Possibly a dumb question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 11-08-2012, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just bought a ViewSonic PRO8200 for my bedroom and this will be my first projector so I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to this stuff. I'm on www.projectorcentral.com site using their calculator to calculate throw etc. and for a 100" diagonal screen it says I need 49" x 87" which I will be using a sheet of Wilsonart Design White laminate. My question is, when I enter my desired info it gives me a throw of 12' 4" but also lists 10' 2 thru 15 '7. Does this mean I can mount this projector anywhere between these measurements to get my desired screen size and then just zoom in/out and focus it manually? Or do I HAVE to go by their 12' 4" measurement? I'm a bit confused on this part.

Side question, when I put in that I want 108" diagonal screen it says I should have a 53" x 94" area to project onto. Why? If I measure this 4x8 Wilsonart which is really 49 x 97 almost it measures close to 108" diagonal already so why am I getting 2 different measurements? All the help is appreciated and I apologize for hurting anyones head with such a dumb question but I'm just tyring to prepare for this since my projector should be here Tuesday.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-08-2012, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 599
The PJ's zoom range lets you throw a 100", 16:9 image (87" ÷ 49" = 1.78:1 = 16:9) from anywhere between 10'2" and 15'7".

So, as long as the front of the lens falls within that range, you just zoom in or out to have the image fill the screen.

53" x 94" is also a 1.78:1 (or 16:9) screen ratio. Your Wilsonart board, however, has a 94" ÷ 53" = 1.98:1 ratio.
post #3 of 13 Old 11-08-2012, 03:52 PM

Liked: 13