LG PA70G LED 1280x800 700 Lumens. - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
smile.gif For clarity, Lumen = LUX/m2. So if you do not have an image on the screen with an area of ​​1m2 and, for example, 5m2, lux number multiply times 5
If you have a light meter.
Place the projector in such a distance from the screen to get the image on the surface of 1m2, the easiest way, the image must have a 1.28 m wide and 0.8 m high = 1.024m2 now measure the value LUX, and already have LUMEN.
You can not to measure lumens, the screen 100 ", because square meters is constant, and is equal to 1m2 image can not be larger or smaller than 1m2.
if you will measure the value of LUX, the screen 100 ", then you need to calculate how many m2 is the image, knowing the value you multiply by the number of lux m2.
lumen = (.....) LUX x (....) m2
It is an important measure of light, teeth gave important value in LUX.
Important is the image size, and it has to have 1m2 (square meter)It will be in inches (1m2 = 1550in2)
dimension of the image on the screen.
L = 50inch
H = 31inch
As someone has a light meter profesional, let LUX face value, I tend via Galaxy S2, but only in the evening, it is now too bright for measurement.
biggrin.gif

Measure image with these settings, which you use in everyday life, you do not have to explain why? white image, each of the colors has a different value LUMEN is the brightest green, darkest blue, I invite you browse specifications, RGB LED's Phlat Light.

It seems to me that in PA70G not used LED possibilities, possible that gave that to get more light, but it requires large heat sinks and high current.  I was led PhlatLight white, and it up, may be charged 13.5 Ampera shock. typically, however, worked with 9 amps.Mining more light, was associated to a reduction of the life of LEDs.
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 03:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Pawel Dubiel,

Thank you for trying to lend a hand, your time is appreciated even though the translation software just butchers it and makes it nearly impossible to follow. wink.gif

However...

I do understand how it works, the problem here is that we do not know how the manufacturers come to their rated specs (we do not know their procedure and it is likely there is no industry standard when it comes to front projection). Usually what we get 'real world' is semi-accurate with some marketing thrown in for competition sake.

Aside from that without fairly expensive gear in a controlled environment there will be margins of error and consistency issues to consider.

I am only attempting ballpark figures here for fun, not turning it into a science project as I honestly do not have the free time for that. smile.gif

Regards,
Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1533 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 04:37 AM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
smile.gif I wanted to buy PB60G, 2 reasons, the first is the price, the way the size and lightness.But compared the power supply, HX300 and the PB60 and PB60 I wondered like a consume less power, generate no more light on the HX300.That's why I bought PA70G, and my first reaction was astonishment when joining, I finally saw the image in a bright room on the 100 "screen.LG may have to improve 2 things and it would be Idel projector in its class.The first is a 3D-ready compatible with 720p/120Hz.The second is, the possibility of files currently does. Mk3d. Stereoscopic files. Mkv.Why did the projector is not in 120Hz mode!! that there was no problem with playing movies in 3D. At last PA70G projector is 2012 and not 2009. TV LG do not have problems with playing 3D movies. It's a bit annoying that in such a modern projector, applied technology in the soon to forget.If LG thought about this before placed on the market PA70G, able to achieve success. Increase sales without increasing spending on productions.Samsung won the smartphone market via Galaxy S family, and that it is to give a good product, with the possibilities which do not give the others, and then allow people to evolve his product was always on time. smile.gif The only flaw in PA70G, is the lack of possibilities for 3D playback, and the hapless PC modeI 1024x768/120Hz instead 720p/120Hz .  Because what's the point, use 120Hz XGA, when the matrix is WXGA DMD.
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
post #1534 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I would be interested to figure out what lumens is in DARK ROOM from:

6 feet back from screen 60 inch widescreen.
8 feet back .. 80 inch widescreen
10 beet back 100 inch widescreen
12 feet back 120 inch widescreen
rgtaa is offline  
post #1535 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Honzik1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgtaa View Post

I would be interested to figure out what lumens is in DARK ROOM from:

6 feet back from screen 60 inch widescreen.
8 feet back .. 80 inch widescreen
10 beet back 100 inch widescreen
12 feet back 120 inch widescreen

Me too, so how much lumens output is at PA70G? Anyone knows finaly?
Honzik1 is offline  
post #1536 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 11:39 AM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambika View Post

I'm debating if I should hold for LGPA70G to go back on sale for 399 @ frys or jump on LGPB60G for 350 ? any suggestions

I'd wait
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #1537 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

I'd wait

Did you? biggrin.gif
Last I heard you pulled the trigger on the 61?
What's the latest update.
rgtaa is offline  
post #1538 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 07:35 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgtaa View Post

Did you? biggrin.gif
Last I heard you pulled the trigger on the 61?
What's the latest update.

I did, but if you don't have have to have a TUNER, the PA70 is a better deal at same 399 price, if the PA70 goes on sale this next weekend, Imma return the 61 unopened, if not then I'll just keep it:cool:
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #1539 of 2320 Old 01-27-2013, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
ambika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by garibay_2004 View Post

I did, but if you don't have have to have a TUNER, the PA70 is a better deal at same 399 price, if the PA70 goes on sale this next weekend, Imma return the 61 unopened, if not then I'll just keep it:cool:

thanks garibay_2004, i hope frys will put pa70g back on sale. they had it on sale in dec for 3 times, but not even one time in january mad.gif
ambika is offline  
post #1540 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 02:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Lag test is in...

As you can see in the pic the PA70G is about 10ms faster (333) than my HDtv (323) behind it (tv is in Game mode) and about 20ms behind the CRT monitor (353).



The results would vary here and there (which is normal) but on average it was in the 30's or lower (as seen in the pic) so nothing too concerning regarding input lag (gaming) on the PA70G. wink.gif

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1541 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
bghanekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has the group done any experimentation on Passive 3D with this PJ.
LG is promoter of this 3D format in their HD televisions.
I find the technology more stable and hassle free.
bghanekar is offline  
post #1542 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Rugrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
With LG Passive TVs you only get half resolution per eye due to the film pattern retarder applied over the screen
Even lines go to one eye, odd lines to the other. It's works fairly well, but is less than ideal.

Passive 3D with projectors is not as simple. In most cases, it requires the use of two projectors.

LG makes a out of the box Passive Projector, the CF3D.
http://www.lg.com/us/projectors/lg-CF3D-hd-projector
Rugrash is offline  
post #1543 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
spzjulien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all

anyone can tell me if the power supply for the PA70G buy in USA work on 110 to 220v, bec i will using it oversea in europe
anyone can confirm this ?

thx a lots
spzjulien is offline  
post #1544 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
uwradu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

I have to say that I am somewhat shocked to see it so low as it appears much brighter than that to my eyes. Maybe there is some truth to the LED tech looking brighter, wish I had measured the unit when it was new out of the box since it now has a couple hundred hours on it and I don't know if it has lost anything yet (will track it from here forward though).

My old Optma H31 was rated at 850, which after a couple of years probably went down by half. Perceptually the PA70G appears brighter at a significantly larger picture size (120" versus < 90"). Plus the image assumes final brightness almost instantly, which makes the entire experience even more satisfying. LEDs are also supposed to fade much more gradually than lamps, so I'm hoping for good brightness for a long time yet...
uwradu is offline  
post #1545 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
bghanekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works. I bought one at FRYS.COM in US and is working perfectly fine in India at 230 volts AC 50 Hz.
bghanekar is offline  
post #1546 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
spzjulien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bghanekar View Post

It works. I bought one at FRYS.COM in US and is working perfectly fine in India at 230 volts AC 50 Hz.

oki great !! thanks you smile.gif
spzjulien is offline  
post #1547 of 2320 Old 01-28-2013, 11:07 PM
 
garibay_2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambika View Post

thanks garibay_2004, i hope frys will put pa70g back on sale. they had it on sale in dec for 3 times, but not even one time in january mad.gif

they will for sure, my local frys has a big pile of them and nobody is buying them at full retail price and they know it. Im thinking they should go on sale this weekend, check friday night...it might be "store only" but it's just a guess..Im getting my PB61 tomorrow, but Im not gonna open it right away in case the 70G goes on sale, the I can return without paying re-stocking fee:D
garibay_2004 is offline  
post #1548 of 2320 Old 01-30-2013, 05:53 AM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! Gentlemen is the way, the sound in DTS during playback of movies, via mediaplayer.
Normally when watching movies with DTS sound, showing up information, "Sound is not supported", looking through the instructions of the projector, and had the table codecs, I was thinking one thing.
The table in DTS is a description of the "only in Korea".

biggrin.gif no, and here you have, smile.gif HDD plugged in with the film in DTS via remote service, have changed the region code on the 01, that is, KOREA, and surprise, PA70G can now play movies with sound DTS.

biggrin.gif
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
post #1549 of 2320 Old 01-30-2013, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
spzjulien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do u manadge to change region ? need special remote ?
spzjulien is offline  
post #1550 of 2320 Old 01-30-2013, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a used, remote control service like this in the picture,




You can use the remote control, universal Logitech USB programmed via the website, look for the info on the remote control, logitech harmony.

in the original you press "IN START" and give the code "0413"
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
post #1551 of 2320 Old 01-30-2013, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Rugrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You can use a universal remote to access some if not all of the service menus, I mentioned it may be possible and posted some links.

Honzik1 comfirmed it was, when he found the right code and was able to bring up the service menu.
Rugrash is offline  
post #1552 of 2320 Old 01-30-2013, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
bghanekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
bghanekar is offline  
post #1553 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 12:39 AM
Member
 
espetodesardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Málaga,Andalucía Enjoying Spanish Costa del Sol
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawel Dubiel View Post

Hello! Gentlemen is the way, the sound in DTS during playback of movies, via mediaplayer.
Normally when watching movies with DTS sound, showing up information, "Sound is not supported", looking through the instructions of the projector, and had the table codecs, I was thinking one thing.
The table in DTS is a description of the "only in Korea".

biggrin.gif no, and here you have, smile.gif HDD plugged in with the film in DTS via remote service, have changed the region code on the 01, that is, KOREA, and surprise, PA70G can now play movies with sound DTS.

biggrin.gif

Hi Pawel, is possible remote service in PB60G? The table in DTS is a description of the "only in Korea" on PB60G manual user too.
I´m very impressed with this little projector,quality of image is spectacular.Changing settings on expert mode you can see stunning results.

Star Wars Episode III on 106" screen .PB60G with expert mode settings





















espetodesardina is offline  
post #1554 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 06:21 AM
Member
 
displaylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Great images congratulations!.......Is your PB60G no focus issue like the Pa70g?
displaylou is offline  
post #1555 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 08:40 AM
Member
 
A/VPASSION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What calibration settings are you using? I am searching thread for some but interested to see I yours are different?
A/VPASSION is offline  
post #1556 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
espetodesardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Málaga,Andalucía Enjoying Spanish Costa del Sol
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by displaylou View Post

Great images congratulations!.......Is your PB60G no focus issue like the Pa70g?

Thanks! My PB60G unit is ok,no focus issue.Even not the PA70G focus issue solved?

The settings are mine.After several months of tests I have obtained a good result.Later or tomorrow i`ll post them .
A/VPASSION likes this.
espetodesardina is offline  
post #1557 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by espetodesardina View Post

Thanks! My PB60G unit is ok,no focus issue.Even not the PA70G focus issue solved?

The settings are mine.After several months of tests I have obtained a good result.Later or tomorrow i`ll post them .


smile.gif Pa70G and PB60G, then the total is the same, but the difference is the power source of light, DMD is the same LEDs are also more of the same, but the source of power is weaker, and the LED's generate less heat.

Service mode in PA70G has a projector choices, are 2 types:
PA7X
PB6X
PA70G work in both types, if not checked the switching PA70G, the series PB6X, causes a marked decrease performance LED, notice the difference in the keystone, but it's probably because the switching type, activated, auto keystone.

I tried the factory remote control, the TV LG 32 "and works with any TV, projector, LG, so I do not see a problem with the service mode switch, PB60G.

The code "0413" is a universal code also uses it in his TV SHARP.


PB60G has a different lens and therefore there is no problem with the focus in PB60G, DMD is perpendicular to the optical axis, from the side and not from behind the lens, the image is reflected inside the prism, the PB70G are two prisms and the picture goes by without changing the angle.
Technically PB60G is better solved, in terms of optics. But I prefer PA70G greater light output.
Sharpness in PA70G be repaired. PB60G PRIZM with only one, should have a more crystal picture and clearer cutting off pixels. Pa70G in this respect is worse because, pixels are mnej distinct, though hazy. In HX300G circuit of the mirror, and there were very clean pixels, and the image was sharp as a razor, biggrin.gif already at setting 50 in PA70G I have set above 70, and even then the picture is not that of the HX300G.

Tomorrow make some image effects, haze pixels in PA70G. Still think over how to get rid of.
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
post #1558 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Pawel Dubiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugly truth about PA70G and Diamond DMD pixel, from the beginning niepodobal picture to me like it is 1280x800 and 1024x768 looks worse than what I watched in HX300G, Does anybody know what is the arrangement of pixels and also PB60G pixel is a diamond?
Compared the image of the same scene and the difference is awesome.


PA70G expert mode 1, sharpnes H 80,V 80


PB60G


If it is not, the arrangement of pixels, then the only explanation is the quality of the same video material, it's possible that my compression is much greater, and therefore the image has lost its clarity of detail.
Pawel Dubiel is offline  
post #1559 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
First, You cannot judge actual image from screen-shots, too many variables (room/lighting, camera, skill of the photographer, screen, etc).

While the PB60 may have better focal ability those shots look way over processed and not at all what that film actually looks like on a properly calibrated display (which brings me back to my first point).

The focal system on the PA70G is very dependant on the Sharpness control within the user menu, hitting just the right setting for your lens is crucial in seeing the full potential of your own unit. However settings of 70 and 80 are likely to be way too high with far too much EE/Ringing introduced (unless the lens itself is really soft to begin with and lacks the ability to resolve pixel structure).

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1560 of 2320 Old 02-01-2013, 03:25 PM
Member
 
A/VPASSION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by espetodesardina View Post

Thanks! My PB60G unit is ok,no focus issue.Even not the PA70G focus issue solved?

The settings are mine.After several months of tests I have obtained a good result.Later or tomorrow i`ll post them .

Awesome. Thx
A/VPASSION is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Projectors , Samsung 700 Lumens Xga Dlp Projector Sph710ae
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off