BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$ - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 9658 Old 02-04-2013, 08:21 PM
Newbie
 
Amgclk65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Benq w7000 vs Benq w1070

sorry only one picture of the w7000. Pictures taken with my iphone 5. i shouldve used my dslr.



two for the w1070





I thinking the w7000 looks better and brighter. maybe thats why its 1k more:)
Amgclk65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 9658 Old 02-04-2013, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Yusuf.0088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidK442 View Post

I agree with both your statements. From what I have read the W1070 is an excellent projector in all regards (color, picture noise, motion handling & 3D), just not black level. I have an Acer 5360 which is a very bright, reasonably color accurate single chip DLP like the W1070. It also has Darkchip 3 I believe. There is at least one 5360 owners on this thread who upgraded and commented that they noticed little difference in contrast between the two. This coupled with several professional reviews and multiple new owners asking "What's wrong with my W1070's black level" spurred me to write my last post.

For the same reason I upgraded from my Acer H5360BD(DC3) not to BenQ W1070.
Yusuf.0088 is offline  
post #1983 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 01:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I upgraded from an Acer H5360. For me it has been a significant upgrade.

1) 1080p. So much 3d depth is lost with 720p. With 1080p you can see far into the image, which really enhances the "looking into a window" effect. Of course detail in everything is improved, especially in animated blurays. This has been the biggest upgrade.

2) 144hz. I did notice some flicker on the Acer. With the Benq, I really can't see any. Plus no 3:2 pull down is needed so motion is improved.
3) Contrast. This was surprising to me. I expected it to be exactly like the Acer being DC3 also. However I do notice a nice increase. Maybe these newer DC3 chips have improved contrast. I think dlp owners will have more realistic expectations in regards to contrast. Some people apparently mistaken a budget dlp for a JVC pj.

4) Brightness. It does seem brighter to me. My Acer only had 100 hours when I sold it so it wasn't just the age of the bulb.

5) Sharpness. The lens seems sharper to me than the Acer.

With the Acer I always felt like I wasn't getting the full experience with 3d. Now with the Benq, this is the first 3d projector I've owned (Acer, rs40, Optoma hd33) that I feel like I'm getting 3d without compromises. Watching 3d actually feels fresh again.
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #1984 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 03:46 AM
Member
 
geezerpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The main advantages of W1070 over the H5360BD are:

> better optics by BENQ (less visible aberration / almost ideal convergence)
> bigger picture (104" vs. 91" from 3,1m / 10 feet) + lens shift

As for brightness, sharpness & contrast I don't see any difference from 10 feet (my Acer has 530 hours on the bulb / pls bear in mind the brightness drops as bulb ages...)
3D BluRay with 144Hz glasses is better / no difference with 1080p SBS though...
geezerpl is offline  
post #1985 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 03:46 AM
Member
 
dbox1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I always hated 3d on my optoma gt750e because it was only 720 and 3D just sucks on my rs45/30 so that is where the w1070 comes to save the day. Not to mention but my jvc just died last night when going to judge dredd last night eek.gif
I now have flashing orange and red lights and the worst part, I have not even used the jvc for 4 movies so there is probably less than 5-8 hours on the bulb
dbox1080p is offline  
post #1986 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 05:38 AM
Member
 
TLJester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1070 arrived yesterday - first time projector owner.
Got it from NewEgg - Firmware 1.3
Powers down and fan runs for a minute or two.
First thing i did was pull some pictures off the wall and project KungFu Panda 2 for the kids.
FANTASTIC !!!!
Set power to Eco Mode - couldn't tell the difference (a great bonus in my book!)
family super happy - including the neighbors who happened to drop by smile.gif
Watched Iron Man 2 - also great
I can see where the worry is with the black levels, though i have used many more projectors (and TV's for that matter) that are far far worse.
Im sure some tweaking will further improve those levels.

3D glasses arriving today so i will get to play with the 3D later.
i did try and output a 1080 half-SBS demo video with no luck from my laptop.
lowering the refresh rate to 24fps allowed Frame Packing and Top/Bottom (whatever its called) options to become available in the 3D menu. Yet SBS was still greyed out.
this applied to both HDMI 1 and 2.
Any help with what i am doing wrong?
TLJester is offline  
post #1987 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amgclk65 View Post

Benq w7000 vs Benq w1070

I thinking the w7000 looks better and brighter. maybe thats why its 1k more:)

Are you going to compare 3D on the two devices and tell us which one looks better?
Is the w1070 close to as sharp as the w7000, or the same?


Quick and Easy Shelf Mount Method for both one projector or dual stacks

Web Calculator v023 & v025
- Quick Peak at the new upcoming calculator
**Current Projector Calculator** -- http://www.eliteprojectorcalculator.com

Coder's Top Projector Picks of 2012 --http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....

coderguy is offline  
post #1988 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amgclk65 View Post

Benq w7000 vs Benq w1070

sorry only one picture of the w7000. Pictures taken with my iphone 5. i shouldve used my dslr.

I thinking the w7000 looks better and brighter. maybe thats why its 1k more:)


Obviously, any number of things could contribute to the difference between what I'm seeing on my monitor, and what you see in person, but based just off the images, which is all I can go off of, I don't understand how you could say the W7000 looks better. It looks comparatively washed out compared to the other two images. Not the same image, which makes it even more difficult to compare, but still, assuming conditions and exposure is the same, it doesn't look better at all.

Having said that, I'm pretty sure that it has more to do with the pics themselves than how they actually look in person, but I'm just guessing.
man4mopar likes this.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #1989 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
reybie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post

Mine is 11.6' with a Sanyo the BenQ states 9.6" Il probably pass this one by, it would had been my Third Projector.

I canceled my order for now until I can get the screen size situation figured out. I will probably go bigger on the screen instead of moving the projector mount. Good excuse to go larger. By the time I have the BOC screen put together maybe the newer firmware will be more common stock.

This will also be my third projector, replacing a HD1000U.
reybie is offline  
post #1990 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLJester View Post

My 1070 arrived yesterday - first time projector owner.
Got it from NewEgg - Firmware 1.3
Powers down and fan runs for a minute or two.
First thing i did was pull some pictures off the wall and project KungFu Panda 2 for the kids.
FANTASTIC !!!!
Set power to Eco Mode - couldn't tell the difference (a great bonus in my book!)
family super happy - including the neighbors who happened to drop by smile.gif
Watched Iron Man 2 - also great
I can see where the worry is with the black levels, though i have used many more projectors (and TV's for that matter) that are far far worse.
Im sure some tweaking will further improve those levels.

3D glasses arriving today so i will get to play with the 3D later.
i did try and output a 1080 half-SBS demo video with no luck from my laptop.
lowering the refresh rate to 24fps allowed Frame Packing and Top/Bottom (whatever its called) options to become available in the 3D menu. Yet SBS was still greyed out.
this applied to both HDMI 1 and 2.
Any help with what i am doing wrong?

You must change the output to 1080i or less from your source or Blu-ray player. You cannot use 1080p for SBS. Change from auto to 1080i to prevent SBS from being greyed out.
TLJester likes this.
rwestley is offline  
post #1991 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 07:14 AM
Member
 
dbox1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does VUDU run on sbs for their 3D streams?
dbox1080p is offline  
post #1992 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
Frisbee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I thought I would share a photo of the project I've been working on for the last week thanks to a lot of great information in this forum. I have since remounted my projector to get it horizontaly centered on the screen and even with the test pattern all squared up on the screen I still have the bottom left a bit out of focus. It's not really notisible during regular viewing and the center to top of the screen is very sharp so I consider it a non issue.



Here are some recent screenshots for those who are interested.











And lastly is everyone elses hdmi port recessed like mine is? I feel like I can't get my hdmi cable in all the way on hdmi port 1 and can not get it to handshake at all and have to use hdmi 2. I have no handshake issues with my media pc or cable box but often lose signal connection with my oppo bdp-93 during previews etc and was wondering if anyone else had similar issues?

Frisbee23 is offline  
post #1993 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
jbpj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frisbee, I like your setup...and your projector mount! I tested my 1070 yesterday and I had no trouble with either hdmi port. Is the recessed port loose or snug?

jbpj is offline  
post #1994 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
reybie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet looking setup! Great pics
reybie is offline  
post #1995 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:36 AM
Member
 
elmermccurdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frisbee23 View Post

And lastly is everyone elses hdmi port recessed like mine is? I feel like I can't get my hdmi cable in all the way on hdmi port 1 and can not get it to handshake at all and have to use hdmi 2. I have no handshake issues with my media pc or cable box but often lose signal connection with my oppo bdp-93 during previews etc and was wondering if anyone else had similar issues?


Yes, this is a problem several of us have had. I've returned my projector for a non-related issue, and I'm hoping that the HDMI1 port will seat better on my replacement.
elmermccurdy is offline  
post #1996 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
Frisbee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both hdmi ports feel snug to me but it just seems like the cable that I'm using can not be pushed in far enough to make a good connection. I'm guessing if I cut the plastic around the cable I could put it in further and the port would likely work but it seems like something you shouldn't have to do. Luckily I only need the one port since everything runs though my receiver.
Frisbee23 is offline  
post #1997 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
Frisbee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbpj View Post

Frisbee, I like your setup...and your projector mount! I tested my 1070 yesterday and I had no trouble with either hdmi port. Is the recessed port loose or snug?

lol yeah that mount turned out to be too short to project past the drop in the ceiling so I had to improvise. The wood still needs to be sanded flush and painted so it will look a little better than it does now.
Frisbee23 is offline  
post #1998 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmermccurdy View Post

Yes, this is a problem several of us have had. I've returned my projector for a non-related issue, and I'm hoping that the HDMI1 port will seat better on my replacement.
Same issue here...HDMI 1 is not recognized. Very weird stuff...
JoeBoy73 is online now  
post #1999 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:53 AM
Member
 
nappers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, I had that problem too when I was using a 35ft HDMI from Bluerigger and kept losing the signal when it was about to start a movie.
The cable just wasn't snug enough on HDMI 1 port.

But I then used a shorter HDMI cable and brought my PS3 closer to the Benq and the signal was just fine. So I returned the Bluerigger cable and got another brand.

Still, it's not a snug fit. I was going to exchange it at Newegg, but they are out of stock.
nappers is offline  
post #2000 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by nappers View Post

Yup, I had that problem too when I was using a 35ft HDMI from Bluerigger and kept losing the signal when it was about to start a movie.
The cable just wasn't snug enough on HDMI 1 port.

But I then used a shorter HDMI cable and brought my PS3 closer to the Benq and the signal was just fine. So I returned the Bluerigger cable and got another brand.

Still, it's not a snug fit. I was going to exchange it at Newegg, but they are out of stock.
WOW...I have the same cable, same length. I bought mine from amazon...which one did you go with?
JoeBoy73 is online now  
post #2001 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 08:58 AM
Member
 
nappers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question about which projector screen size I should get.

I measured the image on my wall right now using my PS3 and it measures like this:

* The regular PS3 splash screen - 113" diagonal; 99.5" wide; 55.5" tall
* 16 x 9 widescreen movies - 107" diagonal; 99.5" wide; 41.5" tall

What size screen should I be looking at? 125"? Also, which brand is good?

Thanks!
nappers is offline  
post #2002 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:10 AM
Member
 
jbpj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nappers, just my opinion, but get the largest screen that works with your wall and that you can afford. I ordered a 120" screen and it works really well for my setup. There are a lot of threads around here talking about screens. Jamestown, Elite, SeymourAV, DIY. Just about any of them would work depending on your requirements.

jbpj is offline  
post #2003 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:19 AM
Member
 
TLJester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was planning on painting my wall white with the Sherwin-Williams ProClassic Smooth Enamel Satin Extra White, # B20 W 51.
However what would help the blacks more:
  • A darker paint (or silver)?
  • A lens filter?
  • Tweaking the projector settings?


Got the 3D working.... LOVE IT ! my gosh really good 3D depth even in daylight on a cruddy wall !
So happy to have joined the club here:)
TLJester is offline  
post #2004 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:48 AM
Member
 
nappers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLJester View Post

I was planning on painting my wall white with the Sherwin-Williams ProClassic Smooth Enamel Satin Extra White, # B20 W 51.
However what would help the blacks more:
  • A darker paint (or silver)?
  • A lens filter?
  • Tweaking the projector settings?


Got the 3D working.... LOVE IT ! my gosh really good 3D depth even in daylight on a cruddy wall !
So happy to have joined the club here:)

Which brand/model 3d glasses did you get and where did you purchase them from?

I was thinking about painting my wall as well instead of a screen, which costs quite a bit. I was looking at 125" screen for $195, but paint would be cheaper! But then I have lots of nicks, etc, in the wall...ugh.

Thanks!
nappers is offline  
post #2005 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbpj View Post

Nappers, just my opinion, but get the largest screen that works with your wall and that you can afford. I ordered a 120" screen and it works really well for my setup. There are a lot of threads around here talking about screens. Jamestown, Elite, SeymourAV, DIY. Just about any of them would work depending on your requirements.
I agree...I have a 150" elite screen and I'm sitting about 15 feet back and love it! Definitely get the biggest screen your room can fit and you can afford.
JoeBoy73 is online now  
post #2006 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:49 AM
Member
 
nappers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbpj View Post

Nappers, just my opinion, but get the largest screen that works with your wall and that you can afford. I ordered a 120" screen and it works really well for my setup. There are a lot of threads around here talking about screens. Jamestown, Elite, SeymourAV, DIY. Just about any of them would work depending on your requirements.

Thanks! I'll look around at the posts when I get a moment.

I did find a 125" screen for $195 that's motorized, but wouldn't that be too big?
nappers is offline  
post #2007 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 09:51 AM
Member
 
jbpj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nappers View Post

Thanks! I'll look around at the posts when I get a moment.

I did find a 125" screen for $195 that's motorized, but wouldn't that be too big?

Check out the Benq calculator - it was very accurate for my setup.

http://benq.com/microsite/projector/throwratiocalculator/

jbpj is offline  
post #2008 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nappers View Post

Yup, I had that problem too when I was using a 35ft HDMI from Bluerigger and kept losing the signal when it was about to start a movie.
The cable just wasn't snug enough on HDMI 1 port.

But I then used a shorter HDMI cable and brought my PS3 closer to the Benq and the signal was just fine. So I returned the Bluerigger cable and got another brand.

Still, it's not a snug fit. I was going to exchange it at Newegg, but they are out of stock.

I have the same problem with the 30ft Monoprice RedMere cable.
Ranger is offline  
post #2009 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frisbee23 View Post

So I thought I would share a photo of the project I've been working on for the last week thanks to a lot of great information in this forum. I have since remounted my projector to get it horizontaly centered on the screen and even with the test pattern all squared up on the screen I still have the bottom left a bit out of focus. It's not really notisible during regular viewing and the center to top of the screen is very sharp so I consider it a non issue.

Those shots look amazing.

Always hard to tell from screenshots, but the blacks in the image at least look like they are as black in the letterbox bars. Not bad.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #2010 of 9658 Old 02-05-2013, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Amgclk65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman_Mike View Post

Obviously, any number of things could contribute to the difference between what I'm seeing on my monitor, and what you see in person, but based just off the images, which is all I can go off of, I don't understand how you could say the W7000 looks better. It looks comparatively washed out compared to the other two images. Not the same image, which makes it even more difficult to compare, but still, assuming conditions and exposure is the same, it doesn't look better at all.

Having said that, I'm pretty sure that it has more to do with the pics themselves than how they actually look in person, but I'm just guessing.

Maybe it was a bad picture for the w7000. Also maybe my eyes are little off.
I think the w7000 is getting me by being a bit brighter.
I'm using a elite cinegray screen. Which I'm about to switch to elite cinewhite.
But all in all ill be returning the w7000. Doesn't seem to be worth an extra
1k.
Amgclk65 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off