BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 262 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7831 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
bighvy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
3d blurays thru the ps3 have to be set to framepack if u didn't set it that way
bighvy76 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7832 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 11:12 AM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My projector auto detects the 3d blue ray from ps3 and sets it to frame packing format 1080p/24hz. But still not the same effect as wat I get with my cable 3d movies on SBS 1080i /60hz.

u think is there any other setting etc ??????
d19racing is offline  
post #7833 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
bighvy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Your 3d cable really looks that good? I herd there are other setting on 1.08 upgrade I'm still on 1.05
bighvy76 is offline  
post #7834 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
THe_Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

My projector auto detects the 3d blue ray from ps3 and sets it to frame packing format 1080p/24hz. But still not the same effect as wat I get with my cable 3d movies on SBS 1080i /60hz.

u think is there any other setting etc ??????
Blu-Rays are frame packed, it's as simple as that. I don't know why your streamed/cable content would look that superior, most everyone would argue the opposite. I suppose if it were really that important to you, you could rip your 3D Blu-Ray movies to SBS or T&B with DVDFab. I really can't see that being worth it though personally.
THe_Flash is offline  
post #7835 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 08:40 PM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just want to find out if there is any other setting that would help to achieve the effect depth / 3d POP OUT EFFECT via my Blue Ray that I get via 3d cable movies..

Also can anyone giver directions / links on how to upgrade my firmware from 1.6 to 1.8 . Thanks . Dint have clue on how to this.

Also wat does the "Wireless" button on the remote do as when I click if if does nothing...?
d19racing is offline  
post #7836 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 09:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
THe_Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There are instructions for firmware upgrades littered through this thread, and there is a link to the firmware with the instructions just a few pages back. Search the thread, it's all here.
THe_Flash is offline  
post #7837 of 9657 Old 02-15-2014, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

I just want to find out if there is any other setting that would help to achieve the effect depth / 3d POP OUT EFFECT via my Blue Ray that I get via 3d cable movies..

Also can anyone giver directions / links on how to upgrade my firmware from 1.6 to 1.8 . Thanks . Dint have clue on how to this.

Also wat does the "Wireless" button on the remote do as when I click if if does nothing...?

Maybe it's the PS3 ... I find that BD 3D framepacking movies are as good or better than downloaded SBS or T/B movies. My Sony BD player has a 3D depth/pop setting (normal, +1, +2 - or something like that) ... but I keep it on normal. Since you have a Sony device maybe it has a similar 3D setting?
filtor is offline  
post #7838 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 05:28 AM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My PS3 does not have any 3d depth/POP Setting at all. Checked it again.

There has to something else...
d19racing is offline  
post #7839 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 06:18 AM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There has to be some setting issue cause how else can I explain that 3D POP OUT EFFECT for 3d movies from my Comcast cable on SBS 1080i/60hz and not having any 3D POP OUT EFFECT when playing 3D BLue Ray movies from my PS3 on FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz ????

Unless movies like Pacific Rim, Avatar, or Tangled have 0 Pop out Effect... But I'm thinking its gotta be something else ????
d19racing is offline  
post #7840 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

There has to be some setting issue cause how else can I explain that 3D POP OUT EFFECT for 3d movies from my Comcast cable on SBS 1080i/60hz and not having any 3D POP OUT EFFECT when playing 3D BLue Ray movies from my PS3 on FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz ????

Unless movies like Pacific Rim, Avatar, or Tangled have 0 Pop out Effect... But I'm thinking its gotta be something else ????

Can't speak for Tangled, but Pacific Rim and Avatar both have very little pop-out, it's all about the depth. If pop-out is what you yearn for, the majority of 3D probably will disappoint you. That being said, there are some great 3D movies with a lot of pop-out, but in my experience, it's mostly the animated flicks.

CheYC is online now  
post #7841 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 07:02 AM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But nothing POps Out for me in Pacific Rim & Avatar. Zero Pop outs when played via my PS3.

Since u said that there were at least little pop outs.

On the other hand Pops out all over the when watching 3d movies like Jack the Giant Slayer, Journey to the Mysterious Island 2, Wreck it Ralph, etc from my Via comcast cable.
d19racing is offline  
post #7842 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 07:35 AM
Member
 
bighvy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Have u tried playing the same movie thru ps3 and thru cable to see how they compare ?
bighvy76 is offline  
post #7843 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

But nothing POps Out for me in Pacific Rim & Avatar. Zero Pop outs when played via my PS3.

Since u said that there were at least little pop outs.

On the other hand Pops out all over the when watching 3d movies like Jack the Giant Slayer, Journey to the Mysterious Island 2, Wreck it Ralph, etc from my Via comcast cable.

Well, if you really are taking me that literal, then no, there is no pop-out in Pacific Rim that I can remember, and maybe one or two scenes from Avatar, and even those weren't that exaggerated. Kids/animated films (like the ones you seen on Comcast) almost always have far more pop-out than other movies. Journey actually probably has some of the best pop-out for a movie out there.

Best suggestion out there is to compare like the above poster said, or watch a movie like Madagascar 3, Rise of the Guardians, or the "fish scene" from IMax Under the Sea on your PS3 setup, then if you see no pop-out, there may be something wrong.

CheYC is online now  
post #7844 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
kohawk08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello everybody, I just bought this projector and am going to buy the Peerless mount based off of the recommendations in this thread. My question is this: based off of the Benq calculator website, it says to mount my projector roughly 12 inches from the ceiling. Will I need to buy an extension for this mount? I'm assuming no, since it has vertical lens shift??? Is this correct? Does anybody have a formula or website which shows when I would need to buy an extension??

 

Thank you so much for all of the knowledge and expertise that you guys have. I am a total newbie to all of this and I couldnt have done any of my home theatre w/o all of the knowledgable folks on this website.

kohawk08 is offline  
post #7845 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Auric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I thought the POP OUT is made by the Special Effects Team who made the Movie, the Software (aka Bluray or Stream) does contain only in two different frames, the Players Job is to decode these two different Frames, the Projectors job is to show these two different Frames

No POP Out in the Movie no POP OUT to watch, regardless of the Source, Player or Display.
THe_Flash likes this.
Auric is offline  
post #7846 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 11:18 AM
Member
 
sojourner353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourner353 View Post

Hi all,

So interesting issue has just occurred with my projector, it seems HDMI Port 1 has failed, at first I suspected it was my Denon Receiver but after changing to HDMI Port 2 it all works again, the signal on HDMI Port one cuts in and out and at times the Projector says No Signal.

Seems strange because it's been working fine for the past year and I haven't modified my setup in any way, any ideas or anyone else seen this problem? Cheers.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk Pro

The early 1070's had poor HDMI ports that were later changed. I would suggest changing your cable and try again. If it it cutting in and out it seems like a connection issue. Try another cable and be very careful in seating the cable.
Fault found the problem, my receiver is dying, took it out of the circuit and issue goes away, just ran out of warranty too, wonderful! Thanks for the help guys.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk Pro
sojourner353 is online now  
post #7847 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Golfwhizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are best 3D glasses for this projector. Thanks
Golfwhizard is offline  
post #7848 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfwhizard View Post

What are best 3D glasses for this projector. Thanks

Opinions vary - but I'm totally satisfied with my Tru Depth 3D Firestorm XL glasses. Don't see how they could be any better. Large, comfortable, go over regular glasses and covers all the screen and much more, no red flash/tint, don't lose sync, not overly dark with great contrast and are rechargeable. Best available in my opinion.
filtor is offline  
post #7849 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Golfwhizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by filtor View Post

Opinions vary - but I'm totally satisfied with my Tru Depth 3D Firestorm XL glasses. Don't see how they could be any better. Large, comfortable, go over regular glasses and covers all the screen and much more, no red flash/tint, don't lose sync, not overly dark with great contrast and are rechargeable. Best available in my opinion.


Thank you Filtor smile.gif
Golfwhizard is offline  
post #7850 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 09:50 PM
Member
 
OZReddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hi, are you aware that there is a dedicated topic on 3D glasses for the W1070 / W1080ST? You may like to take a look.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1448720/benq-w1070-144hz-compatible-dlp-link-3d-glasses
OZReddog is offline  
post #7851 of 9657 Old 02-16-2014, 11:57 PM
Member
 
normanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What totally sucks is I have it near the sealing on a shelf.
But now I have to lay the projector on its back ....
It can only project or from low to high or upside down from high to low frown.gif
normanu is offline  
post #7852 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 12:52 AM
Member
 
fredl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Degerfors, N/A, Sweden
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why can't you mount it upside down below the shelf?

Just use appropriate nylon distances so the projectors cooling works and long bolts with washers.
fredl is offline  
post #7853 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 01:21 AM
Newbie
 
Escabeche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, I updated  firmware version from 1.05 to 1.08, It finished ok but now the red light is always on, and the projector doesn't start after updating.

 

If I connect it to the Pc using the USB, the PC doesn't detect anything, so I can not repeat the operacion with another firmware version

 

ups! I doesn't sound well. Has it happened to anyone? 

 

Any idea? Is it possible to reset the flash memory?

Escabeche is offline  
post #7854 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
mishari84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
same issue happened to me. I sent it to Benq and they changed the motherboard
mishari84 is offline  
post #7855 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 02:49 AM
Member
 
normanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredl View Post

Why can't you mount it upside down below the shelf?

Just use appropriate nylon distances so the projectors cooling works and long bolts with washers.

Its on top of a bookcase to be precise....
normanu is offline  
post #7856 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 03:08 AM
Newbie
 
Escabeche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ough :(

 

did you have any problem with warranty?

Escabeche is offline  
post #7857 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 08:21 AM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11

There has to be some setting issue cause how else can I explain that amazing 3D POP OUT EFFECT for 3d movies from my Comcast cable on SBS 1080i/60hz

 

And not having Zero 3D POP OUT EFFECT when playing 3D Blue Ray movies from my PS3 on FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz

 


Unless movies like Pacific Rim, Avatar, or Tangled have No Pop out Effect at all ...

 

But I'm thinking its gotta be something else ????  Any to do with "Nvidia card or FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz setting" in projector/ or any other PS3 setting ? 

 

Using True Depth 3D Glasses, work very well on the cable format atleast.... ? 

d19racing is offline  
post #7858 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

My projector auto detects the 3d blue ray from ps3 and sets it to frame packing format 1080p/24hz. But still not the same effect as wat I get with my cable 3d movies on SBS 1080i /60hz.

u think is there any other setting etc ??????

I believe it is because of the lower resolution in SBS 3D (vs. True 1080p Framepacked). When I looked into the 3D Bee 2D-3D converter, they note that 720p content in 3D will have ~30% stronger depth/popout than 1080p

gamermwm is offline  
post #7859 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by d19racing View Post

There has to be some setting issue cause how else can I explain that amazing 3D POP OUT EFFECT for 3d movies from my Comcast cable on SBS 1080i/60hz

And not having Zero 3D POP OUT EFFECT when playing 3D Blue Ray movies from my PS3 on FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz



Unless movies like Pacific Rim, Avatar, or Tangled have No Pop out Effect at all ...

But I'm thinking its gotta be something else ????  Any to do with "Nvidia card or FramePacking @ 1080P/24hz setting" in projector/ or any other PS3 setting ? 

Using True Depth 3D Glasses, work very well on the cable format atleast.... ? 

Again, purchase a blu ray that you know has significant popout and test it (ones that you've already seen on comcast or the ones I quoted earlier). The films you're listing there have VERY little to no pop out from what I recall. There is no setting on the PS3 that will change what you're seeing right now. I have a PS3 as my blu ray player and have no problems with 3D.
fredxr2d2 likes this.

CheYC is online now  
post #7860 of 9657 Old 02-17-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
d19racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Thanks again CheYC, & all other who have provided helpful insight towards my issue. 

 

I shall do as advised. Will buy Journey to the Mysterious Island 2 on 3D Blue Ray and see if it plays the same way (displays 3D Pops Pout Effect) as it does when played from my Comcast Cable.

 

Will post my findings after comparing them. 

d19racing is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off