BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 370 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11071 of 11090 Old 03-24-2015, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Peterpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ftoast View Post
If you're having trouble with rainbows, changing it to 50hz might solve the problem. If it already looks fine, there's little reason to change it.
Thank you Not having any problems with rainbows so far
Peterpack is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11072 of 11090 Old 03-24-2015, 07:54 PM
Member
 
kyle85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I decided to temporarily mount the projector in my mostly finished basement and try to roughly setup the image size for a 120" screen using the built in test image. Once i got the height and width of the image dialed in to the correct size i noticed the bottom row of squares looked smaller. At first i thought the screen needed to be aimed down but that caused the screen to turn into a pyramid. After looked longer i noticed just the bottom row of squares were .5" smaller then the other rows from the top to the 2nd from the bottom row.

Is this normal on the test image for this bottom row to be smaller or is something else going on?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150324_222113.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	114.2 KB
ID:	623393   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150324_221049.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	218.4 KB
ID:	623401   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150324_221108.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	53.6 KB
ID:	623409  
kyle85 is offline  
post #11073 of 11090 Old 03-24-2015, 08:00 PM
Member
 
StephenRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Spacecoast of Florida
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle85 View Post
Once i got the height and width of the image dialed in to the correct size i noticed the bottom row of squares looked smaller

Is this normal on the test image for this bottom row to be smaller or is something else going on?
Normal, the bottom row is shorter.
StephenRC is offline  
post #11074 of 11090 Old 03-24-2015, 08:11 PM
Member
 
kyle85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenRC View Post
Normal, the bottom row is shorter.
Well that's good news, was hoping nothing was wrong.
kyle85 is offline  
post #11075 of 11090 Old 03-25-2015, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
SYVMN,
Great idea and solution for your given problem. Rather clever, out of the box thinking.
However, your choice in movies IS questionable / disturbing. (jk)
Nice job.
Ron

"New Member" since 2007....
Renron is offline  
post #11076 of 11090 Old 03-25-2015, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ftoast View Post
If you're having trouble with rainbows, changing it to 50hz might solve the problem. If it already looks fine, there's little reason to change it.
how do you change it to 50 hz?
grubadub is offline  
post #11077 of 11090 Old 03-25-2015, 03:41 PM
Member
 
syvmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renron View Post
SYVMN,
Great idea and solution for your given problem. Rather clever, out of the box thinking.
However, your choice in movies IS questionable / disturbing. (jk)
Nice job.
Ron
Elf was the first 16:9 movie I came across while doing the testing. Also it's an american classic. I'm sure the library of congress will soon be archiving it for future generations to enjoy...
syvmn is offline  
post #11078 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 04:35 AM
Member
 
chmcke01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wife's favorite

Quote:
Originally Posted by syvmn View Post
Elf was the first 16:9 movie I came across while doing the testing. Also it's an american classic. I'm sure the library of congress will soon be archiving it for future generations to enjoy...
Elf is one of my wife's favorite movies, definitely her favorite Christmas movie...trying to get her to watch National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (my go-to Christmas movie) is like pulling teeth!
chmcke01 is offline  
post #11079 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone,

Quick question : is it confirmed that the w1070+ as higher input lag than the 1070 ?

Cause I had first settled on the 1070 due to it being a good compromise for a 60% gaming (fps, rpgs) 40% movies use.

But then i realized the wireless hdmi thing could be quite useful considering my room. I'm ok to pay the premium to get the w1070+ if it allows me not to have a cable running halfway across the room, but if it also increases input lag, not so much ...
StanRex is offline  
post #11080 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Auric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubadub View Post
how do you change it to 50 hz?
You can manually change it at the Source (if it's able to) there is no possibility to change it at the pj, the pj always sync with the source (if possible) and uses the highest color wheel speed that is possible with that frame rate.

I can't recommend anything else than using the original frame rate of the movie, everything else will cripple the picture quality because it will cause shutter etc..

so if you are an x-men and if you are massively disturbed by the rainbow effect (normal humans don't see it) go and buy a non-dlp pj.

greetings auric
Auric is offline  
post #11081 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auric View Post
You can manually change it at the Source (if it's able to) there is no possibility to change it at the pj, the pj always sync with the source (if possible) and uses the highest color wheel speed that is possible with that frame rate.

I can't recommend anything else than using the original frame rate of the movie, everything else will cripple the picture quality because it will cause shutter etc..

so if you are an x-men and if you are massively disturbed by the rainbow effect (normal humans don't see it) go and buy a non-dlp pj.

greetings auric
thanks for the response. i'm not having a problem i was just curious. the only time i see rainbows are when the credits roll and i've seen them on the a few rare occasions with subtitles. i'm very happy and continually amazed that a projector at this price point can be so good.
fredxr2d2 likes this.
grubadub is offline  
post #11082 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, i replaced my old lamp a few days ago. But when turn the projector on it works only a few minutes then shuts down and two LED indicators show up, a red that says Power and a green that says Temp. When i try to turn it on again a red LED that says "lamp" show up for about a minute, then the projector boots up as normal. And it works for 2-3 minutes again then shuts off once more.

Anyone know what might be wrong? Im sorry if i have a few gramatical or spelling errors, english is not my native language.
Klas Lindell is offline  
post #11083 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 11:52 AM
Member
 
kyle85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klas Lindell View Post
Hi, i replaced my old lamp a few days ago. But when turn the projector on it works only a few minutes then shuts down and two LED indicators show up, a red that says Power and a green that says Temp. When i try to turn it on again a red LED that says "lamp" show up for about a minute, then the projector boots up as normal. And it works for 2-3 minutes again then shuts off once more.

Anyone know what might be wrong? Im sorry if i have a few gramatical or spelling errors, english is not my native language.
This is from the manual

Looks liked the fans are not working correctly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	46
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	627897  
kyle85 is offline  
post #11084 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guys any1 know what is the power consumption of W1070 on eco mode? Can't find it anywhere...perhaps soneone with the proper equipment could test? I am curious and i believe that many other people are also
Abadaman is offline  
post #11085 of 11090 Old 03-26-2015, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle85 View Post
This is from the manual

Looks liked the fans are not working correctly.
It happened last week too, Just unplugged the power cord and restarted w/o any issues, so far.
dragonbud0 is offline  
post #11086 of 11090 Old Yesterday, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abadaman View Post
Guys any1 know what is the power consumption of W1070 on eco mode? Can't find it anywhere...perhaps soneone with the proper equipment could test? I am curious and i believe that many other people are also

About 220 watts if I remember. You can find it in the service manualas well I think.
scoobdude is online now  
post #11087 of 11090 Old Yesterday, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just found something out today. I tried to turn the projector on without any HDMI cable on, and it can run without problems. As soon as i connect a video source (Hdmi for instance) it works for about 2 minutes and then shuts down again.. So something is really weird here.
Klas Lindell is offline  
post #11088 of 11090 Unread Today, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post
About 220 watts if I remember. You can find it in the service manualas well I think.
Thank you

Anyone else has observed that this projector runs a little bit louder while ceiling mounted with projector position: ceiling vs front in the menu?
Abadaman is offline  
post #11089 of 11090 Unread Today, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Peterpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
With the replacement lamps

Is this right

The only place you can a fully original replacement Lamp AND Housing is BenQ itself ?

Otherwise you can get 'original lamp inside' which is an original lamp inside a third party housing if that is correct ?

Are there original lamps with third party housings ok ?

seem to be around 25 percent cheaper
Peterpack is online now  
post #11090 of 11090 Unread Today, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Peterpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by EugF 



In the interim, whenever we do serious cleaning of our room, I've 'fabricated' a dust cover by cutting a slit in top of the dust protector that the projector comes packaged in:


...since my last set of dust issues occurred on the day of a spring clean.

I did this as well ! i just added some masking tape to cover the holes at the front of the bag and also some tape at the end of my cut slit to stop it ripping any further
Peterpack is online now  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off