BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 178 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP > BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$

Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
02:11 PM Liked: 180
post #5311 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
Good news Everyone!!

http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/31056697.jpg

Firmware 1.06 is out.

Fixes:

-1- Hg bridge problem symptom: can’t turn on a projector, but NDF after transportation; few cases found in BQC.
There is Hg (Mercury) in a lamp bulb. Whenever the liquid mercury make the Short-circuit of electrodes of the lamp, the unit can’t
be turn on. To change the cooling status and lamp ignition behavior can make mercury condense at different locations of a bulb.
Due to Hg (Mercury) changing the location in lamp bulbs during transportation, it will be NDF in ASP.
-2- To improve power-on while system initializing
-3- To improve Philips DVD compatibility issue(BQC)
-4- Add 3D format as appendix
-5- Adjust Audio Curve for BQjp
-6- Japanese OSD correction for Cool and Warm (BQjp)
-7-To enhance HDMI searching speed
-8- To update RC code for new remote RCV011
-9- To modify the gain value to improve HDMI signal searching ability
-10- To add model name W1250 in Factory OSD (only W1070)

Added support for 3D formats:
1280x720p@59/94/60 Hz -- SBS added
1280x720p@50Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@23.98/24Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@59.94/60Hz - Top Bottom - added
1920x1080p@50Hz - Top Bottom - added

Download Link Here*:

http://www28.zippyshare.com/v/62963810/file.html

*Warning: Install AT YOUR OWN RISK. I accept no personal blame or liability for your projector being bricked if it doesn't work. I haven't tested it yet myself, and even if I did, you should be aware that installing this will void your warranty and could result in a non-functional device.

I'm going to install it later because finally a firmware does something I want (more 3D formats)
Cowboys's Avatar Cowboys
02:18 PM Liked: 106
post #5312 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 1,346
Joined: Jun 2012
^^
Can't wait. I have 1.04. This 1.06 has more 3D option. Sweet. Thanks.
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
02:24 PM Liked: 180
post #5313 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I think I found the link for firmware updates. Page 107 of thread.

ftp://62.141.76.120/driver/projectors/w1070

username 1070 password--password.

You might also want to try using password under both user name and password.

https://docs.google.com/folder/d/0B_xTFybwtlbvU1oxdHRNcWd3LTQ/edit

ps that link is just the russian poster's backup ftp site, it doesn't contain anything new and maybe never will.

It took me a LOT of headache to track down the 1.06 firmware, trust me it was NOT easy to find. Plus, it came out literally yesterday.
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
02:29 PM Liked: 180
post #5314 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

^^^^^^^^


+1. HDMI plugs and sockets are a very poor mechanical design. To design such a weak connector and then also ensure that, for longish runs, the cable has to be thick and heavy (Redmere excepted) beggars belief. They could have done it so many different, and better ways. You are also right on the money IMO with the HDMI handshake on the w1070. It takes longer for my w1070 to handshake than ANY other piece of equipment I own or have ever owned. Very often, at the start of a movie, when the studio logo is in a different video or sound format, for example, I will miss the entire image of the logo while the w1070 handshakes! By the time it has locked on, the short track has ended and the handshake has to be initiated all over again for the main feature or the menus! I consider it a small price to pay though for a PJ that offers so much for so little money.

The HDMI ports are being fixed in the next hardware revision apparently.

What a great company.
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
02:41 PM Liked: 193
post #5315 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 663
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

Added support for 3D formats:
1280x720p@59/94/60 Hz -- SBS added
1280x720p@50Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@23.98/24Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@59.94/60Hz - Top Bottom - added
1920x1080p@50Hz - Top Bottom - added

Download Link Here:

http://www28.zippyshare.com/v/62963810/file.html

I'm going to install it later because finally a firmware does something I want (more 3D formats)

Agreed: those new 3D formats are rather big deals on their own - about time!! Thanks for sharing this!
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
03:04 PM Liked: 70
post #5316 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

ps that link is just the russian poster's backup ftp site, it doesn't contain anything new and maybe never will.

It took me a LOT of headache to track down the 1.06 firmware, trust me it was NOT easy to find. Plus, it came out literally yesterday.

Thanks again. We really appreciate your great effort. I am assuming that the same tools previously posted can be used for the update.
I will probably do it in a day or two. It has been a very busy weekend and I need time to set it up and record all my settings. I am really glad to hear about the HDMI upgrade and more 3d formats being supported.
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
03:13 PM Liked: 180
post #5317 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
Can't we upgrade it via usb ? I'm trying that now, but missing a USB female to male USB mini connector so I can plug in my thumb drive with the firmware into it.

Has anyone previously upgraded their firmwares that way? I'm having a hard time tracking down the procedure.
Rew452's Avatar Rew452
03:16 PM Liked: 23
post #5318 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 883
Joined: Feb 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

Good news Everyone!!

http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/31056697.jpg

Firmware 1.06 is out.

Fixes:

-1- Hg bridge problem symptom: can’t turn on a projector, but NDF after transportation; few cases found in BQC.
There is Hg (Mercury) in a lamp bulb. Whenever the liquid mercury make the Short-circuit of electrodes of the lamp, the unit can’t
be turn on. To change the cooling status and lamp ignition behavior can make mercury condense at different locations of a bulb.
Due to Hg (Mercury) changing the location in lamp bulbs during transportation, it will be NDF in ASP.
-2- To improve power-on while system initializing
-3- To improve Philips DVD compatibility issue(BQC)
-4- Add 3D format as appendix
-5- Adjust Audio Curve for BQjp
-6- Japanese OSD correction for Cool and Warm (BQjp)
-7-To enhance HDMI searching speed
-8- To update RC code for new remote RCV011
-9- To modify the gain value to improve HDMI signal searching ability
-10- To add model name W1250 in Factory OSD (only W1070)

Added support for 3D formats:
1280x720p@59/94/60 Hz -- SBS added
1280x720p@50Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@23.98/24Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@59.94/60Hz - Top Bottom - added
1920x1080p@50Hz - Top Bottom - added

Download Link Here*:

http://www28.zippyshare.com/v/62963810/file.html

*Warning: Install AT YOUR OWN RISK. I accept no personal blame or liability for your projector being bricked if it doesn't work. I haven't tested it yet myself, and even if I did, you should be aware that installing this will void your warranty and could result in a non-functional device.

I'm going to install it later because finally a firmware does something I want (more 3D formats)

Thanks for the Heads-up!

Rew
Rew452's Avatar Rew452
03:32 PM Liked: 23
post #5319 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 883
Joined: Feb 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

Can't we upgrade it via usb ? I'm trying that now, but missing a USB female to male USB mini connector so I can plug in my thumb drive with the firmware into it.

Has anyone previously upgraded their firmwares that way? I'm having a hard time tracking down the procedure.

Her is the link for all the info https://docs.google.com/folder/d/0B_xTFybwtlbvU1oxdHRNcWd3LTQ/edit

As far as I know you have to used either serial or usb cable and TI's Composer
That's the way I did it last time. Used USB cable

Rew
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
03:42 PM Liked: 70
post #5320 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
I am reposting these instructions from the previous 105 update. You can get the DLP composer tool and the service manual from these links. Be sure to use the new link for the 106 firmware.

I and others have updated the firmware via USB. Use these instructions and links below;
(repost)
A few people asked for firmware update instructions.
I suggest that you do this only if you have an early version of the firmware and are having issues that need to be fixed. One must also realize that if you mess up the firmware update your warranty could be void

Firmware available below:

https://docs.google.com/folder/d/0B_xTFybwtlbvU1oxdHRNcWd3LTQ/edit?pli=1&docId=0B_xTFybwtlbvTHFqclRLU3pBNlk.

https://docs.google.com/folder/d/0B_xTFybwtlbvU1oxdHRNcWd3LTQ/edit

106 Firmware download link:


http://www28.zippyshare.com/v/62963810/file.html

103 for W1080 Link

http://www18.zippyshare.com/v/35040164/file.html

If one wants to do the update I suggest doing it using a standard to min B cable. using USB. This update cannon be installed from a thumb drive. The full instructions are in the service manual from the link above.


1. Write down all your settings before starting an update. (If you do not you will loose all your settings)
2. I suggest that you create a new folder on your desktop called 1070 firmware in the new folder.
3. Download the download tool and unzip it to the new folder.
4. Download the new separate 106 img file to the same folder from the link above.
5. .Install the download tool. It is called DLP composer. Also download the Flash Device Parameters file.
5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters. txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer on your C drive.) Use Copy and paste. The folder you want to paste this file to will be on the c drive after you install DLP composer.
6. Open the DLP Composer tool and go to edit, preferences.
7. When the window opens go to communication and set it to USB
8. Close this window and click on flash loader on the opening screen. A window will open.
8. Change the mark to Complete Image Download Put check in Skip Boot loader area Change 32Kb
9. On the top of the flash loader hit the browse button and go to your folder 106 img file.
10. Insert the USB cable in the min plug on the projector and into your computer. (Wait for the drivers to load. This should take a minute with windows 7 or 8
11. Unplug the projector and push the power and auto buttons at the same time. Plug in the projector while holding the buttons. The LED on the projector will turn red if you are in download mode (It must turn red to install the firmware. If it turns orange do this again until you only get the red led) This is very important.
12 Hit the Reset Bus and Start Download. The upgrade process should take about 5 minutes. A timer will start telling you how long it will take.
13. Do not unplug anything during the process. When everything completes the LED on the projector will turn to standby orange.
14. Unplug the USB cable and turn the projector on
15 You will have to put all your settings back in and turn source select to auto
16. Instructions are also available in the service manual PDF you downloaded to your folder.
17. Only do this upgrade at your own risk and if you are familiar with doing firmware updates..
18. You do not need the service tool to do the firmware update the firmware and write down your settings.
Edited by rwestley - 3/25/13 at 1:18am

If the links do not work P.M. me. I have the firmware and 106 firmware saved.
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
04:21 PM Liked: 193
post #5321 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 663
Joined: Apr 2013
Have a problem with this firmware update...

Manually selecting HDMI1/2 is permanently on 'No Signal'... Even though both sources are present and outputting video!

HW Rev: 1.03
Previous Firmware: 1.04

Perhaps the old HW Rev doesn't play nice with the new firmware!!

Edit: WHEW, I did a 'Reset All Settings' under the Advanced menu and its now working.

Manually selecting a source now works OK: I tested on HDMI1,2 and PC and they now work fine when selected manually.

Will play with the new 3D settings and report back.
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
05:32 PM Liked: 193
post #5322 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 663
Joined: Apr 2013
New firmware-supported 3D modes work as advertised.

Critically (and this was one thing I hated before), firmware version 1.06 displays great 3D at 1080p/24hz with both Over-Under AND SBS source content. Looks good doing it, too.
Color wheel speed in 3D still seems to top out at 2x (as opposed to 3x in 2D mode at 50hz) so it's a bit rainbowed for me (unlike 2D/50hz which is practically rainbow-free), but I suspect this will still make a lot of people happy; myself included.

Also improved is HDMI 'Source-Detect' durations, which are quicker than before. This may help those with Handshake issues (though I never had a problem).

As with most firmware upgrading, updating to 1.06 is high-risk - so make sure you're in reach of a support centre just in case. And if you do have issues (like I did!), do a Reset Settings and cycle power and Reset Settings again.
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
08:44 PM Liked: 70
post #5323 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
I just upgraded the firmware to 106 with no problem using USB. I have not tested the new 3D settings yet but I can report that the HDMI source searching seems quicker.

Thanks again RLBURNSIDE

I would suggest to anyone who wants to do the update to read the instructions carefully and write down all settings.
Skylinestar's Avatar Skylinestar
10:02 PM Liked: 73
post #5324 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 1,571
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I just upgraded the firmware to 106 with no problem using USB. I have not tested the new 3D settings yet but I can report that the HDMI source searching seems quicker.

Thanks again RLBURNSIDE

I would suggest to anyone who wants to do the update to read the instructions carefully and write down all settings.
What's the HW and SW version you initially had before the upgrade?
hotjt133's Avatar hotjt133
11:46 PM Liked: 30
post #5325 of 10609
07-06-2013 | Posts: 353
Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

-4- Add 3D format as appendix
-7-To enhance HDMI searching speed
-9- To modify the gain value to improve HDMI signal searching ability

Added support for 3D formats:
1920x1080p@23.98/24Hz - SBS added
1920x1080p@59.94/60Hz - Top Bottom - added

Thanks so much. These features are very nice upgrade, so I can completely get rid of 1080i/60 mode.

Now only if they can make 1080p/60 for SBS, then I don't need to switch screen resolution anymore.

And hopefully, the enhanced hand shake will fix my flaky cable problem, so that I can delay my roof adventure smile.gif
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
12:08 AM Liked: 70
post #5326 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post

What's the HW and SW version you initially had before the upgrade?

I have one of the early hardware version OCT 2012 build. I originally had firmware 102 upgraded to 105 and now 106.
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
12:55 AM Liked: 180
post #5327 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
Here's the link for the equivalent update (1.03) for the W1080st :

http://www18.zippyshare.com/v/35040164/file.html

*disclaimer I provide no liability in using this firmware, I just know it's equivalent to the 1.06 one for the w1070
hotjt133's Avatar hotjt133
02:05 AM Liked: 30
post #5328 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 353
Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

8. Change the mark to Complete Image Download Put check in Skip Boot loader area Change 59 32Kb

I suppose this is a typo. There is nothing related to 59 in this screen. Do you mean "to" when typing on the wrong row in your keyboard?
Cowboys's Avatar Cowboys
03:50 AM Liked: 106
post #5329 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 1,346
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I have one of the early hardware version OCT 2012 build. I originally had firmware 102 upgraded to 105 and now 106.
Did you follow instruction here that someone posted a few thread back to complete 1.06 upgrade? If not, please share. Thanks.
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
05:18 AM Liked: 70
post #5330 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboys View Post

Did you follow instruction here that someone posted a few thread back to complete 1.06 upgrade? If not, please share. Thanks.

I was the one who posted the instructions. The firmware was posted by RLBurnside. Check out my post 5425 on page 181 for instructions and download links.
I would suggest that you create a folder on your desktop or in downloads and download the DLP composer from one of the links and the 106 firmware from the other link.
Be sure to set the output to USB under preferences.
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
05:25 AM Liked: 70
post #5331 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotjt133 View Post

I suppose this is a typo. There is nothing related to 59 in this screen. Do you mean "to" when typing on the wrong row in your keyboard?

Thanks. Will correct.
Rew452's Avatar Rew452
06:29 AM Liked: 23
post #5332 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 883
Joined: Feb 2003
Completed the firmware update this morning with no problems.

Will be checking operation, but so far everything seems fine.

It does seem faster on HDMI sync.

Will report back later as I finish checking.

Rew
aohus's Avatar aohus
12:33 PM Liked: 10
post #5333 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 54
Joined: Nov 2008
Updated firmware from 1.04 --> 1.06

HDMI handshake is much faster.

Watching 1080p SBS/OU/BD50 and there is noticeable improvement in fluidity of fast moving scenes.

Definitely worth the upgrade to 1.06 for the added 3D support alone for SBS/OU.
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
01:44 PM Liked: 193
post #5334 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 663
Joined: Apr 2013
New firmware 1.06 running great; spent several hours on it.

One other thing interesting on the changelog is support for a new remote control. It's the RCV011: a quick google yields this:

http://www.proyector24.es/mando-a--distancia/benq-rcv011-mando-a-distancia-para-videos/

Appears to be backlit; also nice is the fact that it offers discreet on and off buttons; so users who wish to automate their home theaters (and power the pj on and off discreetly) should now be in luck (whereas the original remote only has a single Power button.)

This is the remote also used by the more expensive W1500:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465055/benq-w1500-full-hd-3d-ready-dlp-projector-whdmi

Nice.
CHIA's Avatar CHIA
01:57 PM Liked: 11
post #5335 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I
5. .Install the download tool. It is called DLP composer. Also download the Flash Device Parameters file.
5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters. txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer) Just copy and paste the file.
6. Open the DLP Composer tool and go to edit, preferences.

I have the FW file, but cannot quite understand where this DLP Composer file is? I look on the links, and cannot
figure out which is which? I see the "parameters.txt file, but not sure about the other ones??

This is what I see on that link.......which stuff do I need???

2vWiCMq.png
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
02:06 PM Liked: 193
post #5336 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 663
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHIA View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I
5. .Install the download tool. It is called DLP composer. Also download the Flash Device Parameters file.
5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters. txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer) Just copy and paste the file.
6. Open the DLP Composer tool and go to edit, preferences.

I have the FW file, but cannot quite understand where this DLP Composer file is? I look on the links, and cannot
figure out which is which? I see the "parameters.txt file, but not sure about the other ones??

This is what I see on that link.......which stuff do I need???

2vWiCMq.png

The DLP Composer (as well as that txt file) is in the RAR file in that google docs folder (its called Projector_cdr_20130123_085245_DDP442X Download_Tool_Ver1.0.rar)

Download it and un-rar it; the files you need will be there :-)
zapper's Avatar zapper
02:14 PM Liked: 15
post #5337 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 1,411
Joined: Aug 2002
Man, I am totally confused on how to download the file and the more that I read on on this thread, the more confused I get, to bad its not a straight down file to my PC, lol
CHIA's Avatar CHIA
02:30 PM Liked: 11
post #5338 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

The DLP Composer (as well as that txt file) is in the RAR file in that google docs folder (its called Projector_cdr_20130123_085245_DDP442X Download_Tool_Ver1.0.rar)

Download it and un-rar it; the files you need will be there :-)

Thanks.......I was into the wrong directory......I saw the "W1070" in the file name, so assumed that was where to look:


RLBURNSIDE's Avatar RLBURNSIDE
02:59 PM Liked: 180
post #5339 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 972
Joined: Jan 2007
I went to Future Shop and three other computer stores and NONE of them had a cable that let me plug in my thumb drive into the back of this projector.

Can someone post a link to something I can order from Amazon ? I'll just order it, tired of wasting my time.
zapper's Avatar zapper
03:05 PM Liked: 15
post #5340 of 10609
07-07-2013 | Posts: 1,411
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHIA View Post

Thanks.......I was into the wrong directory......I saw the "W1070" in the file name, so assumed that was where to look:



Guess that the check mark, helps.

Thanks
Tags: Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector

Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3