Will the HC4000 work for me or should I buy something else? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 12:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I plan to pull the trigger on a new projector tomorrow morning (Thursday) and I have been wanting to grab up a Mitsu HC4000. I played around with Mitsubishi's throw chart and I think this projector might not work for me. I'm a total newb when it comes to projectors though so maybe one of you experts can help me out with placement.

I really want a 120" screen but will settle for smaller if I must. My heart was set at 120 though.

My home theater room is dedicated & light controlled. It has an 8ft ceiling and is 17.5 feet wide X 20 feet long.

I figure I'd have to mount the HC4000 to the ceiling but I'm open to suggestions. I have this mount as well as a longer pole to go with it if needed: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Also if you guys think this projector is wrong for my needs then please point me in the right direction. I'd love to keep the projector cost at or below $1500.00 but I'd add more to the budget if I absolutely have to. If it means getting my 120" screen then I'll add more to the budget.

My uses are as follows:

HD TV viewing, Blu-ray movies, PS3 and 360 game playing and some DVD viewing. I would prefer less lag for game playing. Projector must be 1080p 16:9 and I do not want 3d.

I'd love to buy something in the morning so I can get the items in on Friday for a weekend install.

Thanks in advance!

-White Noise
LL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 12:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 159
The Benq w6000 will give you the option to do a bigger screen easier, you can find them under $1500 sometimes. The other option is the Epson 8350, it will also let you, but it is an LCD instead of a DLP.