BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 118 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Question why would someone buy the Darbee if that is what is called to get better video and spend $350 when the PJ cost ed around $950????? that is about a third of the PJ, wouldn't you rather just bought a PJ that cost $1,500 or so??? this boggles my little mind. I do not intent or would I want to intent on annoying anyone, just wondering why, am I missing something?

Ralph
zapper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I bought the Darbee when it first came out and have used it on JVC (rs45&46). Benq w7000, w1080st and w710. It greatly improved all projectors pq. Well worth the expense IMO.
tigerfan33 is online now  
post #3513 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BET THAT WAS NOT AS A HIGH PRICE NOW?????

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #3514 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Can't remember how much. $250-$270 I believe.
tigerfan33 is online now  
post #3515 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 175
The fixes are thus for the w1070 firmwares:

1.03

Problem-1- To improve the flickering when smart ECO mode + dynamic setting
Problem-2- To add “Background” color in OSD

1.04

Problem-1- When at low temperature environment, fan oil would become thickened, cause rotational speed of
fan can’t reach target then shut down.
Problem-2- Keystone bug: When playing 3D (Frame packing), and then switch to 2D, and keystone value
can’t be kept.

1.05

Problem-1- ISF setting cannot be saved
Problem-2- compatibility problem for some unique 3D DVD players(Philips)
Problem-3- OSD Swedish language of ”on& off” wrong translation
RLBURNSIDE is online now  
post #3516 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So you cannot save ISF settings with 1.04 or 1.05?

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #3517 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 11:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post

BET THAT WAS NOT AS A HIGH PRICE NOW?????

The price now isn't a huge difference than before. But you would have to see it. I haven't really looked at comparisons with it on and off with the 1070 but with the W7000, it was worth it. I don't think you will find a projector that is under $1500 that will give you the picture of the W1070 with the Darbee. I think the 2D picture of the W7000 and W1070 is similar. Add the Darbee with the W1070 and the W7000 without the Darbee, the W1070 with the Darbee will give the better picture.
blee0120 is offline  
post #3518 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 175
We have the w7000 at work (I make games), and it's a massive beast, but looks very similar.
RLBURNSIDE is online now  
post #3519 of 10558 Old 03-22-2013, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Having many jvc models, the W7000 doesn't look as big to me.
blee0120 is offline  
post #3520 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 175
If you're evaluating price / performance or size / performance, I'm sure the w1070 is better by a half. But, that said, you can never have too good a black level! I love my w1070, but I know its drawbacks. I'm spending more on stuff to keep me going until I can upgrade to the equivalent benq 4k model in a couple years, until then, happy projectin' watchin! I love reading those threads about the new 65 inch plasmas with beautiful blacks and bright as heck, and then realizing I spent less than 1/2 of that on my projector and love it 10x more than my old plasma, that had probably 2x as good black levels but who cares? This is good enough.
RLBURNSIDE is online now  
post #3521 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 12:10 AM
Member
 
dzenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post

So you cannot save ISF settings with 1.04 or 1.05?

No, I think that means those are the FIXES included in 1.05.
dzenc is offline  
post #3522 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 12:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 81
well I just ordered (4) 3dTVCorp 144hz glasses to go with my (1) BenQ D3, and I am finally going to be ordering the w1070 either tomorrow or monday ^_^ I am ecstatic and cant wait.

Projector: BenQ w1070 v1.06 + Painted N9 Grey 120" Screen
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR636 ATMOS + Darbee Media Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT 321 + ChromeCast
Speakers: Polk Audio TSX550t (FL, FR), CS2 Series II (Center), Monitor40 Series II (RL, RR),
Onkyo THX Bookshelf Speakers (Ceiling L,R) + Dual JL Audio 12" Subs + ButtKicker LFE Arrangement: 5.2.2
Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #3523 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

The fixes are thus for the w1070 firmwares:

1.03

Problem-1- To improve the flickering when smart ECO mode + dynamic setting
Problem-2- To add “Background” color in OSD

1.04

Problem-1- When at low temperature environment, fan oil would become thickened, cause rotational speed of
fan can’t reach target then shut down.
Problem-2- Keystone bug: When playing 3D (Frame packing), and then switch to 2D, and keystone value
can’t be kept.

1.05

Problem-1- ISF setting cannot be saved
Problem-2- compatibility problem for some unique 3D DVD players(Philips)
Problem-3- OSD Swedish language of ”on& off” wrong translation

Thanks for posting. This info lets people know if they should update or not. In most cases the answer should be no. "If it ain't broke don't fix it."
I had know about the fan speed issue fix and I often keep the projector in a very cool room so I did not want to take chances with the fan. I may be wrong but I think the fan is staying on longer after shutdown with the new firmware. I will time it next time I turn it off. Glad you posted the link to the firmware update thread. I posted my recommendations about firmware updates there.
rwestley is online now  
post #3524 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 01:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I admit I would like to have the added ISF functions but there is no way I am voiding my (already limited) 1 year warranty when we already get a fully functional CMS.

If I still have it in a year, the day after my warranty expires, I'll update. Although I have been considering adding a square trade 3 year warranty for $130 (unless anyone knows of a better one that's legit). wink.gif

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #3525 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 02:13 AM
Member
 
Nimoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Updating.....

Ok, 1.05 is go. Rather a tense few minutes there, but it's pretty straight forward so long as you take some time to carefully digest the instructions. I too was concerned about the fan and also still had some flicker in smart-eco mode. Time for some Dredd 3D.
Nimoy is offline  
post #3526 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimoy View Post

Updating.....

Ok, 1.05 is go. Rather a tense few minutes there, but it's pretty straight forward so long as you take some time to carefully digest the instructions. I too was concerned about the fan and also still had some flicker in smart-eco mode. Time for some Dredd 3D.

I also had a few tense moment but as you said the most important thing is to follow the instructions. It seems that we both updated for the same reasons. After putting in my data all is well again. I am really glad that I did not have to send it in.
rwestley is online now  
post #3527 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 06:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I'm tempted to update my w7000 firmware with the w1070 firmware, just so I can re-sell the w7000 for $600 less as a w1070. I know my jokes are bad, but at least I don't tell them THAT often smile.gif


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #3528 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimoy View Post

Updating.....

Ok, 1.05 is go. Rather a tense few minutes there, but it's pretty straight forward so long as you take some time to carefully digest the instructions. I too was concerned about the fan and also still had some flicker in smart-eco mode. Time for some Dredd 3D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post


I also had a few tense moment but as you said the most important thing is to follow the instructions. It seems that we both updated for the same reasons. After putting in my data all is well again. I am really glad that I did not have to send it in.

Any chance you both could post a detailed checklist of the procedure that you used to preform the update?

This way we could have sure way to do updates.

Sure would appreciate!

Thanks
Rew

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT310
Denon AVR-x5200w | C =Polk Audio C10 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 |TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Titanic Mk 10"
Rew452 is online now  
post #3529 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Where are updated firmware files located?
tigerfan33 is online now  
post #3530 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
superfanatico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated mine from 1.02, its a pretty simple install. Just download and install the dlp composer software then follow the instructions starting on page 60 for the usb method. My only caution would be and its a pretty obvious one make sure if your using a laptop that your battery is good and it should only take a few minutes.
superfanatico is offline  
post #3531 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
tonylx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I everyone smile.gif

My first post here.

Just bought this projector and been exploring the calibration and overal the image is really good.

Bought this glasses
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2X-DLP-PRO-4G-die-leichteste-DLP-Link-3D-Brille-der-Welt-Fur-DLP-3D-Beamer-/160993683373?pt=DE_TV_Video_Audio_3D_TV_Brillen_Zubeh%C3%B6r&hash=item257bf8a7ad#ht_3153wt_1398


Just one thing, the projector never shuts down , there is allways the power light on , and i can hear a buzzing sound ( very slightly ) but there, coming from inside the projector when he is in stand by mode. Do any of you hear this buzzing sound to? bad projector?
tonylx is offline  
post #3532 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfanatico View Post

I just updated mine from 1.02, its a pretty simple install. Just download and install the dlp composer software then follow the instructions starting on page 60 for the usb method. My only caution would be and its a pretty obvious one make sure if your using a laptop that your battery is good and it should only take a few minutes.

OK I think I et that but 2 questions;

What operating system? Win7 etc..

Did you use the Service Tool as said at the end of the procedure?

Thanks
Rew

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT310
Denon AVR-x5200w | C =Polk Audio C10 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 |TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Titanic Mk 10"
Rew452 is online now  
post #3533 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
superfanatico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew452 View Post

OK I think I et that but 2 questions;

What operating system? Win7 etc..

Did you use the Service Tool as said at the end of the procedure?

Thanks
, Rew

My guess is it would work on all since you don't need to mess with the drivers section but I personally used Windows 8 x64.

Also no I didn't use the service tool, like someone said earlier its only to import your old settings because it will reset. So just write down any changes that you have made.
superfanatico is offline  
post #3534 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So it basically does a factory reset. Setting all to their defaults; right?

Makes sense.

So best to write down all changed setting before doing update.

I think I'll study the procedure and give it a try.

Thanks again
Rew

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT310
Denon AVR-x5200w | C =Polk Audio C10 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 |TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Titanic Mk 10"
Rew452 is online now  
post #3535 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

I admit I would like to have the added ISF functions but there is no way I am voiding my (already limited) 1 year warranty when we already get a fully functional CMS.

Do the ISF modes add any controls that the normal "User" modes don't have (Like 10pt greyscale,) or is their sole contribution the password?
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #3536 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Thanks, Is there a sharpness pattern on the AVS disc? Anyone know.

Yes there is a sharpness pattern on the AVCHD disc.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #3537 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post

Do the ISF modes add any controls that the normal "User" modes don't have (Like 10pt greyscale,) or is their sole contribution the password?

There is a Lamp WaveForm setting which seems to be a sort of color temp control I gather, but really have no clue. It also has a CCA menu which looks like a CMS, but with different controls, but my guess is that you could accomplish the same goals with the CMS, but again, just guessing as I've never seen controls laid out that way or heard of a CCA. No 10pt greyscale. Still a 2pt.

My opinion is that the ISF mode is unnecessary. You have white balance controls and a full CMS in the user menu. Other than a better fine tuning of the gamma control, what else do you really need to dial the PJ in? Especially one that is this close out of the box, and has a greyscale that tracks so linearly.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #3538 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Speaking of this PJ and dialing it in. That was the easiest calibration ever lol. With a few minor adjustments to the Gains/Drives, the greyscale was basically perfect. Didin't even have to touch the Offsets/Cuts. Only blip is at 10IRE with a deltaE of 2. Every other point is well below 1 with an average deltaE of .84.

I've never done a projector profile before, but the hardest part was actually aiming the meter at the center and positioning the tripod. I have an expensive THX Panasonic plasma, and have done some of my friends sets as well, and their "reference" THX modes could never track this well, though they came close. Even still, it required many hours of adjustments to get them to do so. To think that a budget Projector is this close to dialed in out of the box, is crazy to me. Art at PJ reviews was right. You could just increase the Red Gain a bit and be close to perfection. Calibration is always the best way to go, but if there are any out there that don't have a meter and software already, it isn't an absolute must to go out and spend the money just to profile this PJ.

Meter was instrumental in one area. I'm so used to the Warm temp of a display being the closest to reference out of the box that I assumed that this display was no different. Turns out that Normal is closest to a linear greyscale OOTB.

Brings up one oddity with this PJ that I haven't encountered with any flat panel display. When you adjust the greyscle for a given color temp, the white balance adjustments become universal. By that I mean, if you change the white balance of Normal, then switch to Warm, the same Gains and Offset values will be there. I'm used to each color temp having their own Gains and Offsets values. The values are what determines them being cool or warm. I guess on a PJ the temp is a function of the lamp? Not a big deal as there is no reason to use any other color temp than the reference one. It just caught me by surprise is all as I have never seen that before. Tried resetting all the Picture Settings, but the white balance remained unaffected. Again, weird, but maybe it's old hat to the veteran PJ profilers.

I only did the greyscale though. Going to delve into the CMS tonight and then do another greyscale run. Not going to get much of an improvement I'd guess, but I just like to do cals lol. My OCD strikes every time.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #3539 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I will try to post detailed instructions on doing the firmware instructions tomorrow. I have to go out today.

Regarding calibration, I agree it was very easy. In fact it is quite good out of the box and only need a few touch ups.
rwestley is online now  
post #3540 of 10558 Old 03-23-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
themagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just for future reference did you upgrade thru USB drive/thumb drive or other method.
Is USB drive/thumb drive best upgrade method according to some just need to make sure save settings or write them down?????? because ALL will be reset to manufacture standards thru USB???????????
And how long did the whole process take???????
Please advice thanks in advance
themagic is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off