BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 283 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8461 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Jimbo2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: FL
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was all set to buy one but I was told the distance to the screen being 192" from the lens is not going to work on my 130" diag screen wall.

Any opinions?

Or if you agree what other models might work with similar quality?
Jimbo2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8462 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

I hope the MOUNT isn't one of your passions, but many on these forums are certainly passionate about getting the best 'on-screen' image possible, and when you can't align your projector easily, and spend hours futzing with the mount... then getting frustrated... perhaps yelling. It's amazing how passions can grow. biggrin.gif

Anyone who has used a cheap mount, then switches to a Elite mount understand the difference and the 'why' of a good mount.

For what it's worth, if you are dissatisfied, keep an eye on eBay. I've seen the Elite mount go for under $50 several times.
Yup... I picked up mine for under $40.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8463 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
schmidtwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo2012 View Post

I was all set to buy one but I was told the distance to the screen being 192" from the lens is not going to work on my 130" diag screen wall.

Any opinions?

Or if you agree what other models might work with similar quality?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/BenQ-W1070-projection-calculator-pro.htm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Schmidt Haus Theater (Temporarily on hold - obamanomics :-)
schmidtwi is offline  
post #8464 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by OZReddog View Post

Can the people who are having dust blob problems please advise if their projector was ceiling mounted up side down?

Thanks, just thinking outside the box here and exploring a theory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

Ceiling mounted upside down, here!

Ceiling mounted upside down here also and I hate to report my replacement unit now has two blobs. Third movie into using it. mad.gif
ellisr63 likes this.

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
post #8465 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morkeleb View Post


Ceiling mounted upside down here also and I hate to report my replacement unit now has two blobs. Third movie into using it. mad.gif
I have been ceiling mounted for almost a year now.... Only problem I have is it developed the fan rattle.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8466 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morkeleb View Post


Ceiling mounted upside down here also and I hate to report my replacement unit now has two blobs. Third movie into using it. mad.gif
I have been ceiling mounted for almost a year now.... Only problem I have is it developed the fan rattle.

@Morkeleb: I can't believe it - that's a November-built model giving you hassles? Twice in a row! Does this mean the dust-sealing hasn't been improved between your March and November units, I wonder?
Was your November unit new or refurb?

@ellisr63: They're not obvious at first; and only affect users at specific zoom/focus combinations. They appear as white dust-shaped dots that go in and out of focus (becoming larger, less-bright circles) when viewed on an all-black screen. Depending on projector placement, they may be completely focused out, making them invisible.

To make sure you're definitely not affected, set your projector to Eco-Blank, and while it's blanked (in a dark room), experiment with changing both Zoom and Focus combinations across their respective ranges to make sure that none do appear.

You may be lucky; but OTOH maybe the degree of dust-sealing varies from unit to unit. My room is generally dust-free; except for a bit of dusty spring cleaning (which was when my issue first appeared). The rattling fan is pretty standard, though :-)

BenQ W1070 Projector; Xtreamer Ultra 2 (running XBMC on OpenELEC) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio. MediaBrowser3 for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #8467 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

@Morkeleb: I can't believe it - that's a November-built model giving you hassles? Twice in a row! Does this mean the dust-sealing hasn't been improved between your March and November units, I wonder?
Was your November unit new or refurb?

@ellisr63: They're not obvious at first; and only affect users at specific zoom/focus combinations. They appear as white dust-shaped dots that go in and out of focus (becoming larger, less-bright circles) when viewed on an all-black screen. Depending on projector placement, they may be completely focused out, making them invisible.

To make sure you're definitely not affected, set your projector to Eco-Blank, and while it's blanked (in a dark room), experiment with changing both Zoom and Focus combinations across their respective ranges to make sure that none do appear.

You may be lucky; but OTOH maybe the degree of dust-sealing varies from unit to unit. My room is generally dust-free; except for a bit of dusty spring cleaning (which was when my issue first appeared). The rattling fan is pretty standard, though :-)
My first one was returned in the first 30 days for the fan rattle... The fan noise is only noticeable if i walk around the projector and then I can hear it at around the front right side. I had the dust blobs on my old Epson 1080p... I don't see them on mine period. Our room doesn't really have a dust problem but a dog hair problem. When we get the new HT built it should be dust and dog hair free as the dogs won't be in the room as much as they are now (HT is in the family room).

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8468 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 09:53 PM
Member
 
OZReddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thank you for the responses regarding the dust blobs and ceiling mounting, appreciated.

Is there anyone who has experienced dust blobs who has the projector mounted/positioned right side up? Thanks.
Morkeleb likes this.
OZReddog is offline  
post #8469 of 10009 Old 04-17-2014, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Mine was manufactured in February 2014. Bought it refurbished.
bori is offline  
post #8470 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
CheYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

I have been ceiling mounted for almost a year now.... Only problem I have is it developed the fan rattle.

Same exact thing for me, only mine has been more like 9 months.

CheYC is offline  
post #8471 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
If I remember right, BenQ has this noise to be caused by the Color Wheel vibrating .

Rew
Rew452 is online now  
post #8472 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Mine is upside down. Build Jan 2014. My first PJ was sept 2013. It had the fan rattle after the first few movies and was more aggravated when on smart Eco. I run smart Eco only on 3d all other Eco only.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bluer101 is offline  
post #8473 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post

@Morkeleb: I can't believe it - that's a November-built model giving you hassles? Twice in a row! Does this mean the dust-sealing hasn't been improved between your March and November units, I wonder?
Was your November unit new or refurb?

@ellisr63: They're not obvious at first; and only affect users at specific zoom/focus combinations. They appear as white dust-shaped dots that go in and out of focus (becoming larger, less-bright circles) when viewed on an all-black screen. Depending on projector placement, they may be completely focused out, making them invisible.

To make sure you're definitely not affected, set your projector to Eco-Blank, and while it's blanked (in a dark room), experiment with changing both Zoom and Focus combinations across their respective ranges to make sure that none do appear.

You may be lucky; but OTOH maybe the degree of dust-sealing varies from unit to unit. My room is generally dust-free; except for a bit of dusty spring cleaning (which was when my issue first appeared). The rattling fan is pretty standard, though :-)

My replacement unit is an October 2013 build and it was refurbished. The dust blob on my original unit was towards the bottom and faint. On the replacement unit after I watched my third movie on it last night as the credits rolled there where two dust blobs. One of these is close to the middle of all places so needless to say I'm not happy but not going to do anything about it at this time. It won't really bother me until I start seeing it during a movie which will likely be the next horror movie I watch.

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
post #8474 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
wootpiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus83 View Post

Thanks!! I will look into Lofree MT-200 (is it back-lit?).

I'm putting all of my media behind the wall in a closet and I just bought Harmony Ultimate as I am hoping to hide all the devices. But to your point, I would need the mouse and a keyboard (to search titles at least).

Sorry, I'm in Italy so I missed this. The Lofree isn't backlit which is what led me to purchase the logitech mini controller. I just have to test if it will work with the android stick. It should be in my mailbox when I get home.

wootpiggy is offline  
post #8475 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
preed88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Proud new owner of a 1070 here. 

 

Quick question: Ive noticed that when something bright comes on the screen, it seems that the projector increases its brightness and washes out all the blacks in the process. Is there a way to disable this? Or am I mistaken and thats just the white light bouncing off my walls...

preed88 is offline  
post #8476 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Thanks guys for the suggestions. Got my projector set up again. Here are some pics. nuhegu6a.jpg

y3e4avap.jpg

uhe2u5ab.jpg

amujuse7.jpg

puna3avy.jpg

a5u5y5um.jpg

Sent from the TermiNOTEr 2! ;-)
bori is offline  
post #8477 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I placed a piece of tape to cover the zoom adjustments. Is this OK? I did this so nobody changes my settings.
bori is offline  
post #8478 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
lsdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I mounted mine today as well using the BenQ projector mount. All in all it was pretty easy. The horizontal shift is the one thing that would have made my job easier. Dumb mistake of centering on the middle of the projector vs the lens.

It has a release lever for the angles. It's a ball pivot where you can tilt it in any axis. The height adjustment flexibility was very nice and it's pretty stable.

The hdmi cable is just taped to the ceiling for now until I get some cable management. smile.gif.

Time for a movie now as my reward biggrin.gif.
lsdec is offline  
post #8479 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What cable management are you guy's using for your ceiling. Also I'm using a Pioneer blu ray player for 2D and PS3 for 3D what settings should I be using.

jsil is offline  
post #8480 of 10009 Old 04-18-2014, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsil View Post

What cable management are you guy's using for your ceiling. Also I'm using a Pioneer blu ray player for 2D and PS3 for 3D what settings should I be using.

I'm just using a single gang recessed plate. Plenty of cables can enter and exit. Kind of looks like a snout.
butie120 is offline  
post #8481 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 07:54 AM
Member
 
GLW65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a refurb from Benq. I have 30 days to try it before I can't send it back. Can some of you who have had the unit for some time tell me how you are doing on bulb hours. In smart eco this is supposed to give 6000 hours. Are any of you getting close to this? How much bulb dimming do you see? Is it noticable in the number of hours you have on the bulb. Thanks for the info.
GLW65 is offline  
post #8482 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I have a question. Just want to make sure. Does your 1070 always looks like its adjusting colors when it switches input? Is it the color wheel adjusting every single time?
bori is offline  
post #8483 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

I have a question. Just want to make sure. Does your 1070 always looks like its adjusting colors when it switches input? Is it the color wheel adjusting every single time?

Yes, also when switching between some previews and menus. This is caused by 1080p 60 changing to 1080p 24 which is the movies native. I found you can go into your blu ray player and change the 24 output to off and then it will not do it but then it does not display the movie in the correct frame rate. Also all 3d blu rays I found out so far are 24.

Btw, you ceiling plate looks good. You just have to think a little out of the box.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bluer101 is offline  
post #8484 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post

Yes, also when switching between some previews and menus. This is caused by 1080p 60 changing to 1080p 24 which is the movies native. I found you can go into your blu ray player and change the 24 output to off and then it will not do it but then it does not display the movie in the correct frame rate. Also all 3d blu rays I found out so far are 24.

Btw, you ceiling plate looks good. You just have to think a little out of the box.


thanks for ur help
bori is offline  
post #8485 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Anyone replaced their bulb yet? I'm at 3600 hours since last Feb 2013...
JoeBoy73 is offline  
post #8486 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBoy73 View Post

Anyone replaced their bulb yet? I'm at 3600 hours since last Feb 2013...
I'm at 3300 hours since July 2014... I run in low power mode with our 134" Jamestown screen. I hope to make it till next year before I buy a new bulb.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8487 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

I'm at 3300 hours since July 2014... I run in low power mode with our 134" Jamestown screen. I hope to make it till next year before I buy a new bulb.

Thanks ellisr63....it seems that I'm in good company then!
ellisr63 likes this.
JoeBoy73 is offline  
post #8488 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 81
How long does a bulb usually last?
bori is offline  
post #8489 of 10009 Old 04-19-2014, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,070
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I think it around 6000 hours on low per BenQ... I am assuming there will be a warning popup when it is getting close as there was on my Epson.
bori likes this.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8490 of 10009 Old 04-20-2014, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Duckfan2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NW
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the w1070 perform in non-dedicated HT with moderate light, say sports viewing during the day?
Duckfan2012 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off