Anyone use a tuner for their projector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to find a simple ATSC OTA HD tuner for my projector. The few I've seen are ridiculously expensive. I rarely even watch tv, so I am not willing to pay almost $200 for one. I only occasionally watch a few shows here and there. I don't need a DVR or anything fancy on it. Just a simple tuner that does nothing more than hook up to an antenna and pick up local channels. Are there cheap tuners like this?

I can easily do without this, but if a simple, cheap device exists, I would like to have the option to watch tv on my projector if I want. I have a converter box I think I could use, but it's analog, I want something that can display HD channels in HD.
bassage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 12:17 PM
Member
 
DragonSixGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=577291

i bought two of these way back when. one stopped working in less than a year, the other still worked when i quit using it 3 years ago
DragonSixGolf is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Why did you quit using it?

I have a Centronics zat502hd and it works decent, and they used to be around $120 shipped to the door, but they seem to be back-ordered now.

It's not the most reliable device though because if you check the thread a lot of people had them break within 6-12 months. Also when mine shipped, it arrived with a cable internally disconnected from the circuit board, I had to open the device and reconnect a cable, but hey it works now.

PQ is good and it passes 1080i/720p channels with full resolution, the reception is very good, features are very plain jane, but it works.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
man4mopar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you can connect your Computer/Laptop there are a lot of option's under $200 and closer to around $100 or less. Be it a tuner card or tuner usb connect.
man4mopar is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I also use the Centronics ZAT502. I've had it a couple years and it's worked great, no problems.
Jim McC is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 08:15 PM
Member
 
DragonSixGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For me, video on demand just seemd to work so much better, I had an AutumnWave onair GT+media center to record OTA, then with all the streaming options - netflix,vudu,hulu, etc. it just didn;t seem worth it for only a few channels. The picture was fantastic tho.. in good weather.
DragonSixGolf is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Centronics ZAT502 looks like exactly what I need, but still $120 is way too much. If I watched tv all the time, I wouldn't mind spending that, but, like I said, I will rarely use it. Netflix is what I watch for my tv 95% of the time.
I would only use it once in a while. So I can't justify spending that much. Why is such a simple device so expensive anyway? Because the demand is so low?
bassage is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Then you're out of luck unless you want to try to find a used one.
Jim McC is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 01-19-2012, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post

Why is such a simple device so expensive anyway? Because the demand is so low?

Bingo


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 01-20-2012, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
google

epvision phd-205le


hxxp://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/phd205LEmain.htm

you can connect it to your VGA port and you are good to go.

If you have computer you can try a MyHD MDP-130 card. it's one of the best cards ever made if you can still find one.
Bohanna is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 01-20-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I used a $25 dollar hd tuner card from tiger direct for the last 3 years. It worked great and worked with media center flawless so recording Chuck and of our other shows was a breeze.

I recently got a new computer that doesn't accept that style card and I'll probably get a usb style tuner this time around. Amazon and Tiger have them under $50.

I'd also recommend this windows remote
http://www.amazon.com/Adesso-ARC-110.../dp/B000XVNJRM

I've had this $20 remote for 3 years and it is great. The pause, play ff rw buttons all work with media player, media center etc. It has a mouse pad and makes searching through folders a breeze with 4-way directional controls with an enter button in the middle. I have my PC in my office several feet from my HT room, I just ran a 75' vga, coxial digital audio cable and a usb cable for the remotes sensor, monoprice saved me on cabling cost. Used to have a HTPC in the HT room but hated it, I like my room equipment silent.

So If you have attic access or a way to run a few cables from your home pc to your projector, for around $120 (usb tuner + cost of cable+remote) you can use your pc and be able to DVR anything your tuner picks up (media center gives you a 7day schedule for all the channels you get, so you can set it to record ahead of time or every episode of whatever you want) , browse the web, and best yet if you happen to have a pc full of hd quality movies you are all set and can control it all with the remote. Of course you'll need an AVR with at least 5.1 (which I'm sure you have) and an audio card with a digital output (fiber optic or digital coax, another $30 if you don't have that output).
cdy2179 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 01-21-2012, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used a LG LST-3510A HDTV Receiver Tuner for a couple of years and found it worked really well as long as you had a strong signal to feed it. This model also has a built in DVD player but there is another LG model that is just a straight tuner. I think you could buy a used one of these for $100 or less. I think I paid $60 used for mine on eBay. I could list it if you want, since I use a sat box now feeding the projector.
257roberts is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 01-21-2012, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257roberts View Post

I used a LG LST-3510A HDTV Receiver Tuner for a couple of years and found it worked really well as long as you had a strong signal to feed it. This model also has a built in DVD player but there is another LG model that is just a straight tuner. I think you could buy a used one of these for $100 or less. I think I paid $60 used for mine on eBay. I could list it if you want, since I use a sat box now feeding the projector.

Do you know the model number of the LG tuner without the DVD player?
bassage is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 02-06-2012, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any of these use HDMI? I've been looking around on ebay and some other places and I haven't seen any that use HDMI.
bassage is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post

Do any of these use HDMI? I've been looking around on ebay and some other places and I haven't seen any that use HDMI.

My Centronics ZAT502 does.
Jim McC is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post

Do any of these use HDMI? I've been looking around on ebay and some other places and I haven't seen any that use HDMI.

This one does and it does a great job!!

hxxp://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/phd205LEmain.htm


This one is even better but it DOESN'T have a 15 Pin VGA OUT Port.

hxxp://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/phd8vxmain.htm


Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, I guess the ones I've seen are very old models. I'll just keep searching ebay until I find a nice used model with HDMI for a good price.
bassage is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
adude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I used a LG LST4600a tuner. It has DVI output which you can use with DVI-HDMI adapter. Look at ebay.

Manoj
adude is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post

ok, I guess the ones I've seen are very old models. I'll just keep searching ebay until I find a nice used model with HDMI for a good price.


good Luck but my guess is finding one with and HDMI port used is going to be pretty hard. Is there a reason you won't buy one of the new ones? They should last a long time and you can use them on many different displays.

Bohanna
Bohanna is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 02-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You got options on tuner for OTA stations and unencrypted cable.
I am using SiliconDust HDHomerun which has 2 tuners in it (can be used for both OTA or unencrypted cable) and if you have windows 7 can set it up to record channels or watch them LIVE. Very nice in high def. But you need to have PC on to watch anything. But you don't have to add a card to your computer. The homerun plugs into your network and will be seen on any PC on your network (wifi or wired). Depending on your computer, vga or hdmi. My computers have hdmi out so I get sound and video when I connect to my projector and have option of speaker system in PC or projector speaker.

Here is link to Amazon , this is a newer model than mine, I had the white version . http://www.amazon.com/SiliconDust-HD...8655397&sr=1-1

There is even a newer version for OTA and full blown cable but it's 199 and it doesn't sound like you got cable, so forget about it.

If you don't care about high def use those government coupon digital tuners, the ones from a few years ago, I got dish network ones which are cool , they were rated as very good when everybody made the switch to digital. These should be super CHEAP, ask someone that moved to HDTV's if they have any those digital tuners laying around the house when everybody made the switch to Digital Channels a few years ago. I bet they do and they are not using them. Maybe get it FREE too. Doesn't sound like you watch much TV so maybe first try the digital boxes that came out a few years ago, it has menu and you can see what is gonna be on for I think 14 days. No PC hookup and you get the listing OTA. Of course it will use the RCA inputs (yellow,red,white). Every projector should have composite I would think.

If you are interested in recording anything then move up to high def for sports and CSI and other shows with the Homerun. Watched the Superbowl using the homerun, very nice.

p.s. I just tried out my dish digital to analog converter box (DTVpal) and it looks really good, I get about 47 stations and the built in over the air TV guide is very nice, gives signal strength, and as grid type station menu and it can auto switch stations to next program you want to watch. It is 480i but it's clear and bright and very watchable.
rgtaa is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 02-08-2012, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Droid6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Still around $200 but at least it's current and does more than just live TV.

http://www.boxee.tv/live
Droid6 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off