Pro8200 Calibrations? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,
I have been looking everywhere online but can't seem to find calibrations for a new out of the box pro8200. It already looks good however could use some calibrating. If anyone has a link or knows good setting please let me know.
mikeman117 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1390576/viewsonic-pro8200-calibrations
rgtaa is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 10:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you. But I am confused by the pictures. I thought calibrating was just on the projector itself via the remote but it looks like I need to do it on the computer?
mikeman117 is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeman117 View Post

thank you. But I am confused by the pictures. I thought calibrating was just on the projector itself via the remote but it looks like I need to do it on the computer?


look at post 6 and in the photo , look at the comments in the photo, he lists them.
rgtaa is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, but is this done on computer for me or through remote of projector?
mikeman117 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nvm late at night, slightly retarded stage.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 11:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
no, you are asking good questions.
you don't need computer, you can make the adjustments from just your pro8200 remote, look at the whole post 6 because he forgot a setting that he puts towards the end of post. good luck bro.
mikeman117 likes this.
rgtaa is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks a lot man.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 10-06-2012, 03:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,969
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 143
For the most accurate image, standard mode is the best with Gamma Preset of 1. I have measured it with calibration equipment.
However, in the beginning there is some red push but projector lamps naturally lose red over time so this will start to fade.

By default, Video Saturation is set way too high at 50, bring this down to like 38-42. Set sharpness from 6-8. Set Mode to STD mode.
If the image appears too orange and red, you can (by eye) go adjust the individual RED Saturation and Gain under the CMS menu or use gray-scale adjustments (the single RGB color). However, you might do more harm than good going by eye.

BSE's calibration was better because at the time I was having issues with Calman 4 and he had a much newer lamp.
Now I have Calman 5 and it appears to be working perfectly, but I have a lamp with 2500 hours so my numbers wouldn't help you.

Here is what I can tell you though, the Color Gamut is fairly accurate and the GAMMA runs a near perfect 2.22 in STD mode with Gamma Preset of 1 without doing any calibration.
So the most significant error (and it isn't even that large), is the RGB settings (the 3 color settings) and the saturation setting under video.

If you had a calibration meter, you could improve the calibration some, but this projector's color is in STD mode is better than most projectors default calibration for sure.
baccula likes this.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 10-07-2012, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks man. I just am now unsure of what to use for RGB setting on mine since I have >8 hours.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 10-07-2012, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks man. I just am now unsure of what to use for RGB setting on mine since I have >8 hours.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 10-08-2012, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump for answer. Anyone have the pro8200 with few hours on hit. Mine has 25 and I'm looking for settings in standard mode.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 10-08-2012, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think I would go with bse53 settings in post 6 that I mentioned before, he does say to use dark eco, but he gives the RGB in the comments.
The reason most of the rest of us can't help is we don't have the calibration equipment or if we do, we have more that 25 hours on bulb. You are new so just go through that thread and see if anything helps. You could buy calibration equipment but I don't think it's necessary. Just understand as you put more hours on bulb the picture will look better and better. Even if you screw up, you can just hit the default settings and it will reset them to factory, then you can try different settings. I remember plugging in all the settings the first couple of weeks when I first got my pro8200. So experiment and have fun and if you really want to get into calibrating Coderguy can suggest equipment to get.
Another way to do it is if people have good settings that they like and have under 100 hours, maybe share them, unless someone else has calibration equipment. I think bse53 settings put me in the ball park so I could experiment with them a little. I think screen size, screen gain, etc, and how dark the room is could also effect the settings, Coderguy or BSE53 can correct me if I'm wrong about that. That is why those 2 guys helped the rest of us, they already had the equipment , and I think Coderguy has bought even newer more expensive equipment. Hopefully he saves the different settings at different hours on his PJ. And BSE53 can keep posting his "newer" settings.

Maybe Coderguy can organize the first post in this excellent calibration thread to have the settings laid out for "new bulb" and 100 hours or 500 hours 1,000 hours, etc. So it gives everybody ballpark settings. Or go to post 6 and try BSE53's settings.
rgtaa is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 10-09-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The thing is though. On older pjs the red in the RGB setting was reversed. I have a new version so mine is normal so I am not sure how to use BSEs settings.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 10-09-2012, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeman117 View Post

The thing is though. On older pjs the red in the RGB setting was reversed. I have a new version so mine is normal so I am not sure how to use BSEs settings.

I'm not sure what you are saying, the RGB is reversed on new version? Can you link to where you found that info?
rgtaa is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 10-09-2012, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
bse53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My projector manufacture date was 2/12.

I wouldn't get too concerned about calibration with that few of hours though.
bse53 is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 10-09-2012, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,969
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgtaa View Post

I'm not sure what you are saying, the RGB is reversed on new version? Can you link to where you found that info?

It is only reversed on older PJ's, I can confirm this is true on mine (another reason not to try my calibrations).
I never thought about this or realized it was now fixed.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 10-09-2012, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I wonder if we can pin down when the firmware was released that reversed it? My unit is manufacture date of nov 2011.

Maybe bse53 can try the pixel mapping test since he has one made in 2 /2012 and he can do the test since I couldn't figure it out going up to screen that close. biggrin.gif.
Or bse53 can comment on sharpness of his unit.
rgtaa is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm prob going to have to get my hands of some calibration tools, no calibrations can really help me since m R in RGB is fixed.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bse53 View Post

My projector manufacture date was 2/12.
I wouldn't get too concerned about calibration with that few of hours though.

I see where you're coming from, however, I am a perfectionist.
mikeman117 is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeman117 View Post

I see where you're coming from, however, I am a perfectionist.

He is telling you he has NEW build date, responding to your comment about "RBG" being reversed on old PJ's, so his settings would be good for someone who also has new build date.
And he is sharing that he too , when he first got his unit, took out his calibration equipment, and bought ND filters, etc, to try to get "perfect" picture.

Most of us are not that dedicated, I too thought of buying calibration equipment, but then I would have to spend hours studying how to use it, and I only have one PJ, so I reconsidered and glad I did not buy that stuff (I'll leave it to BSE53 and Coderguy and you if you decide to get calibration equipment) . After owning the PJ 9 months, I turn it on and it looks good to me, and depending on lighting conditions adjust it to room light, and it's all cool.

Also, if you read the whole calibration thread, BSE53 has updated settings and shares ND filter he got and how to mount it, maybe think about following his suggestions if you are in bat cave. Looks good to me out of the box, and I'm not in a bat cave, so I have no need for ND filter.
rgtaa is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand how his manufacture date could possibly be 2/12 when he posted his first calibrations on 1/12...
mikeman117 is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
bse53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I sent the first one back, which was Nov_2011 and got a new one. I discovered at the time I received the new one that the problem wasn't the projector but the dvd player. I offered to send the new one back and keep the original one, but since an RMA had been issued they wanted the first one back.

So that's how it happened.

Newegg support was excellent. So was Viewsonic for that matter.

And the build date might be Jan-2012. The projector is mounted so I can't see it. I will look up the revision of the machine and actually check the build date.
bse53 is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
rgtaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
BSE53
Do you notice any difference in the settings and how is the sharpness on the unit, mine is fine but I wonder if later builds are better or not. ON the feb 2012 build did the settings change or were they the same as nov 2011 build, we got the same nov 2011 build from newegg, so you can share any difference if any in firmware or anything else. Or when calibrating anything was different from your first nov 2011 PJ.

Glad to hear you have good experience with viewsonic support.
rgtaa is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bse53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, so much for my memory.

I looked at the box when I got home and the manufacture date turns out to be 12/21/11. Not sure where I thought it was made in 2012. Anyway the firmware version appears to be 2.20.

When calibrating the projector the red seemed to act somewhat normally, though it never would get red spot on, it always skewed either to the blue or green (somewhat magenta or orange). That's part of the reason I tried the red color correction filter instead of the nd filter. The red is probably slightly saturated, though it doesn't show up in skin tones (except a propensity to ruddy cheeks).

Sharpness seemed to be about the same on both projectors, though the lens rotation assembly seems to have a lot of play in it.
bse53 is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 10-10-2012, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikeman117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome man thanks. Yeah I just tried your "Corrected Dark Room Setting" on page 2 of the Calibrations forum and it works great for my 35 hours even though when you did it you had 150. Maybe it will look even better when I reach that point.
mikeman117 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Viewsonic Pro8200 Dlp Projector
Gear in this thread - Pro8200 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off