Official Epson Home Cinema 3020 Thread - Page 38 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP > Official Epson Home Cinema 3020 Thread

Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

racprops's Avatar racprops
01:09 AM Liked: 17
post #1111 of 1140
10-12-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
OK Here is the latest..the brand new projector ALL READY has a new problem...

There is a fairly bright blue glow on the lower right corner of the screen.

I hoped it would go away..it does seem to fade some as it warms up.

I have taken pictures of it.

So another one bites the dust.

$64,000 question, how is the other brands doing??

Is this common with them all or only Epson??

As far as I am concerned, I feel I should get a 2 year warrantee on each unit at least until one unit makes it to its second birthday.

This is getting too silly for words.

Rich
racprops's Avatar racprops
01:17 PM Liked: 17
post #1112 of 1140
10-25-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
Well that last one in the above review also bit the dust, IT got a bright blue lower right corner problem, so it also went back with only 54 hours on the clock.

AND the new one is sharper BUT It has a green dot on the upper right section of the screen a bad pixel...

So it too will need replacing soon.

Rich
racprops's Avatar racprops
05:28 AM Liked: 17
post #1113 of 1140
11-01-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
OK A update on my problem projector.(S)

Had a long talk with Tech support, and worked up to the highest level.

No to any upgrade.

YES to a Brand New replacement 3020.

Yes to a 6 month extended Warranty, which will be added to 1/14/2015 and ends 7/14/2014.

Question Do your older 3020s have a setting called "Super Resolution"??

I could swear this is new: I don't remember it being part of my older 3\3020s.

And it works great this is the sharpest 3020 I have had so far.

NOW IF only it will last and not crap out.

Rich
Ftoast's Avatar Ftoast
06:20 PM Liked: 221
post #1114 of 1140
11-06-2014 | Posts: 1,560
Joined: Dec 2013
I remember having a couple problematic phones and every time they got exchanged (for a refurbished) the refurb automatically got a 6month warranty starting from the date-received..I always figured it was standard procedure. That's annoying to hear that a company would send out a potentially not fully-functional refurb with the possibility of the user's warranty ending anywhere from transit to new arrival, leaving them trapped with a dud.
Good to see you could convince Epson otherwise and keep yourself somewhat protected.

I'm guessing the 3020 (being their second highest-end model..previously) got the sharpness software added in an update to keep it similar to its replacement, the 3500/3600.
The 2030/2000 will probably not get it due to the 3000 lacking the same feature.
racprops's Avatar racprops
06:32 AM Liked: 17
post #1115 of 1140
11-07-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ftoast View Post
I remember having a couple problematic phones and every time they got exchanged (for a refurbished) the refurb automatically got a 6month warranty starting from the date-received..I always figured it was standard procedure. That's annoying to hear that a company would send out a potentially not fully-functional refurb with the possibility of the user's warranty ending anywhere from transit to new arrival, leaving them trapped with a dud.
Good to see you could convince Epson otherwise and keep yourself somewhat protected.

Well I WAS pushing for a new 3500 and a new 2 year warranty, after all I should be sure of at least 2 years of use.

Now the $64,000 question is was these failures due to the refurb. units and a flaw in their refurb. system, or was/is the flaw in their design of the units??

I'm guessing the 3020 (being their second highest-end model..previously) got the sharpness software added in an update to keep it similar to its replacement, the 3500/3600.
The 2030/2000 will probably not get it due to the 3000 lacking the same feature.
That is what I was thinking, as there was a firmware update for the 3050 which mainly gave "Super Resolution" and the 3050 with only a few changes is still a base 3020...sad that 3020 owners are not being given this update.

Rich
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
07:16 AM Liked: 10
post #1116 of 1140
11-07-2014 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
What's the easiest way or best way rather, to update the firmware?
racprops's Avatar racprops
05:09 PM Liked: 17
post #1117 of 1140
11-07-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
There was a thread on upgrading the 3050.

I called Epson and was told there was no upgrade for the 3020.

Rich
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
01:29 PM Liked: 10
post #1118 of 1140
11-08-2014 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Oh ok. Thank you brother.
racprops's Avatar racprops
02:39 PM Liked: 17
post #1119 of 1140
11-08-2014 | Posts: 452
Joined: Oct 2005
Keep bugging them if this IS new on my New 3020 then it should be a firmware upgrade.

Rich
Lochness's Avatar Lochness
07:19 AM Liked: 10
post #1120 of 1140
12-22-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Over the last few months, I've noticed some distortion in the picture. It's like a green wave going from top to bottom. It had become more prevalent over time and was much more noticeable on dark images. The lamp was getting old so I thought it may be responsible. Well, I changed out the lamp and the distortion remains albeit somewhat lessened.

Does anyone know what might be causing this and what can be done to fix it?
DrJykill
07:29 PM Liked: 0
post #1121 of 1140
12-27-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Hi folks,

I am looking at picking up a 3020 this week to replace an aging Epson 800. I am looking for your opinion/help.

We are moving to a new house that has a dedicated theatre room (i.e. no ambient light, mounted screen, sound system). It currently has an Epson 800 projecting on to a 92" screen. While it looks great, my first order of business is to upgrade to 1080p, hence the purchase of a 3020.

My experience with projectors extends to what I use with my students in class (that is, cheap business projectors). As such, from what I can tell the 3020 looks like a great buy, with the all the right features (minus lens shift, which may be problematic for me). I can pick it up for $1000 Canadian. What I am worried about, after researching and reading further, is whether the 3020 will be too bright for the dedicated theatre room. Can anyone comment on this? I understand the Epson 5030 is meant for dedicated theatre rooms, but it falls outside of my price range. Your feedback and help is greatly appreciated.
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
09:27 PM Liked: 41
post #1122 of 1140
12-28-2014 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJykill View Post
Hi folks,

I am looking at picking up a 3020 this week to replace an aging Epson 800. I am looking for your opinion/help.

We are moving to a new house that has a dedicated theatre room (i.e. no ambient light, mounted screen, sound system). It currently has an Epson 800 projecting on to a 92" screen. While it looks great, my first order of business is to upgrade to 1080p, hence the purchase of a 3020.

My experience with projectors extends to what I use with my students in class (that is, cheap business projectors). As such, from what I can tell the 3020 looks like a great buy, with the all the right features (minus lens shift, which may be problematic for me). I can pick it up for $1000 Canadian. What I am worried about, after researching and reading further, is whether the 3020 will be too bright for the dedicated theatre room. Can anyone comment on this? I understand the Epson 5030 is meant for dedicated theatre rooms, but it falls outside of my price range. Your feedback and help is greatly appreciated.
I have a dedicated theater with controlled lighting and lots of black felt and velvet. Yes, the 3020 is bright but switching to eco mode while the bulb is young settles it right in. The extra lumens are great for 3D and bulb aging. I've never found it to be too bright. You will not be disappointed with this projector.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
03:23 PM Liked: 10
post #1123 of 1140
12-29-2014 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Ok so I finally connected my ps3 to my Epson to watch 3D movies. However it keeps telling me my signal settings won't display in 3D.

Any direction from my panel of peers?
Kilgore's Avatar Kilgore
04:33 PM Liked: 217
post #1124 of 1140
12-29-2014 | Posts: 3,299
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
Ok so I finally connected my ps3 to my Epson to watch 3D movies. However it keeps telling me my signal settings won't display in 3D.

Any direction from my panel of peers?
Try doing it manually in the Display Settings:


https://support.us.playstation.com/a...-for-3d-output
tacanmj's Avatar tacanmj
05:56 PM Liked: 10
post #1125 of 1140
12-30-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2014
Been enjoying the 3020 since 11/23/14. Have to say it has been "theater like" in my basement. I started using eco mode to tame the brightness. Cinema mode out of the box is on par calibration wise. Using Disney WOW confirmed everything was perfect. Anybody have settings for 3D? Also what is super resolution for? I cranked it up and back down. Noticed no difference.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
06:06 PM Liked: 10
post #1126 of 1140
12-30-2014 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post
Try doing it manually in the Display Settings:


https://support.us.playstation.com/a...-for-3d-output
I tried this. It does not give me the option to select 3d.

I'm using a splitter since my avr is older and does not pass through 3d. Do you think this is why?
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
09:01 PM Liked: 41
post #1127 of 1140
12-30-2014 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
I tried this. It does not give me the option to select 3d.

I'm using a splitter since my avr is older and does not pass through 3d. Do you think this is why?
Correct. The handshake with your AVR will not allow 3D to pass. Try disconnecting the hdmi to the AVR. Power everything off and back on again, then try your 3D movie.

This is not a solution, but merely a confirmation that everything else is setup correctly so you can move forward with your options if you like the 3D (and I think you will).
tacanmj's Avatar tacanmj
09:46 AM Liked: 10
post #1128 of 1140
01-01-2015 | Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2014
So I turn on the 3020 last night and notice a yellow tint on screen. After checking all my hdmi cables and some research turns out its the blue polarizer. Only 175 hrs and already got a problem. New Years Day, office not open. NHL winter classic is on, and the ice looks like it has piss stains everywhere.
ashyt16's Avatar ashyt16
04:06 AM Liked: 25
post #1129 of 1140
01-02-2015 | Posts: 177
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
Ok so I finally connected my ps3 to my Epson to watch 3D movies. However it keeps telling me my signal settings won't display in 3D.

Any direction from my panel of peers?
Ensure the 3d settings are correct in the projector setting menu.
3d display on, 2d to 3d off, auto for bluray, side by side for SBS movies, top and bottom for OU movies.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
07:05 AM Liked: 10
post #1130 of 1140
01-02-2015 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fokakis1 View Post
Correct. The handshake with your AVR will not allow 3D to pass. Try disconnecting the hdmi to the AVR. Power everything off and back on again, then try your 3D movie.

This is not a solution, but merely a confirmation that everything else is setup correctly so you can move forward with your options if you like the 3D (and I think you will).
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyt16 View Post
Ensure the 3d settings are correct in the projector setting menu.
3d display on, 2d to 3d off, auto for bluray, side by side for SBS movies, top and bottom for OU movies.
I'm at a loss. In my ps3 I can't chose any of the 3d resolution settings.

When I try to turn 3d on on the projector it says signal is not capable.

The only cable I did not remove was the one going into the avr directly.

This is getting frustrating.
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
07:16 PM Liked: 41
post #1131 of 1140
01-02-2015 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
If (a) your receiver is not hdmi 1.4 spec and/or (b) your splitter is not 1.4 compliant you will not get 3D to work. Period.

Connect the Playstation directly to the projector (no splitter or avr) FIRST, then test. If you still can't get 3D check the settings in your PS3 and 3020 as suggested by others. Don't forget to make sure that your devices' software are up to date. Good luck.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
09:03 PM Liked: 10
post #1132 of 1140
01-02-2015 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
I know my avr is not.

My splitter is.

I thought as long as the splitter was I would not have an issue.
tacanmj's Avatar tacanmj
09:06 AM Liked: 10
post #1133 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2014
Buy a 3d bluray player, HDMI 1.4 cables, and a receiver that passes through 3D.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
11:15 AM Liked: 10
post #1134 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Smh. Really dude?
tacanmj's Avatar tacanmj
03:32 PM Liked: 10
post #1135 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2014
Yep. That easy.
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
06:08 PM Liked: 41
post #1136 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
I know my avr is not.

My splitter is.

I thought as long as the splitter was I would not have an issue.
An affordable solution would be to purchase a blu-ray player with dual hdmi outputs. I think I paid $65 for my Panasonic bdp350 last year.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
06:10 PM Liked: 10
post #1137 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Do you think that is my only recourse?
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
09:03 PM Liked: 41
post #1138 of 1140
01-03-2015 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
Do you think that is my only recourse?
You have several options. You could run hdmi straight to the pj and use optical for audio to the avr. The downside is that you would lose uncompressed hd audio.

You could look for a splitter with specific edid programming that might trick your components in to handshaking, but these are rare and yield mixed results.

You could run cat5 and try a balun, but these are expensive and still may not sync for 3D with all your gear.

You could upgrade your avr as suggested before.

I'm sure there are more options. My blu-ray player solution is probably the cheapest option that still allows you to retain the hd audio tracks in bluray while viewing full 3d/24p.
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar jimjimmyjones85
02:05 PM Liked: 10
post #1139 of 1140
01-04-2015 | Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 2009
Are there any affordable options for dual output players in the states?
fokakis1's Avatar fokakis1
10:20 PM Liked: 41
post #1140 of 1140
01-04-2015 | Posts: 197
Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post
Are there any affordable options for dual output players in the states?
This should do it, and for a great price:

http://m.ebay.com/itm/201089509983?nav=SEARCH
Tags: Epson , Epson Projector , Epson V11h501020 Powerlite Home Cinema 3020 2d And 3d Home Theater Projector , Epson V11h502020 Powerlite Home Cinema 3020e 2d And 3d 1080p Wireless Home Theater Projector

Gear in this thread
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3