LG PA70G LED 1280x800 700 Lumens. - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 12:30 AM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyone has any thoughts on why all of the LG LED projectors have eventually get discounted except one model??? the LG PB61U started with a 599.00 price tag and it hasn't moved, not a penny lower. it seems odd, btw when stores like frys discounts an item so drastically like the PA70G, I assume is coming from LG, or who makes the decision to reduce prices for a few days here and there? I might call LG directly just to see what those customers/tech support dummies have to say.
garibay_2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 05:36 AM
Member
 
boardboy330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoIL
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

anyone has any thoughts on why all of the LG LED projectors have eventually get discounted except one model??? the LG PB61U started with a 599.00 price tag and it hasn't moved, not a penny lower. it seems odd, btw when stores like frys discounts an item so drastically like the PA70G, I assume is coming from LG, or who makes the decision to reduce prices for a few days here and there? I might call LG directly just to see what those customers/tech support dummies have to say.

I'd love to know this as well...I want the PB61U as well - but for $200 off the price...you can get an external HD Tuner. Before I go that route, I would love to know why.
boardboy330 is offline  
post #813 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Honzik1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by boardboy330 View Post

I'd love to know this as well...I want the PB61U as well - but for $200 off the price...you can get an external HD Tuner. Before I go that route, I would love to know why.
I use tuner PCTV T2 290e + DVBViewer and I am very happy with it on LG PA70G. I can customize everything. On built-in tuner devices you cannot customize it.
Honzik1 is online now  
post #814 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roger Lococco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jamaica,Queens
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I noticed early in the Fry's sale yesterday, they offered shipping, but now it's in store only.
Roger Lococco is offline  
post #815 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 11:37 AM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
that must mean online is sold out, dang. a day late and a dollar short.
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #816 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 01:12 PM
Member
 
obscuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tataniko View Post

Czesc Pawel,
you are probably right, but I have doubt about how can you fix easy. Here are many people suffer a simple unscrewing, but to drill a hole for screw, or disassemble the lens tags it is not easy.
Yes, LG made a mistake, because PA is "unfocused", and must fix by factory, but fortunately it is not too serious, that's why the factory could not detect.
Anyway, I can live together with this "unfocused" unit for film, but if you find an easy fix I will do that. smile.gif
Here in Europe, we have pay for one unit, about 800-1000 USD,
in Korea this unit about 1000-1200 USD,
in USA 400-600 USD.
So I'd like to ask the unsatisfied and pampered trolls, don't flame this thread day by day.



@Tataniko Do you work for LG or one of its subsidiaries?

How do you honestly make the following statement: “Yes, LG made a mistake, because PA is "unfocused", and must fix by factory, but fortunately it is not too serious, that's why the factory could not detect.”?

Has LG publicly admitted that the LG PA70G has a design mistake?
Has LG stated that a fix is possible?
Has LG offered to make the fix and if so at what cost? I would seriously consider re-purchasing the projectors if I could get even focus over 90 percent of the screen.
How did you determine that “IT” is not too serious?
How did you learn that “the factory could not detect” the mistake?

What is the source of your information?

You also wrote: “So I'd like to ask the unsatisfied and pampered trolls, don't flame this thread day by day.”
I have not written in this thread in over a month so I don’t qualify. But I’d like to ask that you answer the questions that I have posted so that I can finally decide if this projector CAN suit my needs.

I read this thread because I am still interested in this projector. I will not dismiss the experience and knowledge of others. It is not unreasonable to expect a high definition video projector to display even focus so that I can read subtitles (not all subtitles are based on European fonts).

In the short time I owned the PA70G, I was so impressed that I still follow forum member comments. Technically, it is a major improvement over my current HW300T in almost every aspect (noise, picture, and brightness). But it is not as evenly focused as the 300T. I now see that that impression was NOT an outlier but has been expressed by several other forum members.

So if you know of a factory fix for the focus then please provide that information so that I can finally determine if this projector is in my future.
obscuro is offline  
post #817 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 07:07 PM
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok we need a official 'LG PA70G Focus Fix Tutorial' thread. YES there is a pretty major defect with this projector - it is impossible to get both corners to focus. However, this issue was mentioned earlier, and this guy supposedly fixed his by simply tightening a couple screws....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1304775/vivitek-qumi-led-1280x800/1800#post_21450953

However, that 'tutorial' was not for the LG PA70G, but the Qumi (I assume both use the same lens?). Has anyone tried to apply the above 'fix' to their 70G? I assume the insides would look about the same, but it would be nice to know for sure.

As popular as these things are, there MUST be people out there who have tried to fix this pretty serious problem.
avsforumun is offline  
post #818 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 11:11 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honzik1 View Post

I use tuner PCTV T2 290e + DVBViewer and I am very happy with it on LG PA70G. I can customize everything. On built-in tuner devices you cannot customize it.

thanks for the info, thing is I don't want to use my computer to watch cable tv, it's just too much hustle, I used to have a hauppage usb hd tuner and it kept freezing and the remote was horrible, I'll keep an eye on the PB61U or just keep my PA70G until the new units come out next year;)
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #819 of 2333 Old 12-01-2012, 11:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

thanks for the info, thing is I don't want to use my computer to watch cable tv, it's just too much hustle, I used to have a hauppage usb hd tuner and it kept freezing and the remote was horrible, I'll keep an eye on the PB61U or just keep my PA70G until the new units come out next year;)

A number of us are using the homerun tuners, new versions are cablecard ready too. This way you can use it anywhere on your network, since it plugs into your network, with any PC wired or wireless, and record the shows you like and then transfer it to memory stick/usb hard drive for watching on your 70g. I would never go back to watching live tv anymore. I don't like commercials , but if you are into commercials get the 61u.

You can record a number of shows at the same time, and it stores it on your PC. I am using windows 8 pro with media center, but was using windows 7 before I upgraded. My hdtv's all have tuners in the them and I never use them, I'm spoiled. smile.gif
rgtaa is offline  
post #820 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 05:42 AM
Member
 
tataniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Central Mediterranean Sea - EU
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by obscuro View Post

@Tataniko Do you work for LG or one of its subsidiaries?
How do you honestly make the following statement: “Yes, LG made a mistake, because PA is "unfocused", and must fix by factory, but fortunately it is not too serious, that's why the factory could not detect.”

Don't bother and flame yourself about companies like LG or other peoples like tataniko. My advise was the calming mind and not the flaming. So, please be careful about your mind state and condition.

You don't have to believe me, but this unfocused issue is not so serious, just a hype, this unit is good for movie, but not for text, this is a fact. But, if anyone is not satisfied, just try to fix it by a screw or send back to factory, or ask money refund.

This projector is as is as. If anybody doesn't like it, or frustrated, or anything else, just wait and pay for iScreen or any other high quality hyped and overpriced products. You have to decide, we are free . smile.gif





For me, this projector is good, but I am not authoritative for you, because for me everything can be good finally even the death, but this is an another topic. smile.gif
tataniko is offline  
post #821 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 10:52 AM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honzik1 View Post

I use tuner PCTV T2 290e + DVBViewer and I am very happy with it on LG PA70G. I can customize everything. On built-in tuner devices you cannot customize it.



does this require a pc to work, or can you plug it directly into the pa70g.
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #822 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Honzik1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
it require PC to work, but in fact PC is running almost all the time at my house
Honzik1 is online now  
post #823 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 11:10 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #824 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 11:26 AM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
would there be anyway to replace the plastic lens with a glass one , I found some on that alibaba site.


http://m.alibaba.com/products/glass_lens_for_projector.html

or could you place a glass lens in frount of the projector and remove the plastic one?
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #825 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Delete mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #826 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 11:45 AM
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait im confused, are the above pictures supposed to be a tutorial for fixing the uneven focus? Could anyone please add some annotations/details to the pictures?
avsforumun is offline  
post #827 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 12:15 PM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
or a YouTube video would be even better.
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #828 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 12:19 PM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #829 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 03:59 PM
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bony View Post

I would like it more closely described, but I do not know English.

Well thanks for trying to help at least! Maybe you can write up a tutorial in your native language and somebody can translate it?

Can you at least confirm that you HAVE indeed fixed the problem? Can you confirm that you now have perfect focus, even in the corners?
avsforumun is offline  
post #830 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 04:08 PM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
anyone used a VP3D1 with the LG? seems to be working over in the qumi q5 section.


also is anyone using a curved screen with this projector?
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #831 of 2333 Old 12-02-2012, 10:46 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgtaa View Post

A number of us are using the homerun tuners, new versions are cablecard ready too. This way you can use it anywhere on your network, since it plugs into your network, with any PC wired or wireless, and record the shows you like and then transfer it to memory stick/usb hard drive for watching on your 70g. I would never go back to watching live tv anymore. I don't like commercials , but if you are into commercials get the 61u.
You can record a number of shows at the same time, and it stores it on your PC. I am using windows 8 pro with media center, but was using windows 7 before I upgraded. My hdtv's all have tuners in the them and I never use them, I'm spoiled. smile.gif

I don't have a cable box, if I did I guess I wouldn't need a separate tuner, I use the cable straight from the wall for basic cable, I don't watch a lot of TV so I don't need a DVR, projector is awesome and Im keeping after a lot of thought, my focus is 95% good, just the slightest uneven focus on the upper left and lower right corner, not an issue for me at all, stays focused, but I agree, if you want to use as a computer monitor, get a square pixeled projector, text is not great
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #832 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 12:00 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #833 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 02:13 AM
Newbie
 
BeamerPOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bony View Post

So now it's sharp in the corners well..I would set it from about 2.5 meters.Normally I have a projector from the projection of the wall about 3.8 metres.I got it in the bedroom and I look every day for about 6 hours.It's a cool look of the bed.I have a hd stb connected to projector via hdmi.The picture is great.I am very happy.It is located I have about 0.8 metres above your head in the Central save and no noise.Super.
When I have a little time I'll cover the disassembly of the projector.
ČAU.

Hi Bony!
Could you check what is the smallest distance between the projector and the wall, so the image remains sharp.
Are 50 cm enough to get a sharp image (of course very small image) on the wall?
A small projection distance is needed for my application.
Thanks in advance!
BeamerPOD is offline  
post #834 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 02:23 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #835 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 02:39 AM
Newbie
 
BeamerPOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bony View Post

I'm going to put the wood into the oven.In about half an hour try again experience on those 0.5 m from the wall.
Thank you Bony and good luck with the wood.
BeamerPOD is offline  
post #836 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 03:14 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #837 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 03:41 AM
Newbie
 
BeamerPOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bony View Post

From the chimney no longer emits smoke. thanks.
So I've tried it from those half a meter and it's cool to sharpen.
If I did get you right the image is still sharp, isn't it?
BeamerPOD is offline  
post #838 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 03:58 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
post #839 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 04:07 AM
Newbie
 
BeamerPOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bony View Post

So sharp.With no problems.High quality video source is still good.As for the small and the great distance from the projection of the wall.The small text at such a distance as I have I (3.8 m) already would like to wheel for sharpening it was even a little more.But there's a limit to not allow it.But the hd movies it's okay.The picture is beautiful.And the settings on the picture is a lot.
Thank your for the answer and your effort. It helps me a lot.
BeamerPOD is offline  
post #840 of 2333 Old 12-03-2012, 04:20 AM
Member
 
bony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SLOVENSKO - PREŠOV
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mad.gif

bony is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Projectors , Samsung 700 Lumens Xga Dlp Projector Sph710ae
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off