BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 184 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP > BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$

Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

rwestley's Avatar rwestley
08:32 PM Liked: 70
post #5491 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdorion View Post

If I move the projector, the color bar moves with the projector so its not the screen...

It's the first thing I tried when I saw this..frown.gif

Did you test the projector with a different source such as a Blu-Ray player
mdorion's Avatar mdorion
08:49 PM Liked: 14
post #5492 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

Did you test the projector with a different source such as a Blu-Ray player

Yes I tested it with an apple TV also.
zapper's Avatar zapper
09:16 PM Liked: 15
post #5493 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 1,415
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

16 Items is correct. Open DLp composer and hit flash loader on the left. Browse to the place where you downloaded the 106 firmware file and follow the rest of the posted directions.

Thanks, rwestley for the confirmation, of my file.
zapper's Avatar zapper
09:16 PM Liked: 15
post #5494 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 1,415
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

16 Items is correct. Open DLp composer and hit flash loader on the left. Browse to the place where you downloaded the 106 firmware file and follow the rest of the posted directions.

Thanks, rwestley for the confirmation, of my file.
mdorion's Avatar mdorion
09:48 PM Liked: 14
post #5495 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 2012
here another example with a white sheet in front to show that it's not screen related


Can a firmware upgrade repair this?

I tried to use the Technical SUpport form on the benq website and each time I submit the form, it gets me to a blank page...so I don't think they get my request..mad.gif
jevansoh's Avatar jevansoh
09:51 PM Liked: 53
post #5496 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 471
Joined: Oct 2010
Does anybody know if this projector accepts/supports deep color?

Thanks,

--Jason
///3oris's Avatar ///3oris
10:03 PM Liked: 21
post #5497 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdorion View Post

here another example with a white sheet in front to show that it's not screen related


Can a firmware upgrade repair this?

I tried to use the Technical SUpport form on the benq website and each time I submit the form, it gets me to a blank page...so I don't think they get my request..mad.gif

Call them... I called them and got on the phone with a tech within a minute.
hotjt133's Avatar hotjt133
11:00 PM Liked: 30
post #5498 of 10621
07-13-2013 | Posts: 353
Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdorion View Post

here another example with a white sheet in front to show that it's not screen related
Can a firmware upgrade repair this?

I would suggest caution to do the upgrade since it will void warranty.

It looks like a defect on the PJ itself, although no one else has reported such issue. I would push to get an exchange first.
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
04:18 AM Liked: 70
post #5499 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdorion View Post

Yes I tested it with an apple TV also.

I would ask tech support to replace the unit for you. There seems to be something wrong with your unit.
mevnet's Avatar mevnet
05:29 AM Liked: 10
post #5500 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasma-black View Post

Hi Everyone. I was just a half second away from ordering the W1070 to replace my old Optoma DV10 but I decided I'd better check out the Benq calculator first.

According to their calculator, I'd have to place the projector about 9' 10" away from my wall in order to get the max 120" image that I want. Problem is, that would basically mean the projector would have to be in my lap on the couch. In comparison, I used to be able to place my Optoma behind the couch on a 3ft stand anywhere from 12 to 14 feet away from the wall with no problems.

Does this mean I should be looking at other projectors with longer throws and more adjustments than the W1070? I was really trying to stay under $1000 but I"m willing to pay a little more if necessary. Also, I really don't care too much about 3D so that's not a big consideration for me.

I'd appreciate any advice you guys can give me. smile.gif
I have a similar issue, in which I cannot make the image small enough for my setup. The online calculator at projector central is accurate. So I will have to return mine, and maybe look at the w1500 without the wireless which I am not interested in.
mevnet's Avatar mevnet
05:31 AM Liked: 10
post #5501 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2013
Ok, so after not really believing the accuracy of the online calculators and knowing from specs that I will only be off by a few inches I bought the w1250 /w1070 from Costco for 899 when on sale. What a great bang for the buck. It looks great, both 2d and 3d. Maybe I am not so sensitive but I did not see any rainbow effect. Colors are vivid and it is very sharp, lens shift brings a whole new game to these budget dlps. Blacks are ok and shadow detail is not bad either. Unfortunately, I could not make it work in my setup, so it is going back to Costco. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1N5QjMOxVPk)

I have 7h on it, hw ver 1.04, sw ver 1.05.
mevnet's Avatar mevnet
05:40 AM Liked: 10
post #5502 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2013
Ok, so after not really believing the accuracy of the online calculators and knowing from specs that I will only be off by a few inches I bought the w1250 /w1070 from Costco for 899 when on sale. What a great bang for the buck. It looks great, both 2d and 3d. Maybe I am not so sensitive but I did not see any rainbow effect. Colors are vivid and it is very sharp, lens shift brings a whole new game to these budget dlps. Blacks are ok and shadow detail is not bad either. Unfortunately, I could not make it work in my setup, so it is going back to Costco. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1N5QjMOxVPk)

I have 7h on it, hw ver 1.04, sw ver 1.05.
bighvy76's Avatar bighvy76
07:47 AM Liked: 25
post #5503 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 199
Joined: Jul 2013
OK I'm confused would sone one with a w1070 tell me if it needs to be ceiling mounted 3" above the screen or on centerline with the screen. Benq calculator says above and proector central says strait on.
coderguy's Avatar coderguy
08:38 AM Liked: 159
post #5504 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 10,074
Joined: Dec 2006
The center of the lens should be 3" above the screen's viewable projected area (meaning the white part of the screen). If I recall, the Benq lens was about 2" tall, so take half that distance and we have 1".

So that essentially means, the BOTTOM of the lens should be 2" above the viewable white part of the screen, because 3" offset - 1" = 2 inches...

However, do keep in mind that the default offset is more like 5" or so, not 3". So by putting the lens only 3" above the white part, you are actually using lens shift when you don't necessarily need to.

You mise well put it 5" above center lens (4" above bottom of lens) if you can to be in the center of the offset instead of at the extreme range of the vertical shift.
goose4540's Avatar goose4540
09:13 AM Liked: 10
post #5505 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post

The center of the lens should be 3" above the screen's viewable projected area (meaning the white part of the screen). If I recall, the Benq lens was about 2" tall, so take half that distance and we have 1".

So that essentially means, the BOTTOM of the lens should be 2" above the viewable white part of the screen, because 3" offset - 1" = 2 inches...

However, do keep in mind that the default offset is more like 5" or so, not 3". So by putting the lens only 3" above the white part, you are actually using lens shift when you don't necessarily need to.

You mise well put it 5" above center lens (4" above bottom of lens) if you can to be in the center of the offset instead of at the extreme range of the vertical shift.
Coderguy, in your top projectors of the year award, you mentioned for a 100in screen the lens shift on the w1070 was between 2.5-7.5". Would this be on top of the actual 5" offset you mentioned above? The offset/lens shift seems to be relatively confusing with this PJ so I'm just trying to get it all figured out beforehand as I'll have to move my mount from my epson 8100 for this PJ.

So with the offset and lens shift is the range of inches above the screen the w1070 can be placed 5" + 2.5"-7.5" for a total range of 7.5"-12.5"? Or is the range of how far the PJ can be placed above the screen 2.5"-7.5" with offset include?
coderguy's Avatar coderguy
09:18 AM Liked: 159
post #5506 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 10,074
Joined: Dec 2006
EDITED:

No, the total offset is not added to anything else, that is the total range I posted.

The 2.5" to 7.5" is the offset range that lens shift provides for a 100" 16:9 screen, it's the total offset that can be placed above the center of the lens.

5" above lens center is the ZERO offset position AFIK, or 4" above lens bottom.

So 1.5" to 6.5" above the bottom of the lens would be the same as saying 2.5-7.5 above center of lens. I would wait until you get the projector before doing it.
goose4540's Avatar goose4540
09:36 AM Liked: 10
post #5507 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 2007
thank you for the clarification, that makes more sense. I already have my screen mounted from my previous PJ, so just trying to get an idea on the mount position/height for Benq, moving the screen isn't a huge deal but if I can get the mount right without moving the screen thats a win-win.
ellisr63's Avatar ellisr63
10:33 AM Liked: 253
post #5508 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 2,167
Joined: Jul 2002
Now I am confused... My 134" 16x9 screen, viewable (white area) is 8" from the ceiling. How far from the ceiling does the bottom of the lens on the projector need to be?
coderguy's Avatar coderguy
10:42 AM Liked: 159
post #5509 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 10,074
Joined: Dec 2006
You are probably fine, the amount of offset increases with screen size.

In your case, it is actually about 3.5" to 10.5" is the range (rounding) above the screen.

We cannot tell you how far below the ceiling without more info, as it depends on mounting thickness and where you mounted the screen at (how high above the floor). Give me more info and I can tell you ABOUT, or I can tell you with the default Chief mounts most are using.
coderguy's Avatar coderguy
11:45 AM Liked: 159
post #5510 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 10,074
Joined: Dec 2006
In order to end this COLOR WHEEL speed debate, can someone please go into the SERVICE MENU while feeding a 1080p/60 signal and look for the setting called CW Multiplier and tell me what it says?
ellisr63's Avatar ellisr63
12:56 PM Liked: 253
post #5511 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 2,167
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post

You are probably fine, the amount of offset increases with screen size.

In your case, it is actually about 3.5" to 10.5" is the range (rounding) above the screen.

We cannot tell you how far below the ceiling without more info, as it depends on mounting thickness and where you mounted the screen at (how high above the floor). Give me more info and I can tell you ABOUT, or I can tell you with the defaul
If I have 3.5"- 10.5"... Do I just look for a mount that will give me that range? My ceiling is 9' and I have a 6" frame around the screen, hence why I gave the dimension of 8" from the ceiling as the viewing area which leave the frame 3" from the ceiling. I was looking at this one... http://www.amazon.com/Mustang-Profile-Projector-Mount-MV-PROJSP-FLAT-W/dp/B000JJO9MC/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1373828228&sr=8-13&keywords=projector+ceiling+mount

or this one...
http://www.projectormountstore.com/shop/product.php?id_product=49
stumpper98's Avatar stumpper98
01:15 PM Liked: 10
post #5512 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2006
Just got my BenQ W1070 - HDMI inputs are not working - I have ver. 1.05 firmware - trying to update to Ver. 1.06

Please note: using Windows 7

Stuck on 5A

5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters.txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer on your C drive.) Use Copy and paste. The folder you want to paste this file to will be on the c drive after you install DLP composer.

I can not find this file " programs x86 DLP Composer"
Where do I need to paste this Flash Device Parameters.txt?

Thanks


1. Turned ON the projector before you start.
2. This process will reset the projector setting - Write down any settings you want to keep now
3. Download the download tool and unzip it to the new folder.
4. Download the new separate 106 img file to the same folder from the link above.[URL]http://[/URL]
5. .Install the download tool. It is called DLP composer. Also download the Flash Device Parameters file (It was included in the download already).
5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters.txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer on your C drive.) Use Copy and paste. The folder you want to paste this file to will be on the c drive after you install DLP composer.
6. Open the DLP Composer tool and go to edit-->preferences.
7. When the window opens go to communication and set it to USB
8. Close this window and click on flash loader on the opening screen. A window will open.
8. Put a check beside "Complete Image Download" Also check "Skip Boot loader" Change from default 16kb to 32Kb
9. On the top of the flash loader hit the browse button and go to your folder 106 img file (the actual firmware file in your desktop folder).
10. Insert the USB cable in the min plug on the projector and into your computer. (Wait for the drivers to load. This should take a minute with windows 7 or 8
11. Unplug the projector. Now, push the "power" and "auto" buttons at the same time. Plug in the projector while holding the buttons. The LED on the projector will turn red if you are in download mode (It must turn red to install the firmware. If it turns orange do this again until you only get the red led) This is very important.
12 Click the Reset Bus and Start Download in the DLP Composer program. The upgrade process should take a few minutes. A timer will start telling you how long it will take.
13. Do not unplug anything during the process. When everything completes the LED on the projector will turn to standby orange.
14. Unplug the USB cable and turn the projector on
15 You will have to put all your settings back in and turn source select to auto
16. Instructions are also available in the service manual PDF you downloaded to your folder.
17. Only do this upgrade at your own risk and if you are familiar with doing firmware updates..
18. You do not need the service tool to do the firmware update the firmware and write down your settings.
///3oris's Avatar ///3oris
01:39 PM Liked: 21
post #5513 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpper98 View Post

Just got my BenQ W1070 - HDMI inputs are not working - I have ver. 1.05 firmware - trying to update to Ver. 1.06

Please note: using Windows 7

Stuck on 5A

5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters.txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer on your C drive.) Use Copy and paste. The folder you want to paste this file to will be on the c drive after you install DLP composer.

I can not find this file " programs x86 DLP Composer"
Where do I need to paste this Flash Device Parameters.txt?

Thanks


1. Turned ON the projector before you start.
2. This process will reset the projector setting - Write down any settings you want to keep now
3. Download the download tool and unzip it to the new folder.
4. Download the new separate 106 img file to the same folder from the link above.[URL]http://[/URL]
5. .Install the download tool. It is called DLP composer. Also download the Flash Device Parameters file (It was included in the download already).
5A Copy the Flash Device Parameters.txt file to the DLP composer program file (It is under programs x86 DLP Composer on your C drive.) Use Copy and paste. The folder you want to paste this file to will be on the c drive after you install DLP composer.
6. Open the DLP Composer tool and go to edit-->preferences.
7. When the window opens go to communication and set it to USB
8. Close this window and click on flash loader on the opening screen. A window will open.
8. Put a check beside "Complete Image Download" Also check "Skip Boot loader" Change from default 16kb to 32Kb
9. On the top of the flash loader hit the browse button and go to your folder 106 img file (the actual firmware file in your desktop folder).
10. Insert the USB cable in the min plug on the projector and into your computer. (Wait for the drivers to load. This should take a minute with windows 7 or 8
11. Unplug the projector. Now, push the "power" and "auto" buttons at the same time. Plug in the projector while holding the buttons. The LED on the projector will turn red if you are in download mode (It must turn red to install the firmware. If it turns orange do this again until you only get the red led) This is very important.
12 Click the Reset Bus and Start Download in the DLP Composer program. The upgrade process should take a few minutes. A timer will start telling you how long it will take.
13. Do not unplug anything during the process. When everything completes the LED on the projector will turn to standby orange.
14. Unplug the USB cable and turn the projector on
15 You will have to put all your settings back in and turn source select to auto
16. Instructions are also available in the service manual PDF you downloaded to your folder.
17. Only do this upgrade at your own risk and if you are familiar with doing firmware updates..
18. You do not need the service tool to do the firmware update the firmware and write down your settings.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1435626/benq-w1070-dlp-full-hd-3d-ready-with-lens-shift-for-1000/5400#post_23500080

Download "Projector_cdr_20130123_085245_DDP442X Download_Tool_Ver1.0.rar"

The .txt file is part of that package which also contains the DLP Composer tool.

The instructions out there aren't great and require a little legwork to understand.

BY THE WAY: DO NOT UPGRADE YOUR FIRMWARE if you're having issues with your HDMI port working - you may have issues with warranty. Wiggle the HDMI connector within the port, while pushing it pretty firmly into place. You should get a signal (it may take a few tries). A firmware upgrade will NOT fix this.... it will, however fix some other HDMI glitches. So make sure that's all working before you upgrade anything. In fact, get it all working without upgrading anything and only upgrade if you're seeing that the FW may fix problems that you are having. Don't do it just for the hell of it, because there are risks involved.
kreeturez's Avatar kreeturez
01:52 PM Liked: 199
post #5514 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 671
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post

In order to end this COLOR WHEEL speed debate, can someone please go into the SERVICE MENU while feeding a 1080p/60 signal and look for the setting called CW Multiplier and tell me what it says?

The Service Manual for the projector ('W 1070 9H.J7L77.17E.pdf' - on the google docs share with the firmware) under the 'Specification' section indicates:

Color wheel segment 6-Seg. (RGBRGB CW)
Color wheel speed 2x , 3x ( 50Hz)



At 60hz that'll be 2x; at 50hz that'll be 3x.
Since its a double-RGB-segment wheel, that's an effective 4x (at 60hz) and 6x (at 50hz).

Personal experience with this pj backs this up: whilst semi-noticeable at 60hz, rainbows are nearly invisible at 50hz.
stumpper98's Avatar stumpper98
01:53 PM Liked: 10
post #5515 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2006
Thanks so much!!! - Wiggle the HDMI connector within the port, while pushing it pretty firmly into place, and reset the setting ..... its now working !!!
///3oris's Avatar ///3oris
02:05 PM Liked: 21
post #5516 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 318
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpper98 View Post

Thanks so much!!! - Wiggle the HDMI connector within the port, while pushing it pretty firmly into place, and reset the setting ..... its now working !!!

You're welcome, enjoy the projector
OZReddog's Avatar OZReddog
05:36 PM Liked: 32
post #5517 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 186
Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpper98 View Post

Just got my BenQ W1070 - HDMI inputs are not working - I have ver. 1.05 firmware - trying to update to Ver. 1.06

As has been said by a number of people before regarding new projector users ......

DO NOT UPGRADE IMMEDIATELY WHEN YOU RECEIVE THE PROJECTOR.

Wait until you see that the projector is working correctly and does not need to be exchanged!

IF YOU UPGRADE THE FIRMWARE YOU MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

Additionally, if you cannot EASILY follow the instructions provided for upgrading the firmware DON'T ATTEMPT TO DO IT!
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
06:37 PM Liked: 70
post #5518 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by OZReddog View Post

As has been said by a number of people before regarding new projector users ......

DO NOT UPGRADE IMMEDIATELY WHEN YOU RECEIVE THE PROJECTOR.

Wait until you see that the projector is working correctly and does not need to be exchanged!

IF YOU UPGRADE THE FIRMWARE YOU MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

Additionally, if you cannot EASILY follow the instructions provided for upgrading the firmware DON'T ATTEMPT TO DO IT!

Great advice. If you have never updated firmware before don't do it without someone who can help. It is easy to brick your projector. Updating firmware requires some PC and computer knowledge and the ability to fully follow the directions. I would suggest that if one is to try the update they should put a check next to each step of the instructions after they read it and follow them. This prevents missing a step.
psat's Avatar psat
11:41 PM Liked: 10
post #5519 of 10621
07-14-2013 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2007
So I did the 1.06 firmware upgrade for my W1250 (shipped at 1.05) a few days ago and it went without incident (thanks for the detailed instructions!). I was really hoping to get SBS mode in 1080p60 (as some have reported in the previous pages of this thread) along with the other fixes. I have an HTPC setup running XBMC to play my 2D and 3D mkv movies. Sadly the firmware upgrade didn't seem to open up SBS mode in 1080p60. However, after some testing I have some good news to report. You can enable SBS in 1080p60 by setting your pixel format or color space to RGB instead of YCbCr. Not sure if this is new to 1.06 though. Can someone not on 1.06 confirm if this works or not?

As a personal preference though, I like YCbCr color space better. The colors seem to be more saturated and texts are rendered better - less blurry. A perfect compromise for those using XBMC could be setting the video playback mode to match the video refresh rate to the movie. Most of the time, this will automatically change the projector to 1080p24, which would then get you SBS and OU 3d modes. Once the movie is done, it would change back to the original 1080p60 mode, giving you smooth UI navigation. Sadly, my current install may be bloated, because I get a lot of stuttering when I tested this. For now I have ATI catalyst hot keys setup to change between 1080p60 and 1080i60 when I want to play a 3d SBS movie. I can toggle modes while still in XBMC.
rwestley's Avatar rwestley
02:26 AM Liked: 70
post #5520 of 10621
07-15-2013 | Posts: 6,683
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by psat View Post

So I did the 1.06 firmware upgrade for my W1250 (shipped at 1.05) a few days ago and it went without incident (thanks for the detailed instructions!). I was really hoping to get SBS mode in 1080p60 (as some have reported in the previous pages of this thread) along with the other fixes. I have an HTPC setup running XBMC to play my 2D and 3D mkv movies. Sadly the firmware upgrade didn't seem to open up SBS mode in 1080p60. However, after some testing I have some good news to report. You can enable SBS in 1080p60 by setting your pixel format or color space to RGB instead of YCbCr. Not sure if this is new to 1.06 though. Can someone not on 1.06 confirm if this works or not?

As a personal preference though, I like YCbCr color space better. The colors seem to be more saturated and texts are rendered better - less blurry. A perfect compromise for those using XBMC could be setting the video playback mode to match the video refresh rate to the movie. Most of the time, this will automatically change the projector to 1080p24, which would then get you SBS and OU 3d modes. Once the movie is done, it would change back to the original 1080p60 mode, giving you smooth UI navigation. Sadly, my current install may be bloated, because I get a lot of stuttering when I tested this. For now I have ATI catalyst hot keys setup to change between 1080p60 and 1080i60 when I want to play a 3d SBS movie. I can toggle modes while still in XBMC.

Glad you had no trouble updating the firmware. It is obvious that you have quite a bit of computer experience that is the reason why it was so easy for you. I am wondering if your main reason for wanting 1080/60SBS is for video games since 1080/24p is fine for films.
Tags: Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector

Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3