VIVITEK QUMI Q5 LED 1280x800 - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 232 Old 12-12-2012, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
greg1292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FORT WAYNE,INDIANA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yahoo let the fun begin. Now if we can get a driver for Nvidia that would be
awesome over HDMI 3D and digitally assigned!!!! Who knows just might happen sooner than later.

 Specialize in maximizing performance on a beer budget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg1292 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 232 Old 12-13-2012, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
mishari84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is there a way to use 2 Q5 to make 1080p picture?
mishari84 is offline  
post #213 of 232 Old 12-15-2012, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
martinsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreambeam View Post

hi martinsh
did you succeed to make the fan mod? if yes, please post your experience with photos.
...

not yet, but I am going to make it sooner or later, my girlfriend hates q5 because of the noise it makes. I have planned to buy a 40mm or 50mm case fan, attach a short USB cable to it and plug it in the USB connector in the back of projector. The fan itself would sit right under the projector where is the air intake vent.
I guess the projector is so loud because of the incredibly tiny fans throttling, so I hope adding a bigger one at lower speed might solve the fan noise issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishari84 View Post

Is there a way to use 2 Q5 to make 1080p picture?

If you place two Q5 next each other rotated by 90degrees you can get maximum of 1600x1280 image. Bigger, but It is still not going to be Full HD. But you can input 1080p image to a single Q5, the downscaled Full HD image looks actually much better than native 1280x720.
martinsh is offline  
post #214 of 232 Old 12-15-2012, 10:05 AM
Member
 
dreambeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihaid View Post

How is Q5 noise in full brightness compared with Q2. Also did you wait for the fan in Eco mode to go louder for a few seconds then it goes quiet . My Q2 does that.
When Q5 noise in Eco>Q2 noise in normal, were they in slightly different positions. one enclosed and one in open air?
Can you expand on jitters please. What camera?

Noise comparison:

Q5 Eco lowder than Q2 normal immediately;
Position is exactly the same: hanging up side down in open air.

Q5 Normal is twice lowder than Q5 Eco.

There is another annoying issue about noise of Q5. In Eco mode occasionally it increases fan speed as if Normal mode is suddenly on then it reverts after several seconds to previous fan speed. Thus Q5 having better image quality comparing to Q2 is hardly usable for movie watching at home due to loud and variable fan noise.

Re: jitter
It looks the reason for jitters was badly encoded media. I tried playing bluray disk and the image looks smooth and pleasantly nice now.

I will post additional comments on Q5 later in separate message.
dreambeam is offline  
post #215 of 232 Old 12-17-2012, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
greg1292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FORT WAYNE,INDIANA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I can barely hear the Q5 from 4ft mounted above my head using movie mode!
in full power mode in eco I cannot hear it. You must have one quiet room.

 Specialize in maximizing performance on a beer budget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg1292 is offline  
post #216 of 232 Old 12-18-2012, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Wounded I'd the USB port could power a raspberry pi, talk about portability.
Verge2 is offline  
post #217 of 232 Old 12-20-2012, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
greg1292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FORT WAYNE,INDIANA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Finally got my nvidia card to do 1080p and scale on the Q5 without cvt blanking! I used the LG .inf file from
the PA70 thread. For video playback this fantastic. Just when you think it can't get any better someone
provides a better solution. Thanks AVS members and Merry X-mas!!!!!!

 Specialize in maximizing performance on a beer budget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg1292 is offline  
post #218 of 232 Old 01-09-2013, 06:58 PM
Member
 
displaylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So Qumi Q5 owners, how do you feel about the soon to release Qumi Q7 new model? Can you share your thoughts?
displaylou is offline  
post #219 of 232 Old 01-09-2013, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I saw it at ces today. Non-working case. Talked to staff guy and he said will be 2nd half ship. Price is 8 to 9 hund. He did comment on stupidity of plastic lens as they can't handle the heat. Q7 has glass lens and zoom. Two major advantages over comp.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #220 of 232 Old 01-09-2013, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
harry1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post

I saw it at ces today. Non-working case. Talked to staff guy and he said will be 2nd half ship. Price is 8 to 9 hund. He did comment on stupidity of plastic lens as they can't handle the heat. Q7 has glass lens and zoom. Two major advantages over comp.
finally with zoom, good news
harry1985 is offline  
post #221 of 232 Old 01-10-2013, 12:11 AM
Member
 
displaylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes. I did also notice that, also the rear panel is more organized and no more power bricks, it's a WOW factor imo.smile.gif
displaylou is offline  
post #222 of 232 Old 01-26-2013, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Ryan Reedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got the Qumi Q5 and use it with my custom pc. Im using a Nvidia 660TI and I love my Qumi. I just posted a thread about combining them. I would like to know if by combining 2 projectors do you get a better image and resolution but a 2 in 1 image projection.
Ryan Reedy is offline  
post #223 of 232 Old 03-27-2013, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
martinsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is some tip to improve the image even more:

- download the ECI monitor test patterns:
http://www.eci.org/_media/downloads/monitor/eci_monitortest_pc.zip
- open them full-screen on your projector.
- use your graphics cards output color settings to start the calibration.

Using GPUs output color settings (instead those in projector menu) I managed to improve the image without making Q5 fans throttle.
I use Movie mode in projector which is one of the most silent modes (except for ECO), in graphics card settings for projector image output - adjusted Gamma to 2.0, Contrast to 50 and Brightness to 1 or 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1292 View Post

Finally got my nvidia card to do 1080p and scale on the Q5 without cvt blanking! I used the LG .inf file from
the PA70 thread. For video playback this fantastic. Just when you think it can't get any better someone
provides a better solution. Thanks AVS members and Merry X-mas!!!!!!

Hi Greg, can you link the .ini file or write a short tutorial how you did it?
martinsh is offline  
post #224 of 232 Old 05-10-2013, 04:55 AM
Newbie
 
mantelvaviz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! I'm new to AVS forum. I'd like to buy QUMI Q5 in near future, but in order to prepare our home for the new projector I hope to know the size of the Power Adapter. I can't find that information on datasheet (L x W x H) so maybe someone of you who already have the projector can measure it. I'd like to know this information because I'm thinking of hiding the Power Adapter inside a hole in the plasterboard from the ceiling. Do you think it gets too hot for that purpose?

Thank you in advance
mantelvaviz is offline  
post #225 of 232 Old 05-11-2013, 03:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Amber Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Reedy View Post

I just posted a thread about combining them..

Can you put a link to the thread.
Amber Ale is offline  
post #226 of 232 Old 05-29-2013, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
DLPProjectorfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
A glass lens is a major advantage over the competiton in this class of projectors and hopefully no problems with focus.
A zoom lens is definitely a added plus.
Sorry LG Vivitek got my buying dollar close to what I want.
Yes I can make trade offs with price, avalibilility of this projector not having a resoution of 1080P, I can live with 720P.
DLPProjectorfan is offline  
post #227 of 232 Old 12-30-2013, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Jeradin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Qumi 5 + Chromecast + Plex = awesome !
Jeradin is offline  
post #228 of 232 Old 01-05-2014, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
siya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I've had a qumi q5 since sept 12' working flawlessly until earlier today. I use it connected to my laptop via hdmi and also use a ps3 connected with hdmi. Today all of a sudden the white colours being projected appear pink. This totally ruins the viewing.

It's not the cable nor is it the laptop or ps3 because I've checked them all and the de colourisation also appears on the qumi's own menu ie USB setting with nothing else plugged into the Qumi.

I've updated to the latest firmware and also tried as many settings on the qumi as I have access to via hdmi. I've used it in normal power for around 3-4000 hrs.

I've looked at alot of online resources but can't find a solution, any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
siya is offline  
post #229 of 232 Old 01-06-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
mihaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's time to make use of the 2 years warranty
siya likes this.
mihaid is offline  
post #230 of 232 Old 03-27-2014, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Erkme73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies for reviving a several month old thread. Just wanted to point out that Buydig has these for about 280. I bought one without knowing the complexities of DLP link 3D. I assumed (yeah, I know) that getting a 3D DLP Link compatible pair of glasses (specifically approved for Vivitek would be all that I need. It's out for delivery on Sat, but I think I'm not going to be able to use the 3D.

The only sources I have are my phone (Galaxy Note 2 w/MHL HDMI) and laptop HDMI (intel integrated graphics). From what I've seen, the HDMI 1.3 standard isn't really up to snuff.

Does anyone know if there is a way to get my sources to display 3D?
Erkme73 is offline  
post #231 of 232 Old 03-28-2014, 04:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Buy a new computer?
Verge2 is offline  
post #232 of 232 Old 05-22-2014, 04:46 AM
Newbie
 
siya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just an update, I made use of the warranty & recieved a new q5 a few weeks later after some follow up calls to the retailer who chased Viviteks service centre on my behalf.

 

I did lots of reading & discovered it was an error with the lcd module. The module is not made to be replacable although, it can obviously be replaced however taking it apart seems laborious. Either it is cheaper to replace the entire unit rather than replacing the module or it's easier to dispatch new models for units under warranty as standard practise. In any case, this will no doubt be a common problem, so I'd like to know if other q5 owners have had this problem around the 3-4000 hr usage mark?

 

If so then it's likely a component issue with the lcd module which reduces the life expectancy of the Q5's to just 10% of the advertised claim of 30k hrs.

 

This said I won't be changing my unit until manufacturers comes up with a 1k lumen, glass lense, 1080 full hd unit with better connectivity at an affordable price ie: 500-700. Having a dongle for wifi is just stupid & unnecessary nowadays, as the cost & power consumption of a low power 802.11b/G/N WiFi Module which is the size of a finger print is negligible in manufacturing terms.

 

All this said, I'm very happy with the Q5 performance & quality for my needs. It's not the best but with continued falling prices, it's well worth a look at the £/$ 300 range.

siya is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Vivitek , Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off