BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 157 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cowboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman_Mike View Post

Not to sound like a broken record, but use the calculator on the BenQ site. It is more representative of how the PJ performs in real life than PJ Central's.

The closest you could place it is 9' 2" for 110" when you are zoomed all the way out. That is the size screen I have and where I have my PJ placed pretty much. Not sure of the farthest back, but I'd use the BenQ calc to see.
Hey thanks. I can have this pj 11'11" away from my 110" screen.
Cowboys is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post

About the previous post that I mention about the spear inside the lens. Came today the replacement and is the same. That's mean is usual to the projectors. The image is the same except I have to put the keystone from -1 before to -2 now

Is remounting an option? You really don't want to use any keystone.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #4683 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 03:10 PM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman_Mike View Post

Is remounting an option? You really don't

want to use any keystone.
I use the mustang mount and gave me hard time to fix it. I don't see any distortion on the image with -2 keystone.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #4684 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 03:18 PM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post

I use the mustang mount and gave me hard
time to fix it. I don't see any distortion on the image with -2 keystone.
Do you know how much distance from the ceiling and how much the screen has to be from the ceiling? The installation of this pj give me hard time.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #4685 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
acras13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles , CA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post

Do you know how much distance from the ceiling and how much the screen has to be from the ceiling? The installation of this pj give me hard time.


I'll borrow stuntman's quote earlier...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman_Mike View Post

Not to sound like a broken record, but use the calculator on the BenQ site. It is more representative of how the PJ performs in real life than PJ Central's.

The info you are looking for is on Ben Q's calc. And the "smear" you see has been covered too, is the slight reflection of the protected image on the glass lens.

“Loyalty to country ALWAYS. Loyalty to government, when it deserves it.”---Mark Twain
acras13 is offline  
post #4686 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 07:23 PM
GCS
AVS Special Member
 
GCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 1,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
So mine was delivered today and I just got done doing a makeshift setup on it (its sitting on a box in the room with an HDMI cable running across the floor).

Out of the box I have to admit it is pretty damn spectacular. It looks just as good if not better than my W6000. Surprisingly enough it is plenty bright (I was worried it wouldn't be since it is less lumens than the W6000)

Watched some of Avatar 3D and man it looks good. At the moment the only downer I have is that when watching 3D I almost feel my screen is too small, LOL.

Oh and everyone was EXACTLY RIGHT ... this remote SUCKS!
acras13 likes this.

XBL Gamertag - blowfish7494

"Pull up your big boy pants and deal with it" - The Wife!

 

"Put on your man suit and fake it" - The Wife

GCS is offline  
post #4687 of 10167 Old 05-09-2013, 07:25 PM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidK442 View Post

The advice is always not to use keystone, and though I was able to set my W1070 up so it wasn't needed I did play around with it.
I'm with you. A little keystone doesn't have an obvious affect. Maybe with your nose to the screen scrutinizing each pixel you might see it.
If you are happy with the picture call it a day.

Thanks a lot. Maybe I am gonna try later to fix it without keystone. This is my 3rd replacement and I realized that wasn't necessary to replace.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #4688 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCS View Post

So mine was delivered today and I just got done doing a makeshift setup on it (its sitting on a box in the room with an HDMI cable running across the floor).

Out of the box I have to admit it is pretty damn spectacular. It looks just as good if not better than my W6000. Surprisingly enough it is plenty bright (I was worried it wouldn't be since it is less lumens than the W6000)

Watched some of Avatar 3D and man it looks good. At the moment the only downer I have is that when watching 3D I almost feel my screen is too small, LOL.

Oh and everyone was EXACTLY RIGHT ... this remote SUCKS!

My remote actually died eek.gif. Good thing I have my Harmony. The thing that really bothers me is that this is the replacement remote that I got with my projector that came last week, so the remote lasted a week, and I barely even used it lol.

I'll tell BenQ to send another just because, but it isn't a big deal, because, like I said, I never use it unless the Harmony misses the second power off command for the PJ and I have to turn it off with the w1070 remote. Easier than going through the Harmony and selecting the BenQ device. Happens almost never, though.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #4689 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post

Thanks a lot. Maybe I am gonna try later to fix it without keystone. This is my 3rd replacement and I realized that wasn't necessary to replace.

May not be noticeable, but you are losing resolution and are more likely to have artifacts with keystone. Just the thought of not getting a true 1080p image is enough to make me want to avoid it like the plague, but if you have no choice, you have no choice.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #4690 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
For anyone that needs a 15' HDMI cable with Redmere tech, Newegg has one that is free after rebate. $21.99 for the cable. $21.99 rebate.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?SID=iTHStrl4EeKhAubHJGciMA0_cDUY3_0_0_0&AID=10440897&PID=1225267&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-cables-_-na-_-na&Item=N82E16882422054&cm_sp=

Too short for my PJ run (currently using a 30' Redmere cable) and too big really for any other component, but maybe it will fit some of your needs, so I'm passing it along.
acras13 likes this.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #4691 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 02:39 PM
Member
 
determined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here looking to purchase my first PJ and have been trying to read up on info.

What decently priced ceiling mount do you guys recommend using with this projector?

Also, is this projector designed for any type of console gaming? PS3 or Xbox 360? Just wondering what response time it has?
determined is offline  
post #4692 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post

I use the mustang mount and gave me hard time to fix it. I don't see any distortion on the image with -2 keystone.


It seems that a lot of people are using the Mustang mount, as far as gaming haven't heard any one complaining about the PS3 in regards to the XBOX why not but I am not a gamer

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #4693 of 10167 Old 05-10-2013, 08:16 PM
Member
 
DaylightSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by determined View Post

Newbie here looking to purchase my first PJ and have been trying to read up on info.

What decently priced ceiling mount do you guys recommend using with this projector?

Also, is this projector designed for any type of console gaming? PS3 or Xbox 360? Just wondering what response time it has?

No problems with lag or other issues for me on PS3 or Xbox 360.
DaylightSM is offline  
post #4694 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 04:51 AM
Member
 
nightnday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by determined View Post

Newbie here looking to purchase my first PJ and have been trying to read up on info.

What decently priced ceiling mount do you guys recommend using with this projector?

Also, is this projector designed for any type of console gaming? PS3 or Xbox 360? Just wondering what response time it has?
I have 224 hours on mind practically used for everday viewing since I got about 3 weeks ago I believe... Everything looks great I been using mine on economic mode because I'm not really sure how much lamp life im saving.

With smart eco I feel its the same as normal... but even at 120" economic mode is plenty bright for me. I have had no problems with gaming with the ps3 or xbox. 3D looks fantastic. About the responce time "The BenQ w1070 put up some respectable numbers. (0-40ms) and averaged a solid 20ms." from http://www.projectorreviews.com/game-projector-blog/review-benq-w1070.html

btw Amazon currently has this for $939.00 with free shipping.
nightnday is offline  
post #4695 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
AVS is having a contest so get to writing your review of your Benq W1070 and win!

Details in link. Good luck.



http://www.avsforum.com/t/1472062/review-your-projector-win-an-amazon-shopping-spree

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
post #4696 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
lithoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote btw Amazon currently has this for $939.00 with free shipping.[/quote]

Bought my 1070 ....30 days ago, paid 975.00 called Amazon today and got the discount difference.
Customer service said they will make an exception as their policy is a 7 day match not 30...
I said well thank you very much.
lithoman is offline  
post #4697 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 02:22 PM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for the notice, I called and they refund me too. I love this forum.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #4698 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cowboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Question about ceiling mount this pj. I will be ceiling mounting it 11' away from my 96" left to right screen. Do I want the pj mounted at exact half point of my screen width or do I need to have its Len at half point instead since the pj Len is a few inches off its center? Thanks.
Cowboys is offline  
post #4699 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 04:03 PM
Bez
Newbie
 
Bez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys, I put the Disney WOW disc in last night to have a go at some basic calibration with my w1070.
When I tried to adjust the contrast I could never get the three bars on the right to appear.

Whats the best way to calibrate without any tools.

Can I just copy someone else's calibrated settings ?
Bez is offline  
post #4700 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ktoolsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's not right. Assuming you haven't really messed around with the RGB gains, you should be able to reduce contrast until the bars become visible (you did try reducing contrast, right?).

I would do a reset to default settings first. If you still can't view the bars, check your settings - maybe you're on PC and not video setting.
ktoolsie is offline  
post #4701 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 07:04 PM
Member
 
GeroJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboys View Post

Question about ceiling mount this pj. I will be ceiling mounting it 11' away from my 96" left to right screen. Do I want the pj mounted at exact half point of my screen width or do I need to have its Len at half point instead since the pj Len is a few inches off its center? Thanks.
Horizontally, you want the center of the lens at the center of the screen.

GeroJ is offline  
post #4702 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
acras13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles , CA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboys View Post

Question about ceiling mount this pj. I will be ceiling mounting it 11' away from my 96" left to right screen. Do I want the pj mounted at exact half point of my screen width or do I need to have its Len at half point instead since the pj Len is a few inches off its center? Thanks.

LOL this should be fun. A couple weeks ago I asked how far to the left the mount needed to be because of the lens being off center and got several answers discussing lens offset and adjustments internal to the pj for adjusting the picture. The lens center is 2.67" from the center of the pj as found in the benq data sheet ftp://downloads.benq.net/projector/datasheets/w1070/w1070_specsheet_bqus_apr2013.pdf

“Loyalty to country ALWAYS. Loyalty to government, when it deserves it.”---Mark Twain
acras13 is offline  
post #4703 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 08:27 PM
Member
 
GeroJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I plan to protect my W1070 with a UPS to allow a controlled shutdown during a power outage.

Does anyone have experience and know if this projector works properly with an approximate sine wave UPS, or if it requires a pure sine wave UPS? It if my understanding that a system needing pure sine wave power shuts down just like a power outage when the approximation units switch to battery mode! A total waste of precious funds/time!

Thanks for any guidance.

GeroJ is offline  
post #4704 of 10167 Old 05-11-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Projectors don't require Pure Sine Wave UPS, but you can get CyberPower Pure-Sine UPS fairly inexpensive anyhow. PureSine might be better, there is a lot of debate on that for projectors, but I can assure you PJ's do not require it, they will keep running in a power outage on a regular UPS. I've got first-hand experience with it happening to me.


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #4705 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 03:16 AM
Newbie
 
elispv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, it would be great if it even hit half that and was still not completely dim. 4.gif
elispv is offline  
post #4706 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 04:14 AM
Member
 
Venturai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a word of caution to everyone, I turned on my W1070 a little earlier today and the internal fan didn't start up. It was dead quiet. At first I thought there was something wrong until the image appeared, and I figured maybe it was just cold. That is, until I could smell a burning smell, then I knew something wasn't up.

Pressing the power button on the remote had no effect, so in a panic, I went over to the power and disconnected it. The fan turned on the next couple of times I attempted to fire the unit back up, but the lamp light was lit up red and there was no display. Eventually, the light went away, and the image was displayed again as normal.

I've had mine for less than a month, and if it happens again I reckon I'll just return it, but from now on, whenever I'm starting mine up I don't leave the room until I can hear that fan spinning.
Venturai is offline  
post #4707 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 164
That can't be good for the lamp! Wonder what happened... What version firmware are you running?

BenQ W1070 Projector; Xtreamer Ultra 2 (running XBMC on OpenELEC) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio. MediaBrowser3 for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #4708 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Venturai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

That can't be good for the lamp! Wonder what happened... What version firmware are you running?

Mine is at v1.02, even though I only purchased late April (I'm in Australia). I've still got 10 days before the end of my first month.

I noticed someone else in this thread (been having a good read through) had much the same problem, and shot off a message to him about it. He says he hasn't had an issue since then, but If it happens again, I'll be returning mine.
Venturai is offline  
post #4709 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
themove1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Venturai,
I would send it back and try to get one that has either v1.04 or v1.05 or you can upgrade it yourself it's not that complicated.

There are steps in this forum on how to upgrade.
Not much of a difference between either version 1.04 or 1.05 but definitely big difference between 1.02
themove1 is offline  
post #4710 of 10167 Old 05-12-2013, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curtishd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do these projectors run hot and does the fan make a lot of noise?
curtishd is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off