BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 241 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 06:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,448
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1553
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighvy76 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

You saying you can move the PJ and the image doesn’t also move?  Your unit is possessed smile.gif
haha no I'm saying I mounted my screen pretty squarly, then projector, and I can tilt my projector left right up and down to match up with my screen without using lens shift and it looks fine to me (no ill effect I can tell by it not being perfectly square and level. ) because my Mount has a ball joint in it

 

You probably have it mounted in the sweet spot, as it should be. But if the image is perfectly centred on the screen and you then move the PJ, in any plane, the image can’t still be perfectly centred, can it?  Sorry, I think I am misunderstanding you somewhere...

kbarnes701 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 06:43 AM
Member
 
bighvy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Well I totally lost my way on this conversation. It was originally for the guy that was having trouble getting his entire screen filled/lined up. I was trying to say if u buy the ceiling mount with the ball joint it lines up/fills screen fairly easy. Mine my not. Be perfectly lined up on both plains but it looks real good.
bighvy76 is offline  
post #7203 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapino View Post

Just checked out the projector I received. It seems to be a different unit, with a lower firmware than what I had. Did not came in original packaging, so I assume this is a refurb. The bad news is it seems the problem is about the same, it is slightly less pronounced but it's still there. I suppose then this is something 'normal' for the w1070 and I'll have to learn to live with it. I would be very surprised to see this being a placement issue, I just checked and the lens is really right in the center of the screen.

I suppose the lens quality of the w1070 isn't exaclty all that. To be honest, I hope I got a decent unit now and not some refurb with a lamp which has hundreds of hours on it (the menu says 0 but this can easily be reset).

edit:
Searched the web some more and got to this review : http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/projectors/projectors-reviews/benq-w1070-projector/all-pages.html. This seems about on par what I am seeing, if you rotate the brightness they measures 180°, then you get what I am seeing. Maybe I am expecting too much from this projector?


I would let them know that they sent you a different unit with lower firmware. (What firmware do you now have). If you want you can update it yourself to 1.08 the latest version. I did the update yesterday for my unit.
rwestley is offline  
post #7204 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
lapino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Got that covered, already put 1.08 on it.
lapino is offline  
post #7205 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 08:45 AM
Member
 
CoxyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourner353 View Post


Edit: PDF files should now open fine, thanks.

 

They do not open for me :(

 

 

EDIT: IGNORE THAT SORRY, HAD TO END A PROCESS IN TASK MANAGER AND READER THEN POPPED UP.

CoxyUK is offline  
post #7206 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 08:45 AM
Member
 
CoxyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13

I am on 1.07, any reason to update to 1.08? Are there any release notes anywhere?

 

Thanks

CoxyUK is offline  
post #7207 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxyUK View Post

I am on 1.07, any reason to update to 1.08? Are there any release notes anywhere?

Thanks

Can't find release notes anywhere yet. If anyone else has them please post.
rwestley is offline  
post #7208 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
hotjt133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

Can't find release notes anywhere yet. If anyone else has them please post.

Where is Burnside? He used to post this kind of things...
hotjt133 is offline  
post #7209 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sbddvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The lack of brightness uniformity must be common with this pj as I see it on my 1070 too. I have mine ceiling mounted and can definitely notice that the image is brighter on the left half of the screen.

"Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive." -Sir Walter Scott

sbddvm is offline  
post #7210 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 02:59 PM
Member
 
DavidinGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan to mount the 1070 between 12-14ft from the screen (white 135" 1.1gain) is their a preferred placement - better closer with less zoom for example or does it not matter much since I'm talking 2ft of difference here?


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 4


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 4
DavidinGA is offline  
post #7211 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotjt133 View Post

Where is Burnside? He used to post this kind of things...

Good question but I think he was getting info from the same Russian FTP
rwestley is offline  
post #7212 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Cerberus83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinGA View Post

I'm actually a big fan of having the screen very low to the floor as when I'm seated I prefer to be eye level with the MIDDLE of the screen. If your setup is typical with a comfy couch eye level is usually somewhere around 4ft from the floor (depending how comfy you get in the couch lol). I hate looking up at a screen....

Good point. If I'm sitting around 12-13' from the screen, I think my feet will not get in the way of the screen (lazy-boy for example); however, I think that may be too close to the screen. I would also need to place my Polk CS2 on the floor (don't think this will be a problem, but it's not ideal) and not to mention, I would need to find the room for the sub as well (Polk PSW505). Anyone with 125" screen that can confirm if sitting at 12' from the screen seems uncomfortable? Yes, I know it's all subjective, but still....

Worst case scenario: I may just get the projector and put a white sheet on the wall and see which diag. dimension would be the best.
Cerberus83 is offline  
post #7213 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 06:23 PM
Member
 
sojourner353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourner353 View Post

Hi all,

I see everyone is looking for 1.08 so here is a package I have put together.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x5omnxp1vr6wyi4/15YsjCtmTd
Update: Just added a Changelog file to the package in the Firmware folder, it has v1.08 changes included.
sojourner353 is offline  
post #7214 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
niccolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus83 View Post

Good point. If I'm sitting around 12-13' from the screen, I think my feet will not get in the way of the screen (lazy-boy for example); however, I think that may be too close to the screen. I would also need to place my Polk CS2 on the floor (don't think this will be a problem, but it's not ideal) and not to mention, I would need to find the room for the sub as well (Polk PSW505). Anyone with 125" screen that can confirm if sitting at 12' from the screen seems uncomfortable? Yes, I know it's all subjective, but still....

Worst case scenario: I may just get the projector and put a white sheet on the wall and see which diag. dimension would be the best.

I would definitely advocate for playing around with the position before you finalize it by mounting a screen. Eyes between a third from the bottom to halfway up the screen seems to be the consensus, looking up more than that is fatiguing. I have a 120" screen and sit about 13' away, and I find it immersive and not fatiguing.

Benq W1070 projector w/ Chief RSM mount with custom interface bracket
119" Da-Lite Cinema Contour with High-Contrast (gray) Da-Mat screen
Denon X2000 receiver fed by Panasonic DMP-BDT210 Bluray player
Focal Chorus 700-series towers and center, JMLab Tantal 500-series bookshelf rears
Rythmik FV15HP sub
niccolo is online now  
post #7215 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 07:10 PM
Member
 
rolling01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourner353 View Post

Update: Just added a Changelog file to the package in the Firmware folder, it has v1.08 changes included.

Cheers for that,changers were

Noise improvement / 1080p greenish problem via HDMI/VGA signal. Add 3D support timing: 1080p 60Hz SBS

Anyone that's has done the 1.08 update notice any noise improvement?
rolling01 is offline  
post #7216 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Member
 
elmermccurdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapino View Post

Just checked out the projector I received. It seems to be a different unit, with a lower firmware than what I had. Did not came in original packaging, so I assume this is a refurb. The bad news is it seems the problem is about the same, it is slightly less pronounced but it's still there. I suppose then this is something 'normal' for the w1070 and I'll have to learn to live with it. I would be very surprised to see this being a placement issue, I just checked and the lens is really right in the center of the screen.

I suppose the lens quality of the w1070 isn't exaclty all that. To be honest, I hope I got a decent unit now and not some refurb with a lamp which has hundreds of hours on it (the menu says 0 but this can easily be reset).

edit:
Searched the web some more and got to this review : http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/projectors/projectors-reviews/benq-w1070-projector/all-pages.html. This seems about on par what I am seeing, if you rotate the brightness they measures 180°, then you get what I am seeing. Maybe I am expecting too much from this projector?


Yep, I posted this image earlier -- I'm seeing the same thing, and my numbers as measured by a luxmeter are consistent with this image as well as numbers posted by another user. I've been on the fence as to whether to try to return it, but you've made up my mind -- I'll be keeping the one I have, and just chalking it up to the shortcuts necessary for such an inexpensive projector.
elmermccurdy is offline  
post #7217 of 9896 Old 01-06-2014, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
lapino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It is good to see that it is common. Would be better if it were not, but now you can stop considering sending it rma like I did twice without a solution. I am very much considering to sell mine and get an Optoma hd25e.
lapino is offline  
post #7218 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourner353 View Post

Update: Just added a Changelog file to the package in the Firmware folder, it has v1.08 changes included.

Thanks again for the Changelog file. When the unit came out there were reports of more noise with Brilliant Color and Normal Lamp mode. This could be reduced turning off Brilliant Color and using Smart Eco lamp mode. I have not tested this new firmware with Brilliant Color and Normal Lamp mode since I have my unit calibrated with Brilliant Color off.
I would guess that with these changes fixing the out of box green and noise would make the unit even more accurate out of the box. Hope someone can make a comparison.
rwestley is offline  
post #7219 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
smokenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i simply use a white wall in my living room as it's pure white and seems to work well.
i have 133" and sit around 4.4m from the screen and its a good size/distance. i tested it at around 160" and it seems a little big from this close haha.
i can see a slight brightness difference between each side, but it is nothing compared to say muira of the old sony lcd tvs etc. and i don't even notice it on mine unless i focus on it during a single colour scene. so i think mine is not as bad as some others have mentioned, but i can see how there is a tendency for the projector to have this fluctuation.
smokenz is offline  
post #7220 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Cerberus83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapino View Post

I am very much considering to sell mine and get an Optoma hd25e.

Just curious, but why Optoma HD25e? Have you had a chance to compare the two? I'm new to the projector scene so I'm just trying to learn as much as I can before I pull the trigger on a projector.
Cerberus83 is offline  
post #7221 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
lapino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I will be able to compare them since I ordered the hd25e right now and it should be here tomorrow. Then I'll test the hd25 and if it's (noticeably) better, than I'll keep it and sell the w1070. I'll take a hit but I'll survive. I can send the Optoma back within 14 days though, so not taking any risk really.
lapino is offline  
post #7222 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
darthjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Trying to update my unit's firmware to 1.08. Looks like my Windows 8 machine isn't recognizing the projector over USB. Is there a driver package available? BenQ didn't seem to have one on their website. Thanks!
darthjoe is offline  
post #7223 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
The drivers should automatically load in Windows 8. There are instructions in the DLP composer file on how to manually load them. When I updated to 108 yesterday the drivers reloaded when I had the projector in upgrade mode. It took about 4 or 5 minutes for the drivers to load. I then did the update.
rwestley is offline  
post #7224 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 08:33 AM
Member
 
DavidinGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan to mount the 1070 between 12-14ft from the screen (white 135" 1.1gain) is their a preferred placement - better closer with less zoom for example or does it not matter much since I'm talking 2ft of difference here?


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 4


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 4
DavidinGA is offline  
post #7225 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
darthjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

The drivers should automatically load in Windows 8. There are instructions in the DLP composer file on how to manually load them. When I updated to 108 yesterday the drivers reloaded when I had the projector in upgrade mode. It took about 4 or 5 minutes for the drivers to load. I then did the update.

Yep, did that. My issue is that Windows recognizes the projector when it is on, however, it keeps dropping the projector as soon as I put it into download mode.
darthjoe is offline  
post #7226 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthjoe View Post

Yep, did that. My issue is that Windows recognizes the projector when it is on, however, it keeps dropping the projector as soon as I put it into download mode.

Seems very strange. Did you try a different USB port? I had an issue with one of my USB ports on my laptop and by using another everything worked. Since the drivers have loaded it has to be something else. A few things to check: Have you put the flash paramaters in the folder? Did you select USB under edit preferences? Did you select complete download and put a check in skip boot loader area 32 Kb? Good luck
rwestley is offline  
post #7227 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 09:46 AM
Member
 
darthjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

Seems very strange. Did you try a different USB port? I had an issue with one of my USB ports on my laptop and by using another everything worked. Since the drivers have loaded it has to be something else. A few things to check: Have you put the flash paramaters in the folder? Did you select USB under edit preferences? Did you select complete download and put a check in skip boot loader area 32 Kb? Good luck

All squared away...simple issue was that it wasn't really in download mode. Was a solid orange instead of red. Tried again, saw solid red, and updated without issue. Thanks for your responses.
darthjoe is offline  
post #7228 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Cerberus83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapino View Post

I will be able to compare them since I ordered the hd25e right now and it should be here tomorrow. Then I'll test the hd25 and if it's (noticeably) better, than I'll keep it and sell the w1070. I'll take a hit but I'll survive. I can send the Optoma back within 14 days though, so not taking any risk really.

Splendid! Please post your review! I'm interested in the comparison between the two... smile.gif
Cerberus83 is offline  
post #7229 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've had many people come over and watch Pacific Rim in 3D and they were wowed by the image. I have the 3DTV Corp DLP2-2 glasses projecting on a Da-Lite high power 106" screen in normal mode.
Grayson73 is offline  
post #7230 of 9896 Old 01-07-2014, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
sojodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Trying to update my unit's firmware to 1.08. Looks like my Windows 8 machine isn't recognizing the projector over USB. Is there a driver package available? BenQ didn't seem to have one on their website. Thanks!

Make sure the red light is staying on. I had to hold the power and auto button a little longer to make sure the red light stayed on. I heard a beep with my computer and it downloaded fine after that.
sojodave is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off