BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 390 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 358Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11671 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 2,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post
120" might not work at 11 feet. I had mine 12 and zoomed ask the way it and would barely full it.

Also what I did was a ceiling mount, even went under the fan, with a monoprice mount and then ordered the HDMI cable and a power adaptor (normal 3 prong like for computers or most TVs). I did not have an outlet on the ceiling.

Then get the wire tracking for like 20 bucks at HD out lowesand make it look pretty... Or at least less conspicuous

If you upgrade the audio the trickiest part maybe where to put the receiver due to HDMI cable limitations. So think about that before you start on the audio stuff.
How do you guys deal with the ceiling mounts exactly?
I mean, I have mine on an unfinished basement on a tall rack standing on concrete (and a box on top of the rack to push it as close to the top as possible) and even them when the action gets big, my 3 subs will make the image shake. I used to have only one Sub before on my previous house with an unifished basement as well but that time it was ceiling mount and it will shake a lot...so I am just wondering how you guys avoid that.
Thanks!

Mario Lemieux is GOD!
Go Pens!!!
Aguante Boca!!!
If dolphins are so smart...why do they live in igloos?

Last edited by Luis Gabriel Gerena; 01-11-2016 at 11:23 AM.
Luis Gabriel Gerena is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11672 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Here is the mount I used. Planted in dry wall it only shook when my wife walked upstairs and even then not much. There were 6 holes, one on each corner and two in the middle. I only did the middle ones and then used cardboard to pressurize the outer holes or full in the space to keep it from wobbling.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150322_163151:nopm:_1452535119014.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	1178402   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150322_163129:nopm:_1452535149392.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	1178410   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151220_205942730_1452535185057.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	1178418  
scoobdude is offline  
post #11673 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 12:29 PM
Member
 
StephenRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Spacecoast of Florida
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post
If you upgrade the audio the trickiest part maybe where to put the receiver due to HDMI cable limitations. So think about that before you start on the audio stuff.
Monoprice's Redmere hdmi cables will solve that. I'm using a 25' Redmere from my receiver to the projector with no problems.
Rashman likes this.
StephenRC is offline  
post #11674 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenRC View Post
Monoprice's Redmere hdmi cables will solve that. I'm using a 25' Redmere from my receiver to the projector with no problems.

I am using a 35' Redmere and it works great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rashman likes this.
BleedingBlue is online now  
post #11675 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,813
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 635
I am using a 75' standard 22 AWG cable and it works fine.

Redmere cables are nice, but there is rarely an issue with video up to 1080p using standard HDMI cables. Everyone is running to Redmere like the cables we have been using for the last ten years didn't work. They have been working fine.

There are also cables from companies like Blue Rigger which are fairly lightweight and have phenomenal reviews. As long as the cables are accessible, you should just roll with a cheaper cable or two. Keep in mind Redmere cables use active electronics which can fail after time, so if you run one HDMI cable behind drywall, or in a tough to replace location, you are asking for big trouble.

Behind drywall, always run 2 HDMI cables of decent quality and two cat-5e or cat-6 cables for future use if needed.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #11676 of 11697 Old 01-11-2016, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,813
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 635
I am using a 75' standard 22 AWG cable and it works fine.

Redmere cables are nice, but there is rarely an issue with video up to 1080p using standard HDMI cables. Everyone is running to Redmere like the cables we have been using for the last ten years didn't work. They have been working fine.

There are also cables from companies like Blue Rigger which are fairly lightweight and have phenomenal reviews. As long as the cables are accessible, you should just roll with a cheaper cable or two. Keep in mind Redmere cables use active electronics which can fail after time, so if you run one HDMI cable behind drywall, or in a tough to replace location, you are asking for big trouble.

Behind drywall, always run 2 HDMI cables of decent quality and two cat-5e or cat-6 cables for future use if needed.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #11677 of 11697 Old 01-16-2016, 07:00 PM
Member
 
wasure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
hey guys,
just a quick "snowball chance in hell" question about mounts.

i went for a totally crappy mount as the purchase was easy: one-click order and i got everything to mount the 1070 and make the 27-inch drop from the ceiling i needed. i got a professional install, and all's good.

but it's really a pain when i have to make adjustments (buy a good mount!!), so i was wondering if this looks like something where i could use what the installer put into the studs in the ceiling and attach better mounting gear to it, either at the ceiling end or at the projector end.

thanks!



wasure is offline  
post #11678 of 11697 Old 01-16-2016, 07:00 PM
Member
 
wasure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[deleted duplicate post]

Last edited by wasure; 01-16-2016 at 07:28 PM.
wasure is offline  
post #11679 of 11697 Old 01-18-2016, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasure View Post
hey guys,
just a quick "snowball chance in hell" question about mounts.

i went for a totally crappy mount as the purchase was easy: one-click order and i got everything to mount the 1070 and make the 27-inch drop from the ceiling i needed. i got a professional install, and all's good.

but it's really a pain when i have to make adjustments (buy a good mount!!), so i was wondering if this looks like something where i could use what the installer put into the studs in the ceiling and attach better mounting gear to it, either at the ceiling end or at the projector end.

thanks!




I am far from an expert as I just got in to this hobby a few months ago, but I think you need to scrap what you have and get a better mount. They are incredibly easy to install, if u have a drill and a stud finder you can do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BleedingBlue is online now  
post #11680 of 11697 Old 01-18-2016, 04:22 PM
Member
 
jch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Any reliable places to purchase bulbs for this PJ in the US? I've read lots about fake products being sold, but I'd hate to purchase a full price OEM bulb.
jch1 is offline  
post #11681 of 11697 Old 01-19-2016, 03:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 312
BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$

Quote:
Originally Posted by jch1 View Post
Any reliable places to purchase bulbs for this PJ in the US? I've read lots about fake products being sold, but I'd hate to purchase a full price OEM bulb.

There's a thread discussing bulbs for this projector that should help you, see here.
Rashman likes this.

BenQ W1070 Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #11682 of 11697 Old 01-19-2016, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Does the 1075 use the same lamp?
Iron Maiden is online now  
post #11683 of 11697 Old 01-24-2016, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 2,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Hello all!
I am using my W1070 with my HTPC (Nvidia GTX750 ti)
I noticed that when set to RGB and FULL in Control Panel, it will NOT pass the 4:4:4 Chroma test. If I set it to YCbCr 4:4:4 then it does and looks sharper of because of this.
Anyone else noticed this?

Mario Lemieux is GOD!
Go Pens!!!
Aguante Boca!!!
If dolphins are so smart...why do they live in igloos?
Luis Gabriel Gerena is online now  
post #11684 of 11697 Old 01-24-2016, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Gabriel Gerena View Post
Hello all!
I am using my W1070 with my HTPC (Nvidia GTX750 ti)
I noticed that when set to RGB and FULL in Control Panel, it will NOT pass the 4:4:4 Chroma test. If I set it to YCbCr 4:4:4 then it does and looks sharper of because of this.
Anyone else noticed this?


4:4:4 Chroma Test (with RGB: Full Color Space) passes my side.
I'm running a GTX 970, though, so could it be your card (or driver?)
Quick photo (pardon the phone-camera quality):


It also passes at YCbCr444. As expected, it doesn't pass with YCbCr422 (and indeed, text looks nowhere near as sharp... so a must-have for PC use, I guess).

Here're my card settings:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ChromaTest_Photo.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	268.2 KB
ID:	1206050   Click image for larger version

Name:	ChromaTest_Settings.png
Views:	75
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	1206058  

BenQ W1070 Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #11685 of 11697 Old 01-24-2016, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 878 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post
It also passes at YCbCr444. As expected, it doesn't pass with YCbCr422 (and indeed, text looks nowhere near as sharp... so a must-have for PC use, I guess).

As soon as UHD Bluray players and movies come out, owners of the w1070 might want to consider enabling 10-bit Deep Color. You can do that at 444 at 24/30hz I believe. (not at 60hz).

If anyone wants the best possible experience for UHD Bluray movies out of this projector, I recommend making a custom resolution of 1920x810, using 10-bit color through the VGA port, and increasing to 72hz at 1080p/RGB. I've managed 71hz at 1920x1080 at 10-bit so far, but I think it will require a slight vertical down-res to get that extra Hz in there (one wants a multiple of 24hz for movie watching, even when using interpolation like SVP because it will still look better due to no cadence mismatch).
RLBURNSIDE is online now  
post #11686 of 11697 Old 01-28-2016, 12:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Does anyone have any recommended settings for 3D viewing?
farr3ll is online now  
post #11687 of 11697 Old 02-01-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 1,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post
As soon as UHD Bluray players and movies come out, owners of the w1070 might want to consider enabling 10-bit Deep Color. You can do that at 444 at 24/30hz I believe. (not at 60hz).

If anyone wants the best possible experience for UHD Bluray movies out of this projector, I recommend making a custom resolution of 1920x810, using 10-bit color through the VGA port, and increasing to 72hz at 1080p/RGB. I've managed 71hz at 1920x1080 at 10-bit so far, but I think it will require a slight vertical down-res to get that extra Hz in there (one wants a multiple of 24hz for movie watching, even when using interpolation like SVP because it will still look better due to no cadence mismatch).
Im curious about this, would it be possible to do a write with images or even like a youtube video?

Projector: BenQ w1500 + ES Sable 135" Screen AVR: Onkyo TX-NR646 ATMOS DTS-X + Darbee
Speakers: Polk Audio TSX550t (FL/FR), CS2 Series II (C), Monitor40 Series II (RL/RR),
Onkyo THX Bookshelf Speakers (Ceiling L/R) + (2) JL Audio 12" Subs +(2) ButtKicker LFE
Arrangement: 5.1.2 Source Nexus Player, Roku 4, Panasonic Bluray Player
Daniel Chaves is online now  
post #11688 of 11697 Old 02-01-2016, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by farr3ll View Post
Does anyone have any recommended settings for 3D viewing?
here are 3d settings that i use that look pretty good = http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...4FSXSTStwwE.97

i think they are posted in a thread on this site somewhere.
grubadub is online now  
post #11689 of 11697 Old Yesterday, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubadub View Post
here are 3d settings that i use that look pretty good = http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...4FSXSTStwwE.97

i think they are posted in a thread on this site somewhere.
Thanks mate. Yeah I came across it then promptly lost it again. Much appreciated.
farr3ll is online now  
post #11690 of 11697 Old Yesterday, 02:27 PM
Member
 
dchabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
is there anything we can do regarding a loud fan ?

seems to be more noticeable lately or I just seem to be more sensitive to it as nobody else mentions anything
dchabby is online now  
post #11691 of 11697 Old Yesterday, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchabby View Post
is there anything we can do regarding a loud fan ?

seems to be more noticeable lately or I just seem to be more sensitive to it as nobody else mentions anything

You must be seating below the projector or really close by, we all thought the same thing as you at first but then we just cranked up the receiver volume and enjoyed the projector...

Ralph
zapper is online now  
post #11692 of 11697 Unread Today, 07:52 AM
Member
 
dchabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post
You must be seating below the projector or really close by, we all thought the same thing as you at first but then we just cranked up the receiver volume and enjoyed the projector...
Yes unfortunately we are right below the projector. And yes cranking the volume helps but in the quieter scenes it really stands out plus we don't listen at high volumes all the time.

So other than maybe moving the projector are there any other options ?
dchabby is online now  
post #11693 of 11697 Unread Today, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
As a long time owner, you learn to overlook it and enjoy the movie. I presume you are using the SmartEco setting for the lamp; this does quiet it down somewhat and improve lamp life.
dchabby likes this.

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT460
Denon AVR-x5200w | Nvidia Shield Android TV | C =Axiom VP150 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 | TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Reaction Audio S-15 500W SEALED SUBWOOFER
Rew452 is online now  
post #11694 of 11697 Unread Today, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grubadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Eco is the quietest setting. When I put mine on SmartEco, the fan gets louder.
dchabby likes this.
grubadub is online now  
post #11695 of 11697 Unread Today, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I think you will find that noise will vary as the smart-eco setting changes lamp voltage based on the video being displayed. This setting not only improves the lamp life but also is hard to tell in brightness from the normal setting. I have also not seen much if any flickering which tends to occur with eco or normal setting. I think this is due to the changing lamp power.

Flickering is not just a BenQ issue but all pj's tend to have it some time during the life of the lamp.
dchabby likes this.

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT460
Denon AVR-x5200w | Nvidia Shield Android TV | C =Axiom VP150 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 | TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Reaction Audio S-15 500W SEALED SUBWOOFER
Rew452 is online now  
post #11696 of 11697 Unread Today, 01:55 PM
Member
 
dchabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
^^ thanks - will try that setting and see if the noise improves
dchabby is online now  
post #11697 of 11697 Unread Today, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
One thing I forgot to say is the fans go full speed when first powered on; then slow down to temperature control. This was added in one of the firmware updates to verify the fans were operating right.

Rew
BenQ W1070 |Lumagen RadianceXS-3D |Panasonic BDT460
Denon AVR-x5200w | Nvidia Shield Android TV | C =Axiom VP150 |FL/FR =Axiom M60 |SL/SR =Axiom QS4 |TFL/TFR =Bose 161 | TRL/TRR =Bose 161 |Sub =Reaction Audio S-15 500W SEALED SUBWOOFER
Rew452 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off