BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 274 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8191 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:37 PM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post

Yes, I did mount the screen first but only because I wasn't certain that the screen was centered in the housing or if it was slightly offset due to the motor or electronics. As it turns out it was centered in the housing so all of my preliminary measurements and blue masking tape was right on. However, it did provide added confidence regarding the projector distance to be able to turn the projector on, push it and the attached mount to the ceiling, and then make some quick and rough projector zoom adjustments to ensure the image size and centering was correct.

I found a cell phone photo of when I was fishing wire and conduit. The pieces of blue masking tape along the ceiling, screen housing, mantle, fireplace, etc. marked my centerline. You will notice that the center of the mount is not on the center line.

N2Sand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8192 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Wow! I'm shocked at the picture on my 110" Elite screen. This us more than good enough for me.

I got a refurb but it literally looks brand new...zero hours on the lamp. Crazy how good it is for such little money.

Disclaimer: I'm not a video guy but I do like a good picture...very happy. smile.gif
lsdec is offline  
post #8193 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
quote name="lsdec" url="/t/1435626/benq-w1070-dlp-full-hd-3d-ready-with-lens-shift-for-1000/8190#post_24554215"]Wow! I'm shocked at the picture on my 110" Elite screen. This us more than good enough for me.



I got a refurb but it literally looks brand new...zero hours on the lamp. Crazy how good it is for such little money.

Disclaimer: I'm not a video guy but I do like a good picture...very happy. smile.gif[/quote]


How long did it take u to set it all up. Anyone recommend a 25ft hdmi cable?
bori is offline  
post #8194 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:51 PM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I purchased a "Twisted Veins" 25' HDMI from Amazon. There are numerous brands of 25' cables that are good and inexpensive.

Edit:

Here's a link: http://www.amazon.com/Twisted-Veins-Adapter-Supports-Ethernet/dp/B00BEW9BBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1396324308&sr=1-5&keywords=twisted+veins+hdmi
N2Sand is offline  
post #8195 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:54 PM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
N2Sand is offline  
post #8196 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post

I've heard these are really good also (5 stars on amazon with almost 12000 reviews)

http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-ULTRA-HDMI-Cable-Feet/dp/B0031TRZX2/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1396324394&sr=1-3&keywords=25+ft+hdmi+cable


Just ordered this one thanks.
bori is offline  
post #8197 of 10654 Old 03-31-2014, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

quote name="lsdec" url="/t/1435626/benq-w1070-dlp-full-hd-3d-ready-with-lens-shift-for-1000/8190#post_24554215"]Wow! I'm shocked at the picture on my 110" Elite screen. This us more than good enough for me.



I got a refurb but it literally looks brand new...zero hours on the lamp. Crazy how good it is for such little money.

Disclaimer: I'm not a video guy but I do like a good picture...very happy. smile.gif


How long did it take u to set it all up. Anyone recommend a 25ft hdmi cable?[/quote]

First I got the Blue Rigger cable from amazon for $11.95.

It took about an hour or so but I didn't mount the projector yet. I can watch Directv thru this too..not just for movies.

I'm prolly never going to do 3D..but how is it?
lsdec is offline  
post #8198 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 12:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

Ceiling mounts?

You are going to hear the range of options out there for ceiling mounts from fixed extension junk from under $30 to models near $200. I'm going to say that, flat out, the best mount I've ever used, and I've used over a dozen different mounts, is the Chief RPMAU, which is an expensive one.

The thing to keep in mind is the following with ceiling mounts:

1. Is it universal? Many are, some are not. You should get a universal mount if at all possible so you can use it on this projector, and your next projector without having to rebuy.
2. Is the connection point to the projector sturdy? Cheaper models tend to flex some. Some flex a lot. The arms that hold the projector are thin and weak and allow the projector to move a bit.
3. Are the adjustments easy to use? Most are not. They tighten down with screws, that shift the projector slightly. Half a degree of 'slip' and the projector is off by an inch. So, easy to use adjustments allow for more precise setup, far more quickly.
4. Are the adjustments able to be locked down tightly? Many can, some can't. Some mounts just aren't able to properly secure the projector in place, so when you bump it, or make and adjustment, it throws the projector alignment off slightly. What a pain!
5. Does it offer quick release? Some do, some don't. Quick release makes it easy to pull a projector down to take it with you somewhere, or to swap out a lamp when it fails. In a fixed installation, not as big of a deal, but still helpful to have this added convenience.
6. Does it offer flexible installation height? Many do not. Some offer limited amount, some offer none. Industry standard from better manufacturers is the use of 1.5" pipe available from hardware stores. This pipe comes in pre-cut lengths or can be purchased at a specific length. Using standard pipe increases the flexibility of the installation significantly, but adds to the price some.

All that said, the Chief RPMAU pretty much maxes out the quality in all departments and is often available on eBay for under $100.

Here is one right at $100:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chief-RPMAU-Projector-mount-with-lock-and-key-/121287899855?pt=US_Projector_Parts_Accessories&hash=item1c3d527acf

This one is a phenomenal deal:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chief-RPM-Series-Ceiling-Mount-50lbs-/360886115305?pt=US_Projector_Mounts_Stands&hash=item54067d1be9

As is this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chief-RPM-Series-Ceiling-Mount-50lbs-/141241562854?pt=US_Projector_Mounts_Stands&hash=item20e2a736e6

These mounts are far better than pretty much anything else out there.
Thanks for the advice! I am planning to get the BenQ mount though. It's $55.
lsdec is offline  
post #8199 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 03:11 AM
Newbie
 
adrenai3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 

I am thinking about getting benq w1070

 

I decided that 100" is good screen size for my room , but unfortunately i found that to get 100" , projector  should be at least 10’ far from my screen

 

 

my room is 14 * 13 , i want the projector to be at the opposite wall to the screen that's mean 14' far from my screen

 

 

 

Is there any way to get that screen size with throw distance at 14'?

 

 

adrenai3 is offline  
post #8200 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

When using the BenQ calculater. They state top of screen and bottom of screen. Just the be clear the top of screen will be the white part of the top and bottom. Not the black border correct? Below is the one I ordered and the benQ calculator.

Elite Screens 100 Inch 16:9 Spectrum Electric Projector Screen (49"Hx87.2"W) E... http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000YTRFEG/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_TyHotb075PKE3AXK via @amazon


http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

Those measurements are for the viewable area. There are full specs on their website for black boarders, case length, bar length, bar to top case, etc.
bluer101 is offline  
post #8201 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Yes the only thing is that I have I 65inch Dlp sitting on the entertainment stand. I want to keep it there for general use. I don't know what I am going to do but I will need to figure out something.

You can do what I did and have the screen come down I front of your entertainment center.
bluer101 is offline  
post #8202 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
AaronPSU79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenai3 View Post


I am thinking about getting benq w1070


I decided that 100" is good screen size for my room , but unfortunately i found that to get 100" , projector  should be at least 10’ far from my screen

my room is 14 * 13 , i want the projector to be at the opposite wall to the screen that's mean 14' far from my screen

Is there any way to get that screen size with throw distance at 14'?


According to the BenQ calculator: http://www.benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/ at a throw distance of 13'6" (I subtracted 6" to leave room for cables) the minimum screen size would be 124". To get a screen size of 100" the projector can be a maximum of 10'10" from the screen. So you can either mount the projector closer to the screen or get a bigger screen. Personally, I would get a 120" screen if I were you. Your seating distance will be about 13' or so I would guess. A 120" screen at 13' seating distance is quite nice. I have a 115" screen and I sit about 10' from it and I think it's just about perfect.
AaronPSU79 is offline  
post #8203 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 07:53 AM
Member
 
AaronPSU79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

I use the W1070 on a 161" diagonal Draper Ultimate Access V screen with 1.3 gain white surface.

I have the projector in low brightness mode, in my unfinished basement with open walls, and ceiling. Walls are covered with insulation with the silver backing on it. Floors are cement. Yeah, it's a horrendous setup, and the projector still fills the screen with plenty of brightness for 2D use with some lights on. No, I'm not kidding, and this is the 5th or 6th projector I've had now over the past 15 years.

I have not played with 3D yet on the screen, but I do have some glasses so I need to give it a try.

Thanks for your response. This gives me more confidence about using a larger screen. After some additional research I'm thinking I may go with 135" instead of 150". My room only has 7'11" ceilings. A 150" screen will not leave much room from floor to screen bottom, meaning things like a coffee table will block the view. Plus there could be issues with reflected light illuminating the ceiling. Even a 135" screen will be pushing it in these regards but I'm willing to risk it smile.gif
AaronPSU79 is offline  
post #8204 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronPSU79 View Post

Thanks for your response. This gives me more confidence about using a larger screen. After some additional research I'm thinking I may go with 135" instead of 150". My room only has 7'11" ceilings. A 150" screen will not leave much room from floor to screen bottom, meaning things like a coffee table will block the view. Plus there could be issues with reflected light illuminating the ceiling. Even a 135" screen will be pushing it in these regards but I'm willing to risk it smile.gif

Funny you say that.. I would have loved a 135" screen. In hindsight I could have went with a 120-125" screen and I would have been ok.

135" would be awesome...I'm sitting about 12-13' away.
lsdec is offline  
post #8205 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Damn missed the refurb deal...have these been going in and out at Benq's site?
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #8206 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Damn missed the refurb deal...have these been going in and out at Benq's site?

Continue to check Benq's site and also Amazon for a refurbished sold by BenQ America at the same price, but a few dollars more for shipping. Stock continues to go in and out. I have had a good experience going the refurb route.
Bachelor is offline  
post #8207 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Anyone that ordered a refurb from BenQ got there shipment status? Mine still stuck on processing and I ordered a couple of days ago.
bori is offline  
post #8208 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Anyone recommend a 25ft hdmi cable?

If you are running any cables in-wall or behind drywall and it is difficult to install/replace this cable then make sure you not only run a quality HDMI cable, but that you run 2 pieces of cat-6 along with it. If possible, put in conduit, but this is rarely feasible. But, if the cable is difficult to run, you want to protect yourself somewhat by adding cat-6 cabling.

My personal favorite cable is the Monoprice 22AWG HDMI cable. This garden hose of a cable isn't friendly to work with, but has proven to be the best I've seen in terms of long term reliability and capability of carrying a high-resolution image across it at most any length.

They also have 25' pre-terminated cat-6STP cables which are worth putting in behind drywall if necessary.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10250&cs_id=1025001&p_id=6103&seq=1&format=2

and

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10232&cs_id=1023216&p_id=5904&seq=1&format=2

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #8209 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsdec View Post

Thanks for the advice! I am planning to get the BenQ mount though. It's $55.
Anyone is free to buy whatever they would like, but I can promise you, whatever you end up with will not be as good as the Chief Elite mount. It may be adequate, it may even be good, it just won't be as good.

Worth saying that many projector companies use Chief to manufacturer their 'branded' mounts. I know that some of the mounts Infocus sells are just rebadged (or custom made) Chief mounts.

I'm wondering though, what mount do you think is the 'BenQ mount'? They don't actually list a mount on their website, and frankly buying a projector 'specific' mount means that when (not if) the projector fails, you must buy a brand new mount later on. Kind of a waste of money, but it's your money.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #8210 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

If you are running any cables in-wall or behind drywall and it is difficult to install/replace this cable then make sure you not only run a quality HDMI cable, but that you run 2 pieces of cat-6 along with it. If possible, put in conduit, but this is rarely feasible. But, if the cable is difficult to run, you want to protect yourself somewhat by adding cat-6 cabling.

My personal favorite cable is the Monoprice 22AWG HDMI cable. This garden hose of a cable isn't friendly to work with, but has proven to be the best I've seen in terms of long term reliability and capability of carrying a high-resolution image across it at most any length.

They also have 25' pre-terminated cat-6STP cables which are worth putting in behind drywall if necessary.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10250&cs_id=1025001&p_id=6103&seq=1&format=2

and

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10232&cs_id=1023216&p_id=5904&seq=1&format=2

Adding Cat 6 cabling for support and strength?
bori is offline  
post #8211 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Anyone that ordered a refurb from BenQ got there shipment status? Mine still stuck on processing and I ordered a couple of days ago.

Yes that was frustrating for me too. I ordered on 3/22 and they didn't ship until 3/26. But I received it on 4/1....I think if you do Economy shipping for $4, they hold the order a little bit.

It's all good though - since mine looked new with 0 hours on the lamp. And if you are not a videophile, it's like being at the theatres.
lsdec is offline  
post #8212 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Its it lelet's me set things up before it gets here.
bori is offline  
post #8213 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsdec View Post

Yes that was frustrating for me too. I ordered on 3/22 and they didn't ship until 3/26. But I received it on 4/1....I think if you do Economy shipping for $4, they hold the order a little bit.

It's all good though - since mine looked new with 0 hours on the lamp. And if you are not a videophile, it's like being at the theatres.

I agree with the slowness of shipping it out. Mine also sat for 4 days until it shipped. That was the only negative thing to say about my experience.
Bachelor is offline  
post #8214 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Adding Cat 6 cabling for support and strength?
No, there are HDMI over cat-6 converters that are expensive, but are in high use for longer distance runs and difficult runs. If you install a HDMI cable behind a wall that needed drywall work (typically expensive $$$), then adding $25 of cat-6STP allows you to put in a HDMI over cat-6 extender, typically HDBaseT is the current 'best' out there, but in the future, there are likely to be even more advanced versions that can use the existing cat-6 cable if need be.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #8215 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Ok, so I just received my Benq 1080ST in the mail today. I bought a refurb from Projector Supercenter which is an authorized reseller by Benq. I was pumped, excited to fire it up, but both HDMI connections can't detect a source. It's running firmware 1.02, the original stock form. I have tried different cables, different source material (receiver and blu ray player), and for HDMI 1 it says ,"No source detected". For HDMI 2, it just sits on "Searching for Source and then goes to "No Signal"

Anything that I'm missing here....or is this unit a dud? Thanks for your help!
butie120 is online now  
post #8216 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post

Ok, so I just received my Benq 1080ST in the mail today. I bought a refurb from Projector Supercenter which is an authorized reseller by Benq. I was pumped, excited to fire it up, but both HDMI connections can't detect a source. It's running firmware 1.02, the original stock form. I have tried different cables, different source material (receiver and blu ray player), and for HDMI 1 it says ,"No source detected". For HDMI 2, it just sits on "Searching for Source and then goes to "No Signal"

Anything that I'm missing here....or is this unit a dud? Thanks for your help!

The early 1070s had a problem with some HDMI cable connectors being a bit too large to fully seat properly. Make sure the connector is seating properly and if not trim off some of the excess around the connector or get a cable with a slimmer connector. If that's not the issue -- don't know.....
filtor is offline  
post #8217 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by filtor View Post

The early 1070s had a problem with some HDMI cable connectors being a bit too large to fully seat properly. Make sure the connector is seating properly and if not trim off some of the excess around the connector or get a cable with a slimmer connector. If that's not the issue -- don't know.....

Hmm, I wonder if that happened to the 1080ST as well. Regardless, I think I will be sending it in. I just bought a 35 foot Bluerigger in wall hdmi cable. I don't feel like having to trim that. I guess we will see what Benq does for me.
butie120 is online now  
post #8218 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post

Hmm, I wonder if that happened to the 1080ST as well. Regardless, I think I will be sending it in. I just bought a 35 foot Bluerigger in wall hdmi cable. I don't feel like having to trim that. I guess we will see what Benq does for me.

Bluerigger connectors are fairly slim - compared to some with the larger rectangle-ish connectors. Could indeed be a pj issue....
filtor is offline  
post #8219 of 10654 Old 04-01-2014, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
When determining the height the projector should be mounted on a ceiling. Am I correct to assume the height from the ceiling is measured from the center of the lens to the ceiling?
bori is offline  
post #8220 of 10654 Old 04-02-2014, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

When determining the height the projector should be mounted on a ceiling. Am I correct to assume the height from the ceiling is measured from the center of the lens to the ceiling?

I believe so. All my measurements prior to getting screen and PJ were pretty much right on give or take an inch, within that range.

I used a laser level to help get my pj perfectly 90% from screen and center. Plus using ing a framers square too.
bluer101 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread - W1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off