls share the product code #.

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/j...es&sku=CHF2500

There is a pdf on that page that has some of the information regarding the mount specs. I think you might find it there, if your still looking.
jnabq is offline  
post #1612 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvsub View Post

Sorry for asking this. Is the ceiling plate mandatory or optional component here?

The PRG-UNV can be mounted directly to the ceiling. The ceiling plate is for installing an extension tube to lower the position of the projector. Some people like to drop the center of the lens as close to the center line of the screen as possible.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #1613 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
seancowger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by illinicat View Post

I have not tried 3d yet. I bought some panasonic 3d glasses, but did not work. any recomendation on 3d glasses?

You can buy them through Epson's website just look up what ever projector you use then click buy accessory's
seancowger is offline  
post #1614 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvsub View Post

Sorry for asking this. Is the ceiling plate mandatory or optional component here?

No but then you can't adjust the projector side to side to align it to the screen.
The pipe/pole allows you to adjust the projector left-right to make the front of the projector parallel to the screen.
Without the pipe/pole, you must align the projector while mounting it to the ceiling.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #1615 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
GalvatronType_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Van down by the river
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Any chance Epson will release a version of the 5010 (or the next replacement for the 5010) that will use Bluetooth instead of IR? I ask because I already have four glasses for my Samsung UN55D7000 that are BT and I'd rather not have to put up with a second set of glasses.
GalvatronType_R is offline  
post #1616 of 3410 Old 04-14-2012, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalvatronType_R View Post

Any chance Epson will release a version of the 5010 (or the next replacement for the 5010) that will use Bluetooth instead of IR? I ask because I already have four glasses for my Samsung UN55D7000 that are BT and I'd rather not have to put up with a second set of glasses.

I would guess only Epson R and D people would know. I haven't seen any information regarding that capability? Don't think I would count on it though?
jnabq is offline  
post #1617 of 3410 Old 04-15-2012, 08:08 AM
dna
AVS Special Member
 
dna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fremont, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalvatronType_R View Post

Any chance Epson will release a version of the 5010 (or the next replacement for the 5010) that will use Bluetooth instead of IR?

Samsung's BT 3D glasses is unique to them. The only other company I know of that uses BT is SainSonic which works with both BT and IR. Epson, on the other hand, went with the M-3DI Standard which is supported by:
  • Panasonic Corporation
  • XpanD 3D
  • Hitachi Consumer Electronics Co., Ltd.
  • Changhong Electric Co., Ltd.
  • FUNAI Electric Co., Ltd.
  • Hisense Electric Co., Ltd.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
  • Seiko Epson Corporation
  • SIM2 Multimedia S.p.A.
  • ViewSonic Corporation
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-3DI_Standard

I'd be surprised if Epson abandoned a standard and went with Samsung's one-of-a-kind 3D glasses implementation.

- David
dna is offline  
post #1618 of 3410 Old 04-15-2012, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Doorknob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to decide between a 5010 and a 6010 and it comes down to the THX modes - especially 3D. As someone who really rarely cares how color-perfect an image is, will I notice the difference? If so, super - its worth it. If not, or if a minor adjustment or two makes one identical to the other, I'd rather get the 5010.

I haven't seen any comments in this thread from people who have used both side-by-side, just lots of (very satisfied!) comments from owners of one or the other.

Thank you!
Doorknob is offline  
post #1619 of 3410 Old 04-15-2012, 07:25 PM
Member
 
VRDnhorns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motovet View Post


Happened to me tonight, and I only have one input connected. OPPO through Denon 4311 to HDMI 1 on the Epson. Swithched everything off, then on, and it worked.

Had same issue. I sent an e-mail to Oppo support on Saterday morning, by Sunday they sent a link to update my firmware by USB. Problem seems to solved. Oppo said Runco and Nad had similiar type issue.
VRDnhorns is offline  
post #1620 of 3410 Old 04-15-2012, 07:39 PM
Member
 
VRDnhorns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

This "H 67.56 kHz V 60.05 Hz Not Supported." has happened to me when switching between hdmi 1 and hdmi 2 with my oppo 95 so your not alone I havent had reason to switch this way [as I usually decide either hd pvr input or oppo input exclusively ].

Maybe theres a chance its an undocumented fix in the new 104 firmware -never know? . In the meantime as its obviously linked to the hdmi handshaking locking a possible workaround is using the hdmi link cec . I know this normally is best left off for all sorts of components but maybe have a play with it ;the 9000/6010 has options for 2 way comms and one way ;may have an effect .

There is a fix for Oppo - Epson HDMI Issue. I contacted Oppo on Saturday and by Sunday they sent a link to a USB method Firmware update. Oppo said Runco and Nad have similiar issue. Can not ask for better suport!
VRDnhorns is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6010 Projector , Projectors , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350 , Cpu Fan

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off