Which 3D blue ray player is best for viewing 3D through EPSON 5010e projector ??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-17-2012, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have sony 3D Blue ray player which is not comapatible with 5010e. Which would be the best fo 3D viewing.
We have ONKYO TX NR-1009 receiver too.

Thanks
meiya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-17-2012, 01:54 PM
Member
 
nick124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oppo 93
nick124 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-17-2012, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Why is the Sony not compatible? That seems a little odd?
jnabq is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We tried with Samsung BD-E6500 now..gives same error "THIS BLUE RAY 3D DISC REQUIRES A COMPATIBLE 3D HDTV & BLU-RAY 3D PLAYER THAT HAS BEEN UPGRADED WITH THE NECESSARY FIRMWARE TO ALLOW 3D FILM PLAYBACK".
meiya is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anything to do with 3D disc. We are trying to play HUGO movie. Any suggestions totry with some other movie ??
meiya is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might be the HDMI cable. Try a 1.3 or 1.4 cable.
Also, did you enable 3D on the Epson ?
Ranger is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
we hav 3D HDMI 1.4
3D settings are enabled.
Same disc is playing 3D with HDTV with the same reveiver
meiya is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Does not matter if it works through the receiver to another video device, the receiver can still be the cause because of HDMI cable lengths and HDMI handshaking variations between devices. It sounds like a problem with the HDMI run or receiver. Eliminate the receiver in the chain temporarily to see, and change the HDMI cable just in case.

Other than that, what I have noticed is that many Bluray players sometimes get dust on the laser optics (but you said disk was working on other device, so not assuming this issue here). That said, I would also suggest in the long-run getting you a disk cleaner that has the little tiny mico-brush on the DVD to clean the player (under $10 at Walmart). I also use a CD/DVD/Bluray cleaning device that you can spray cleaning on and spin the disks around inside. This is basically required to view Redbox blurays, because they always come so dirty.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I seen you posted your issue in the ONKYO TX NR-1009 forum thread, hopefully someone there will be able to help. It does sound like an hdmi issue. There is a recent firmware update for that unit and you might want to try that too.
jnabq is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We bought new home and setting up our entertainment room now, struggling with 3D.
The installation guys did the setup, they are not helping us as we didnt buy the equipment from them.
Could you guys help us to find HDMI issues by our own or do u think we need to call people to look at this ?
meiya is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
meiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We just tried directly without receiver. working perfectly. I guess need to do something with the receiver. We updated the receiver firmware too.
meiya is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 08-18-2012, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 143
You can get a 4x2 HDMI switch which has a built in audio out splitter and not use the receiver to do the HDMI switching ONLY when you need 3D mode, that way you can still use the receiver to do the switching when in NON-3D viewing. You could also just entirely use ONLY the new HDMI switch for the switching instead of the AVR, that is if you only have (1) HDMI cable run to the PJ instead of (2) runs available.

http://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital-Advanced-Certified-Surround/dp/B0051XB8M0/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1345351766&sr=1-5&keywords=hdmi+switch+spdif

Something like that, although it might be easier to buy a new receiver which is known to be 3D compatible to the Epson 5010, especially if you don't have 2 HDMI cable runs back to the PJ. You could also return your Bluray player and find one that has DUAL HDMI outputs, and then do two HDMI runs from the Bluray (one direct to PJ, one to AVR).

If trying the new switch idea, I would plug the Bluray player into any of the switches inputs, and then have one HDMI out from the switch going directly to the projector, and the other HDMI out going to the receiver which then goes to the projector (if you have two HDMI runs to the PJ available). You will also need to run the audio out from the switch to the receiver so when in bypass'd 3D mode you can still get audio. Adding an HDMI switch in front of your receiver could cause issues though, never tried it personally, but it might not. Doesn't really hurt to try since you can return it or as noted just use the switch from now on and the receiver only for audio.

This is why when people pay to have HDMI cables ran to a projector, always get 2 cable runs done instead of one, plus it serves as a backup if the cable end breaks or something goes wrong. They will often try to charge you double for the second run, but you just tell them you want it parallel at the same time for less money (try to negotiate).


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic 3d Blu Ray Player Dmp Bdt220
Gear in this thread - Bdt220 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off