BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 394 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 376Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 11881 Old 04-02-2016, 09:09 AM
Member
 
crazyhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
Frame Interpolation issue



I have Frame Interpolation issue with my W1070, I am looking for a solution to fix the issue.

It only happens when the movie is panning, very annoying and it doesn't happen all the time, but most of the time.



Does any know how to fix this issue?



Thanks!


maybe SPLASH PRO?
crazyhog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 11881 Old 04-02-2016, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,905
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1356 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
The answer to smooth video on the w1070 is SVP, ran from a PC, Mac, or Linux machine.

It works and looks great and allows the w1070 to really achieve its full* potential.

Plus, it's free.

I bought the Pro version just because I was a kickstarter backer, and think this work deserves financial support. It has regular updates and keeps getting better and better all the time.

*actually, to really achieve the full potential, one should run the w1070 at 71hz via the VGA port, but use 10-bit color RAMDAC. That will allow SVP to look even smoother, and support 10-bit without dropping to 422 YCbCr, and this will become more important as 2160p 10-bit streams (and rips to 10-bit 1080p) become more prevalent. 10-bit color massively reduces bandwidth and is worth it. I bought a DisplayPort 1.2a to VGA converter from Amazon for like 40 bucks, so that I am UHD 10-bit ready. (444 10-bit video).

With SVP the de-synchro (71 hz is just barely not capable of 24hz x 3) doesn't matter. I haven't tried it yet, but I suspect it just might be possible to feed my DP -> VGA converter a custom resolution of 1920x810 with 10-bit at 72hz. An even multiple of 24hz would make SVP work even better, because only 2/3 frames would be smoothed and therefore reduce haloing by 33%.

For scientific-minded rationalists out there : 1080p video at 72hz is MUCH clearer than UHD @ 24hz for any scene where the camera or a substantial portion of the screen is in motion. Movies often have a static camera but moving actors, but in action movies when the camera moves, forget UHD, the inherent motion blur of the film process makes 1 pixel of accuracy a foolish dream.

So people who are buying UHD projectors just to go "ooh and ahh" when they look at static screenshots are missing the big picture (no pun intended). They are leaving a lot of motion resolution and image quality on the table by not using interpolation, especially for foreground objects like people that are in motion, and where your eye isn't likely / supposed to be fixated on. Most of the time the background is out of focus anyway, and the director directs the viewer to look at a smaller area of the screen that they want you to look at, through focusing on that area (depth of field). And only that area could possibly achieve 100% motion clarity, however without a higher framerate than 24hz, your eyes are basically being starved for information. Feed them with as many new / up-to-date pixels as you can give them by using 60 / 72hz. It's the right thing to do.

Last edited by RLBURNSIDE; 04-02-2016 at 02:38 PM.
RLBURNSIDE is offline  
post #11793 of 11881 Old 04-02-2016, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a way on this projector to check how many hours have been used or are left?

Thanks
berket is offline  
post #11794 of 11881 Old 04-03-2016, 01:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by berket View Post
Is there a way on this projector to check how many hours have been used or are left?



Thanks


Yup, if you have the old (non-backlit) remote that shipped with early models, just hit the 'Info' button.

If your model is newer than 2-3 years old, you'd have got a nice red-light back-lit remote - press the Menu button and scroll to the right-most tab: Lamp Hours is listed there.

BenQ HT2050 Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #11795 of 11881 Old 04-03-2016, 11:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post
Yup, if you have the old (non-backlit) remote that shipped with early models, just hit the 'Info' button.

If your model is newer than 2-3 years old, you'd have got a nice red-light back-lit remote - press the Menu button and scroll to the right-most tab: Lamp Hours is listed there.
Got it...now does the "Equivalent lamp hours" mean remaining or total hours used?
berket is offline  
post #11796 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by berket View Post
Got it...now does the "Equivalent lamp hours" mean remaining or total hours used?
Total hours used.
Gothamite is offline  
post #11797 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Would there be any problems if I buy new power cable that's not original benQ's?

There's nothing wrong with the one I got with my w1070+ but it is short because I need at least 4meters.

I need to run my cable across the ceiling and down on the side wall.

Last edited by Gothamite; 04-11-2016 at 01:21 PM.
Gothamite is offline  
post #11798 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothamite View Post
Would there be any problems if I buy new power cord cable that's not original benQ's?

There's nothing wrong with the one I got with my w1070+ but it is short because I need at least 4meters.

I need to run my cable across the ceiling and down on the side wall.
I got one from Monoprice that has worked great so far. Just a regular PC power cord since that is what the BenQ uses. So I got a thicker, longer one to run across the ceiling and down teh wall.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, Darbee, PS4, w/ Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030, NAD C370 (for Front L/R), Outlaw Model 5000, SVS PB-2000, SVS PC-2000, a Def Tech CS-8040HD, 2 SM65 for L/R, 2 SM55 for sides, and 2 PM1000 for rears.
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #11799 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
I got one from Monoprice that has worked great so far. Just a regular PC power cord since that is what the BenQ uses. So I got a thicker, longer one to run across the ceiling and down teh wall.
Good to know. It seems that I can't find the length I need in my country.
I guess I will buy extension cable(220V) but it will be much harder to cover it on the ceiling.
Something like this:
Gothamite is offline  
post #11800 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothamite View Post
Good to know. It seems that I can't find the length I need in my country.
I guess I will buy extension cable(220V) but it will be much harder to cover it on the ceiling.
Something like this:
I painted my ceiling black, so I didn't have to worry about covering up the cables.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, Darbee, PS4, w/ Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030, NAD C370 (for Front L/R), Outlaw Model 5000, SVS PB-2000, SVS PC-2000, a Def Tech CS-8040HD, 2 SM65 for L/R, 2 SM55 for sides, and 2 PM1000 for rears.
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #11801 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
I painted my ceiling black, so I didn't have to worry about covering up the cables.
Seems that I found 5m one.
These are the specs: Max: 230V / 10A / 2300W

Will this work?
Gothamite is offline  
post #11802 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothamite View Post
Seems that I found 5m one.
These are the specs: Max: 230V / 10A / 2300W

Will this work?
Here's BenQ's specs on their US site:

Power Supply‎ AC 100 to 240 V, 50 to 60 Hz‎ Power Consumption‎ 353W/110V (typical), Standby < 0.5W‎

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, Darbee, PS4, w/ Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030, NAD C370 (for Front L/R), Outlaw Model 5000, SVS PB-2000, SVS PC-2000, a Def Tech CS-8040HD, 2 SM65 for L/R, 2 SM55 for sides, and 2 PM1000 for rears.
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #11803 of 11881 Old 04-11-2016, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
Here's BenQ's specs on their US site:

Power Supply‎ AC 100 to 240 V, 50 to 60 Hz‎ Power Consumption‎ 353W/110V (typical), Standby < 0.5W‎
I guess that's a yes then?
Gothamite is offline  
post #11804 of 11881 Old 04-12-2016, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothamite View Post
I guess that's a yes then?
I'm not an electrician, so I'm going to go with "probably."

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, Darbee, PS4, w/ Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030, NAD C370 (for Front L/R), Outlaw Model 5000, SVS PB-2000, SVS PC-2000, a Def Tech CS-8040HD, 2 SM65 for L/R, 2 SM55 for sides, and 2 PM1000 for rears.
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #11805 of 11881 Old 04-13-2016, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
anirbana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My W1070 developed two issues - dust blobs and a colour wheel problem. I sent it for repair to the store I bought from and they came to me saying that the unit cannot be repaired and they will offer me a like for like exchange.

I love the W1070 image and don't want to get something else in return without proper research. Was wondering if any of you had used/tested both W1O70 and something else similar in spec and preferred the other model.

W1070 s are difficult to find these days.

If I have to selct something else, which other models I should consider is the main question here.
anirbana is offline  
post #11806 of 11881 Old 04-13-2016, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
aodaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anirbana View Post
My W1070 developed two issues - dust blobs and a colour wheel problem. I sent it for repair to the store I bought from and they came to me saying that the unit cannot be repaired and they will offer me a like for like exchange.

I love the W1070 image and don't want to get something else in return without proper research. Was wondering if any of you had used/tested both W1O70 and something else similar in spec and preferred the other model.

W1070 s are difficult to find these days.

If I have to selct something else, which other models I should consider is the main question here.
BenQ HT2050. It's an upgraded version of the W1070 with very similar (improved) performance while also having glass optics and running a little quieter.
aodaniel is offline  
post #11807 of 11881 Old 04-14-2016, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Xplic1T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
BenQ HT1075 Refurbished - $487 / W1070 Refurbished - $480

http://www.benqdirect.com/projectors...tm_campaign=cj

http://www.benqdirect.com/projectors...tm_campaign=cj

Use coupon - take10$off114 - to take $10 off.
Xplic1T is offline  
post #11808 of 11881 Old 04-14-2016, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Has anyone found solution for 'dancing' pixels? I use smarECO and standard mode, brightness 50 and contrast 47.

If I lower brightness down to 49, they become less apparent but I can still see them flashing when I get close to the screen.
When I increase brightness pixels appear smaller and they don't flicker as much.

Is there a way to eliminate dancing/flashing pixels on dark parts of the image or that's perfectly normal artifact?

Thx.
Gothamite is offline  
post #11809 of 11881 Old 04-14-2016, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothamite View Post
Has anyone found solution for 'dancing' pixels? I use smarECO and standard mode, brightness 50 and contrast 47.

If I lower brightness down to 49, they become less apparent but I can still see them flashing when I get close to the screen.
When I increase brightness pixels appear smaller and they don't flicker as much.

Is there a way to eliminate dancing/flashing pixels on dark parts of the image or that's perfectly normal artifact?

Thx.
I think what you are describing is dithering. It is a known artifact with DLP. The solution is not to sit too close.
Bachelor is offline  
post #11810 of 11881 Old 04-15-2016, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Gothamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachelor View Post
I think what you are describing is dithering. It is a known artifact with DLP. The solution is not to sit too close.
Oh ok thx.
I definitely can't see them at right distance, was just wondering if it affects picture quality in any way(even when you don't notice them from distance)
Gothamite is offline  
post #11811 of 11881 Old 04-15-2016, 02:30 PM
Member
 
BIGBEAR2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Since I moved, I no longer have a theater room, and my Benq W1070 - FW 1.08 projector is just sitting in the closet. I am willing to part with mine if anyone is interested. Shoot me a pm.

BIGBEAR2004 is offline  
post #11812 of 11881 Old 04-28-2016, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Kubrickain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Had a couple of questions for 1070 owners:

I have a Ps4 and Nvidia Shield, what HDMI/pic settings should I have set on those devices?

The Shield was recently updated with Marshmallow which enabled a few more options.
For instance, the shield has HDMI Dynamic range auto, limited or full color etc. Under resolutions options should it be to 1080p@60Hz, 1080p23.976Hz, etc?

Also have Kodi (Jarvis) on the Shield, curious what the best settings would be.

Ps4 has RBG range and deep color output options...

And last, anything I can do in the Netflix settings to improve the quality?
Kubrickain is offline  
post #11813 of 11881 Old 04-28-2016, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 346
I've upgraded from my W1070 to a new BenQ HT2050.

I posted quite a detailed comparison between the two models in the HT2050 thread, see here.

The HT2050 improves upon the W1070 in quite a few aspects: really quiet fans - in all lamp modes - is one major improvement, others include a higher CW speed, clearly improved optics, a higher-end chassis etc - but it's mostly a refinement over the W1070.

The short story is that, for most current W1070 owners, the HT2050 isn't enough of a picture quality upgrade to be worth it.

Not to say that they don't produce a great picture (the old W1070 still - to this day - provides one of the best-looking projected images you can get at this price point); but the picture quality improvements on the new model don't justify current W1070 owners taking the plunge; at least not in my opinion.

So the W1070 turned out to be a pretty good investment for most of us, then. (I'll miss her.)
AV_Integrated and DavidK442 like this.

BenQ HT2050 Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #11814 of 11881 Old 05-05-2016, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So this afternoon I turned on my projector, and was greeted by this really LOUD grinding/rattling noise. It was loud enough that at first I actually thought it might be from some kind of construction work being done outside. Image displayed fine.

Turned projector off and back on, and the noise is gone. Should I be concerned?
Wowfunhappy is offline  
post #11815 of 11881 Old 05-06-2016, 03:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wowfunhappy View Post
So this afternoon I turned on my projector, and was greeted by this really LOUD grinding/rattling noise. It was loud enough that at first I actually thought it might be from some kind of construction work being done outside. Image displayed fine.

Turned projector off and back on, and the noise is gone. Should I be concerned?
The same thing (grinding sound) happened to me not too long ago. It only happened once and the bulb blew maybe a month afterwards but I don't think the two events are related.
Alpine1.0 is offline  
post #11816 of 11881 Old 05-06-2016, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wowfunhappy View Post
So this afternoon I turned on my projector, and was greeted by this really LOUD grinding/rattling noise. It was loud enough that at first I actually thought it might be from some kind of construction work being done outside. Image displayed fine.



Turned projector off and back on, and the noise is gone. Should I be concerned?


I have never seen the inside of the 1070, but I wonder if one of your fan blades broke.
BleedingBlue is offline  
post #11817 of 11881 Old 05-06-2016, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine1.0 View Post
The same thing (grinding sound) happened to me not too long ago. It only happened once and the bulb blew maybe a month afterwards but I don't think the two events are related.
And other than the bulb replacement (which I know I'll have to do at some point anyway), it's been working fine? That's encouraging.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BleedingBlue View Post
I have never seen the inside of the 1070, but I wonder if one of your fan blades broke.
That... sounds like it would be bad. :/

The strange thing is that the projector really does seem to be working fine. I used it for several hours last night with absolutely no problems (and no strange noises)
Wowfunhappy is offline  
post #11818 of 11881 Old 05-06-2016, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I think it has to do with the color wheel. This happened on an Infocus projector for me years ago due to dust. It would start up loud and after a minute it would go away. I think you may have a future failure coming up but time will tell....
Bachelor is offline  
post #11819 of 11881 Old 05-07-2016, 09:54 AM
Member
 
monakh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lahore | Manama | Washington
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just wanted to check in. My second bulb went out at 3793 hours (after about 14 months). That's worse than before, I think the first bulb crossed 4000 hours (too lazy to check this thread). The small explosion was just like the one early last year. Bloody thing always shatters inside, albeit with small pieces. It's a pain removing them. Luckily, I had a spare since I knew the bulb failure was imminent. The PJ has lasted me over two years which is longer than I have kept any other projector recently. Still going on strong. I will be replacing it in a few months though I am not sure what with. There is still nothing like this baby on the market with the same price/performance ratio.
monakh is offline  
post #11820 of 11881 Old 05-07-2016, 02:39 PM
Member
 
DtheDude81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my w1070 refurb from Benq on ebay for under $500. Loving it so far! Glad to find this thread for info.
DtheDude81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off