BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

The lens shift gives you about 5% as a rough estimate, and it is annoying that the site does not let you adjust it. In a nutshell, only plan the lens shift to fine tune it and make it fit exactly, because it is only roughly 5" of play depending on screen size.

I agree that the lens shift is small but it was enough for me using the Mustang mount on an 8' ceiling. It was great for touch up and fine tune the projector. That being said it is important to get things a close as possible without using lens shift. You want to also avoid using the keystone adjustment.
rwestley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 05:23 AM
Member
 
tryrrthg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the W1070 about a week ago and am projecting it on a temporary blackout cloth screen. My room is completely light controlled. The projector is around 12 feet from the screen projecting around a 110" screen. I'm sitting 13 feet back. Projector is set to ECO mode and Cinema. I am a SO annoyed to report that I see rainbows. Watching Star Wars Episode IV I see rainbows A LOT, especially in the dark scenes inside the Death Star where there are bright lights in the background, or on white text on a dark scene.

I did some reading in this thread last night and I may be outputing 24hz refresh rate from my Sony S550 blu-ray player so I might turn that off and see if the BenQ color wheel speeds up a bit. I read that the 24hz refresh rate causes the color wheel to run at it's slowest. Is this true?

Are there any blu-ray players that would allow me to output at 50hz to increase the color wheel speed even more?

Is there anything else I can do to tame the rainbows???
tryrrthg is online now  
post #5043 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith AP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Hersey View Post

What refresh rate is required for 3d? is 120hz just needed for frame sequential? I would think images that are put into one frame would work fine at Framepacked 60hz. Very confused

Jonathan, here's info pasted from the manual...

Format Resolution Refresh rate (Hz) H. Freq. (KHz) Pixel Freq. (MHz) Aspect
480i** 720 (1440) x 480 59.94 15.73 27 16:9
480p 720 x 480 59.94 31.47 27 16:9
576i 720 (1440) x 576 50 15.63 27 16:9
576p 720 x 576 50 31.25 27 16:9
720/50p* 1280 x 720 50 37.5 74.25 16:9
720/60p* 1280 x 720 60 45.00 74.25 16:9
1080/24P* 1920 x 1080 24 27 74.25 16:9
1080/25P 1920 x 1080 25 28.13 74.25 16:9
1080/30P 1920 x 1080 30 33.75 74.25 16:9
1080/50i*** 1920 x 1080 50 28.13 74.25 16:9
1080/60i*** 1920 x 1080 60 33.75 74.25 16:9
1080/50P 1920 x 1080 50 56.25 148.5 16:9
1080/60P 1920 x 1080 60 67.5 148.5 16:9

*Supported timing for 3D signal with Frame Packing and Top-Bottom format.
**Supported timing for 3D signal with Frame Sequential format.
***Supported timing for 3D signal with Side-by-Side format.
Keith AP is offline  
post #5044 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Sinistre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
a soft bundle (as per a previous posters' query) is when the additional items are not packaged with the same box,,, as in, they didn't leave the factory that way. The glasses will be in their own separate package. Very good to hear except i'm still not in Canada, lol. With there being almost no difference thesd\e days (with regards to exchange rate 0, why not offer same deal to us Americans's!?mad.gif lol.

I'm getting there....!!!
Sinistre1 is offline  
post #5045 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 07:40 AM
Member
 
mekret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by acras13 View Post

Didn't someone in the last couple pages mention he had over 900 hours?

I'm at 1756 hours.
mekret is offline  
post #5046 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I know I'm a bit late to the conversation, but I've been reading about the ND2 and above filters and how they improve black levels, but haven't noticed any with and without pictures. Are there any available by chance? I'm real curious to how much it improves.

CheYC is offline  
post #5047 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 18,207
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by CheYC View Post

I know I'm a bit late to the conversation, but I've been reading about the ND2 and above filters and how they improve black levels, but haven't noticed any with and without pictures. Are there any available by chance? I'm real curious to how much it improves.

 

As DavidK442 says, a lot of variables.  I find it an essential item in my small HT because with a throw distance of only 9 feet, the PJ is simply too bright. I am aiming for a calibrated foot lambert reading of about 12 - without the ND filter it is 47!  I bought a cheap one just to assess the improvement it made - then a decent quality one (Hoya) after proof of concept. Cheap filters can often have an undesired effect on the colour - they are supposed to be 'neutral' which means they pass the colours untouched, but cheap ones often have a cast to them. I am a photographer and have had chance to compare several side by side in the past and the difference among the cheap ones is quite staggering.  If you buy one from Amazon or some place with a good return policy, you could just go for a Hoya right off the bat.  You will also need an adapter ring (step up ring) - 67 to 72mm. The adapter fits into the w1070 with a bit of jiggling about and the 72mm filter fits the adapter. It's a reasonably neat solution and allows for easy removal when required (3D for example). 

CheYC likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5048 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

The lens shift gives you about 5% as a rough estimate, and it is annoying that the site does not let you adjust it. In a nutshell, only plan the lens shift to fine tune it and make it fit exactly, because it is only roughly 5" of play depending on screen size.

Ok so I have an :

8 foot ceiling
106 inch screen

Whats the lowest point that I could put bottom of screen with a 10" ceiling mount?

Thanks

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #5049 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidK442 View Post

The benefit of the filter REALLY depends on so many factors, including your screen type, screen size, contol of reflected & ambient light, type of video you watch (dark movies, sports, cartoons, etc) and personal preference. A large, low gain screen for sports likely would not benefit from the filter. A smaller, more reflective screen for dark movies definately.
I will see if I can take some representative pictures on my setup once my replacement projector arrives, but in the end my advice is to spend the $40 and try it yourself.

Do you have the projector? How do you like it?

Thanks. I'll be using it mostly for movies, in a light controlled room on a 1.1 gain screen, not sure if I'm going 110" or 120" inch... I'll mostly likely need it for movie watching.

I don't have the projector yet, I'm seriously considering it along with an epson 5010 though. I really want the best 3D out there, but I also don't want to suffer TOO much in black level, which is why I think a removable filter for a 1070 would be ideal.

CheYC is offline  
post #5050 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tryrrthg View Post

I got the W1070 about a week ago and am projecting it on a temporary blackout cloth screen. My room is completely light controlled. The projector is around 12 feet from the screen projecting around a 110" screen. I'm sitting 13 feet back. Projector is set to ECO mode and Cinema. I am a SO annoyed to report that I see rainbows. Watching Star Wars Episode IV I see rainbows A LOT, especially in the dark scenes inside the Death Star where there are bright lights in the background, or on white text on a dark scene.

I did some reading in this thread last night and I may be outputing 24hz refresh rate from my Sony S550 blu-ray player so I might turn that off and see if the BenQ color wheel speeds up a bit. I read that the 24hz refresh rate causes the color wheel to run at it's slowest. Is this true?

Are there any blu-ray players that would allow me to output at 50hz to increase the color wheel speed even more?

Is there anything else I can do to tame the rainbows???

Neither me or my wife see the RBE but we do on Star Wars. We saw it especially on SW Episode II...On the other fifty or so movies watched, not a bit of it. Hopefully it is the same for you!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McStyvie is offline  
post #5051 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidK442 View Post

Hmmm. Apparently you are fighting a righteous, but ultimately losing battle my friend.
It's alright I guess because after 170 pages there probably isn't much more that needs to be said about the W1070 anyway.
Saying that, I would love to hear from anyone who has made it 1000 hours without multiple exchanges or something blowing up. smile.gif
My Acer made it over 4000 hours before the fan died (2 years). To put it in pespective my 20 year old 28" Sony Trinitron CRT probably had 30,000+ hours on it and was still going strong before being laid to rest.
Projectors...what's that saying..."Here for a good time, not a long time. So have a good time, the lamp doesn't shine everyday."....or something like that. smile.gif

Closing in on 800 and no problems thus far. Will keep you posted.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #5052 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 18,207
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

The lens shift gives you about 5% as a rough estimate, and it is annoying that the site does not let you adjust it. In a nutshell, only plan the lens shift to fine tune it and make it fit exactly, because it is only roughly 5" of play depending on screen size.

Ok so I have an :

8 foot ceiling
106 inch screen

Whats the lowest point that I could put bottom of screen with a 10" ceiling mount?

Thanks

 

Best to use the online calculator here:

 

http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

 

This one does the same basic job but also has some additional functionality:

 

http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com/

 

You can feed in your figures and play around.

 

 

As you can see, assuming a 10 foot throw and a 106 inch screen, and the PJ set to roughly the midpoint of the zoom, and a 10 inch drop on the mount, you can have the base of the screen at 2ft 8in from the floor and 1ft from the ceiling.

 

Remember the ceiling distance is calculated from the ceiling to the centre of the lens, so I am not sure if you included that in your 10 inches or not. If not, add it to the 10 inches and play around with the calculator till you see the correct info.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5053 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Best to use the online calculator here:

http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

This one does the same basic job but also has some additional functionality:

http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com/

You can feed in your figures and play around.




As you can see, assuming a 10 foot throw and a 106 inch screen, and the PJ set to roughly the midpoint of the zoom, and a 10 inch drop on the mount, you can have the base of the screen at 2ft 8in from the floor and 1ft from the ceiling.

Remember the ceiling distance is calculated from the ceiling to the centre of the lens, so I am not sure if you included that in your 10 inches or not. If not, add it to the 10 inches and play around with the calculator till you see the correct info.

What he said lol...thanks Keith smile.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McStyvie is offline  
post #5054 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Best to use the online calculator here:

http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

This one does the same basic job but also has some additional functionality:

http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com/

You can feed in your figures and play around.




As you can see, assuming a 10 foot throw and a 106 inch screen, and the PJ set to roughly the midpoint of the zoom, and a 10 inch drop on the mount, you can have the base of the screen at 2ft 8in from the floor and 1ft from the ceiling.

Remember the ceiling distance is calculated from the ceiling to the centre of the lens, so I am not sure if you included that in your 10 inches or not. If not, add it to the 10 inches and play around with the calculator till you see the correct info.

What he said lol...thanks Keith smile.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McStyvie is offline  
post #5055 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 05:34 PM
Member
 
tryrrthg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

Neither me or my wife see the RBE but we do on Star Wars. We saw it especially on SW Episode II...On the other fifty or so movies watched, not a bit of it. Hopefully it is the same for you!

Good to know, thanks!

I put the lamp mode on economical instead of smart eco to dim the lamp a bit. I also turned off the 24hz output on my blu-ray player and it is now outputing 60hz. Both of those have helped and rainbows are not as bad as they were before, but I can still see them. They are more acceptable now. I ordered a cheap ND2 filter and step up ring to see if that helps at all. I figure I'll spend $8 on that set and see if it helps, if it does I'll shell out some more money for a Hoya ND filter.
tryrrthg is online now  
post #5056 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Best to use the online calculator here:

http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

This one does the same basic job but also has some additional functionality:

http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com/

You can feed in your figures and play around.




As you can see, assuming a 10 foot throw and a 106 inch screen, and the PJ set to roughly the midpoint of the zoom, and a 10 inch drop on the mount, you can have the base of the screen at 2ft 8in from the floor and 1ft from the ceiling.

Remember the ceiling distance is calculated from the ceiling to the centre of the lens, so I am not sure if you included that in your 10 inches or not. If not, add it to the 10 inches and play around with the calculator till you see the correct info.

ty but this does not calculate lens offset.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #5057 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
FYI I have used the BenQ page to measure my "rough" projector hanging calculations. That said... does anyone know of a mono price mount that will work with not only this projector but future upgrades?

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #5058 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 09:26 PM
Member
 
jp86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also in discussion about mounting the projector using the BenQ site calculations. At default the it has the Zoom ratio set at 1.00. Am I correct in assuming that is the zoom ratio with the most clarity or am I thinking backwards? Thanks!
jp86 is offline  
post #5059 of 10058 Old 06-18-2013, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
///3oris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm just curious does anyone else have HDMI cable problems? It's very finicky... I have to plug the cable in just right. If I move it just a little it loses signal and I have to play with it for another few minutes to work again. I've tried 3 different cables and the same happens with them all. Plugged 2 of them into my TV and no such problems. It's like it barely makes the connection.

Do I have a defective unit or something?

Thanks...

Internet Certified Electrical Engineer
"I am just looking for an honest man."
///3oris is offline  
post #5060 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 01:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by tryrrthg View Post

I also turned off the 24hz output on my blu-ray player and it is now outputing 60hz. Both of those have helped and rainbows are not as bad as they were before

If your blu-ray has an option to output at 50hz instead, you'll see even fewer since the color wheel runs even faster.

BenQ W1070 Projector; Xtreamer Ultra 2 (running XBMC on OpenELEC) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio. MediaBrowser3 for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #5061 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 03:50 AM
Member
 
tryrrthg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

If your blu-ray has an option to output at 50hz instead, you'll see even fewer since the color wheel runs even faster.
My Blu-Ray player does not have this option. Do you know of any (reasonably priced) players that do?
tryrrthg is online now  
post #5062 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Anyone have an idea of how many inches it is from the top of the projector to the center of the lens? Just trying to get an idea of how many inches I'll actually be from the ceiling if I buy a given mount (say a 5" mount). Thanks!

CheYC is offline  
post #5063 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Slick Wilhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///3oris View Post

I'm just curious does anyone else have HDMI cable problems? It's very finicky... I have to plug the cable in just right. If I move it just a little it loses signal and I have to play with it for another few minutes to work again. I've tried 3 different cables and the same happens with them all. Plugged 2 of them into my TV and no such problems. It's like it barely makes the connection.

Do I have a defective unit or something?

Thanks...

I experienced this once, and only once(thank goodness!). I did have to wiggle the cable on both devices, but it's been rock solid since. I certainly didn't have to wiggle it more than once or twice, though. Sounds like you have to spend much more time at it. I'm not sure how you would solve this problem, assuming that you're getting the same behavior on both HDMI ports.
Slick Wilhelm is offline  
post #5064 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
acras13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles , CA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CheYC View Post

Anyone have an idea of how many inches it is from the top of the projector to the center of the lens? Just trying to get an idea of how many inches I'll actually be from the ceiling if I buy a given mount (say a 5" mount). Thanks!

I posted the distance, or at least a link to how to find it a while back in this thread. I'm mobile right now and don't have the time at the moment to hung it down, but on benq website look for downloads for the w1070, there are detailed measurements of the pj in one of the 2 downloads. I THINK it's 1.9", but not 100% sure about that.
CheYC likes this.

“Loyalty to country ALWAYS. Loyalty to government, when it deserves it.”---Mark Twain
acras13 is offline  
post #5065 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Auric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///3oris View Post

I'm just curious does anyone else have HDMI cable problems? It's very finicky... I have to plug the cable in just right. If I move it just a little it loses signal and I have to play with it for another few minutes to work again. I've tried 3 different cables and the same happens with them all. Plugged 2 of them into my TV and no such problems. It's like it barely makes the connection.

Do I have a defective unit or something?

Thanks...

Could it be this ?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1435626/benq-w1070-dlp-full-hd-3d-ready-with-lens-shift-for-1000/5010#post_23386332
///3oris likes this.
Auric is offline  
post #5066 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
///3oris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

That sounds exactly right... because the connector only "snaps in" at the last 1/8" and I really have to press hard... definitely crappy design, but I won't be cutting my case. Tech support said they haven't heard of this before so it could be the unit. Suggested swapping it for another one.

Internet Certified Electrical Engineer
"I am just looking for an honest man."
///3oris is offline  
post #5067 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
hotjt133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///3oris View Post

That sounds exactly right... because the connector only "snaps in" at the last 1/8" and I really have to press hard... definitely crappy design, but I won't be cutting my case. Tech support said they haven't heard of this before so it could be the unit. Suggested swapping it for another one.

You can probably cut the plastic of your HDMI plug to make it thinner so hopefully it can insert deeper.

I also found HDMI plug to be sensitive, but in my case it is not on the PJ. I have a 7.5m cable through the wall and roof and it has always been working solid since install, but yesterday it suddently can't detect signal. Worked ok on all other cables but just not this long one. Very frustrated because I really don't want to climb into the roof (again) to swap cables... but fortunately the problem is on the inside socket of my wall plate. After a bit of wiggling it worked, so hopefully I only need to swap the wall plate.

I think it is not a good idea to swap the PJ if nothing major is going wrong. Benq's quality control is not very tight, you may very well get a new unit with other issues. My first PJ works ok, but the left and right side can't focus at the same time. It is only noticable on test pattern and fonts, but not video. There are also faint cricket sound after 1 hour of use. They are all minor and I can certainly tolerate them if I'm not too fussy. But I am fussy! I have debated for a long time whether to risk other faults to change it. But eventually I bit the bullet and changed it after 4 weeks from purchase. Unlike Amazon, in Australia it is a hard fight to get it changed. In the end they gave me a new unit with the same build date and firmware. I was lucky that the new unit has a much better uniform focus, and a little less CA, and no cricket sound. Time will tell whether it will develop cricket sound later on, but at least the focus issue is gone. So I'm happy, for now.

Swaping unit is really like a lottery.
DavidK442 likes this.
hotjt133 is offline  
post #5068 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I just got mine today. I guess I should get it out and start running it to make sure there are no issues. I won't have a screen up or projector hung for a while.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #5069 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 05:12 PM
Member
 
OZReddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by tryrrthg View Post

I ordered a cheap ND2 filter and step up ring to see if that helps at all. I figure I'll spend $8 on that set and see if it helps, if it does I'll shell out some more money for a Hoya ND filter.

If the 'cheap set' of ND2 work then why would you then purchase the considerably more expensive Hoya ND filter? I am intrigued ..... I have both a 'cheap' ND2 >$5 and a variable filter (both work well for 2D) and I don't see why you would need to get a more expensive one.
OZReddog is offline  
post #5070 of 10058 Old 06-19-2013, 05:15 PM
Member
 
OZReddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

I just got mine today. I guess I should get it out and start running it to make sure there are no issues. I won't have a screen up or projector hung for a while.

How have you resisted taking the projector out and using it? You must have a very strong willpower.

Seriously, get it out and try it as your return/replacement clock is ticking. BUT, remember if you do take it out and use it I am sure it will force you to get a screen up and the projector hung sooner than you have planned as you will get great pleasure out of it!! LOL.
OZReddog is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off